Post-Richmond Analysis

Originally posted by Jerome
II cant say I noticed Perrie's fitness level but now that you mention it...I thought he had a great pre season? What impressed me was his field kicking. It was shocking at times yet he still hit targets.

I thought Bass was Ok early (granted he was on a shorter opponenet) but as it went on he lost the plot. That dummy spit was not called for.

Jericho didnt take it as clean as he would have liked. Still learning how to read the play at AFL level. Maybe he is rushing it a bit but he's doing OK.

Richmond were dreadful. Very dissapointed with Kane Johnson, I consider him Captain material and he didnt give them much drive. Shows how badly they are going.

I thought the game plan had improved as well. It will be interesting to see how we go against some tougher opponents in the next 4 weeks.
Richmond had so few forwards, there was plenty of space, once Perrie got the ball. His decision on what option coming out of defense was ordinary, and we missed some golden attacking opportunities.

Jerricho, was so consious of hitting the ball at pace, he was forgetting to grab the ball, then do something with it. He was doing something with it B4 he got it.:) But he has all the attributes, will be an AFL footballer, and could be a FF option?

Originally posted by DaveW
I thought we still ran down the wings and chipped from side to side WAAAAYY too often.
Dave, absolutely played a very direct, long kicking game tonight.
Played short to the wings, out of defense, looked inside for options down the corridor, or kicked long tocarey/McGregor.
Saw a couple of players running down the boundary line, would have kicked down the line previously,but looked inside for the better option - very encouraging

Originally posted by spindoctor
Nathan Bock: look, it's only his first game, but we must admit those goals were lucky, he didn't look like he knew what he was doing in the forward line, his kicking looked awful down back, and he did the old 'push-in-the-back'. Mediocre debut.
The guy had three kicks for two goals, so he couldn't have shanked too many kicks "down back" (that's in defence for the oldtimers).

Bock, Jericho, Hudson - three guys playing their first few AFL games and doing a great job.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

Richmond are a bloody rabble. wouldn't like to be a richmond supporter ATM. Must break your heart.
yeah it does mate.the sad fact is last night all i saw was a very bleak 2004 for us.sure we have had our bad years over the past 20yrs but what hurts the most this year is the fact that the players[cubs aside]have no spirit,not a proud bone in their body not so much for the club but their own performance.
pefect example young bock kicks his 1st goal in the afl.his teamates swamped him like a brother.roach kicks his 1st goal in the afl and not any celebration from his so called teamates.

anyway goodluck to the crows this year.1st step towards the 8.

cheers!

well done to the boys

i watched part of the game, leading by 10 points when for a shower and came back to see 60 point lead!.. hopefully the form conts.

looking forward to the showdown, doesnt matter where the teams are on the board its still 50/50 with both sa teams going head to head.

a few positive signs- Wayne looking a bit better. Jericho and Johncock always very very impressive!...and that new guy Bocky! anyways would say more but didnt see part of it :)

well done! :)

Originally posted by tiger of old
roach kicks his 1st goal in the afl and not any celebration from his so called teamates.

well it's hard to celebrate and look happy when you're being thumped. and if you do walls will write a column about the team being happy even though they're losing.

Originally posted by jmorg1
well it's hard to celebrate and look happy when you're being thumped. and if you do walls will write a column about the team being happy even though they're losing.
Big difference between encouraging youngsters and 100 game players giving high fives to the crowd when the side is well down.

What I found uninspiring was Wayne Campbell's effort after the siren at three quarter time. He looked totally at sea, like he was scared to rip a hamstring. Most players should be able to have a decent ping from 55. Campbell's been a fantastic servant for the Tigers, going from boundary rider to inspirational captain, but currently he seems lost. His body language at the half time siren was sad to see.

Originally posted by McAlmanac
Big difference between encouraging youngsters and 100 game players giving high fives to the crowd when the side is well down.

What I found uninspiring was Wayne Campbell's effort after the siren at three quarter time. He looked totally at sea, like he was scared to rip a hamstring. Most players should be able to have a decent ping from 55. Campbell's been a fantastic servant for the Tigers, going from boundary rider to inspirational captain, but currently he seems lost. His body language at the half time siren was sad to see.

They are both significant points and demonstrate where Richmond is at right now.

I felt so sorry for young Roach. He kicks his first goal in AFL footy, and he's almost treated like a leper by his team-mates. A show of pride in him etc would have been great for the lad and the team's spirit.

That situation with Campbell and that shot for goal after three quarter time was embarrassing for the Richmond footy club. No look of concentration, determination, gritting the teeth etc. Just a look on his face as if to say "what in f*** do I do now?" Leadership at it's worst.

The club needs more leadership, and probably won't achieve it without a change of coach, and maybe even captain.

Just as background, the point jmorg1 was making about Robert Walls was about an article he wrote during the week criticising Collingwood players who were going hoopla over goals they'd kicked when the side was well behind. He named Woewodin (there's a poll, who's softer - Woewodin or Bowden?) and Holland (who high fived the crowd) - said they should roll up their sleeves and work hard. I thought it was a good article.

Gotta say, I ran across to soak up the atmosphere of the seething mob after the game and haven't experienced that sort of vitriol in over 30 years of footy-going. Truly amazing.

Originally posted by _espoir
well done to the boys

i watched part of the game, leading by 10 points when for a shower and came back to see 60 point lead!.. hopefully the form conts.

looking forward to the showdown, doesnt matter where the teams are on the board its still 50/50 with both sa teams going head to head.

a few positive signs- Wayne looking a bit better. Jericho and Johncock always very very impressive!...and that new guy Bocky! anyways would say more but didnt see part of it :)

well done! :)

Thanks riopse_ :)

Hopefully we can continue this slight resurgence and beat Geelong next week. Good luck to your boys against the Doggies.

Originally posted by DaveW
I thought we still ran down the wings and chipped from side to side WAAAAYY too often.

Totally agree especially when we kick out from a Richmond behind there were a couple of time's that we tried to switch play and it took three kicks to do it:rolleyes: We need to striaghten up more I know sometimes teams do play wide but not the amount that we do, it's so frustrating to watch, simpl because w look so good when we go long and direct:)

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Totally agree especially when we kick out from a Richmond behind there were a couple of time's that we tried to switch play and it took three kicks to do it:rolleyes: We need to striaghten up more I know sometimes teams do play wide but not the amount that we do, it's so frustrating to watch, simpl because w look so good when we go long and direct:)
Seriously what game were you watching last night?
If that was indirect football - Then I'm in favour.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Totally agree especially when we kick out from a Richmond behind there were a couple of time's that we tried to switch play and it took three kicks to do it:rolleyes:
Thats a set play Marty. Brisbane execute it to perfection. We need to work on it a bit more.

I don't mind us going wide when we are getting out of defence but once you get to HB or wing get it in the corridor.

A few people bag Hentschel but he is just about the only bloke who looks to pass it into corridor when coming off HBF.

I didn't think we were too bad last night. We were far more direct that in previous 4 games and at least we moved it on quickly and long to our forwards. Once Richmond got numbers back we held onto it and looked for a better option.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Thats a set play Marty. Brisbane execute it to perfection. We need to work on it a bit more.

I don't mind us going wide when we are getting out of defence but once you get to HB or wing get it in the corridor.

A few people bag Hentschel but he is just about the only bloke who looks to pass it into corridor when coming off HBF.

I didn't think we were too bad last night. We were far more direct that in previous 4 games and at least we moved it on quickly and long to our forwards. Once Richmond got numbers back we held onto it and looked for a better option.
Thats an acurate accessment.
We did look inside far more coming along the wing.
Can't remember many leads to the pockets that were honoured?

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Seriously what game were you watching last night?
If that was indirect football - Then I'm in favour.
Certainly was far better direct style of football than early games. Hopefully it's not a once-off & the game plan we intend to stick too.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Certainly was far better direct style of football than early games. Hopefully it's not a once-off & the game plan we intend to stick too.
Well it worked a treat tonight, and it helped having MCgregor marking strongly.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Well it worked a treat tonight, and it helped having MCgregor marking strongly.
Helped having a forward structure & midfielders delivering the ball in better manner. Still think Kenny is a better defender than Sarge & Sarge is a better forward than Kenny. How would they have both played last night if their roles were reversed?

Originally posted by macca23
Doughty, Gallagher and Bode are doing everything possible to make it hard for Reilly to get his spot back!!

:eek:
:(
I hope he comes back to the crows next week if fit. Not Sturt AGAIN...that isnt going to help his development he needs to play at a level which will challenge him and make him better :(

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Helped having a forward structure & midfielders delivering the ball in better manner. Still think Kenny is a better defender than Sarge & Sarge is a better forward than Kenny. How would they have both played last night if their roles were reversed?
Kenny would have been fine, don't know about Perrie.
He looked stuffed, at the 20 min mark of first qtr. IMO he would struggle on last nights viewing.

Just thinking about it, I put his continual hands on knees to being blown out, but perhaps he has a back problem? Hence playing him in defense V up forward where he's going to be jumped into?

The most obvious differences in this game compared to the others were:
1. The ability to make better decisions when bringing the ball forward and have a higher skill level - creating more confidence and self-belief
2. The disappointing form of the opposition

Some player comments:

McGregor - I have felt that he does have a good pair of hands and reads the the situation well when contesting a mark.

Hentschell - I think he is coming along really well and looks more like he belongs [he thinks so too i'd say] - but i wouldnt play him up forward atm.

Burns - tried hard but seemed to two grab and over-run the ball a bit

Bock - was lucky he got those two goals as in other contests looked a bit out of his depth -but not prepared to write him off yet

Perrie - was great on Ottens and gave good rebound and some of attacks on the ball and contestswere great.

Johncock - really impressed with the way he attacked the player with the ball especially in 2nd efforts

Carey - impressed with his 1st quarter and a half - helped set the pattern for the night.

Originally posted by _espoir

Hmm -how about taking a really LLLLOOOOOONNNNGGGGG shower when the showdown's on!

Originally posted by tiger of old

pefect example young bock kicks his 1st goal in the afl.his teamates swamped him like a brother.roach kicks his 1st goal in the afl and not any celebration from his so called teamates.

Well Caro Wilson reckons, in her latest article, that after Roach kicked the goal, a few Tigers players were celebrating. And she goes on to say 'What the hell were they celebrating?'.