ImperialPurple

In it for the long haul
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
How do people see us lining up against the weags next week? I'm stuffed and can't be bothered thinking it through (slack I know), but considering we've been "experimenting" for the past two games, should we start to get a more settled side happening before round 1? I reckon so.

I'd like to see most of the big-guns play - Pav, Sandi, McPharlin, Roger, Taz, Mundy, MJ, Hase, Rhys, Ibbo + a fair mix of young blokes like Hill, Suban, DeBoer (if he's right to go), maybe Walters and Pearce, VB and Broughton as well...

Pretty sure we still get 24 a side, so what do people think?

Some of you night-owls might like to have a go... catch you all in the morning... ;)

How do people see us lining up against the weags next week? I'm stuffed and can't be bothered thinking it through (slack I know), but considering we've been "experimenting" for the past two games, should we start to get a more settled side happening before round 1? I reckon so.

I'd like to see most of the big-guns play - Pav, Sandi, McPharlin, Roger, Taz, Mundy, MJ, Hase, Rhys, Ibbo + a fair mix of young blokes like Hill, Suban, DeBoer (if he's right to go), maybe Walters and Pearce, VB and Broughton as well...

Pretty sure we still get 24 a side, so what do people think?

Some of you night-owls might like to have a go... catch you all in the morning... ;)

In all honesty imp, I am very confident of the way Harvey is dealing with the "trial and error" period at the moment and would prefer they get the younglings up and running sooner rather then later as well as a proper game plan for the year then the usual half arsed efforts of the past.

Contrary to external comments, I believe we are seriously on the right track and think we will be up there in a few seasons or so :p

Yeah I think its time to settle the team down a bit and bring back some of the first 22 guys who were missing. Sandi, Mcpharlin, roger, mundy, schammer, Kep, Hill, De Boer and Browne all should come back in if fit and ready. I think we should persist with a few of the guys who showed a bit like Broughton, Suban, Van Berlo and maybe Sibo if we need a key forward as Murphy doesnt deserve another game. So overall continue to give the youngsters a run as they may well be needed this year but bring back our consistent performers to build their match fitness and boost team morale.

I'd like to see us name a full strength side for this one, or as full strength as is practical for this time of year anyway. And play everyone in their proper positions too.

After today it wouldn't hurt to have a proper hit out to get a bit of confidence back and get all the regulars back in the groove of playing alongside each other. Better to do it at Subi than on a country oval in Bunbury. Plus we don't want to risk losing to the eagles (hahahahahahahahahaha... as if that would ever happen!).

Use this one as our proper R1 dress rehearsal then go back to the rookies and piss farting around with the U9's trick of turning the magnetic board upside down if we want in Bunbury.

That's what I'd like in theory, but in reality we'll probably continue playing heaps of rookies to try determine who deserves to be promoted into the team come round 1.

Only people born before 1970 consider staying up to 22:45 a night owl IP. ;)

NAB3 line up
B: Suban Tarrant McPharlin
HB: Johnson Drum Dodd
C: Hinkley Pavlich Crowley
HF: Schammer Kepler Wessels Hasleby
F: Murphy Grover Desmond
R: Sandilands Palmer Bradesmaen's boyfriend

INT: Gilmore, Benny Hill, Browne, Peake, Broughton, De Boer,

This one's dedoicated to IP. :D
[youtube]Xnj6NxU4WHo[/youtube]

oh haha senor dominguez... you are such a comedian... :p

I meant those who are tooling around here at 2 / 3 / 4 in the morning...

Should I be asking why a fellow such as yourself is up at sparrow's fart? I thought it was only senior cits who got up at upgodly early hours - you know to beat the rush to the doctors and specialists and make those who have to get to work by 8.30 wait in line behind people who have nothing to do for the rest of the day... :eek:

Oh wait it's Sunday - you must have a different reason. :p

One more thing on a more serious note - why Gilmore?? :eek:

b: Broughton - McPharlin - Drum
hb: Dodd - Tarrant - Suban
c: Hinkley - Mundy - Hill
hf: Mayne - Bradley - Crowley
f: Walters - Pavlich - Grover

r: Sandilands - Palmer - O'Brien

i: Peake - DeBoer - Clarke - Haselby - Gilmore - Sibosado

In: McPharlin, Mundy, Hill, Mayne, Bradley, DeBoer, Sandilands
Out: Shepheard, van Berlo, Hall, Ruffles, Solomon, Murphy, Head

I've brought back a fair few of our better players, but not all of them. I would like to see Clarke, Walters and Sibosado all get another game. Clarke and Sibosado will likely not get any games this year, so we should play them while we can because they could be a big part of our future. While Walters could be one who plays a role this year, so let's give him some more game time. Those three apparently all showed some promise against North.

I would have Sandi and Clarke take the ruck work, and Bradley can play up forward. Gilmore gets another chance, and I would play him on a wing / forward flank.

If O'Brien and DeBoer aren't fit, then don't risk them. Guys like Hall, Hayden and Johnson could all be in the mix too.

b: Broughton - McPharlin - Drum
hb: Dodd - Tarrant - Suban
c: Hinkley - Mundy - Hill
hf: Mayne - Bradley - Crowley
f: Walters - Pavlich - Grover

r: Sandilands - Palmer - O'Brien

i: Peake - DeBoer - Clarke - Haselby - Gilmore - Sibosado

In: McPharlin, Mundy, Hill, Mayne, Bradley, DeBoer, Sandilands
Out: Shepheard, van Berlo, Hall, Ruffles, Solomon, Murphy, Head

Hamish McIntosh Board Troll!!:D

Was watching channel eagle last night and it did mention Brock is likely to be out for "several" weeks. Probably guess work by them, but I'd be pretty sure he wouldnt play this week.

The only definites i know from reading articles are Stephen Hill and Pav. I'd like to see them settle down the team a bit also. That is most important in my mind cause going back to march april may last year, the team never really was settled.

Harves has mentioned in most of his media conferences that he is focusing on round one, so hopefully this means we will have a fully fit and settled team come March 29.

I wouldnt pick our best team.

These matches no matter when its played always end up being high intensity games, with players giving it there all.

Too much to risk as once there out there they cant hold back.

I agree though that we should be looking to settle the team now an start playing our best and would want that against any other opposition.

But against the egirls better to keep experimenting

I think we'll start to see a few more of the big guys playing together, but not all yet.

I hope I never see Gilmore play for us in the real season IP but I am more than happy for him to play plenty in the preseason. Especially coming back the way he is.

Its a win-win really. We win and get to be sure he is what most of us (it seems) think he is and he wins and gets a good solid shot at proving he's not as bad as that.

Hope the team looks something like this...

FB Hayden, Mcpharlin, Broughton
HB Suban, Johnson, Dodd
C Hill, Mundy, Tarrant
HF Mayne, Pavlich, Hinkley
FF De Boer, Grover, Browne
R Sandi, Palmer, Crowley
I/C Haselby, Bradley, Ruffles, Sibosado, Drum, Van Berlo

I think this is a good mix of youth and experience. Havnt included Solly, BoB, kiwi, pearce, headland and Ibbo due to injury concerns. Can't find a spot for Gilmore and Murphy and see more value in the youngsters. Wouldn't mind if Hall, Head or Walters was included either.

You all seem to have forgotten about our other secret ruck weapon........
the big bad brent connolly will turn up and put the beef he put on in the off season to good use. don't forget about him just because he isn't the new in thing. expect him to stretch the bluing yellows defence as a marking target and to play second fiddle to the 211.

It would be great to see Brent Connolly. It would be decent if he starts to step up and show a little if he gets a gig against the slime....

Yeah I did forget about Connolly and Pratt so I wouldnt mind if they were given a run but you wouldve thought last week wouldve been as good a time as any for them. Seems Connolly is about 4th or 5th in our ruck stocks and Pratt has been overtaken by the other rookies like De Boer, Broughton, Van Berlo and Pearce.

MJ to captain the team this weekend:

The maturing Johnson will step into Fremantle’s captaincy role this week as coach Mark Harvey continues to rotate the next generation of players through the leadership position.

Paul Haselby and David Mundy have already taken the reigns during the pre-season with Matthew Pavlich relieved from what is his regular duty.

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=12&ContentID=127564

Sad to see that tickets for this game are selling pretty slowly. I think staging the game at 5ish on the last Saturday of the regular cricket season (for a lot of associations) wouldn't be helping.

I imagine that we will have pretty close to a full strength squad although I think we will play around 6 rookies maybe Hill, Suban, De Boer, Van Berlo and Broughton might be the young guys that get a run. I also think Haselby will be back in the midfield for the majority of this game.

FB Hayden, Mcpharlin, Johnson
HB Hill, Tarrant, Dodd
C Suban, Haselby, Mundy
HF Mayne, Pavlich, Soloman
FF Drum, Grover, Browne
R Sandilands, Palmer, Crowley
I/C Bradley, Van Berlo, Hinkley, De Boer, Broughton, Peake

Sad to see that tickets for this game are selling pretty slowly. I think staging the game at 5ish on the last Saturday of the regular cricket season (for a lot of associations) wouldn't be helping.

And that it's a meaningless practice match. IMO, 15k would be a fantastic result.

IMO the side should line up as per round 1. Time to get some confidence in the playing group in the positions they would be in come round 1.

Does anyone know if this game will be televised at all??

im assuming that it wont be...but as im stuck in tassie, i was hoping it might be as its a bushfire appeal....

or if there is somewhere on the net that will broadcast it??

Cheers