PSD Targets

GAVROI MOUNIA... GAMW TON PIRAEA
Hello Gang.

If we do come last, here are a few of the out of contract/out of favour players we could target in the PSD. Say to them "look player X, you go into the PSD and we will pay you X amount" blah blah.

• John Meeson
  • Brendan Goddard
  • Michael Rischitellli
  • Justin Sherman
  • Graham Polak
  • Ryley Dunn
  • Ryan Willits
  • Matt Rosa
  • Michael Gardiner
  • James Walker
  • Cameron Wood
  • Chris Eagan
  • Colin Sylvia
  • Nick Malceski
  • Aimon Buchanon
  • Drew Petrie
Add one of these to Bryce Gibbs and Picks #17, #19, #35 (subject to trades) and BAM ... successfull drafting :thumbsu:

cypher said:
Why would anyone want to join Carlton unless they're a young kid like Murphy?

We're a joke and at least three seasons away from being competitive or pushing for eight spot.

And I hope the suggestions of taking Gardiner, Walker, Egan and Petrie is another one.

you're right.

We should delist and re-draft Dylan McLaren at the end of this year.

I have a feeling this won't be well received but......
anyone else think J.Cloke may be useful as a defender. I think he has been harshly treated in media and by Mick. Every time i see him play for Pies he seems to do ok. We struggle down back. He has good hands, good spoiler!

Any takers??

Moss Rocket said:
I have a feeling this won't be well received but......
anyone else think J.Cloke may be useful as a defender. I think he has been harshly treated in media and by Mick. Every time i see him play for Pies he seems to do ok. We struggle down back. He has good hands, good spoiler!

Any takers??

Would free up Lance Whitnall. Wouldn't mind him at Carlton.

Out of that list these are the players I would like to see on our list next year.

John Meesen = ideal fit for us, would suit either as a trade or PSD. Would prefer PSD.

Brendan Goddard = no chance IMO, has come of age this season and ejoying his footy at the Saints. But worth a crack!

Michael Rischitellli = really like this kids work, we should target him. Offer a salary that Brisbane can't match.

Justin Sherman = same rating as Rischitelli, will be hard to get PSD likley as he is a quality kid, would trade for though. Brisbane will have salary cap drama's again this year if we are smart we should be able to get one.

Graham Polak = troubled kid with heaps of potential. Would fit in at CHB perfectly. Freo will trade him, no chance of PSD IMO. But again worth a crack!

Ryley Dunn = I liked this kid as junior, haven't watched a whole heap of him since. From memory he is defensive mid that can play HBF. Correct me if I'm wrong. If this is the case, I would put others before him.

Cameron Wood = excellant tap ruckman, again would fit in perfectly. Very possible for drafting via PSD. But I think a trade would be more likely.

Due to our ladder position we will need to throw plenty of cash to secure one. In order of what I would prefer and what is likely are:

1. John Meesen
2. Micheal Rischitelli/Sherman (can't seperate)
3. Graham Polak
4. Cameron Wood
5. Ryley Dunn
6. Brendan Goddard

C4[2]Yo`DooR said:
Hello Gang.

If we do come last, here are a few of the out of contract/out of favour players we could target in the PSD. Say to them "look player X, you go into the PSD and we will pay you X amount" blah blah.

• John Meeson
  • Brendan Goddard
  • Michael Rischitellli
  • Justin Sherman
  • Graham Polak
  • Ryley Dunn
  • Ryan Willits
  • Matt Rosa
  • Michael Gardiner
  • James Walker
  • Cameron Wood
  • Chris Eagan
  • Colin Sylvia
  • Nick Malceski
  • Aimon Buchanon
  • Drew Petrie
Add one of these to Bryce Gibbs and Picks #17, #19, #35 (subject to trades) and BAM ... successfull drafting :thumbsu:

Theres a few exciting players there u mentioned, dont think will be able to entice any of the brissie players but who knows? Polak seems keen for change and would have a guarenteed spot in our side, Colin Sylvia or Amon Buchanon would be handy. Agree with other posters that a ruckman ala meeson or wood would be ideal for our rucking situation.

cypher said:
You're not funny.

We should be drafting another kid like Betts in the PSD instead of another hack or headcase.

Don't be a ****.

Players like Rischitelli, Wood, Sylvia and Meeson arent hacks.

and they still are kids.

C4[2]Yo`DooR said:
Hello Gang.

• John Meeson
  • Brendan Goddard
  • Michael Rischitellli
  • Justin Sherman
  • Graham Polak
  • Ryley Dunn
  • Ryan Willits
  • Matt Rosa
  • Michael Gardiner
  • James Walker
  • Cameron Wood
  • Chris Eagan
  • Colin Sylvia
  • Nick Malceski
  • Aimon Buchanon
  • Drew Petrie

I hope that list isn't in order. Leave Meeson alone ya berstards. If you play your cards right, you could really rebuild your club with this years draft. Could take 2-3 years off your rebuilding period. You could pick up 4 x 1st tier players in one draft, maybe even 3 "players to build a team around".

SpringChoke said:
I hope that list isn't in order. Leave Meeson alone ya berstards. If you play your cards right, you could really rebuild your club with this years draft. Could take 2-3 years off your rebuilding period. You could pick up 4 x 1st tier players in one draft, maybe even 3 "players to build a team around".

which is exactly why I should be there on draft day and during the trade week. id play unionised hard ball.

C4[2]Yo`DooR said:
which is exactly why I should be there on draft day and during the trade week. id play unionised hard ball.

I'm surprised Pagan hasn't officially asked you to attend already. I would be keeping an eye on your Inbox if I was you.

SpringChoke said:
I'm surprised Pagan hasn't officially asked you to attend already. I would be keeping an eye on your Inbox if I was you.

heres to hoping, seriously though, if a trade had to be done for Meeson, what do you think Adelaide would demand ?

SpringChoke said:

Agree with that. It certainly looks like we'll get 3 picks in the top 20, and if we can trade a player (*cough Stevens cough), we could end up with 4 picks in the top 25 maybe, plus first or second pick in the PSD.

HugeBluesFan said:
Agree with that. It certainly looks like we'll get 3 picks in the top 20, and if we can trade a player (*cough Stevens cough), we could end up with 4 picks in the top 25 maybe, plus first or second pick in the PSD.
We need Meesen tapping the ball down to Gibbs! :p

But we do need a young ruckman as much as a midfielder or three and he's the logical target since the other Victorian re-signed with the Powerpuuffs.

cypher said:
You're not funny.

We should be drafting another kid like Betts in the PSD instead of another hack or headcase.

If you want to draft an under 18 kid, you just do it in the national draft with your 6th, 7th or whatever pick before you pass. The reason we took Betts in the PSD was due to the fact we'd made a place available for Knobel on our list and Richmond pipped us for him. The PSD is used for uncontracted players

smithos said:
If you want to draft an under 18 kid, you just do it in the national draft with your 6th, 7th or whatever pick before you pass. The reason we took Betts in the PSD was due to the fact we'd made a place available for Knobel on our list and Richmond pipped us for him. The PSD is used for uncontracted players
I don't want to use the PSD pick on another hack like Mclaren or a headcase like Gardiner or Polak.

If the PSD is just for kids why did Port, Richmond and Collingwood draft kids instead of senior players like Guerra, Campo and Heffernan?

The days of getting a Stevens and Rawlings in the PSD are gone.

We stated just the other day we're not taking anyone over twenty four and it's the smartest thing Smorgon has said. No one of any real worth comes on the market now and we need more kids since we're 4-5 years away from finals.

Sorry about my ignorance but if we end the season like this what picks will we have in the National Draft?

cypher said:
I don't want to use the PSD pick on another hack like Mclaren or a headcase like Gardiner or Polak.

If the PSD is just for kids why did Port, Richmond and Collingwood draft kids instead of senior players like Guerra, Campo and Heffernan?

The days of getting a Stevens and Rawlings in the PSD are gone.

We stated just the other day we're not taking anyone over twenty four and it's the smartest thing Smorgon has said. No one of any real worth comes on the market now and we need more kids since we're 4-5 years away from finals.

Guys like Matt Thomas were taken by Port because they knew we'd rookie him if they didn't. The PSD is admittedly a good place for mid range clubs to pick up national draft left-overs once the dust has settled, but the #1 pick should be used like richmond did with Troy Simmonds - don't re-sign and we'll put you on 5years of far more than your worth, done deal. If not like that then as leverage in a trade deal.

HugeBluesFan said:

Dear me, I hope we don't trade Nick Stevens. He may be soft and playing crap footy, but we all know what he can do, and I bet you it's a hell of a lot more than a player picked between 10 and 25. Frankly, I just don't rate the National Draft that highly. A player may have talent, but without a good attitude and good nurturing from the coaching staff, that talent won't amount to anything. But don't take my word for it. Just have a look at all the top 20 drafties in recent years. I bet not 1 draft has had even 10 players turn out better than Nick Stevens.

If it was for a top 3 pick, I would trade. But not for a pick in the teens. By that time, the cream of the draft will be gone, and every pick thereafter is a gamble.

Michael Gardiner is still my prefered choice in the PSD. - Simply because he is the best player available, and at a prime age. Gardiner may be many things, but a dud he is not. .... And strooth, we could certainly use a decent ruckman.

smithos said:
Guys like Matt Thomas were taken by Port because they knew we'd rookie him if they didn't. The PSD is admittedly a good place for mid range clubs to pick up national draft left-overs once the dust has settled, but the #1 pick should be used like richmond did with Troy Simmonds - don't re-sign and we'll put you on 5years of far more than your worth, done deal. If not like that then as leverage in a trade deal.
Hindsight is an exact science but we should have gone for a kid and a few taken in the PSD are showing a bit this year. Saddington was a poor trade even though we lacked tall defenders and we don't need more players who are injury prone or not the player they once were.

I want an uncontracted kid like Meesen or Rischitelli but I'm not holding my breath thsat we'll get one. The next best thing is the best kid who wasn't drafted and I don't want players like Gardiner/Polak or another Mclaren.