Positives...

Fulham/76rsPhilsNovaDrexel/Atalanta
OK, ladies, gentlemen and ladettes, let's have 'em. And this week you lot should be able to add heaps, so I'll stick to three:

1. No zone carp;
2. We played hard and tried for the whole game;
3. No Brian Taylor on the commentary tonight in NSW - jeez Liam Pickering is good by comparison.

Oh, and we won.

Thoughts??

Pav back to his rampaging best - 27 possessions, 11 inside 50s, half a dozen clearances and 3 goals. oooohh yeah.... :thumbsu:

Mundy - 14 contested possessions. :thumbsu:

Suban, Hill and Hinkley all looked at home at this level. :thumbsu:

McPharlin's long run 3 bounce goal of the year contender! :thumbsu:

Five unrelated points.

• Hasleby is in terrific form.
  • Third quarter where we held them from piling on the goals was encouraging.
  • Nick Suban continues to be really impressive.
  • We kicked long to contests a lot more than we have been doing.
  • Ball movement was generally a lot faster last night than we have been doing.

Phisical Pressure, Isn't it amazing how it affects oppositions skills!
Schammers early bump, Ibbos sheapard and bump, Johnsons sheaparding, and 'strong' tackling, Mundys three tackle combo (even though the last was high)
Even if we don't have the best skills, there is no reason at all that we shouldn't be able to maintain that sort of phisicality. And it was beautiful to watch!

Hitting targets a hell of lot more
We won the clearances
MJ in the ruck - brilliant positioning and frequent double handed taps to our players
Endeavour

Schammers early bump, Ibbos sheapard and bump, Johnsons sheaparding, and 'strong' tackling, Mundys three tackle combo (even though the last was high)
Even if we don't have the best skills, there is no reason at all that we shouldn't be able to maintain that sort of phisicality. And it was beautiful to watch!

I specifically remember that part and was so very impressed with our man Mundy. He was absolutely stuffed after that last tackle and was sucking in the big ones. Could barely pick up the ball to throw it back to to Sydney player. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

My first game I attended this year and it was a win!

Seeing 5 security guards carrying a kicking and screaming eagles supporter out of the ground - HILARIOUS

Being part of the massive --- FFF RRR EEE OOO --- chant

Witnessing their team spirit, such a different team from the past 4 weeks. Playing for EACH OTHER (wanna see that from now on too)

Too many to mention but I am one happy sheila this morning.:)

My buddy Chopper walking around without a 'moon'boot on...hopefully he'll get a game soon...

Great News :thumbsu:

I liked the way we got an early lead and for the next 2 1/2 quarters didn't let Sydney within 5 goals of us, not letting a team kick consecutive goals for most of the match is a positive for us.

We played a full game. The clearances. Body on the line stuff. Good to see Mundy play one of the best games in his career. Pavlich stood up after questions surrounding his commitment in the media.

Hayden back to his best. Ibbo's best game in a long time. Palmer had a big impact on the game and was back to his hard working self.

Dare I say it but Thornton played a good game in a different role - well done.

The buildup for the derby is going to be huge. It will define the season for both clubs. If we win it could be the spark required with a few key players coming back shortly there after. If the Eagles lose pressure will mount on Whoosha.

Pavlich - 18 contested possessions.

Mundy - 14 contested possessions

We also beat Sydney in overall contested possessions/clearances.

Tackles - over 70 (even though Sydney beat us with an incredible 91 tackles)

Yep - that's the bottom line. Put direct physical pressure on the opposition and they make mistakes. Their skills deteriorate and they make poorer decisions.

Something that doesn't happen when you put direct physical pressure on empty space as we've been attempting to do the previous 4 weeks with this zone shite.

Get the ball and go forward, mainly by foot. None of this backwards, sideways and over your head stuff. Positive footy.

Hase getting better week by week, he is the leader in the midfield.

Pav & Mundy .................. well they showed some heart.

Hill, Suban and Hinckley improve a notch each week.

Johhno is now producing what he promised.

Duffield this season has gone from on the cusp of delisting to really deserving his place in the 22.

1. Fremantle playing hard one on one footy, and winning
2. fremantle dominating the clearances, schammer, mundy, pavlich and palmer all were hard and desperate,resulting in us beating the stoppage kings at their own game
3. mid tier playing well, solomon, mundy, johnson, crowley and dodd, all had excellent games.
4. thornton having a great game, is easily better than gilmore and head, and while he is a very average player, i would rather see him in ahead of the other two by a country mile
5. tarrant domminating goodes, i know goodes kicked three, but one was an absolutely brilliant stoppage clearance, not much taz could do, and the other two were pretty much out of taz's control. if tarrant keeps this form up he will win our best and fairest.
6. palmers knee being ok, i just about had a heart attack when i saw him go down, it looked horrible and the moment it happened i said to a mate that i wouldnt care if we didnt win a game this year, just let his knee be ok, and it was, and we got the win :thumbsu:
7. dodd, i know i mentioned him before in the mid tier, i really dont rate dodd very highly, but gee he did a number on okeefe, and if it wasnt for his rediculous attempt at mark of the year, he would have kept one of the best HFF in the game to nothing, dodd was tough, disciplined and in general his skills were good along with his decision making
8. roger hayden, man he makes us a 10 times better side, composed, skillful, quick, and tough... who would have thought that the skinny rookie we recruited all those years ago would turn out to be in our best 4 players, and at the end of his career will probably be rated in our best 10 of all time.
9. mcpharlin, back in form, his goal on the run after four bounces was inspirational. he doesnt usually celebrate too much or show too much emotion but his punching to the crowd was fantastic to watch. a lot of people on here have accused mcpharlin of not caring, i honestly think he has copped a raw deal from some supporters, he is all class, and proved last night that eh wants to win as much as anyone
10. the kids. stephen hill is going to be a star, the things he does while not getting mountains of the ball yet are just at times breath taking. harvey likened him to long, well some of the things we have seen him do already just remind me so much of mcleod it isnt funny. h chases hard, he works hard, ahs good skills and is not daunted by the fact that he is only 69 k's playing against men. and nic suban, well what a player we have there. his decision making is first class and his skill level is just brilliant, looks as though we have a guy that with experience will really be able to influence games.great pickup
11. pavlich... left the best till last, trading him would be a horrible mistake. it was only a matter of time before he played like we know he can. the guy is the best thing that has ever happened to our club and some people want to trade him. incredible. he really showed great leadership, skill and looked like he really wanted to prove the idiots wrong. the guy is a superstar, people would do well not to forget that too quickly next time he has a couple of bad games

all in all.... :thumbsu:

Really the biggest positive is in the coaching for the game. With the powers that be getting match-ups and game plan right players like Dodd and Thornton were fine, Pavlich sensational, Hayden awesome, Johnson magnificent, Mundy the Man etc. I think Harvey was the person who had the single biggest impact on the outcome of the game, and it has been rare for him to actually outcoach a rival (and Roos is a very good coach).

Seriously, after a game like that I don't think you can use the excuse that the list is carp, and instead have to look at how much the coaching group is getting out of them. There seems a really good mix of youth and experience to me.

Really the biggest positive is in the coaching for the game. With the powers that be getting match-ups and game plan right players like Dodd and Thornton were fine, Pavlich sensational, Hayden awesome, Johnson magnificent, Mundy the Man etc. I think Harvey was the person who had the single biggest impact on the putcome of the game, and it has been rare for him to actually outcoach a rival (and Roos is a very good coach).

Seriously, after a game like that I don't think you can use the excuse that the list is carp, and instead have to look at how much the coaching group is getting out of them. There seems a really good mix of youth and experience to me.
Hmmm.....

Where is the real Gav?

Yes. It's a funny thing how much better the list looks when the team functions properly. But we're in danger of getting carried away by last night's performance. I'm sure Mems and Archmedes will bring us back to earth and point out how truly shit the whole list is.

I think the biggest positive was the even spread of possessions, we only a few get more than 20.

We actually played like a team, seemed like a hell of a lot more comraderie between the guys. The three younguns did a great job, hope we persist with Hinks.

Really the biggest positive is in the coaching for the game. With the powers that be getting match-ups and game plan right players like Dodd and Thornton were fine, Pavlich sensational, Hayden awesome, Johnson magnificent, Mundy the Man etc. I think Harvey was the person who had the single biggest impact on the outcome of the game, and it has been rare for him to actually outcoach a rival (and Roos is a very good coach).

having said all that, the swans arent the team that they once were. missing hall and oloughlin showed that they dont have that much up forward. yes harvey coached well, but if we had of played a team like say carlton yesterday, im not sure we would have won. at the end of the day, we played a great game, but talent wise we are still lacking

Everybody contributing is the biggest positive...that and the young kids in Hill,Hinkley,Suban,Ibbotson and Palmer all doing well:thumbsu:
Love high scoring games and everybody is chipping in.

Big game vs the Eagles...a win againts the eagles could make the year aswell as boost the confidence:)