Proud yet disappointed

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

Proud of the way our guys hung in there all night even when it looked like we were on the verge of being blown away.

Disappointed that in reality we should have won the game. A couple of crucial misses that would have given us a 1+ goal lead, followed by a way too early decision to try and ice the game which ultimately led to a game deciding turnover.

On a final note , will bRett Kirk ever, ever, ever get pinged for holding on to someone without the ball. FFS:mad:

Amen. we learned a lot about our future tonight, and it proved what a lot of us have been saying all along about certain players who should be in the team.

whilst he went missing for patches, i thought cockie was fantastic tonight. was always in the right place, and has maturity beyond his years. i fear a lot of what he does (ie just bombing long when your forward line is dominating) will be coached out of him. but for now i love the kid. imagine how much better he'd be if he dedicated the time spent in the tanning salon to footy.

masten showed a lot of the doubters what he will be tonight. great at finding the ball, and good disposal too. big thumbs up to him.

s selwood proved himself a typical selwood tonight. another tough nut - i'm going to love this kid. although someone needs to tell him that blonde haired people bordering on rangas should not be experimenting with facial hair.

kennedy was another who went missing for periods tonight, but a great mark, and once again showed us the dimensions of his game that make him our best chf at the moment.

mckinley once again showed he has talent to burn, as he did a few times last year. i just hope he doesn't become another lynch-type player who has all the tools, but no consistency.

overall, i'm really, really happy with the game tonight apart from the result. a great, gutsy performance.

i'm proud as ****. after a few dissapointing weeks. responded like true champions.

i love you ****ing boys. we may have lost. but you've won my heart.... again!!!! :):)

here's to the future. i love you f***ing c8nts like you wouldn't believe!!!!

I guess you'd call it a honourable loss??

But having said that definately had our chances to take the points.Good call on Kirk KS, just as well he's not a backman he'd have a couple hundred kicked on him every season..

Just on the umpiring how many did they miss tonight?? I swear they must have missed a dozen obvious kicks tonight, and paid others that were just plain wrong. (A factor but not sure it cost us the game, I think our poor skills probably took care of that).

Despite the loss future is looking pretty bright.

As an non supporter of both teams I thought it was a good game and the eagles composure and finishing skills cost them in the end.

I was very impressed with Kennedy (should've been playing all year), Lynch (Very strong and one of the best games I've seen of him), McNamara (good effort 7 tackles in limited game time), Sc selwood (good goal contested hard), Cockie (very promising although needed to kick last goal).

I think your biggest concerns revolve around Nicoski (Got caught a lot and generally kicked to no one - poor game, Seaby (Shouldn't be in the afl full stop), Butler (got a bit of it but looked slow and sloppy disposal), Rosa (tried hard but 42% disposal efficiency and 12 touches = poor game).

On an overall basis goalkicking is still is an issue at the end of games, along with skills under pressure. The effort and fight was very commendable though.

Just on the umpiring how many did they miss tonight?? I swear they must have missed a dozen obvious kicks tonight, and paid others that were just plain wrong. (A factor but not sure it cost us the game, I think our poor skills probably took care of that).

Thought it was funny how after watching Kirk hang off Priddis at nearly every stoppage, with Walls blowing smoke up Kirk's arse at every opportunity, that Goodes gets a free for a pissweak little jumper pull in the centre square.

Lots of others, but as you say we had our chances without having to rely on umpiring decisions.

Even though we lost that was a great game we kept on coming and were competetive all night this is the most exciting game I've seen from the Eagles in a while, Cockie had a good game and hopefully he'll improve more as time goes on

I don't think the umpires did us any favours tonight. On top of being shafted we had Kerr out and nearly won.

+ves
Kennedy
Masten

They didn't set the world on fire, but with only a few games under their belts they are showing some serious potential

Other +ves

As a kids come through. Some players will have to make way. If Rosa gets a game then it means we have improvement to come.

-ves

Disposal. really bad. A real worry. Even Wirra has been doing it alot recently. We're not far off Richmond in this department. I'm concerned because this is hard to make considerable improvement.

Turnovers. So many times we turn it over it is a combo of 3 things:

1. Poor disposal. Often handballs land at player's feet
2. Passing to players who are hot
3. Players not moving into space when we have the ball. ie player X has ball and needs to dish off, player Y is just standing there next to opposition and player X has to pass him ball because a) he's hot and b) he was waiting for this player to find space but he just stood there.

Other worries
Brown and SSelwood's decision making. Hopefully it's just because they're young and haven't got a handle under the pressure yet.

Good effort tonight and another fantastic contest. We had the weight of possession for the first three quarters but couldn't put you to the sword. Your efficiency from forward 50's kept you in it and you almost pinched it as you finally won more ball in the fourth. Brave effort from a young team away from home.

I just want to say how impressed I was by the Eagles tonight. I didn't give them much of a chance but they had me worried the whole night long. Probably should have won it if McKinley didn't mess up that Cox pass. Oh well, looking forward to the next Swans-Eagles matchup.

Scott Selwood was very good in the contested situations, especially during the last 5 mins of the second quarter.

Has a bit of mongrel in him which I love.

I am sick of reading and hearing these good news stories how we did our best and we should be proud of the lads.

Its ****en bullshit and i am sick of making excuses for fulltime footballers who get big money and train 18 times week yet can't kick, can't handball, can't make football decisions yet have been playing the game for some 15 years of their life.

Simply put the we should have won by some 15 points or more.

1) Mckinley should not have passed but should of had a shot. 4 year player who still is lost with what to do. and can't execute.

2) Lynch, bread and butter shot, missed as did his many other shots which happen to often. no excuse.

3) Cockie, selected as an AFL player because of his skill lever, not becaus ehe can run 100 in 10seconds or jump 12 feet, misses 25 metre shot by a mile, not even close.

4) proud as I am of mckenzie this year to make such a critical error is not forgivable, kick it 50m to the wing and we win the game no matter who gets the ball but to pass to a contest and miss by a mile is simple put a mistake an amatuer would make.

Bottom line is 4 errors and you would think you would come out of it 50-50 and we came out of it 0-100.

gave a win away tonight simply becaus our skills are at or even less than WAFL level.

weak as piss.

Never been as upset with a loss as tonight.

Our skills are country level at best. an absolute disgrace.

stop making excuses guys, get your blue and gold glasses off. its totally woefull. all these blokes onour list have been playing football for 15 years. How can they miss targets, miss handballs, not man up???????????????

Based on what I have seen this year the only game we should have lost is against St Kilda the rest is because we are poorly trained, poorly skilled.

Right now we should be 7-1, we are not because the same people get away with mediocrity week in week out. really starting to piss me off this is.

Don't anyone give them a tick tonight.

Me too!:)

With your notable OUTS...that was a fine effort from your mob,and good signs that the new look model WCE is progressing slowly (as are Swans)back towards the top again.

Bad luck...easily could have won. Cox absolutely bust a gut esp in the last qtr. But that pass by McKinley to goal square:o... was very costly

Oh and Keyser... from ground view ...Priddis was doing his share of blocking & holding too.. with a few sly gut punches to Kirk from Selwood as well!;)

I just want to say how impressed I was by the Eagles tonight. I didn't give them much of a chance but they had me worried the whole night long. Probably should have won it if McKinley didn't mess up that Cox pass. Oh well, looking forward to the next Swans-Eagles matchup.

Completely agree with you, didn't give us a show. Thanks also Constanza.:thumbsu:

I am sick of reading and hearing these good news stories how we did our best and we should be proud of the lads.
Based on what I have seen this year the only game we should have lost is against St Kilda the rest is because we are poorly trained, poorly skilled.

Right now we should be 7-1, we are not because the same people get away with mediocrity week in week out. really starting to piss me off this is.

Don't anyone give them a tick tonight.

I thought you said you were going to be happy if they showed, what are the words I'm looking for?, ah that's right, a more attacking style? They did that didn't they? You've criticised often for them being too dour and "boring" or not attacking enough and I'm sure you stated you didn't care if they won or not, as long as a different/attacking gameplan was shown.

However, you're right, I made the point in another thread that Swans footskills to Hansen are much better than the Eagles footskills to Hansen.!
However, I'm not too worried they lost, put it down to an AFL conspiracy that Sydney remain competitive and we're a young team and I'm fine with that. :D

whilst he went missing for patches, i thought cockie was fantastic tonight. was always in the right place, and has maturity beyond his years. i fear a lot of what he does (ie just bombing long when your forward line is dominating) will be coached out of him. but for now i love the kid. imagine how much better he'd be if he dedicated the time spent in the tanning salon to footy.

This is the second reference to his tan on these boards today.

People do realise that he is Aboriginal dont they?

I mean surely no-one doesnt know that?

That said, if you do know that and you are talking about his tan, thats pretty poor form I would have thought.

Me too!:)

With your notable OUTS...that was a fine effort from your mob,and good signs that the new look model WCE is progressing slowly (as are Swans)back towards the top again.

Bad luck...easily could have won. Cox absolutely bust a gut esp in the last qtr. But that pass by McKinley to goal square:o... was very costly

Oh and Keyser... from ground view ...Priddis was doing his share of blocking & holding too.. with a few sly gut punches to Kirk from Selwood as well!;)
I don't want to dampen your spirits, and I'm not trolling, but I don't think the Swans are going anywhere for a while yet. You just don't have the right rookies to improve too much. You need to be worried about mid-table mediocrity. West Coast did it from 95-2000 and the Knagaroos are doing it right now. Both teams have/had good coaches who milked all their talent to get them a respectable mid table whilst other teams had lesser coaches but were quietly building up with top draft picks.

what a difference scott selwood made when he went in the guts.Thought he was our best tonight.Rosa and butler gotta go.Seaby was o.k.Kennedy was great.Much as hes a trier priddis was shown up for leg speed.Yea i know he was scragged but he hasnt got the speed or composure.Lynch was fantastic;has somebody been feeding him tough pills??Wirra??mmmmmmmm.Lecras is lazy.said it before say it again.mckinley showed that in the big games hes up to it.Reasonably happy.Would have played schoey on goodes.Glass was pretty poor.Why wasnt he playing in front of hall instead of beside him.And finally Coxy;you deserve a huge kick up the rectum for holding play up and going backwards with nearly 5mns left.we had all the momentum and were running over the top of them.suddenly we stop and go on the back foot putting the pressure back on us to find a target. maybe it also contributed to mackenzies choice to play safe instead of going long to a leading lynch who was in front and headed to the boundary. piss poor from a senior leader.

Completely agree with you, didn't give us a show. Thanks also Constanza.:thumbsu:

I thought you said you were going to be happy if they showed, what are the words I'm looking for?, ah that's right, a more attacking style? They did that didn't they? You've criticised often for them being too dour and "boring" or not attacking enough and I'm sure you stated you didn't care if they won or not, as long as a different/attacking gameplan was shown.

However, you're right, I made the point in another thread that Swans footskills to Hansen are much better than the Eagles footskills to Hansen.!
However, I'm not too worried they lost, put it down to an AFL conspiracy that Sydney remain competitive and we're a young team and I'm fine with that. :D

Thats bullshit swannies, enough is enough. these guys are paid to be professional footballers and one mistake I can handle and two i can handle as well. but 4 is a disgrace, they don't mean to I know that but simply put its not acceptable. 4 chances and zero percentage on those 4 chances is not good enough. thats not an unlucky night, thats not bad luck, thats simply not acceptable.

We play dour, unattracive football and thats ok, but you simply have to take 50% of your chances if thats the plan you have. 0% of chances makes it not worth while.
A game given to Sydney tonight on a platter and anyone who views it differently is lost in bias and not football knowledge.

Excuses, one after another is getting boring. if you can't hit atarget at 22 years old you can rest assured you won't be able to hit one at 23 years of age. either you can or you can't.

Sick of the bullshit excuses.

Thats bullshit swannies, enough is enough. these guys are paid to be professional footballers and one mistake I can handle and two i can handle as well. but 4 is a disgrace, they don't mean to I know that but simply put its not acceptable. 4 chances and zero percentage on those 4 chances is not good enough. thats not an unlucky night, thats not bad luck, thats simply not acceptable.

We play dour, unattracive football and thats ok, but you simply have to take 50% of your chances if thats the plan you have. 0% of chances makes it not worth while.
A game given to Sydney tonight on a platter and anyone who views it differently is lost in bias and not football knowledge.

Excuses, one after another is getting boring. if you can't hit atarget at 22 years old you can rest assured you won't be able to hit one at 23 years of age. either you can or you can't.

At least we could manage our interchanges tonight unlike the Swans who gifted us a goal.

Both sides made errors and truth is the Swans should have won by more. We were far from disgraced, late errors notwithstanding.

Much as hes a trier priddis was shown up for leg speed.Yea i know he was scragged but he hasnt got the speed or composure.
Composure is the key to priddis. He just doesn't have it. People keep raving about how good he is in and under and how much ball he gets. But he never has time (ie composure). He just bangs it on the boot.

An A-grade midfielder will do this:

1. Get ball in stoppage
2. Couple of quick shimmers and disco moves. Opposition players move to wrong spot thereby leaving space. This takes composure and skill - to hold the ball, shimmer, make space, make correct decision, good disposal. Priddis just doesn't have that abilty

I don't want to imply I expect Priddis to be as good as Cousins, but Cousins can do the above. He get the ball tight and then the opposition players will move off leaving him with some room. It's like he has an aura of awesomeness that no one can penetrate. Sort of like the chick on Fantastic 4 who has a force field.

Those players who can do that stuff (ie players who have an aura of awesomeness/force field - they're the guys you want getting the ball 35 times a match.

if you can't hit atarget at 22 years old you can rest assured you won't be able to hit one at 23 years of age. either you can or you can't.

I believe this is the big worry for us going forward. We are the turnover kings (well, second to Richmond). We need to make sure anyone we draft in the future has excception disposal skills. And decision making skills.

Who made the mistakes? Kids with less than 20 games experience? Surely that is forgivable?

I've just watched half the game again and I reckon you're making too much of them not being able to kick to targets. The field kicking hit their targets, between hb and hf. Where they missed is kicking to the forwards, at their feet. Kicking to forwards is not as easy as it looks in the loungeroom. Most players tend to overkick the ball and try to ram it down the forwards throat. The better way is to kick to space in front of the forward and make them run on to it, but not many footballers, full stop, not just athletes, have this skill.

Who made the mistakes? Kids with less than 20 games experience? Surely that is forgivable?

I've just watched half the game again and I reckon you're making too much of them not being able to kick to targets. The field kicking hit their targets, between hb and hf. Where they missed is kicking to the forwards, at their feet. Kicking to forwards is not as easy as it looks in the loungeroom. Most players tend to overkick the ball and try to ram it down the forwards throat. The better way is to kick to space in front of the forward and make them run on to it, but not many footballers, full stop, not just athletes, have this skill.

Come on Swannies, these are the best of the best are they not? If a forward leads and gets a metre on his opponent it should be a simple kick which hits him on the chest? our kicks go way above their head, to their feet or not even near them and its all the time not just now and again.

that won't change mate, they either can or they can't!!

I watched Fletcher for Subiaco today and I ahve 10 blokaes at my amatuer club that are better kicks than him. Not saying its his fault or any players fault but its the clubs fault for acceptaing it. their skills are second rate and surely you can see it mate. these are not accidents or poor decisions they are simply skill errors. to many of them. don't you see it?
Yes we like to give the benefit of the doubt and think its a one off but eventually you have to face up to the reality that its as good as it gets. they simply are not highly enough skilled. they might be able to run for 15km, run 100m in 11 seconds, jump 12 feet in the air but the bottom line all of those things mean shit on a football field.

sorry mate just don't agree but I do respect your opinion.