Predict our starting 22

• Thread starter Thread starter Spemonie

I think my experience of playing footy my whole life and gone through a knee reco myself gives me better knowlege then a sports JOURNO

It took me 9 months, never had any sorness or worry since

Digsy , even in the AFL some clubs/players have different approaches re playing post injuries and of course all players recover at different speeds. I think Im right in saying Geelong would be approaching Menzels comeback with a higher degree reticence than perhaps some other clubs. They will feel no pressure to play him early. He may well be right to play but will they play him? Pretty sure Rizzo would be able to get a vibe from the club too on their approach.

By the way your point re R1 rotation is fair but as I said , its early , I expect several of the players I named to really push hard in the preseason. Its been a while since we have two legit openings and we will have some very hungry guys ready for their chance. Im probably a little heavy with kids but its just the confidence I have in them. Once we start seeing them play , I'll re assess. (The side sort of picks itself with form in the PSC anyway)

If you seriously think menzel wont be back next year you've got rocks in your head, he'll be back no later then round 15, vardy round 7 or 8.
July is 6 months away, if hes jogging now barring any set backs he'll be cherry ripe for july, and that'll give him a good 6 weeks to get match fit for the finals.
And how do you know that injuries are behind Brown, he doesnt even know that how would you?

There is a big difference between jogging and putting your knee through a full match of football. Let alone finals football. Even if Menzel had a 10 month recovery from his knee injury he will need a lot of time in the VFL before we even risk him. Then you have to factor in form. If we are playing well he may not even get back into the team.

And how do you know that injuries are behind Brown, he doesnt even know that how would you?
All of Brown's injuries have been freakish. Nothing I'd be worried about.

How long was Kruezer out with his knee? That was under a year and he came back fairly successfully mid year, although he again finished up with injury problems....but you would have imagined Carlton would have taken the most conservative approach

Pictures in Addy from the 9th of January seem very encouraging on Menzel....ball in hand, running laps and looking like he is kicking the ball around....seems very advanced

The best 22 is a nice tradition and always a good way to waste a few work hours in the off-season but in reality these days it is more of a squad game. The top 30 players will all rotate through there during the season. The side that is picked in September is now the 22 players who are fit and in form. Anyhow, I would like Guthrie, Smedts, Motlop, Brown, Cowan and Simpson to join the 'First Team' squad this year in place of our retirees.

Best guess - but the positions maybe a little different come that fateful first game day.

B: Josh Hunt, Matthew Scarlett, Tom Lonergan
HB: Corey Enright, Harry Taylor, David Wojcinski
C: Joel Selwood, Jimmy Bartel, Andrew Mackie
HF: Steve Johnson, Tom Hawkins, Travis Varcoe
F: Mitch Duncan, James Podsiadly, Paul Chapman
Foll: Dawson Simpson, James Kelly, Joel Corey
I/C: THunt, Mathew Stokes, Trent West, Allen Christensen

Have to ask - under Digsy's name is "Yellow card" - do all newbies get this or has he earned a yellow card ?

If Digsy is a newbie - wow no holding back - straight into it !

I don't know why people want to "rest" players in round 1. There's a difference between resting a player and a player missing matchs due to injury and lack of match fitness. If a player(players like Scarlett, Corey and Chapman) are fit there's no point in resting them round 1 especially due to our good fixture.

We only had senior players missing round 1 last year due to injury and lack of match fitness.

Our round 1 team last year

FB Enright Scarlett J Hunt
HB Mackie Taylor Lonergan
C Kelly Duncan Corey
HF Varcoe Mooney Stokes
FF Menzel Hawkins S Johnson
Fol Ottens Bartel Selwood
Int Guthrie T Hunt Wojcinski Milburn

Chapman and Ling Played in a VFL practice match as they missed the entire nab cup
Pods was recovering from a broken hand

no player was rested

Assuming no new injuries occur

Round 1 team 2012

FB Scarlett Lonergan Hunt
HB Mackie Taylor Enright
C Corey Kelly Bartel
HF Varcoe Hawkins SJ
FF West Pods Christensen
FOL Stephenson Selwood Chapman
Int Duncan Stokes Wojcinski Byrnes
EMG T.hunt Simpson Guthrie

:D...I like Digsy :thumbsu:

he sounds tough & somewhat knowledgeable of the current injury list down at the Cattery.

We play Freo right?
I hope we see Smedts, Guthrie, Simpson, Brown all playing that night and Cats secure an easy 7 goal win to again dampen the spirits of those who forecast our downfall in 2012;)

This was just ment to be fun trying to guess what the round 1 side would be and for people to compare. So please stop getting annoyed with each other. Just dont complain about other opinions. Give suggestions and talk about it but no one really knows what's going on unless your Chris Scott.

All I can think about looking at these teams is why people think we're finished.

Even with a bit of new blood it's still the best 22 in the league.

All I can think about looking at these teams is why people think we're finished.

too right!
But is it actually more of the case that outsiders still don't rate our players as highly as Geelong supporters know they are?

It was only in 2011 that James Kelly really got recognition and he's now at the pointy end of his career but he's been basically this good for many years now.
It's the same deal with players like Taylor, Lonergan, Wojak etc. I reckon Bartel has always been a better player than Ablett jnr as he has been more consistent for longer and Bartel wouldn't even make the top 10 list of best players in the AFL today as it's all about Swan, Franklin, Thomas blah, blah, blah....but it's just things like that which seem to make us go under the radar everynow and again.

A 4th flag in 6 years would be getting a little greedy but am sure that would shut em all up for good

I agree Chappy. I put together my team and thought "****, that is a good team"

Can't remember who it is, but someone on here has a signature which is Bartel's response to a question about whether 2011 was the end of an era, and Bartel said something along the lines of "Nah mate. You haven't seen all the kids Wells has drafted play yet."

Speaks volumes IMO.

no preseason form or injuries, anyway:
OUTS, Ottens, Ling, Pods will not play rd 1
INS, Orren or Simpson, whoever has the best form, but playing Freo, Simpson should get the nod; THunt or Smedts; Duncan FF, Motlop sub.

Can't see Brown being a player. Gumby all over.

I'm pretty certain Stephenson will come in for Ottens and I'll tip Guthrie for the other spot. I think Wojo might be one who will be managed and saved the plane trip, although it's hard to know. I wanted to pick THunt but Hogan's endurance might see him preferred on the big ground.

Anyway maybe:
B: JHunt Scarlett Lonergan
HB: Enright Taylor Mackie
C: Varcoe Kelly Corey
HF: SJ Hawkins Chappy
F: Stokes Pods Duncan
R: Stephenson Selwood Bartel
Int: Christensen West Hogan Guthrie (s)
Emg: THunt Byrnes Smedts

Just on Menzel, its a great sign that he running as it means there has been no complications and its all on track. Its been four months since his ACL operation and this is the normal time to start running again. He will be able to do some light ball work in about a months time. The ACL is usually at full strength at 6 months and he should be able to slowly start competitive training but considering the stresses on the knee in Aussie Rules Football it will take a few months to get the assurance and the confidence the knee. I think the best case will see him playing AFL again at around 10 months. (July 11th 2012, Makes it Round 16)

Round 1 Team for 2012
HB: Corey Enright, Harry Taylor, Andrew Mackie
C: Allen Christensen, Jimmy Bartel, David Wojcinski
F: Trent West, James Podsiadly, Paul Chapman
Foll: Orren Stephenson, Joel Selwood, James Kelly
I/C: Joel Corey, Mathew Stokes, Mitch Duncan, Billie Smedts

Just on Menzel, its a great sign that he running as it means there has been no complications and its all on track. Its been four months since his ACL operation and this is the normal time to start running again. He will be able to do some light ball work in about a months time. The ACL is usually at full strength at 6 months and he should be able to slowly start competitive training but considering the stresses on the knee in Aussie Rules Football it will take a few months to get the assurance and the confidence the knee. I think the best case will see him playing AFL again at around 10 months. (July 11th 2012, Makes it Round 16)

Round 1 Team for 2012
C: Allen Christensen, Jimmy Bartel, David Wojcinski
F: Trent West, James Podsiadly, Paul Chapman
I/C: Joel Corey, Mathew Stokes, Mitch Duncan, Billie Smedts

You could build a half decent team around that:rolleyes:.

RD18 at home for me with Menzel against Adelaide.

Can't remember who it is, but someone on here has a signature which is Bartel's response to a question about whether 2011 was the end of an era, and Bartel said something along the lines of "Nah mate. You haven't seen all the kids Wells has drafted play yet."

Speaks volumes IMO.

This x 1000....

Very excited going forwards....

Go Catters...

Wow, what a tall team that would be.
Taylor, Lonners, Hawk, Pods, West, Orren...could throw Scarlo in there too.
Crikey.

And the difference in height compared to the premiership team is?
-2 cm

2 reasons:

1) Because the Cats are Too Old and Too Slow.

2) The Days of Domination are Over. (Tim Lane)

[YOUTUBE]lEphgTHRmyQ&feature=related[/YOUTUBE]​

What I expect to see:

C: Allen Christensen, Jimmy Bartel, Joel Corey
F: Mathew Stokes, James Podsiadly, Paul Chapman
I/C: David Wojcinski, Trent West, Mitch Duncan, Simon Hogan

Basically the same as the GF team, with Stephenson in for Otto and I think Hogan will get first crack at Ling's role.

If it were up to me though I'd have one of the kids (THunt or Smedts) in for Josh Hunt. He had a good year last year, but take him out of the team and nothing is lost. I'd say he's 22nd picked every week. Blood one of the kids instead and have him as cover for injuries.

Hope big Daws gets some games throughout the season too, as I'm sure he will.

What I expect to see:

C: Allen Christensen, Jimmy Bartel, Joel Corey
F: Mathew Stokes, James Podsiadly, Paul Chapman
I/C: David Wojcinski, Trent West, Mitch Duncan, Simon Hogan

Basically the same as the GF team, with Stephenson in for Otto and I think Hogan will get first crack at Ling's role.

If it were up to me though I'd have one of the kids (THunt or Smedts) in for Josh Hunt. He had a good year last year, but take him out of the team and nothing is lost. I'd say he's 22nd picked every week. Blood one of the kids instead and have him as cover for injuries.

Hope big Daws gets some games throughout the season too, as I'm sure he will.

Really not understanding the lack of love for Josh by a fair few people around here.
He had a really consistent season and performed well in the finals series.
His disposal count was far from shameful for a defender and he laid more tackles this season than he has in any other season to date, meaning his defensive pressure improved.

Really not understanding the lack of love for Josh by a fair few people around here.
He had a really consistent season and performed well in the finals series.
His disposal count was far from shameful for a defender and he laid more tackles this season than he has in any other season to date, meaning his defensive pressure improved.
Get the feeling Josh is one of Scotts favorites , particularly when he flexes those assets - was it this season when he punch tackled Grant and bumped another to great effect in the space of 3 minutes? Hope we see much more of this style in 2012.