Mayesy_23

G'day everyone, I'm a total newbie to this but a passionate bluebagger. These are exciting times at Carlton and I can't wait to watch our kids develop over the next few years. Just thought with another few quality young kids on our list in the next few years as we move up the ladder what you guys thought would be a reasonable prediction for premiership number 17? I know in the letter I got from the club, the plan is to make finals by 2009. Maybe this could be the team to get us there in 4 or five years. Thoughts?

fb thornton s o'hailpin flint
hb bower waite russell
c stevens murphy simpson
hf grigg kennedy houlihan
ff betts fevola edwards
fol hampson walker gibbs
int a o'hailpin fisher hartlett scotland
emg blackwell austin benjamin anderson jackson

GO BLUES

Welcome aboard Maysey_23.

My thoughts are that we have a good young list, that can finally begin to compete well with other teams.

I still can't believe that our average age is 21.5 years. That is incredible. To think that they kids will be playing with each other for a few years, and will hopefully improve together over the next few years, is an amazing thing.

I just dont want us to forget how young they are, and to not expect too much too soon. i know it's so hard, considering the sh1t we have gone through with our club over teh past few years.

hb bower waite russell
c stevens murphy simpson
ff betts fevola edwards
fol hampson walker gibbs

GO BLUES

Those in bold are players i expect to play the majority of games in 2007. I like Bentick as well, because he is a good tagger. Going to be great to see our new baby blues run around, especially Anderson!

Let's not expect too much too soon. The light is getting bigger and closer though, we are almost at the end of this ridiculously long, and sad tunnel... :thumbsu:

Making plenty of assumptions about players we've just drafted and players with only a year of VFL footy behind them:

B Thornton, S.O'hAilpin, Flint
HB Benjamin, Bower, Russell
C Simpson, Blackwell, Walker
HF Grigg, Waite, Edwards
F Betts, Kennedy, Fisher
R Hampson, Gibbs, Murphy
Int Anderson, A. O'hAilpin, Stevens, Scotland

Making plenty of assumptions about players we've just drafted and players with only a year of VFL footy behind them:

B Thornton, S.O'hAilpin, Flint
HB Benjamin, Bower, Russell
C Simpson, Blackwell, Walker
HF Grigg, Waite, Edwards
F Betts, Kennedy, Fisher
R Hampson, Gibbs, Murphy
Int Anderson, A. O'hAilpin, Stevens, Scotland
Where is Fev and Lance?

G'day everyone, I'm a total newbie to this but a passionate bluebagger. These are exciting times at Carlton and I can't wait to watch our kids develop over the next few years. Just thought with another few quality young kids on our list in the next few years as we move up the ladder what you guys thought would be a reasonable prediction for premiership number 17? I know in the letter I got from the club, the plan is to make finals by 2009. Maybe this could be the team to get us there in 4 or five years. Thoughts?

hb bower waite russell
c stevens murphy simpson
ff betts fevola edwards
fol hampson walker gibbs

GO BLUES
I can't see Houlihan ever being part of a Carlton premiership team. He simply doesn't go hard enough!!!

I wanna see Houla back on the HFF where he can be so damaging. He could add another 30 goals just as he did a few seasons ago.
when did houlilan kick more than 30 goals in a season?

the boy is a dead set squib and should play the game in a netball skirt. has anyone noticed at training whether he has had the ********ing hair cut off yet?

And he kicked 28 goals in 2001. Frontrunner I admit and can be frustrating but classy up forward and I'd like to see him Eddie and Blackwell as our smaller types

I can't see Houlihan ever being part of a Carlton premiership team. He simply doesn't go hard enough!!!

fantastic to see the locks gone. i don't doubt his ability blues4flag but his intensity at the pill and the opposition has to go up a huge notch next year or he could find himself playing plenty of games at the bullants.

Funny I can only remember one Carlton player this year who bumped someone so hard they knocked them out & was almost suspended. Who was it? Pagan was pretty pleased with his intensity this year. Played all 22 games so must have done a fair bit right in his eyes and was given some big jobs. Unless you've played AFL football yourself I wouldn't be making remarks like the ones you made above. :thumbsd:

My premiership team:

B Grigg, Grigg, Grigg
HB Grigg, Grigg, Grigg
C Grigg, Grigg, Grigg
HF Grigg, Grigg, Grigg
F Grigg, Grigg, Grigg
R Betts, Grigg, Grigg
Int Grigg, Grigg, Grigg, Grigg

:thumbsu:

just so you can compare what premiership teams and see how the list looks/could grow into here is Carltons 1995 premiership team and below them is the Brisbane Lions 2002 team

B: Hogg Silvagni Sexton
Johnson C Scott Leppitsch

HB: Christou Dean McKay
Power Michael Ashcroft

C: Koutoufides Ratten Hanna
Hart Voss Pike

HF: Rice Spalding Clape
Headland Brown Lappin

F: Pearce Kernahan Williams
Akermanis Lynch White

Foll: Madden Bradley Brown
Keating Black Scott

Int: Camporeale Manton Whitehead
McDonald McRae Notting Shattock

the other thing is that in any team playing in 2011 there is going to be another 2-3 top five draft picks running around out there from the next few years

Not sure we'll have 2-3 top 5 picks in the next couple of years. Maybe 1 this year, but i'm hoping from 2008 onwards, this is when the Blue Baggers will begin their surge up the ladder.

Funny I can only remember one Carlton player this year who bumped someone so hard they knocked them out & was almost suspended. Who was it? Pagan was pretty pleased with his intensity this year. Played all 22 games so must have done a fair bit right in his eyes and was given some big jobs. Unless you've played AFL football yourself I wouldn't be making remarks like the ones you made above. :thumbsd:
we finished on the bottom of the ladder. jim plunkett, sam cranage and andrew eccles with half a leg missing could have played 22 games for the cfc this year. you have no idea what idea what standard of football i've played and this is an open forum so i say houlihan is an instinctive lazy player who doesn't go hard enough at the pill. If you want to open a thread on the main board on this topic then we will see how many people will agree with me.

Interesting that personal abuse is acted on but player abuse is ignored. Yes it is an open forum. Who knows who might be reading it!!!

It is a tough one to call now mate:)
We now have the foundation for a good team, but you would expect three or more future draftees and a few recycled players to come on board yet:thumbsu:
Either way I'll see you in 2011 at the Grand final:D

Not sure we'll have 2-3 top 5 picks in the next couple of years. Maybe 1 this year, but i'm hoping from 2008 onwards, this is when the Blue Baggers will begin their surge up the ladder.

We'd be almost guaranteed 2 next year, and it wouldn't be a long shot to suggest we wouldn't finish higher than 12th in 2008, which would give us 3 top 5 picks (possibly picks 1 and 2 next year, and pick 5ish in 2008). Remember, we wouldn't really expect Murphy, Gibbs, Kennedy and co to start really influencing games until their 3rd or 4th season in the league, which means our improvement starts in 2008 and peaks around 2010