Priddis

I feel sorry for Priddis, he's only played 2 1/2 seasons and now without Judd, Kerr and Cousins people expect him to take the no.1 tag and carry the midfield on his back.

The real blame should go on the decorated midfielders like Fletcher, Embley and Braun who have gone MIA.
You're missing the point entirely.

No one is saying Priddis should be better, or that Priddis should be carrying the team, or that he is crap. Only recently he was widely touted as a "gun" and a "A grade mid" and a "good chance for the Brownlow". This pricked some people's ears, who then questioned it.

Right now those few people look like astute judges of footy. Come back to me when he wins a Brownlow.

He ha a fair chance of developing experience and a better understanding of the game at this level over more games - like any inexperienced player.

Being in our 10-12 oldest players at the Eagles is hardly a curse given the average age of the squad (and if so many players older than Priddis leave that he reaches that - seven - we'll need nannies for all the kids).

To put it in perspective, the player two below Priddis on the age stakes is Beau Wilkes (who is still young enough this year to be a rookie) - you reckon he can't improve with experience because of his age?

That bit of polish is what makes a good player a great player. Priddis is a good player right now.

Your point remains, with all due respect, a steaming pile of bollocks. He's realistically a second year player, with all the inexperience that means. Sure, he's no Judd or Cousins (and I don't think anyone expects him to be), and at 23 won't have any further physical development, but there's a hell of a lot for him to still learn about the game.

The fact is that he can find the ball - his possession count tells you that - and that will keep him in the midfield for as long as he can keep doing it.
You do realise you're actually arguing a different argument? Don't you?

Seriously, what are you doing here? Not once have you made a counter claim that Priddis is a gun, an a-grade mid, or a good chance for the Charlie. That's what we're arguing, but here you are arguing all this peripheral stuff.

Seems you're just arguing for the sake of it. I can't say I expect any different from you. You're just a dude who can't handle that others have a more respected and astute footy brain than yours.

I doubt that there IS an argument that would "compel" you to rate Priddis any more highly than you do! You have obviously made up your mind where he is concerned and no amount of argument will change it. So be it. I (and others) disagree with your assessment, but I can't see the point in arguing with you over it.
Is there any point to this post?

Did you not realise that this post could just as easily apply to yourself? Out of all the years you're been here you've never contributed anything.

You're missing the point entirely.

No one is saying Priddis should be better, or that Priddis should be carrying the team, or that he is crap. Only recently he was widely touted as a "gun" and a "A grade mid" and a "good chance for the Brownlow". This pricked some people's ears, who then questioned it.

Right now those few people look like astute judges of footy. Come back to me when he wins a Brownlow.

You do realise you're actually arguing a different argument? Don't you?

Seriously, what are you doing here? Not once have you made a counter claim that Priddis is a gun, an a-grade mid, or a good chance for the Charlie. That's what we're arguing, but here you are arguing all this peripheral stuff.

Seems you're just arguing for the sake of it. I can't say I expect any different from you. You're just a dude who can't handle that others have a more respected and astute footy brain than yours.

:thumbsu: ;)

He's played all of 38 games so far, and is suddenly playing as the #1 midfielder in the team. Of course he's going to struggle a bit with that.

Exactly. So it makes you wonder why people were talking him up as an elite player of the comp.

Seems like you agree with the OP's sentiment but twisted so you could argue against it. Knob.

Did you not realise that this post could just as easily apply to yourself? Out of all the years you're been here you've never contributed anything.
Why so touchy "Bunsen" ? You said that you wanted a "compelling argument" to change your mind regarding Priddis. I am telling you that your mind is already made up so that such an argument cannot exist.

1. No one has provided a compelling argument. The only decent argument supply is that "he's gets heaps of ball" and "he's only played 38 games so is good for such a young player". Good points but no one has ever disputed them.
2. It's now common knowledge that he was over rated.
3. My mind is made up from what I see on the field. If he turns into a gun I will very very very happily acknowledge it.

Priddis is atm the No 2 midfielder in the team. He needs to improve if the eagles are to be a premiership side. To me he lacks foot speed and because of this he doesn't make the gut-busting runs through the midfield that we need. He is a clearance king and a ball magnet. But these days possesions are over-rated. It's about how damaging you are with the ball and Priddis needs to improve with this. How many times have we seen him slam the ball on the boot when there are better options and how many times have we seen him boot the ball long inside 50 when he can spear it short to a leading target 40 m out.

As long as he keeps feeding our outside mids on the way to our next premiership, I couldnt care less if he is the worst player in the AFL. Once he gets the support he will be more effective. Simple.

But the question is, will he be better than Chad Fletcher of 2006?

As long as he keeps feeding our outside mids on the way to our next premiership, I couldnt care less if he is the worst player in the AFL. Once he gets the support he will be more effective. Simple.

But the question is, will he be better than Chad Fletcher of 2006?

Played his best game of 2006 in the GF.

Set up some goals, ran and carried to good effect. Did stuff that Priddis will never be able to do.

The notion of feeding our outside mids is overrated. The only slow players that are really good at this are the ones with very good/exceptional vision ala Greg Williams or even Scott West. Priddis has never given off a creative handpass in 38 games. I cant think of a single occasion where I have gone "wow, did you see that" about Priddis. A guy who feeds the ball to others needs to create space and create attacking play otherwise he will always be a plodder no matter how many times he gets the ball. **** me, Richard Taylor got a lot of the ball in an age of far less possessions, but he was C grade and as they say you cant polish a ****.

I love the completely baseless optimism of people on this board. As BB pointed out, no-one, despite numerous requests, has given any sort of substantive argument for Priddis being anything other than a good squad player. In addition no-one has attempted to address the "which premiership mid would he displace?" question.

Its because we all know the answer.

Reality is probably somewhere between the poison that bb spits and Brownlow declarations..

Either way, we are a far better team with him back in the side.
I think that that is a good assessment "Ju Ju". I WAS being facetious when I said that, as he already has a Sandover, a Brownlow might not be out of the question. At the moment it probably is, but Matt is young yet, and still improving . In the future, who knows ?

Just continue to dream and demonstrate your complete inability to assess footballers at the same time!

I can tell you now that Priddis' future is absolutely not in the same ball park as your optimism suggests.

And your contributions have all been shit like this. Perhaps it's time you laid off the nasty aggressive little shit routine whenever people actually say something you don't agree with.

You seem to have done about four posts in a row where your contribution has been effectively: "You're wrong, you know nothing about footy", without actually making anything resembling a counter argument. Though from experience, that's about as close to actually making a point that you ever get.

And your contributions have all been shit like this.
Yep. Mostly insightful comment that many want to discuss.

Perhaps it's time you laid off the nasty aggressive little shit routine whenever people actually say something you don't agree with.
So this is why you always go out of your way to nvent an argument with me? Couple of points Squibby:

Plenty of people I don't agree with that I'm civil too. Have no time for idiots who know absolutely zero about footy like USA Eagle, and have no time for heroes such as yourself. Ever noticed I never ever initiate conversation with you? You know why? Because you're a squib. All you do is play your hero routine. Everytime you initiate conversation with me it's because you feel I have mistreated someone. You f***ing hero. And as per usual you try and twist the argument so you can argue against me. You're a child.

You seem to have done about four posts in a row where your contribution has been effectively: "You're wrong, you know nothing about footy",
No stopping you is there? My posts clearly expose your little tactic. I have never said you know nothing about footy. I have though said you are a complete smoker.

without actually making anything resembling a counter argument.
Counter argument to what? Your fabricated argument that I have never disagreed with? You came in here wearing a cape trying to argue my point, but never had a counter point. It's laughable that you make this accusation.

Though from experience, that's about as close to actually making a point that you ever get.
My point is clear in the OP and i've reiterated numerous times throughout the thread. You just chose to counter it with something that was completely irrelevant to my point. Why did you bother? Oh, that's right, I forgot you were a hero.

So what do we do with our Priddis then lads?

Lay him off?

Trade him?

What?

Serviceable player who I prefer in the side, although not damaging does support class midfielders.

Problem is 2 left and one hasnt bothered to play at the same level we have been accustomed to. When he actually gets on the park.

Well gentlemen, whats your point in all this?

We keep playing him of course, until such time as we no longer need him I guess.

All this argumentation is about whether he's a top-line mid or not, and whether maybe some people are seeing him through rose-tinted spectacles. :)

Lay him off?

Trade him?

What?

Serviceable player who I prefer in the side, although not damaging does support class midfielders.

Problem is 2 left and one hasnt bothered to play at the same level we have been accustomed to. When he actually gets on the park.

I think all the basic point ever intended to do was damp down completely unrealistic expectations of Priddis actual and potential ability.

Myself and others (clearly) were perturbed by those who kept putting Priddis up as a shining light, and A grader and a gun. My own personal breaking point was when he was classed with Cox, Kerr & Glass as our only elite players and this was then accepted as a given by subsequent posters. He just isnt anywhere near the universe that sits next to the alternate universe that houses those 3 players. He just isnt.

BB & I have asked consistently and continuously for anyone to mount a well considered and thoughtful response as to why a rating of him as a goodish ordinary player at best is wrong. No-one has.

In my opinion, the last month or so has exposed his weakness' for all to see, the Hawthorn game where he had 45 possessions and created precisely nothing laid bare the Priddis game - can get in, cant do a bloody thing with it (and thats not talking about hitting a man, its about hitting a man in an advantageous position!) - those outside the club would now have a much clearer view of where he is at and therefore any high trade value (i.e. higher than he is worth) as some sort of emerging young gun has gone and he would attract a third rounder at best. So we cant trade him and he is good enough to remain in the squad - but building a midfield with him as a core (i.e. top 3 or 4) player, will not lead us back to where we want to get.

I hope I am wrong, but I doubt it.

I guess I lost sight amongst the argument.

I dont get off on proving myself right to others. :thumbsu:
The only person trying to prove himself is Mr Qukwit. I don't ever initiate conversation with him. The only time we ever converse is when he intiates his hero routine.

The debate was quite simple: "Is Priddis an A grade mid fielder or not?" (or thereabouts). But many who actually agree that he's not had to push their personal agenda.