QFA Div 1

there anywhere from 6-10 blokes from Brisbane all playing down there as FIFO players, so obviously some clubs rate the footy up here a bit

Baz
Reckon the reckon the hardest thing with recruiting interstaters is getting a line through the comp they have been playing in. Notice the MPNFL is ranked top 3 in vic atm but Noosa had a bloke play this year from that comp, highly rated as well and although he was a good footballer, didn’t tear the comp up.
When guys are coming from any of the subsidiary leagues outside of O&M, GFL, GVFL, and a few of the metro leagues reckon they need to be rep footballers to really stake a claim here.
Qld footy from div 1 to NEAFL isn’t anywhere near as bad as what the vics would like to make out. And the comps there probably aren’t quite as good as what they would have you believe either. Seen too many guys from here who have headed south and carved up in supposedly very good comps who have been no better than good players here.
barry was a terrific. Club person and also very handy player for us this year he captained Mornington in mpnfl but was finished down there as a senior player Frankston ycw (not unlike Albury) have won 7 from the last 8 flags down there in a very good comp they would win both qfa and AFL imo josh Norman for example won mt Eliza's b and f down there and has been a very dominant player in local Queensland footy since lots of luck in picking and getting the right one agree though some top quality up here

Ryan Jeffries better than good at Sorrento mate. Was also handy in this,comp. I wouldn't undersell qafl footy, think the best teams would more than hold their own in mpnfl.
Eastlake consistently knocked over albury in practise matches when they were playing act comp

Ryan Jeffries better than good at Sorrento mate. Was also handy in this,comp. I wouldn't undersell qafl footy, think the best teams would more than hold their own in mpnfl.
Eastlake consistently knocked over albury in practise matches when they were playing act comp
Would never under sell qafl comp mate I think Queensland is a terrific place for metro and country Victorian clubs to recruit from with many in past few years heading south and dominating whilst Albury didn't win their comp this year they have been generally regarded as best team in country Victoria not sure of act structure these days but was a ripper comp Noosa having two ainslie boys named Langan and Matthews that were just outstanding up here unfortunately just not getting the youngsters drafted from up here like we used to really need some sustained success from the lions and suns to help that and our code across the board

yes mate Jeffries a key at Sorrento as he was with Noosa funny though made eastern footy leagues team of year twice when playing for Knox but never made nepean leagues which is a far inferior comp to the edfl matt Payne also dominated nepean league when playing for rosebud but didn't win league medal yet has won 3 grogans up here and often talked up as best player in Queensland outside afl

Maybe the local umps at Napean didn’t know who he was. I’d be surprised if he wasn’t the best in that league comfortably.

He had 2 top 5 ‘s in Magarey in SANFL, 3 grogans, just a gun.

Payne right up there with the best local players of the last 15 never to get on an AFL list in my opinion, way better than plenty the Suns and other clubs drafted and tried getting games into.

I remember Zorko saying early in his AFL career when asked about other state league “gems” that he thought Payne should have been on an AFL list.

Would never under sell qafl comp mate I think Queensland is a terrific place for metro and country Victorian clubs to recruit from with many in past few years heading south and dominating whilst Albury didn't win their comp this year they have been generally regarded as best team in country Victoria not sure of act structure these days but was a ripper comp Noosa having two ainslie boys named Langan and Matthews that were just outstanding up here unfortunately just not getting the youngsters drafted from up here like we used to really need some sustained success from the lions and suns to help that and our code across the board

Mathews was a gun. Reece Langan was a good player but not in the same class as Mathews. Not even close. . I rated Mathews as good a player as Matt Shir who come up here from Wodonga.

Edfl is the Essendon district football league

Mathews was a gun. Reece Langan was a good player but not in the same class as Mathews. Not even close. . I rated Mathews as good a player as Matt Shir who come up here from Wodonga.

Have to disagree big E. Langan was the best centreman in the comp when he first arrived albeit at the ripe old age of 34 or so. Didn’t impact as much after that year. Luke Matthews (Damo) was brilliant but was 10 years younger than langan. Both were superb players, langan a much better footy resume in the end but I am guessing bc Luke never challenged himself in Melbourne in the end. More importantly great blokes too.

agree on all mate Langans footy resume as good as you will see and still very influential in pineapple hotel cup into his mid thirties

Maybe the local umps at Napean didn’t know who he was. I’d be surprised if he wasn’t the best in that league comfortably.

He had 2 top 5 ‘s in Magarey in SANFL, 3 grogans, just a gun.

Payne right up there with the best local players of the last 15 never to get on an AFL list in my opinion, way better than plenty the Suns and other clubs drafted and tried getting games into.

I remember Zorko saying early in his AFL career when asked about other state league “gems” that he thought Payne should have been on an AFL list.

You r probably right with the umps down there but pretty sure he is a rosebud boy (maybe wrong but brother has played down there for a while)however heard nothing but praise for Payne as a class above footballer up here and his record speaks for itself would love him at noosa

Any ideas on qfa fixture guys? I've just seen qafl fixture and April 22 a very late start(obviously due to comm games) also what are your thoughts on say a stand alone good Friday or easter Saturday game on coast(say Noosa v Caloundra or maroochy v Caloundra) works great in country Vic ! Thoughts?

Langan is the best footballer ive been involved with in my time in footy. Skills are everything in the game and his on both sides of the body were nearly flawless. Great hands, strong over the footy and just knew how to find it despite being close to last in our pre season runs! His footy resume is unbelievable with 10 or 11 flags about the same in B n Fs and numerous awards. If you have a look at Ainslies team of the century he sits in prestigious company across the HF line next to Jesalenko and Hird! Its sh#$s me hearing about who won time trials at the afl clubs, plenty of guys can run and look nice with their shirts off, but give me the guy who executes great skill under pressure and is thinkin ahead of the game everytime!

Any ideas on qfa fixture guys? I've just seen qafl fixture and April 22 a very late start(obviously due to comm games) also what are your thoughts on say a stand alone good Friday or easter Saturday game on coast(say Noosa v Caloundra or maroochy v Caloundra) works great in country Vic ! Thoughts?

Draft fixture is out. Round 1 is April 7th

I not sure what Langan did away from Noosa . But Mathews won bnf’s at every club he went to. Mathews at Aspley in 2009 was as good as season as I’ve seen.

Yeah that's,fair enough Big E. We did hear he was outstanding that year. Ripping bloke too, someone who didn't finish at the back of the time trials!
I just knew langan from years gone by, saw him play in the VFA (Coburg premiership centreman 88) and was a good mate of brother so followed his career a bit. Like switching play said, unbelievable footy resume and a fair hfl to share TOC status! Again a great bloke which I reckon helps when eating guys...
Incredibly did not start playing until he was about 16yrs old. Came from soccer and Bendigo as well!

Langan is the best footballer ive been involved with in my time in footy. Skills are everything in the game and his on both sides of the body were nearly flawless. Great hands, strong over the footy and just knew how to find it despite being close to last in our pre season runs! His footy resume is unbelievable with 10 or 11 flags about the same in B n Fs and numerous awards. If you have a look at Ainslies team of the century he sits in prestigious company across the HF line next to Jesalenko and Hird! Its sh#$s me hearing about who won time trials at the afl clubs, plenty of guys can run and look nice with their shirts off, but give me the guy who executes great skill under pressure and is thinkin ahead of the game everytime!
Actually it was the act comps team of century(ainslie haven't had there's yet) back to back vfa flags with conure 4 flags with ainslie,1 flag with Shepparton,1 with golden square and a couple with minor country leagues tells me flags follow Langan because that's how good he was even in 2006 as a 36 year old the western magpies ( although far too good on day) would have been relieved not to see Reece run out I know most in the know at Noosa were gutted Lucas just as hard as and an awesome ball winner in 2011 won noosas b and f in flag year the league medal also and became the first ever Sunshine Coast player to make all Australian country as mentioned earlier very lucky to have both ex ainslie and Bendigo boys at noosa

QFA Div 1