Pro's vs Con's regarding Connolly

• Thread starter Thread starter spitlizard

My comment wasn't actually serious. I was just joking. I think there is a little bit of frustration about a) the clubs performance this year and b) the supporters negativity on here directed at certain individuals. Your post targets one of those individuals. A little like that fabulous paper has by running a Poll about Connolly. Most people think we should wait till the end of the year, then decide the future of the coach. especially because it has been mad abundently clear that that is what is going to happen.

There were 2 main reasons why I posted it: -

The first was I had a discussion with a WCE supporter at work and he asked me that very question, "What are CC's Pro's & Con's?" and I couldn't really answer him.

Secondly my opinions about CC have always been negative BUT perhaps I have been to harsh on him so a thread like this may enlighten me a bit and maybe hear things about him from others that maybe I'm not seeing.

Oh........there was a third reason as well, it's called beer :p

Secondly my opinions about CC have always been negative BUT perhaps I have been to harsh on him so a thread like this may enlighten me a bit and maybe hear things about him from others that maybe I'm not seeing.

Mate that is pretty much the first post you havent referred to CC as "Cuddles" in this thread. You want a non-biased view and you throw in that stupid nickname crap. Get a clue.

Coached well today. Identified that the big mismatch was Headland & Polo.

Result=D.J. 5 goals. :thumbsu:

I love your loyalty Ripper but fair dinkum, we were playing a team that hasn't won a game this year. If this game was played at the shed we would have got rolled. Leaving Pollhack roaming free all game to do as he pleased nearly cost us the game.

Coached well today. Identified that the big mismatch was Headland & Polo.

Result=D.J. 5 goals. :thumbsu:

*smacks forehead*

Great move. Meanwhile the gamestyle implemented wouldn't let us move past the half forward line in the first quarter. Discipline and tactics are not his strong point. The talent on the park (which I have to admit both he and Drum played a huge part in getting to our club) would've won that without a coach and yet we came close to losing it. Strewth give Pavlich the Captain-Coach role and we'd have still won by at least 5 goals.

Seeing as I'm in student accommodation, Foxtel wasn't readily available so I headed down to a Queen Street restaurant to watch the game. I watched to the end. I ended up leaving feeling embarrassed beyond belief that people there knew who I was supporting (probably from the Freo polo shirt I had on). I was literally blushing when I left that we managed to get away with that.

I don't know what I'm more disappointed with: The way we're playing or the supporters who seem to think that the way we're playing and the way we're travelling will win a Premiership. I'm not saying sack Connolly now, lord knows that's far from the way to go. Mid-season sackings reflect horrifically on a club. However the hard questions need to be asked at the end of the season: Can he lead us to a premiership? From what I've seen throughout the duration I'm saying No.

*smacks forehead*

Great move. Meanwhile the gamestyle implemented wouldn't let us move past the half forward line in the first quarter. Discipline and tactics are not his strong point. The talent on the park (which I have to admit both he and Drum played a huge part in getting to our club) would've won that without a coach and yet we came close to losing it. Strewth give Pavlich the Captain-Coach role and we'd have still won by at least 5 goals.

Seeing as I'm in student accommodation, Foxtel wasn't readily available so I headed down to a Queen Street restaurant to watch the game. I watched to the end. I ended up leaving feeling embarrassed beyond belief that people there knew who I was supporting (probably from the Freo polo shirt I had on). I was literally blushing when I left that we managed to get away with that.

I don't know what I'm more disappointed with: The way we're playing or the supporters who seem to think that the way we're playing and the way we're travelling will win a Premiership. I'm not saying sack Connolly now, lord knows that's far from the way to go. Mid-season sackings reflect horrifically on a club. However the hard questions need to be asked at the end of the season: Can he lead us to a premiership? From what I've seen throughout the duration I'm saying No.

*smacks forehead*

The longer they go with out a win the closer they are to one.
You should be well aware of that after our 2001 season.

Thank goodness it wasn't us this week.

Make no mistake they primed themselves for this on , coming to Perth on Thursday , training at the WACA , and came out firing.

Before the game i was very nervous about this game . all the talk of percentage boosters was just crap by the media to hit us over the head with afterwards.

Four points is four points and very needed at the present time.

*smacks forehead*

The longer they go with out a win the closer they are to one.
You should be well aware of that after our 2001 season.

Thank goodness it wasn't us this week.

Make no mistake they primed themselves for this on , coming to Perth on Thursday , training at the WACA , and came out firing.

Before the game i was very nervous about this game . all the talk of percentage boosters was just crap by the media to hit us over the head with afterwards.

Four points is four points and very needed at the present time.

So rather than analysing and critiquing our own game you'd rather chalk it up to quality opposition and poor umpiring? It all makes sense now...

Not at all, Good gutsy win IMO. Don't forget this mob should have beaten the Bombres & drew with Brisbane in the last two weeks.

They were never going to be easybeats, there are no easy games in this competition.

Ask the Adelaide fans about last week.

Make no mistake they primed themselves for this one , coming to Perth on Thursday , training at the WACA , and came out firing.

Shouldn't we have been primed for this week too, especially considering we were 4-6 and the ridiculous criticism of our captain?

Connolly coached well today, but motivation is still a massive issue. Being an AFL coach is a full time position, not a 3 hour a week job.

Is that 9 or 10 weeks this year that the opposition has kicked the first goal of the game, not good enough. And in how many wins has Bell been among our top 3 or 4 players? Time for others to find some consistency.

Shouldn't we have been primed for this week too, especially considering we were 4-6 and the ridiculous criticism of our captain?

Connolly coached well today, but motivation is still a massive issue. Being an AFL coach is a full time position, not a 3 hour a week job.

Is that 9 or 10 weeks this year that the opposition has kicked the first goal of the game, not good enough. And in how many wins has Bell been among our top 3 or 4 players? Time for others to find some consistency.

I agree with that to an extent. However the group seemed to have confidence in their ability to reel them in , which they did.

I would be more worried about next week if we had won by 60+.

I think our lack of success leaves us feeling that our expectations and demands need to be higher than possibly what we expect of any other team. Sure, Richmond haven't won a game, but they are hardly being belted off the park week in week out. They have been very competitive in a number of games.

I hate to compare us to the weagles more than anyone, but how often do they put a team away? It's not all that often when you consider their win/loss ratio over that last 3 years.

Coaches (especially those who've been around as long as Wallace) will do anything to prevent a blow out.

The perception (and possible reality) that we are a soft target is a hard one for us to shake. I agree with Ripper that teams like Richmond DO target a game such as today as a perfect opportunity to get a win. They get a chance to 'bond' as a team with the travel (it's a rarity for those victorians) and the hostile crowd environment gives the whole 'us against the world' a bit more meaning. They get an early goal or two and the momentum carries them on. In years past we would have let that one slide, maybe even gone down by 5 or 6 goals. We DON'T let those games go anymore. We fight back more often than not and that's an improvement we can't ignore.

Sometimes you just have to win ugly, but isn't good that we at least know that we can do it?

Ive gotta join in here !

When I sat down today and talking to the people around me who were thinking Wally would go 100% defensive to try and stop being used as a percentage booster, I said (sought of)" They should be using it at a training run. They have nothing to lose and everything to gain by practising winning." And didnt they give it to us !

As a Freo supporter from day one I know what it's like to see your team come out all guns blazing and still lose.

CC is getting smarter he knows you can win games from anywhere. The team, I reckon has the same belief.

While some people might thought we should have won by 10 goals or more I'm happy we got up from behind. The longer the game went the more we were going to win by. It's all good.

I think our lack of success leaves us feeling that our expectations and demands need to be higher than possibly what we expect of any other team. Sure, Richmond haven't won a game, but they are hardly being belted off the park week in week out. They have been very competitive in a number of games.

I hate to compare us to the weagles more than anyone, but how often do they put a team away? It's not all that often when you consider their win/loss ratio over that last 3 years.

Coaches (especially those who've been around as long as Wallace) will do anything to prevent a blow out.

The perception (and possible reality) that we are a soft target is a hard one for us to shake. I agree with Ripper that teams like Richmond DO target a game such as today as a perfect opportunity to get a win.
They get a chance to 'bond' as a team with the travel (it's a rarity for those victorians) and the hostile crowd environment gives the whole 'us against the world' a bit more meaning. They get an early goal or two and the momentum carries them on. In years past we would have let that one slide, maybe even gone down by 5 or 6 goals. We DON'T let those games go anymore. We fight back more often than not and that's an improvement we can't ignore.

Sometimes you just have to win ugly, but isn't good that we at least know that we can do it?

Good post Chook . you only had to see the look on wallet's face to know that they chucked everything at us today.

*smacks forehead*

For me that's the most sensible comment I've heard from a Fremantle supporter all season. I used to think this theory regarding Dockers fans "accepting mediocrity" was rubbish, but this season those who support the theory are being proven right.

I felt like vomiting upon seeing that pish poor excuse for an effort today - not that I haven't already felt that way on a number of occassions this season but today was by far the worst. Right now we're an absolute rabble, and if we finish with our third bottom half finish in four seasons (which at this stage is looking more than likely) it's time for people within the club to be held accountable, rather than being defended with these pish posh excuses we hear all the time. One poor season could be down to luck, three out of four shows things aren't right.

I'm ready for the "you're not a real supporter" rubbish, say what you will but no matter how pathetic I think we are I will never support the club any less. Supporting and having an opinion are two completely different things.

The perception (and possible reality) that we are a soft target is a hard one for us to shake. I agree with Ripper that teams like Richmond DO target a game such as today as a perfect opportunity to get a win. They get a chance to 'bond' as a team with the travel (it's a rarity for those victorians) and the hostile crowd environment gives the whole 'us against the world' a bit more meaning. They get an early goal or two and the momentum carries them on. In years past we would have let that one slide, maybe even gone down by 5 or 6 goals. We DON'T let those games go anymore. We fight back more often than not and that's an improvement we can't ignore.

I agree to a certain extent that we have learnt the ability to win ugly, but I reckon that we have yet to learn how to win ugly away from home on a consistent basis.

This should not have needed to be an ugly win if we played to our potential.

Let's face it!!

We were flag fancies at season start, and now we are struggling for a top 8 finish. I acknowledge our injuries and disciplinary problems.....but we are playing a crap style of football.

We struggled against a team that will finish bottom 4, and this was on our home ground.

It was a disappointing effort in my opinion.

And without the likes of Bell and Pavlich, and their ability to carry the team, we would all be sitting here gutted at yet another loss.

For me that's the most sensible comment I've heard from a Fremantle supporter all season. I used to think this theory regarding Dockers fans "accepting mediocrity" was rubbish, but this season those who support the theory are being proven right.

I felt like vomiting upon seeing that pish poor excuse for an effort today - not that I haven't already felt that way on a number of occassions this season but today was by far the worst. Right now we're an absolute rabble, and if we finish with our third bottom half finish in four seasons (which at this stage is looking more than likely) it's time for people within the club to be held accountable, rather than being defended with these pish posh excuses we hear all the time. One poor season could be down to luck, three out of four shows things aren't right.

I'm ready for the "you're not a real supporter" rubbish, say what you will but no matter how pathetic I think we are I will never support the club any less. Supporting and having an opinion are two completely different things.

Yeah , yeah , yeah , even when we win it is not by enough. Just like last year against the Bombres who had lost 14 in a row and we "only" won by six goals.

The margin flattered the tigers big time today.

Your Club is ?

If you're not willing to show your colours then your opinion is same as any other troll.

Yeah , yeah , yeah , even when we win it is not by enough. Just like last year against the Bombres who had lost 14 in a row and we "only" won by six goals.

The margin flattered the tigers big time today.

From what I saw today, you may be talking through a whole hat shop there Rip.

Did I say I had an issue with how much we won by? If you actually bother to read what I said I referred to the performance only, not the margin of victory. Your boy Connolly also focuses on process rather than results and rightly so - but the main problem is he comes across as totally dellusional when he is full of praise for crap performances - like today for instance.

And I hate to break it to you but we actually have a losing record - five wins and six losses. Talk to me about winning being good enough when we're actually doing it more often than not.

Good post Chook . you only had to see the look on wallet's face to know that they chucked everything at us today.
There's no doubt they had a crack today Rip, but their lack of skill was undeniable. The sad fact is we weren't much better if at all!

Your Club is ?

If you're not willing to show your colours then your opinion is same as any other troll.
I would've thought the fact I referred to Fremantle as "we" would make it obvious. I'm unaware why my "club" spot was blank but my profile has always shown me as a Dockers supporter. Not that I think any of this has any relevance to me expressing an opinion, but seeing you do ...