QAFL 2026

watched Redland defeat Broady today by 10 goals but it was a very competitive game ,,,Broady did well but just outclassed Hammelman kicked a lazy 12 goals ....was yet another class display ..He now has 60 in 8 games .

Hammer is in a class of his own, sometimes you just have to tip your hat to the guy- he’s been a gun for years he looked in career best form today.

Broady lads tried hard just outclassed, what is worrying for the comp is the lopsided results week in week out.

Maybe there’s too many teams possibly

Palm Beach very good on all lines and without Hickey and Jones. A reality check for the Roos.
Correct ,,, their weekly match draw has been so soft ,,playing the bottom rung of the ladder sides ,,, now in their 1st test against a top 4 side shows where they bare at in real terms

Hammer is in a class of his own, sometimes you just have to tip your hat to the guy- he’s been a gun for years he looked in career best form today.

Broady lads tried hard just outclassed, what is worrying for the comp is the lopsided results week in week out.

There is no maybe about that

The most worrying sign is that there appears no sign of the also rans getting better. Their reserves are equally non competitive with no apparent plan to develop their juniors. The decision to include Coorparoo was ridiculous. 3 Brisbane teams, one Sunshine Coast team and 3/4Gold Coast teams. Also a lot of clubs away facilities simply not good enough. How much effort to change fluoros and provide clean facilities

3 too many teams

MTG,sherwood,noosa.

Dropping Mt. G and Sherwood would supply heaps of players to Coorparoo, making them instantly more competitive, as talent is currently spread way too thin across mainly South BNE right now.

Noosa have done almost nothing in 6 years and can't even fill a full reserves side each week. Ok if it's a community comp, not a state league

MTG,sherwood,noosa.

Dropping Mt. G and Sherwood would supply heaps of players to Coorparoo, making them instantly more competitive, as talent is currently spread way too thin across mainly South BNE right now.

Noosa have done almost nothing in 6 years and can't even fill a full reserves side each week. Ok if it's a community comp, not a state league
Agree on a 10 team comp. Barring yesterday where development team heavily undermanned to due injury, Noosa on the improve. On the back of a colts flag last year I reckon we are on the right track. The Sunny Coast is easily big enough to have Maroochydore and Noosa in the comp, both clubs rapidly growing juniors wise and financially are pretty strong. Noosa thumped Redlands 3 weeks ago, pushed surfers to within 2 goals last week and were poor yesterday but credit to Sherwood who were up and about. TBH it’s a hard place to win don’t think we’ve beaten them there for years.Probably thought it was just going to happen also after some pretty good form coming in!
And no one wants to see a clubs Colts deceased on the back of dropping back. There in lies a separate issue.

As a State League Competition it’s not good enough to be honest. Whilst growth of game has been massive in last 20 years the gap between our competition and SANFL and WAFL could not be greater.

It needs to be condensed as a starting point but could you imagine Lions and Suns Reserves playing in QAFL like Port, Crows, Eagles and Freo do in their respective State Leagues.

They play and are not dominant. I feel we have far to many teams and to many players currently playing State League comfortably here that would not be close in either of those competitions of getting a game.

Need tough decisions which hasn’t been the norm from headquarters for long time. Imagine if Southport wanted back in what does the do to competition?

As a State League Competition it’s not good enough to be honest. Whilst growth of game has been massive in last 20 years the gap between our competition and SANFL and WAFL could not be greater.

It needs to be condensed as a starting point but could you imagine Lions and Suns Reserves playing in QAFL like Port, Crows, Eagles and Freo do in their respective State Leagues.

They play and are not dominant. I feel we have far to many teams and to many players currently playing State League comfortably here that would not be close in either of those competitions of getting a game.

Need tough decisions which hasn’t been the norm from headquarters for long time. Imagine if Southport wanted back in what does the do to competition?
If your talking raising to anything like SANFL, WAFL or VFL then you’d need to drop back to 5 to bring back Southport, Suns & Lions VFL for an 8 team comp. 2 in Bris (Aspley, Morningside), 2 on GC (PBC, Broady/Surfers) and 1 Sunny Coast. The rest make up a pretty good Div 1 comp with the top couple there now.

Also do SANFL, WAFL & VFL have their clubs have a junior club?

If your talking raising to anything like SANFL, WAFL or VFL then you’d need to drop back to 5 to bring back Southport, Suns & Lions VFL for an 8 team comp. 2 in Bris (Aspley, Morningside), 2 on GC (PBC, Broady/Surfers) and 1 Sunny Coast. The rest make up a pretty good Div 1 comp with the top couple there now.

And then add in an NT team and a maybe the Swans and GWS…. Possibly a Canberra team… think we may have been there before….
Let the league settle, it will never be the same as SANFL etc and never has been, would work on supporting the clubs that are in the QAFL more rather than leaving it up to the clubs to do the heavy lifting… the SANFL and WAFL clubs get a boost financially from their state bodies and AFL clubs…that might be a good starting point but I don’t think it’s feasible right now…

If we are able to strengthen the competition here, then maybe the 50+ QLD kids playing SANFL and VFL might have a reason to stay as well.

Sadly the top sides in our local competition are populated by Victorians and Crow Eaters picking up an easy pay cheque under the table, rather than the best QLD talent.

10 teams, play each other twice, 18 rounds. Drop 3 teams from the bottom 6 of the ladder as it sits today. GC can support 4 teams, SC 1, Bris inc Redland 5.
Would make for a much better state league and a much better Div 1 as well. we don't have a numbers problem in SEQ with footballers / football clubs we have a problem with what division clubs play in that create lop sided comps.

Reality is. 13 is too many in QAFL. I think 10 or 11 max. Play everyone twice. Less gaps between the top and the bottom. Bottom 3 need to go. Mt Gravatt have won one game in 3 years. Sherwood haven’t made finals for a very long time. I don’t think we need two SC teams personally.

Let’s remember no one had a problem with Sandgate dropping out as everyone agreed they weren’t competitive. Same with UQ. Albeit UQs was due to other reasons as well.

It’s time to make the hard decisions by AFLQ and drop 2-3 teams into Div 1.

Who was the last club aflq forced out of state league.
Not clubs who voluntary dropped back or merger.
You’d be going way back I’d reckon to a different era.

The actual competition structures themselves now run a very distant second in priority to the thirst for any media on game growth (true or embellished), feel good stories or woke agenda.

Tipping
no one picked the card with Sherwood beating Noosa and I was surprised at how many tipped Coorparoo .
Westerman, North st and Carlton boops missed tipping .
2010 Premier retains the lead

42- 2010 Premier

41- Unspoken brizz, Longy zillmere

40- Footy boy , Windsor zillmere

39- Pugs, Stuyd, Toucan soup, Bud 63

38- Thunderdoc, Noosa boy , Up It Stumpy

37- Big E

36- Westerman

35- North St, Goalkicker

34- Bunyip, Lagging behind

32- Carlton boops, SMY, Mobbs, Magpie boy

28- No bee

26- Tedlasso

You’d be going way back I’d reckon to a different era.

The actual competition structures themselves now run a very distant second in priority to the thirst for any media on game growth (true or embellished), feel good stories or woke agenda.
Yeah I really can't remember anyone beaing told your out.
So if history is a guide I don't see the board pushing any club out in the future.

Who was the last club aflq forced out of state league.
Not clubs who voluntary dropped back or merger.
Depending upon your definition of "forced out" or "voluntary", it could be argued from different points of view.

Sandgate and University have already been mentioned.
You could also suggest:
  • Western Magpies - after 2010 - was this brought on by the 2011 flood? Or had it already been decided? (See also 2004 and 1987)
  • Zillmere - after 2008
  • Mayne - after 2004 (also a huge legal case after 1999)
  • Maroochydore - after 1999
  • West Brisbane - after 1997
  • Kedron-Grange - after 1996
  • Coorparoo - after 1993
  • Sunshine Coast / Caloundra Cool Cats - after 1990

The 1990s were particularly tumultuous - but there had been great stability before that (particularly from 1963 to 1982).

• Windsor - after 1962 - merged with Zillmere, so people could argue that one
  • Yeronga & University - after 1960, following one season in the main comp (Yeronga had also been dropped after 1957)
  • Morningside - after 1950 - just not quite ready for the comp yet

Prior to that, it is a bit unfair to single out clubs given the impact of WWII locally. Coorparoo had to drop back temporarily - and clubs like Workshops and Past Commercial State High only existed for one season in the top grade.

Sincere apologies if I've got the above wrong - or there were extenuating circumstances that caused a demotion. Some may have been sustainability issues, some could be League decisions.
It is definitely an emotive subject for some people. And fair enough - I get that.

My recollection of the last 20-30 years.

2016 - UQ voluntarily withdrew
2020 - Sandgate voluntarily withdrew, but had failed to meet license conditions in 2018 and 2019 by not fielding colts
2011 - Western Magpies voluntarily withdrew after being made an offer to be the Lions Reserves exclusive top up club. Flood I imagine made that decision easy?
2008 - Zillmere/Northern Eagles went broke?
2005 - Western Magpies & Mayne both removed involuntarily and both weren't happy about it
1999 - Sunshine Coast/Maroochy removed involuntarily
1997 - Western Districts went broke, so merger with Sherwood failed and the merged team was removed from competition
1996 - Kedron/Grange merger failed and each club stepped back a division voluntarily?
1993 - Coorparoo folded and thus removed

So 2005 by my guess when Mayne and Western Magpies were removed is the last time someone was forced out?

Most VFL clubs do not have a junior club.

The AFL clubs field their reserves in the competition and standalone VFL clubs have no reserves teams.

In terms of juniors, Williamstown field teams in the Western FNL and I think Werribee do as well in the same comp but that would be about it.

The rest recruit solely from local leagues and also the players not drafted from the TAC Cup competition. When they are recruited, the player nominates a metro club where they play if they aren't picked in the VFL.

In the WAFL, clubs are assigned geographic boundaries and have first call on the juniors playing in that region. None of the clubs have an actual junior club playing in a league throughout the winter, though the WAFL does stage an Under 16 series that runs for a few weeks as part of their pathways development.