Autopsy Post Mortem vs Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter BoxMatrix

Aish was the other noticeable culprit in that regard but he can sort of be forgiven, recent injury and stuff.

Of all our players that jump at shadows, Aish isn't one of them. Pushed around too easily yes, but when its his turn he goes.

Couple of points:

1: What do people want Buckley to realistically say in the press conferences? After every loss I hear him say a variation of "we weren't good enough" and people on here react as if he tried to blame the transit of Venus over the Tropic of Capricorn for the loss. This forum seems to want him to publicly flog every single player as well as every staffer in the club before committing hara kiri. This would help precisely nothing.

2: Stop losing your shit over giving up 20 odd point leads. This isn't the 90s any more, it happens twice a round now and every team is guilty of it at some point. No-ones happy about it happening to us but don't act as if it somehow means we are a hopeless case.

Don't know if it's been mentioned but it's not surprising we got over run in the second half.Melbourne were coming off a 16 day break we were coming back from Perth.Would like to know the % is of teams wining coming from Perth.Gee we're brave and I'm proud of them

Lost it across Half Back
Smith turned it over many times, Langdon was out of his depth (understandable being first game back) Scharenberg was beaten (but he will learn more from that)

I thought our half forwards lost it for us in the 3rd qtr. No options coming out of backline for the half backs to kick too.

The Dees half backs were running at pace at the contest to collect while our bloke was jogging behind.

It's why they just kept pumping the ball forward, can't expect backline to stop goals when the ball is coming their way so often.

DeGoey - becoming a beast. Seems to get better every week. I like what I'm seeing with him.

Broomhead - apart from missing an easy goal, he showed his skill today. Hopefully he continues to build on it.

Maynard - gets better every week. Actually becoming one of our more important players. Would have liked to see him on Petracca in the second half. Would have been a hard contest.

Adams really needs to work on his disposa. He seems the sort of guy who likes to put the work in. Otherwise he needs to understand his limitations. He cost us the game today. When we had al the momentum and in full control, he brought them back into it.

Langdon wasn't great but probably need the game.

Goldy was sorely missed in defence today. Would have been the difference.

Overall, I thought we did well. Considering we came back from Perth with the guys off their feet and decimated by injury, I didn't give us a chance. I thought we were the better team today.

Don't know if it's been mentioned but it's not surprising we got over run in the second half.Melbourne were coming off a 16 day break we were coming back from Perth.Would like to know the % is of teams wining coming from Perth.Gee we're brave and I'm proud of them

The bye needs to be over 2wks not 3. Quite a few teams who have come off the bye have won this weekend against teams who haven't had their bye yet.

That's amazing...and does bode well for the future.

Question marks on whether a few on that list make it long term e. g Smith and Crocker..... but the rest look like long term players IMO

And there is some potential debutant players still to come in at some stage this year like Daicos, Kirby... and of course inexperienced players like Cox and Ramsay still developing at VFL level

See, if you weren't a drongo with an agenda you would have realised he was our best player on the day but that's probably asking too much.

And before you open your gob any further, a Grand says he will feature in Brownlow votes on the day.
Using 'drongo' is a half arsed attempt at raising yourself from the depths. Do what you do best.

Those 3 injuries were really felt today.

All 3 of those players give something we SORELY needed.

Gawn missing? Didn't matter, you knew their mids would start roving to Grundy
Hogan missing? Didn't matter, the way our defence and mids gift goals, they could have played with a 3 man forward line and still won

Couple of points:

1: What do people want Buckley to realistically say in the press conferences? After every loss I hear him say a variation of "we weren't good enough" and people on here react as if he tried to blame the transit of Venus over the Tropic of Capricorn for the loss. This forum seems to want him to publicly flog every single player as well as every staffer in the club before committing hara kiri. This would help precisely nothing.

2: Stop losing your shit over giving up 20 odd point leads. This isn't the 90s any more, it happens twice a round now and every team is guilty of it at some point. No-ones happy about it happening to us but don't act as if it somehow means we are a hopeless case.
I'd like him to say I'm a little bit slow in the head for thinking Smith will do a better job than Ramsey on Garlett and admit he was a ****wit for not playing Greenwood on Jones.

Probably a big ask I know...

To be honest I didn't mean to single him out but it just happened at the wrong time for us.
Not sure if adding muscle mass will solve this problem either.
We can afford to let this go to the keeper if he's utilised properly - up forward.
And not in no man's land land on the wing like he was today.

Aish was the other noticeable culprit in that regard but he can sort of be forgiven, recent injury and stuff.

Bit of extra size might give him the confidence to win in a contact situation or at least draw.

Being so slender would definitely have him second guessing.
I am aware some players go ham no matter size or shape but I think he is 100 percent aware of his build or lack there of.

And, I'm with you CFC2010 - the AFL can go and get stuffed, the Pies need to tell the to GAGF on this Queen's birthday game. I'm sick of it too

They cheated tonight and if you check my posing I never complain about umpiring....... but the AFL cheats tonight.

Really am struggling to care anymore. This game is a perfect example of what is broken about this sport.

The umpiring has hit a stage now for me where I no longer can remain invested. We did not lose because of umpiring.

The issue lies with the fact that at any contest you can pick up a "technically correct" free kick for both teams. The then pay or dont pay this depending on the position on the ground, the time of the match and whatever individual interpretation the 1 of 3 umpires have.

They then get directions from the AFL each week to change the interpretation. Then each year rules are added.

It is impossible to correctly umpire this sport and is becoming impossible to watch without frustration. Every time that whistle blows all player look up to see why. Because they dont know where the free kick is going or if it is even one.

I cant watch anymore. Not the way I used to.

When I talked to older people about footy and they said they dont follow it anymore it blew my mind. Now I understand.

In the end it was a coin flip and we struggled with the shorter break. It was a coin flip like every single umpiring decision is.

I dont feel this way after watching any other sport. Never so confused or frustrated. In its quest to becoming bigger the game is looking more and more like an amateur sport.

Adams needs seroius work on his kicking for 2018....we wont play finals again this year, but we need him to improve for next year, otherwise go back to GWS for Kelly and our first pick
Adams isn't going to magically improve to be an average kick over one off-season.

Since entering the AFL, he has been a poor kick and after 6.5 season you can safely conclude that he will always be a poor kick. A bit like Travis Cloke, you just can't fix him.

Best thing the club can do is trade him for a key position forward and give Adams's midfield spot to DeGoey.

As I said before,the umpires almost certainly cost us the game.But we shot ourselves in the foot with all the silly turnovers.That was probably the weakest team we've fielded all year,and the slowest one as well.We badly missed the outside run of Varcoe and Wells.It's a pity they're both so injury prone,we could have done with them today.

How did we lose that game in the first half when we were 4 goals up at the end of it. Good comment.

Gifted them 4x 1st quarter goals through turnovers for a start.

Bit of extra size might give him the confidence to win in a contact situation or at least draw.

Being so slender would definitely have him second guessing.
I am aware some players go ham no matter size or shape but I think he is 100 percent aware of his build or lack there of.
He won't get any braver than he is at his age.
We'll leave it a that mate.

Our defensive set up was poor in the second half.........bad coaching.....not as bad as the umpiring but bad enough.

Yeah was little reaction to the moves melb made to their game plan and structures at half time.

Degoey should of been thrown on ball when Melbourne made a run at it in the 3rd needed a bull to break up the congestion.

The defense looked worse because our midfield defensive run and pressure outside the initial contest was non existant.

You're kidding right.? Aish is as soft as butter on a hot day and Broomehead is leading the AFL on handballs to players standing still. Doesn't matter if it's his own team or the opposition...on one occasion today he got a lucky ball out of the pack and handballed it back into the pack....give me a break

Give broom a break he gets scared easily