Post Release Feedback

Hey Guys,
Long time listener, first time caller.

The Game is so/so, at first it was a solid game but after a while the general glitches and freezes start to weigh a brother a down.
The Gameplay is a good start and definitley in about 10 years you could get to where fifa and 2k11 are at.
But to pay $100 for it, unless you are willing to support the AFL video game cause, is a bit ridiculous.
It lacks atmosphere and longitivity, but of course give it time.

It reminds me of a girl, AFL is like the girl who wasn't always the prettiest but you hooked up with her cos you kind of felt sorry for her and she may have potential in good time.
Whilst Fifa and 2k11 are just mad babes who'd will always be there for you in the end.

The best aspect is the online play, but the fact that everyone always quits and you don't get rewarded for a win until the 3rd QTR?! Silly business.
and i can't see who i'm playing till the end? These are easy fixes, that could improve the game dramatically.

I think some good fixes for the online experience would be:
-The improvements Ross has already mentioned (re: quitters)
-Display the gamertag/psn at the very start of your opponent
-Pause the game for 30/60 seconds at the quarter breaks to allow for changes to teams/tactics (as soon as both players press "continue" the next quarter could start but no longer than 30/60 seonds)

im enjoying it more and more as i get a chance to play now ive got 6 days off coming up will get a better run at it.

The controls work well i reckon the more u get used to it, my first game was just all hope and now im directing my handballs and kicks and making space and going on a few runs.

Reading some complaints people have is frustrating at times, when it seems like its simply because they dont learn the controls, or havent checked where a player is in the team before whinging about a rating. Eg i think reilly was half back for the crows (or i put him there at one stage) and his rating was 53 and i thought thats low, but its just because he is in the wrong position.

I really enjoy the game, havent played online yet though.

Only got the game last night, I agree with other posters that it definitely feels like a retool version of the IR Guru's AFL games.

Obviously it's not perfect, but the game seems to be fun and playable. There are a few bizarre quirks though, the strangest being the goal kicking. I have finally worked out that for a set shot that instead of aiming towards the middle of the goal that you in fact aim for the middle of the points :confused: bizzare, but it works.

The AI does some very dumb things, I have seen the AI kick from the boundary line from out of bounds on the full and turn around the kick it across ground through the goals for a rushed behind to me.

The players numbers are all over the shop.

Yesterday I had Nathan Ablett kick a goal wearing the #1 guernsey. His stats popped up and it said Nathan Ablett #55.

Look - it's pretty fun, its awesome to have an AFL game and with enough support I hope a new and improved one is made. It will get better from here if support is strong enough. It's a good start but I feel some people are expecting too much but at the same time a lot of people are defending it like mental. We are allowed to offer constructive criticism and I'm sure Ross appreciates that as well, as long as people aren't like "lulz this game sux lyk itz bad!".

Criticism is necessary so they know what to improve in the next series of games. It's a fun game, especially with mates but it's also one of the most frustrating games for me (like AFL is in real life :) )

I still feel the marking system is quite average, no real indicator - make it maybe colour coded and even a guidance system that you can turn off. I find myself in the right position and they are marking the ball and sometimes I am in the wrong position and I mark it :confused: Spoiling is good though. Anyway i've mentioned the marking a lot now, not sure how people master it so well.

Yeah, the marking system can be a bit frustrating. It seems that if the opposition are attempting a pass, you have very little chance or intercepting it in a contested marking situation and can't rely on the animations.

Many times I have had the AI kick to one of its team mates and noticed that they were way out of position with me in the perfect spot to intercept. I go for the mark rather than the spoil and some how the other guy usually seems to mark it.

Saw my first 50 metre penalty last night.

I took a mark my mate then tackled me, as we got up he tackled me again ... 50 metres !!!

He was spewin as he thought it was playon... I told him to open the other eye as it was clearly a mark. :D

I took a mark my mate then tackled me, as we got up he tackled me again ... 50 metres !!!

He was spewin as he thought it was playon... I told him to open the other eye as it was clearly a mark. :D

Does that change with difficulty. Have so far only played with Rookie and I always stand waaaaayy over the mark and on a couple of occasions have tackled a guy while he was going back to take his kick and never given a 50m.

I did that in a online game, the guy kicked a goal. Ended up losing by 2points. :eek:

Is it just me or are the controls really complicated?

Ive only played a couple of exhibition matches but i really have no idea, just mashing at buttons. Will i get used to them in time or what? i just think its to much to remember

Read the manual and practice!

Tell me a sports game that doesn't have a heap of controls to learn.

Takes practice to master.

Personally, love the game.

Number one, the gameplay is fantastic and that is what matters in the end. Congestion, yes there are lots of tackles however it is far more realistic than previous games where you kick run kick run. You need to take time to learn the controls and skills of the game, like marking (still very hard) and spoiling. I'm now learning to chip the ball to players on the lead and mark more often. I find it very hard to mark from defensive kick ins, and it should be. :)

Only small things are getting held after the ball has been released and the holding the ball decisions...also tackling after a mark and not being awarded a 50m penalty. However I can live with this.

Love the stats brought up during the game when a player marks or goals and also love the summary of team stats and quarter by quarter scores and highest possies and goals. One thing which is definitely needed for future versions is stats during the match for individual players (I know it's been said to death). What they need is a page similar to the AFL website where you can view all stats on the one page and include things such as % on ground time.

Multiple seasons/career mode - which can be produced next time round.

One thing I reckon would or could be fun is lounge mode like fifa, where you play your mates when they come over and you can save all your stats and matches, make your own ladder.

Love the game, gameplay is fantastic and is the most important thing. Future versions if any need to focus on more in depth stats and career mode thats all.

Nah seriously man what the ****.

Everytime I win a hitout to a player I'm tackled straight away. Everytime I get a little bit of space the opponent makes it up and tackles me. Everytime I fire off a handball it goes to no one. None of my players are ever wide open, I always have to kick to a contest or 1v1. My defenders are never open when I have the ball inside defensive 50 (is there a Saints Footy formation to fix this?) so I have to just go long up the corridor. It's almost impossible to switch the play because the CPU's play hardcore man v man in defence. My players never run to space, they just stand there waiting to recieve a handball, then get tackled.

Jesus I need to get better, I'm almost sick of it already. It seems like a good game, a little rough around the edges, but nonetheless a great buidling block. However, all this tackling is just driving me crazy.

I've only played it once and that was with a mate for about an hour, but so far I'm fairly unimpressed.
The ruck work is so frustrating, the game pretty much chooses when it wants to work and it just seems glitched.
Marking isn't that bad but it still has it's major flaws. The spoiling rarely works for me.
The commentary I have no problem with. It's never really been good in any of the AFL games.
The kicking is by far the worst part of the game though. When you mark the ball or get a free kick, you don't get the same third person view like you do when you kick out or kick or goal. This makes it really difficult when you try to kick it to someone. 90% of the time it goes to open space or to the opposition. I don't get how the meter works either.
Also the lack of in-game stats is hugely annoying. It only pops up in certain situations which sucks for stats nerds like myself.
But, I understand that this is simply a base model for what should be a good series in the future. I also believe that if I get a hold of the controls properly (and learn how that ****ing kick meter is supposed to work) that I will start enjoying the game a lot more.

And it's an AFL game, that in itself makes it more enjoyable than the majority of the games on the market, and I will never pass up an oppotunity to play it (and it won't stop me from buying it, which I will be doing soon).

Overall, the learning curb is what makes this game so unappealing at the moment, but I'm sure when I get over that curb then I will end up enjoying this game as much as I thought I would before it came out.

The gameplay is all one on one with sydney 2005 like stoppages combined with pagens paddock...can get frustrating with all the tackles. I would have like the game to feature off loads or more fumbles in tackles.

The key to winning seems to be the same as past afl games....run, handball, run, kick deep inside 50. Load your forward with heaps of talls as they will dominate the marking contests and are just as good as the smalls in crumbing and chase downs. Basically speed has little impact in the game...its all about strong marks. Vossy recruiting of fev sure is effective in this game...lol

Gameplay, What disappoints my the most is a difficulty in linking up with teammates with easy kicks. Kicks to a player alone should be easier to hit. the game introduced a great feature in locking in the highlighted reciever, but you can't cycle through the players

The gameplay is all one on one with sydney 2005 like stoppages combined with pagens paddock...can get frustrating with all the tackles. I would have like the game to feature off loads or more fumbles in tackles.

The key to winning seems to be the same as past afl games....run, handball, run, kick deep inside 50. Load your forward with heaps of talls as they will dominate the marking contests and are just as good as the smalls in crumbing and chase downs. Basically speed has little impact in the game...its all about strong marks. Vossy recruiting of fev sure is effective in this game...lol

Gameplay, What disappoints my the most is a difficulty in linking up with teammates with easy kicks. Kicks to a player alone should be easier to hit. the game introduced a great feature in locking in the highlighted reciever, but you can't cycle through the players

No, the old games consisted of tap it down to one of your midfielders then bang it long to the FF and goal.

Does that change with difficulty. Have so far only played with Rookie and I always stand waaaaayy over the mark and on a couple of occasions have tackled a guy while he was going back to take his kick and never given a 50m.
Most likely the standing over the mark is due to that rule being turned off, it's one of those things that if you had it turned on in offline and online play then you'd see a ridiculous amount of 50's due to accidentally running over the mark when perhaps changing player or just not concentrating.

The tackling the guy when he takes a mark generally gives you leeway by about a second, as is given in real life (only obviously in this game it's a bit more exaggerated when you do something like that).

Also I believe someone mentioned in here about no holding the man free kick? I got one given against me last night, so it is definitely in there.
Yes you can, hold L2 (or whatever that is on 360) and use the right stick to cycle through them (flick it left and right).

Awesome, thanks...question, when you then kick to that selected player will he lead out or do you just kick it on his head
I've found that when you lock onto them they generally do lead to you, so you want to lower your power than thinking "I'll kick it to where he is now". Have found the lowered power passes generally work well.

No, the old games consisted of tap it down to one of your midfielders then bang it long to the FF and goal.

Spot on. In the old games you would find your FF kicking 12 and dominating every game with other forwards kicking 1 or maybe 2 goals tops. At least the new game shares it around a bit and creates more of a challenge inside 50.

Post Release Feedback