Professions & how you view them

• Thread starter Thread starter The H

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
Ouch.....left wing, now that's something I'm actually proud of, and I've been called way worse than lazy so I'll take that as a compliment too.

Get a sense of humour, it is only tongue in cheek, not my problem if you are personalising it.

You don't see Fred having a sook & saying the reference to Taxi drivers was directed at him. :rolleyes:

OH & santos your generalization of truckies is very good, glad I have never had a relationship with one. :D

Blockbuster staff: Wanna-be Quentin Tarantino's.
Cat/Dog breeders: Unemployed, breed pets to survive, yet blow pension on pokies.
Old men who work at school uniform shops: Kiddy fiddlers.
Buskers: Kid you used to beat up at school.
Fish & Chip shop owner: Greek.
Jim's Dog Wash Owners: People who wanted to be a taxi driver (i.e unemployable) but can't get licence.
Door Bitch: No matter how ugly she is, her attitude makes guys want to bone her, and girls want to throw a drink over her.
Drummers: Wanna-be guitarists. ;)
Triple J Movie Reviewers: Will watch absolute rubbish and proclaim it to be great, so as to be seen as avant garde. Lesbian.
Paul McDermott: Worst Comedian ever.
TVSN host: Will blow anyone for work. No shame whatsoever.
Exotic Dancer: People just assume they are ****s because they show their bits. Give me $1000 an hour, and you can punch the crap out of me.
Session Musician: Unemployed person with marginal talent.
Editor of Picture magazine: Bogan whose main function is to come up with new terms for female genitalia. Will drive cabs in future.

Police officers - Cross-dressing, drug peddling thugs with miniscule IQs.

Bouncers - See police, but add steroid abuse.

Freo Council Members - Corrupt, self serving, arrogant tossers.

Gym Teachers - Deviants.

Priests - Deviants.

Clowns/Mimes - Deviants.

Great thread...

All-girl rock bands: is that a forest under that armpit?
Male visual merchandisers: see male hairdressers
IT entrepeneurs: very rich, think they're cool, but can't hide the fact they got belted about at school
Private school principals: self-important types in denial of the fact they'll never earn as much as parents
Private school teachers: see above, but poorer again
apprentice Tradies: not concerned by the fact that the woman serving them beer has boobs at her ankles, it's still a topless bar.
suburban surf-shop employees: what's a Mini-Mal?
Centrelink employees: so what if you've got a PhD, just give me your damn form...
Girlie bar dancers: just four lap dances from clearing their HECS debts
Foot Locker employees: I don't know what pronation is, Athlete's Foot is just down the road
Accountants: smiling? illegal under AASB 1025.

Now, what do each of these of these categories drink?

Santa Claus at the local shopping centre: nonce
Scout leaders: nonces
male driving instructors: nonces
priests and religious people: nonces
male kindy teachers: nonces
pop stars with initials MJ: nonces

Driving Instructor: Pervert.
Arts Student: Hippie.
IT worker: Virgin, but owner of heaps of pr0n. I'm talking truckloads. Masturbates at work.
Journalist: Liar, who if they were smarter, could be a con man.
Valet: Joy rider ala Ferris Bueller.
Air Hostess: Bitter old lady who looks down on everyone, despite earning 50k a year.
Community radio announcer: Loves Dungeons & dragons.
Staff at Marcs: All two bit crackers who will jump at the first whiff of a celebrity. Conceited, try-hard w@nkers.

Santa Claus at the local shopping centre: nonce

Must agree. My sister's best friend is in charge of sifting through the applications for Santa Claus for Coles Myer, 40% of applicants have a history of paedophilia :eek:

Uni Lecturers: Left-wing and homosexual.
Fashion Industry: Male: Homosexual
Lawyers: Wealthy sleazebags
Cartoonists: Virgins.
Clergymen: Pedophiles
Accountants, Stockbrokers: :o
Bouncers: Steroid munchers with small dicks.
Salesmen: Liars.
Police Officers: Inferiority complex.
Security Guards: See Police but throw in a criminal record.
Chemists: Amphetamine Dealers
IT Industry: Asian
Protestors Unemployed degenerates.
Fruit Shop Owners: Mafia hitmen.
Dentists: Suicidal.
Prison Snitch: Collingwood Supporter.

Originally posted by brampta
This might be pointing out the bleeding obvious but I think the word "profession" has been misused in this thread. Maybe the more appropriate word is "career" or "occupation".
All are acceptable.

Lemme explain, a professional is a doctor, lawyer, dentist, accountant, teacher, surgeon, chiropractor and the like.

It is not any old person with a job eg fast food worker, sales assistant, football umpire or a taxi driver.
Unless they make it their career.

That seems like a ****y status grab you're trying there. Do you consider an electrician to be professional?

Originally posted by Porthos

That seems like a ****y status grab you're trying there. Do you consider an electrician to be professional?

I'm not sure that I'd like my house wired up by one that wasn't! Ok point taken, I have an appalling sense of humour and I'm fully aware of my need for a lobotomy.

I am also aware that my original post was not terribly pleasant and for that I apologise. I had only ever heard the word "profession/professional" mentioned in the one context and it was wrong for me to be so rude.

Just go easy on the kids that serve up your fast food - they're seriously doing their best and I'm sure they wouldn't object if you decided to jump behind the counter one day to help them out so you got your food faster.

Originally posted by brampta

Just go easy on the kids that serve up your fast food - they're seriously doing their best and I'm sure they wouldn't object if you decided to jump behind the counter one day to help them out so you got your food faster.

Thought of this thread yesterday when having lunch at Maccas and whitnessed the pimplefaced rabble going on behind the counters. Laughing and screaming as they yell out "more quarters" with their backs to waiting customers most of the time. It took at least 20 mins to get served and by then our lunch break was almost over.

As much as i think they are little ****ers though and degrading themselves by working there it's a damn sight more than i ever did at that age so have to respect them for trying.