Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)

These criticisms would have more bite if we were less successful.
Omg so much this!

We have basically done everything as well as any club in the competition for the last decade or so, except for perform in grand finals.

So the implication in people's complaints is that we suck in grand finals because we... wear a Pride jumper once a year and celebrate Marn Grook every May.

Yeah, not buying it.

These criticisms would have more bite if we were less successful. OK, we've lost 4 straight grand finals but we made those GFs and we're in the conversation for most successful club over the past 30 years. I'd have the dynasty teams Brisbane, Hawthorn, Geelong and Richmond in front of us but I'd have us next best.

So yes we want to get better and win more flags but it's really easy to whinge and be a knocker. It's hard to actually make it happen. I suspect they're trying their best and I don't think we'd be doing any better if you were in charge.

Nor is there any evidence that our community work and championing social causes is a distraction to our performance. If there were I reckon we would reconsider it. All you've got is that we haven't won everything all the time but not all the clubs can win everything all the time and you have to be able to deal with not being #1 for at least some of the time and hopefully even find some enjoyment in it otherwise you're going to have a miserable fan experience. So, harden up and deal some losing you soft, whinging petunias!
This better directed at the players

These criticisms would have more bite if we were less successful. OK, we've lost 4 straight grand finals but we made those GFs and we're in the conversation for most successful club over the past 30 years. I'd have the dynasty teams Brisbane, Hawthorn, Geelong and Richmond in front of us but I'd have us next best.

So yes we want to get better and win more flags but it's really easy to whinge and be a knocker. It's hard to actually make it happen. I suspect they're trying their best and I don't think we'd be doing any better if you were in charge.

Nor is there any evidence that our community work and championing social causes is a distraction to our performance. If there were I reckon we would reconsider it. All you've got is that we haven't won everything all the time but not all the clubs can win everything all the time and you have to be able to deal with not being #1 for at least some of the time and hopefully even find some enjoyment in it otherwise you're going to have a miserable fan experience. So, harden up and deal some losing you soft, whinging petunias!

I largely agree.

Personally, however, the Heeney apology video really rankled me.

It said something about the mentality inside the club - I just can’t quite find the words to describe what it is.

So the community work and social conscience didn't have any influence when we dominated the comp for 3 months, had one of the great finals comebacks against GWS, and comfortably won a prelim, but the weight of championing LGBTQ rights all came crashing down on grand final day?

Ludicrous.

Watched & stuck by this club through the 70's & 80's.
Paid memberships in all of this time. We lost plenty but had a crack with the little we had compared to the big clubs.
Now this lot have access to the best facilities that any other players paving the way for them ever had.
With it has come softness.
I've been a Premiership Club (Grand Final Ticket guarantee) member with my whole family since it's introduction.
I have always paid my membership (5 in total) at mid to the end of Feb. This year in the first few weeks of Jan, I was sent an email saying congratulations on being a 30 year plus Victorian based member with a badge coming in the mail. Later in the afternoon I was sent another email warning me that I had to make payment by Jan 26th in order to retain my Premiership Club status, or I would be taken off the list because we suddenly have this P'ship Club waiting list of Johnny come lately members.

I called them, I paid early & told them I'll see them on the way back down which is inevitable.
But I'll still be a paid up P'ship Club member. Even after the insulting email.
I hope you too will be one of those loyal members sitting in a half empty stadium because we just aren't winning.
But those other 20,000 odd "supporters" will go missing. History says it will.

So I don't appreciate someone else telling me to harden up after I sat through those 4 GF shitfests.
I think that entitles me to some "whinging".

the Heeney apology video
Yep this was the one.
You hit the bloke Heens, you got a week, you cop it sweet.
Oh my god we sounded like the victim club North.

Couldn't care less about people's colours, etc, etc, etc.
Just that they are people like all of us.
That all comes down to respecting everyone equally. Some just don't & never will, simple.

But I follow the footy & respect everyone around me. It's just a sideshow that some will never buy no matter how hard the club tries.
PLAY FOOTY!

So the community work and social conscience didn't have any influence when we dominated the comp for 3 months, had one of the great finals comebacks against GWS, and comfortably won a prelim, but the weight of championing LGBTQ rights all came crashing down on grand final day?

Ludicrous.
No we came back against GWS because Heeney, Warner & Gulden suddenly pulled their fingers out for 20 minutes.

Just like we went from 27 points down against the Hawks to 2 points down when Warner, Blakey & Heeney decided to turn it on for 10 minutes doing what as a supporter I was expecting them to do for 3 to 4 quarters.

We lost the GF by 60 points........................again................ because none of our players gave even 5 minutes of harder footy than the Lions players did.

Watched & stuck by this club through the 70's & 80's.......

So I don't appreciate someone else telling me to harden up after I sat through those 4 GF shitfests.
I think that entitles me to some "whinging".
I don't think anyone doubts your connection with and support for the club,but it seems to me that you're no longer enjoying the journey.

You used be one of the 3 or 4 most optimistic supporters on here, now you are one of the most pessimistic.
I'm not trying to tell you how to barrack (although yes it might seem as if I am) and I've no doubt you've made a significant emotional and financial commitment to the club but what does maintaining the anger achieve?

The GFs were disasters but surely the aforementioned journeys were enjoyable?

I'm sure we've all been on trips somewhere where the destination was a disappointment but we've enjoyed the company and sights along the way.

It just seems you no longer get enjoyment following the Swans, which is sad because you were always one of the people who could see the silver lining.

Anyway I like you as a poster Ted (admittedly not a much in recent times) and I just hope there will be light at the tunnel and the team/club can again raise your spirits.

Take care. :)

(And feel free, if you wish,to smash my amateur psychology).

No we came back against GWS because Heeney, Warner & Gulden suddenly pulled their fingers out for 20 minutes.

Just like we went from 27 points down against the Hawks to 2 points down when Warner, Blakey & Heeney decided to turn it on for 10 minutes doing what as a supporter I was expecting them to do for 3 to 4 quarters.

We lost the GF by 60 points........................again................ because none of our players gave even 5 minutes of harder footy than the Lions players did.
So..... the results had nothing to do with the "nice club" stuff? We won games when our good players played good footy.

Complain all you like about consistency or all 22 standing up, but trying to correlate on field performance to the community initiatives the club engages with is bizarre.

So..... the results had nothing to do with the "nice club" stuff?

Brisbane were considered a nice club off the field.

Fagan definitely has that supporting vibe as coach of the Lions (Not going into the Hawthorn transgressions here).

I think you can be a nice fair club, but still hard at it.

I don't think anyone doubts your connection with and support for the club,but it seems to me that you're no longer enjoying the journey.

You used be one of the 3 or 4 most optimistic supporters on here, now you are one of the most pessimistic.
I'm not trying to tell you how to barrack (although yes it might seem as if I am) and I've no doubt you've made a significant emotional and financial commitment to the club but what does maintaining the anger achieve?

The GFs were disasters but surely the aforementioned journeys were enjoyable?

I'm sure we've all been on trips somewhere where the destination was a disappointment but we've enjoyed the company and sights along the way.

It just seems you no longer get enjoyment following the Swans, which is sad because you were always one of the people who could see the silver lining.

Anyway I like you as a poster Ted (admittedly not a much in recent times) and I just hope there will be light at the tunnel and the team/club can again raise your spirits.

Take care. :)

(And feel free, if you wish,to smash my amateur psychology).
Hey I really appreciate your kind words HB.
Let me just say that I respect everyone's posting on here, agree or disagree but I seriously sorry if I bring misery with my posts.
I have been very critical but just want to see untried players given a go. We know what we are going to get with the same few that let us down.
Absolutely love the Wicks move. Not since Roos have I seen a switch around of a player from forward to defence.
Roos first did it with Leo Barry & then Grundy & then Teddy Richards.
All premiership defenders by the end of their careers.
Wicks was just outstanding the other night & I mentioned it was the ONLY thing that made me smile.
Yeah Warner I know did some things. But he will get generously remunerated going forward by us & then WC or Freo.
Poor old Sammy Wicks was hanging on to his career by a thread. This week against the Lions I an looking forward to his matchup. The Lions have some quality smalls & his work will be cut out & I know he won't win them all but he killed the Wizard.

I'll try & be more positive this weekend no matter what.
Thanks H B!

My comment didn't mention social causes and nor did I whinge about losing. I'm totally fine with losing any game GF included as long as I've seen a hard committed team play ruthless football for 4qtrs.
I don't appreciate the soft comment and how demanding more hardness from a football team I love and adore indicates I'm soft. Long bow to draw. Play hard footy I'm happy. Ease up on the insults.

My comment didn't mention social causes and nor did I whinge about losing. I'm totally fine with losing any game GF included as long as I've seen a hard committed team play ruthless football for 4qtrs.
I don't appreciate the soft comment and how demanding more hardness from a football team I love and adore indicates I'm soft. Long bow to draw. Play hard footy I'm happy. Ease up on the insults.
This is the way I feel too killa. The off field stuff makes people (including me at times) all warm and fuzzy inside. But I’d like to see a more unrelenting team on the field. And I think that’s a mental thing more than just the players and their ability. It’s infectious too. Leaders can show it consistently and demand it of others.

The two are not remotely mutually exclusive. Warm and cuddly off the field, killers on. Easy.

Brisbane were considered a nice club off the field.

Fagan definitely has that supporting vibe as coach of the Lions (Not going into the Hawthorn transgressions here).

I think you can be a nice fair club, but still hard at it.
Agreed, but the difference with Fagan is he is a tough nut. It's just that he doesn't show it to the outside. That's left for the playing group. That's not suggesting he is only hard on them when in a private setting, just that he knows when to lay it on them.

I agree with you. I'll add that fair minded supporters can cop a loss if you feel that the team is invested. I remember in the 90s we would lose regularly but it would be OK because you knew the team was doing its best (especially Paul Kelly). But what irritates me is when it looks like our team is not fully committed. GF sent off those vibes as did last week against the Hawks. I understand that it would not be a conscious thing but more mental and not really sure how they can turn that around.

Think the original point has been lost with oh no Sydney wore a pride jumper .

Being socially active is not part of the footy side and having a hard edge.

Can still stand for things and engage in causes whilst being a harder club around the actual footy .

Sorry killablood & Tedeski .

I wasn't sure whether to issue an apology or not. But since I have hurt feelings and that was something I consciously risked doing even though it was not the outcome I wanted, I do apologise. I was kind of being light-hearted but kind of not too. I got carried away and made it more personal than I should have. It's not usually my style to be offensive. The large majority of the time I focus on being positive and bringing good energy and I was focused on that in this instance too but regrettably at your expense. Appreciate your generous replies.

On another note, it has come to my attention that the word "verbally" is being used as a synonym for "orally" and in contradistinction to "in writing". E.g. The applicant should have good communication skills verbally and in writing. To me, this is wrong and mildly repugnant. I've always thought that "verbal" means related to words whether spoken or written.

1. Has anyone else come across this?
2. Does anyone else have any thoughts or feelings on the topic?

Sorry killablood & Tedeski .

I wasn't sure whether to issue an apology or not. But since I have hurt feelings and that was something I consciously risked doing even though it was not the outcome I wanted, I do apologise. I was kind of being light-hearted but kind of not too. I got carried away and made it more personal than I should have. It's not usually my style to be offensive. The large majority of the time I focus on being positive and bringing good energy and I was focused on that in this instance too but regrettably at your expense. Appreciate your generous replies.
Hey no need to apologise at all mate.

You said nothing wrong in your post, nor was I upset in any way.
If I wasn't allowed to reply then that would be different but we are thankfully allowed to do that on this forum.
So please don't stop having a crack at anyone if you feel the discussion needs it Callipygian.:)

Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)

Write your reply...