Potential compensation for Ablett

Greg Brady

Jan 24, 2010
Slough
Many seem to feel the news conference today has indicated that Gary has decided to leave the club.

IF this is the case, my belief is we would get a pathetic pick somewhere in the region of 25 or so. The AFL, the GC and the GFC know this is pathetic and unjust.

My question is, is there any leeway? We desere more, can we get it? Or is the worst thing that ever happened to AFL (Dimitriou) just going to continue acting like a prick and ensure we get nothing?
Discuss....

Re: Potential Compensation.

If you wait a year and Gold Coast have a Barry Crocker in their first year, you could potentially claim their first pick in the following year (which could be no.4-10 depending on GWS' allocation).

I really feel for you guys on this one. We'd absolutely hate to lose Buddy as he's our best player, but his dad wasn't a champion of the club and Buddy isn't the undisputed best player in the league. Good luck

If you wait a year and Gold Coast have a Barry Crocker in their first year, you could potentially claim their first pick in the following year (which could be no.4-10 depending on GWS' allocation).

I really feel for you guys on this one. We'd absolutely hate to lose Buddy as he's our best player, but his dad wasn't a champion of the club and Buddy isn't the undisputed best player in the league. Good luck
Yeah its a disgrace the AFL is letting this happen.

Players like Ablett, Buddy, Reiwoldt etc. are sunomenous (spelling) with their clubs. I too would feel for Hawthorn if you lost a Buddy, Hodge or Roughead as they belong to you, you made them what they are today and the AFL will just throw some crap pick (that could be worth something one day) as compensation. Its not fair, and this is ignoring the Ablett history at the GFC.

It is a disgrace, i thought the AFL CEO had to show a certain level of unbias.....:rolleyes:

Yeah its a disgrace the AFL is letting this happen.

Players like Ablett, Buddy, Reiwoldt etc. are sunomenous (spelling) with their clubs. I too would feel for Hawthorn if you lost a Buddy, Hodge or Roughead as they belong to you, you made them what they are today and the AFL will just throw some crap pick (that could be worth something one day) as compensation. Its not fair, and this is ignoring the Ablett history at the GFC.

It is a disgrace, i thought the AFL CEO had to show a certain level of unbias.....:rolleyes:

Do you mean "synonymous"?

Being a North fan, I know all about getting screwed over by Demetriou. I also feel for Cats on this one - they've done all they can. FWIW I hope he stays.

Demetriou's head on a platter.

Not joking.

If the AFL want to take the heart and soul out of a footy club that is 150 years old, why not just go the full hack I say. Maybe then he'd understand.

Pick 26 is all we'd get and it's a joke (unless Ablett decides to force GC to give us picks but why would he).

The only good news is it would free up some significant salary cap room to give long term contracts to others, or to bring in a new recruit. But even that's nothing in comparison to what we'd lose.

Stupid Vlad.

Not joking.

If the AFL want to take the heart and soul out of a footy club that is 150 years old, why not just go the full hack I say. Maybe then he'd understand.

When he was asked about this over the weekend, Demetriou's response was that he was "excited" by what was happening at GC.

It won't be the end of the world if GC get Ablett. And at the moment it is easy for supporters of other clubs to say Ablett should go. But wait until GC / West Sydney / AFL turn their torch on other club's champions. Then you'll hear calls for a breakaway league.

When he was asked about this over the weekend, Demetriou's response was that he was "excited" by what was happening at GC.

It won't be the end of the world if GC get Ablett. And at the moment it is easy for supporters of other clubs to say Ablett should go. But wait until GC / West Sydney / AFL turn their torch on other club's champions. Then you'll hear calls for a breakaway league.

Exactly mate. All the focus has been on Gaz and Geelong and the other clubs have been existing in a bubble. Just wait till it all bursts open soon.

Not joking.

You'd consider one player to be the heart and soul of Geelong? Righto.

Pick 26 is all we'd get and it's a joke (unless Ablett decides to force GC to give us picks but why would he).
Yeah, no.

We'd only get Pick 26 if we won the flag and decided to use a compensatory pick this year. We're allowed to hold onto the pick for five years, so at a minimum you'd expect the club to wait until 2012 when the draft isn't compromised. If it just does end up a single first round pick, it's shit, but in 2012 you'd think we will be beginning to drop off the pace and it'd be Pick 7-8ish.

im so sick of hearing about this. I would understand the reasoning if he was to leave, but even then, be bitterly dissapointed. If his mind is made up he should just make the announcement

You'd consider one player to be the heart and soul of Geelong? Righto.

Yeah, no.

We'd only get Pick 26 if we won the flag and decided to use a compensatory pick this year. We're allowed to hold onto the pick for five years, so at a minimum you'd expect the club to wait until 2012 when the draft isn't compromised. If it just does end up a single first round pick, it's shit, but in 2012 you'd think we will be beginning to drop off the pace and it'd be Pick 7-8ish.

I am not referring to one player. In fact I have been writing all day about how one player doesnt ever make a footy side, so I am somewhat put out by your false presumption mate. I am talking about the process the AFL has employed here. The tactics and means of getting what they want.
The idea they can take whoever and whatever they want when they feel.
That our standing or history in the game of following the rules and as Bob Davis liked to call us "the sporting club" could be abused in this manner. To be quite frank the absolute BS that has surrounded this whole sorry issue since Gaz and Pickering were sprung on the GC last year with no follow up comment or involvement for the club or supporters probably because of a legal loophole.

I take it your all cool with that? Righto then.

But if you do want to chat about individual people, eventhough that was never my intention; has there been a more famous family in the 150 years of the club? A more talented family at the very least? Doesn't matter? What about the highlights reel of Snr? And young Gary kicking us into attack in the dying seconds of the 09 GF? You are talking about people you could name stands after at Skilled that have been around a quarter of a century? No?

Lets be honest, we were always going to loose at least one player to the expansion teams, after all, we are the best performing club in the league over the last five years and the chimps in charge are not going to allow GC to take Richmonds best, or Melbournes. By rights, I suppose the marquee player for GC was always going to come from Geelong, lets just hope we dont loose two. If Ablett decides to stay the heat will turn to Selwood. If he does go maybe we can keep the rest of the list together, and GWS can take Higgins, Murphy, or Franklin. We were never going to get compensated equally, because that would make GC uncompetative, and I believe Geelong signed on this deal, so we just have to suck up the pain and live with the memories over the last couple of years, at least we have that. Will be very hard to watch either player in another jumper though.

Not quite right - the number of the compensation pick depends on where WE finish (and is to be taken the selection after our first rounder), and has nothing to do how the scum rat Gold Coast go unfortunately.

I am not referring to one player. In fact I have been writing all day about how one player doesnt ever make a footy side, so I am somewhat put out by your false presumption mate. I am talking about the process the AFL has employed here. The tactics and means of getting what they want.
The idea they can take whoever and whatever they want when they feel.
That our standing or history in the game of following the rules and as Bob Davis liked to call us "the sporting club" could be abused in this manner. To be quite frank the absolute BS that has surrounded this whole sorry issue since Gaz and Pickering were sprung on the GC last year with no follow up comment or involvement for the club or supporters probably because of a legal loophole.
The highlighted bit goes to the heart of this, I think. The AFL set up a series of concessions for the GC. The 16 clubs, including our own, signed off on them. Note that even had GC not existed, Ablett could easily have simply flipped the bird and walked out on the club to get picked up in the PSD by some bottom feeder paying 92.5% of the salary cap - and we would have got diddly-squat.

Secondly - you'll note that GC pursued a variety of players, and Ablett is the only one who is playing games. Gold Coast wanted Franklin and they wanted Cotchin and they're not going to get either of them. Shit, I guess the AFL conspiracy has failed again! Maybe this situation has a bit more to do with G Ablett than people want to admit.

I'm not happy with the idea of GC poaching players and I'm not happy with Ablett leaving. But frankly, if he wants to put dollars above loyalty...thanks for the memories? The way people are acting the AFL has drugged and brainwashed Ablett into accepting an offer.

But if you do want to chat about individual people, eventhough that was never my intention; has there been a more famous family in the 150 years of the club? A more talented family at the very least? Doesn't matter? What about the highlights reel of Snr? And young Gary kicking us into attack in the dying seconds of the 09 GF? You are talking about people you could name stands after at Skilled that have been around a quarter of a century? No?
Geelong existed and was great before the Ablett family and they will exist and be great after the Ablett family.

PS: Doug Wade was not a one club man, and yet he still has a stand named after him. Fancy that eh?

Neither was Gary Ablett :rolleyes:

Anyway, I swear we need a sticky thread on this forum with the sole purpose of explaining the compensatory pick system.

True that - but then people wouldn't look at it anyway, so there really isn't much point.

The highlighted bit goes to the heart of this, I think. The AFL set up a series of concessions for the GC. The 16 clubs, including our own, signed off on them. Note that even had GC not existed, Ablett could easily have simply flipped the bird and walked out on the club to get picked up in the PSD by some bottom feeder paying 92.5% of the salary cap - and we would have got diddly-squat.

Secondly - you'll note that GC pursued a variety of players, and Ablett is the only one who is playing games. Gold Coast wanted Franklin and they wanted Cotchin and they're not going to get either of them. Shit, I guess the AFL conspiracy has failed again! Maybe this situation has a bit more to do with G Ablett than people want to admit.

I'm not happy with the idea of GC poaching players and I'm not happy with Ablett leaving. But frankly, if he wants to put dollars above loyalty...thanks for the memories? The way people are acting the AFL has drugged and brainwashed Ablett into accepting an offer.

Geelong existed and was great before the Ablett family and they will exist and be great after the Ablett family.

Thanks for the GC history lesson. Cheers.

How about we chat about the relevant stuff. Deal?

Are you suggesting the 16 clubs signed off on their players being poached whilst they were still contracted to their original clubs? This is an AFL manufactured scenario, purposefully exploited for the benefit of the GC.
GC are only poaching players because the AFL set it up that way. How else? The AFL didnt drug or brainwash anyone, but thanks for the melodrama anyway, they just exploited their own system. Great plan yeh? But your all cool with that I take it, cos thats life?

Secondly, are you suggesting there is another local club out there willing to pay Gaz 1.5m for 5 years? Released stats in the HS suggests the highest any 1 player is getting paid presently is still less than a mil on the books. Even melbourne have stated they will be close to the limit to stave off interstate interest. The GC have an extra 800k in the cap, it was assumed it wouldnt be used for just 1 player I suspect.

Further, You would have to pull up over 10 of my posts where I have lamented the fact that Pickering AND Gaz have acted in a deceptive fashion. So I agree he is playing games, and its 100% Gary's issue. So why tell me this? The AFL still set up this uneven playing field however and its complete BS.

As for Doug Wade, I guess he played at the club for ten years and kicked a few goals. And then came back and spent ten years on the board. (Do you reckon he felt guilty at all?) He also has the benefit of his exit being in the 70s where it has been long forgotten but it was a really shit time for the club apparently.
I suspect in 35 years from now people wont recall too much of this incident either mate and maybe Gaz gets a stand named after him.

How old will you be by then? You will be waiting round for it?

Thats great.

I have spent the last few years with friends and family standing in the outer at KP, sitting on the wing at the G and the dome admiring GAJ's football prowess.

We were enjoying the moment, but also looking forward to seeing him up forward in his twilight years dominating the game til his 35 in the blue and white.

This probably won't happen.

No, he ain't the heart and soul of the GFC, but I sure will be sad to see him go, because he has a football aura, for want of a better term, that will be wasted at a fledgling franchise club.

Such talent should not be used purely as a marketing tool, and that's exactly what he'll become.

Wasted for money.

For the first time throughout this saga, based on Bomber's comments, tone and body language today, I believe Ablett is leaving.

And to think all 16 clubs signed off on this.

I have spent the last few years with friends and family standing in the outer at KP, sitting on the wing at the G and the dome admiring GAJ's football prowess.

We were enjoying the moment, but also looking forward to seeing him up forward in his twilight years dominating the game til his 35 in the blue and white.

This probably won't happen.

No, he ain't the heart and soul of the GFC, but I sure will be sad to see him go, because he has a football aura, for want of a better term, that will be wasted at a fledgling franchise club.

Such talent should not be used purely as a marketing tool, and that's exactly what he'll become.

Wasted for money.

For the first time throughout this saga, based on Bomber's comments, tone and body language today, I believe Ablett is leaving.

And to think all 16 clubs signed off on this.

To poach contracted players?

It strikes me that Geelong, the AFL, and the Gold Coast could invent something here - it is an unusal situation and a ground-breaking deal could serve as an effective win-win-win compromise.

If we could construct a LOAN deal (i.e. similar to Beckham at Milan) and give Gaz a chance to play for the GC for say 2-3 years for bucket loads of cash and then come back to the club he loves for the remainder of a 6 year contact, then we could all really benefit out of this.

For starters, the AFL and GC get their marquee player, they get the benefits of his playing ability, the marketing brand that is 'ABLETT' and of course the juniors get to develop alongside a born champion. Gold Coast hand over the cash to Gaj, and in return give us a compensation pick for getting Gaj during his footballing prime (this would still need to be first round in my opinion).
Geelong on the other hand gets relieved of salary cap pressures for a few years and then can take Gary on at age 28 to return to the club where he belongs. We put him at full forward and let him kick 100+ 3 years in a row like his old man...simple huh! Ok, well anyways seeing Gaj back to the club is what everyone in football really accepts would be the correct decision for the entire football community.

So on this Loan deal, Gablett gets to make his millions, gets the challenge of the new football club and gets the security of a long serving contract that would see him playing out his days at the GFC. Geelong gets their idol back, Gold Coast get their marquee player during their start up, the AFL gets bonus attention to the gold coast franchise by establishing this revolutionary deal, the likes of Selwood, Hawkins, Varcoe etc get compensated fairly (due to salary cap relief) and most importantly the Geelong Football Club get the name Ablett back in their history books!

Seems like a fair compromise to all parties.

ADVENOF2.jpg

Naaah. The Gold Coast can keep him.

If he left I would a. boycott the state of Qld (its a bogan shithole - have a read of the couriermail and you'll see pretty quick how stupid, simple and overall mindless the Brisbane/Gold Coast peoples are....) and b. walk away and ignore footy.

I know it is a business, etc but when it comes to moral issues one that really gets me going is loyalty. If you cannot be loyal to those who got you your job (drafted him,) helped in obtaining your achievements (2 premierships, brownlow and a million awards) and could help you in your business future then you are nothing more than a mercenary. Yes, Ablett's ability and dedication got him there, but he wouldnt be there without the coaching, players around him, etc. Hell, what would happen if he hurt himself badly (ala Snell) - would the club and community rally around him? Would they cast him in bronze? Would he limp down the street in Brisbane and no one give him a glance or a hand?

I for one dont want my kids to see him leaving and believe that money is the 'way to go.' I would rather see my kids show dedication, adherence, loyalty, camaraderie, mateship, etc than chasing a dollar. I think his decision will have a huge impact on the moral decisions and choices of alot of young Geelong fans.

Leigh Colbert is a perfect example. Had he stayed he may have been 'Geelong premiership captain' Leigh Colbert but now he is remembered in this town as 'that dirty little worm we got Mooney for.'

Personally, have a gut feeling he wont go. I hope I am right.

If he left I would a. boycott the state of Qld (its a bogan shithole - have a read of the couriermail and you'll see pretty quick how stupid, simple and overall mindless the Brisbane/Gold Coast peoples are....) and b. walk away and ignore footy.

I know it is a business, etc but when it comes to moral issues one that really gets me going is loyalty. If you cannot be loyal to those who got you your job (drafted him,) helped in obtaining your achievements (2 premierships, brownlow and a million awards) and could help you in your business future then you are nothing more than a mercenary. Yes, Ablett's ability and dedication got him there, but he wouldnt be there without the coaching, players around him, etc. Hell, what would happen if he hurt himself badly (ala Snell) - would the club and community rally around him? Would they cast him in bronze? Would he limp down the street in Brisbane and no one give him a glance or a hand?

I for one dont want my kids to see him leaving and believe that money is the 'way to go.' I would rather see my kids show dedication, adherence, loyalty, camaraderie, mateship, etc than chasing a dollar. I think his decision will have a huge impact on the moral decisions and choices of alot of young Geelong fans.

Leigh Colbert is a perfect example. Had he stayed he may have been 'Geelong premiership captain' Leigh Colbert but now he is remembered in this town as 'that dirty little worm we got Mooney for.'

Personally, have a gut feeling he wont go. I hope I am right.

I'm all for lamenting the potential loss of one G. Ablett Jnr, and agree with most peoples' sentiments on this board, but when I read a naive post like this, likening Ablett to a mercenary, I shake my head.

The compensatory pick after the first round pick that Geelong hypothetically get after Ablett could not be used until 2012, after the new teams get their concessions, so you never could get pick 26, pick 18 would be the worst possible.

Potential compensation for Ablett