QFA Div 1

sounds like another case of rules on the fly.

So kids can be NEAFL listed and play for their home Div 1 club instead of QAFL, depending which NEAFL list it is and which Div 1 club it is?

ridiculous!

Can understand it from a player perspective but from a competition perspective it's not ideal - already not having to compete geographically for Sunshine Coast players with QAFL clubs, and now getting access to NEAFL squad players too?

Hopefully this clears it up for everyone.

4668022b0b90e3025ad7e94b641411db.jpg

Some confusion here. This rule is basically for geographical purposes. Ease the travel burden. Won’t apply to Aspley NEAFL listed players. They will play qafl unless they live on the coast

Wasn’t aware of that big E. Thought it was across the board but certainly think for geographical reasons it makes a lot of sense. Personally think it allows a free kick to qafl clubs who don’t have to lift a finger to attract players. If you can’t do it yourself then probably shouldn’t be playing qafl

Who were originaally from those football clubs, you have conveniently left off lensen. It’s a decision for common sense that rewards a player who wants to test himself but doesn’t confine him to playing with a club where he knows no one, has no place and therefore no chance to get the best out of himself. If the competitions were poles apart then there would be an argument but they are not, especially the top sides vs the bottom sides in the respective comps.

Good decision. I agree if the player is happy at his div 1 side and still developing it makes sense. Too many players get disgruntled getting drafted out to QAFL clubs and don’t enjoy their footy and halt their development

Spot on Big E and I’m disappointed for the Brisbane div 1 clubs like you and a few others that the rule doesn’t apply across the board. If it makes you feel any better, I’m not sure Barnesy will be seen at Caloundra very much this season (and for his sake I hope not) but it is a good fallback for him. Not sure if maroochy or Noosa have any players in this situation.
Bottom line is some guys, like Tom Rudolph, vote with their feet when they feel that the chance or the enjoyment of playing NEAFL footy is no longer there.

Who were originaally from those football clubs, you have conveniently left off lensen. It’s a decision for common sense that rewards a player who wants to test himself but doesn’t confine him to playing with a club where he knows no one, has no place and therefore no chance to get the best out of himself. If the competitions were poles apart then there would be an argument but they are not, especially the top sides vs the bottom sides in the respective comps.
Like I said, makes sense from a player perspective. But it ends up promoting two different classes at a competition level - bloke from Noosa gets to Aspleys list then Noosa still have access to him, bloke from Burleigh gets to Southports list he goes to a GC QAFL club

Another reason why there should be QAFL representation on the Sunny Coast so this rule isn't needed.

Hardly gives a free kick to the QAFL clubs, if anything it causes more headaches. Not knowing who is available until thursday, and often even Fri night and Sat morning. Lose more players to NEAFL than we get back. Look at Morningside, supplied 20 players to NEAFL since 2014 and got 3 back the other way as permanent signings.

Not like the ones coming back when not selected are all superstars either, we've played plenty of them in the 2's over the journey as have other QAFL clubs.

We have 5-10 of our own list not training with us now, establishing relationships, learning gameplans. Instead they are with academies, doing a NEAFL pre-season etc

Last year we lost 3 blokes on match day morning to go and play GWS Reserves and get belted by 100 points when we had a crucial QAFL clash. Be careful what you wish for in Div 1!

Another reason why there should be QAFL representation on the Sunny Coast so this rule isn't needed.

Hardly gives a free kick to the QAFL clubs, if anything it causes more headaches. Not knowing who is available until thursday, and often even Fri night and Sat morning. Lose more players to NEAFL than we get back. Look at Morningside, supplied 20 players to NEAFL since 2014 and got 3 back the other way as permanent signings.

Not like the ones coming back when not selected are all superstars either, we've played plenty of them in the 2's over the journey as have other QAFL clubs.

We have 5-10 of our own list not training with us now, establishing relationships, learning gameplans. Instead they are with academies, doing a NEAFL pre-season etc

Last year we lost 3 blokes on match day morning to go and play GWS Reserves and get belted by 100 points when we had a crucial QAFL clash. Be careful what you wish for in Div 1!

Well then no one should be complaining about it then Thommo if it is such a logistical nightmare.. Not saying you are but people can’t be saying it’s a great result for Sunshine Coast clubs but on the other say8ng it will be a pain in the arse for them.
Let’s just say I reckon it will be incredibly easier for both players and club to be able to communicate with people they actually know well. And yep, if a bloke is coming back from NEAFL then he may not be a superstar.

Major difference is that the AFLQ are starting to recognise that kids on the Sunshine Coast do it significantly tougher than those in Brisbane or the Gold Coast where academies and NEAFL clubs are based. I’ve been involved wit( representative footy for a long time at youth level and it never ceases to amaze me the amount of time and effort a lot of these kids put in travelling, time that they could be spent training. Reckon if this is the compromise for them then so be it. and we aren’t tLking a lot of blokes either.

On another level you have a div 1 club who spends a lot of time and energy recruiting certain blokes from say Victoria who have a good year, train with a NEAFL club over the summer, get listed and then end up playing at Sandgate (for example) who have done sweet FA to attract the services of this bloke! Where is the fairness in that??
Like I said before think it would be fairer if every div 1 club benefited from the rule And not just Coast clubs.

Like I said, makes sense from a player perspective. But it ends up promoting two different classes at a competition level - bloke from Noosa gets to Aspleys list then Noosa still have access to him, bloke from Burleigh gets to Southports list he goes to a GC QAFL club
Agree lensen.

Tbh I think we are the only club in this situation this year unless maroochy have a couple of young guys trying to get on aspley list.

Agree lensen.

Tbh I think we are the only club in this situation this year unless maroochy have a couple of young guys trying to get on aspley list.
We are the same at Noosa mate also with Seb rogers on southports neafl list but so happy to b able to play back with us as a result of this ruling.

Nothing official yet, some rumours going around but that is all. They'll be ok though, plenty of solid leaders there, someone will put their hand up I'm sure.

Heard Brad Pollock "Polly" got the coaching gig at Springwood for 2018.

Be interesting to see if he can leverage any out of MtGravatt?

Heard Brad Pollock "Polly" got the coaching gig at Springwood for 2018.

Be interesting to see if he can leverage any out of MtGravatt?

Yep that is correct Blocker, took a while but a good pick up for the Pumas, he is a Puma old boy having been an assistant back in mid 2000s and senior coach in 2010 and 11. It's not too late for recruiting so you never know!

Thats a good appointment, quality bloke and coach...

Agree ripping bloke, but starting very late in regards recruitment, unless club has already been proactive behind the scenes.

Any chance of the players that left coming back Bunyip? Polly did have Association with a few of them at MtGravatt.

Agree ripping bloke, but starting very late in regards recruitment, unless club has already been proactive behind the scenes.

Any chance of the players that left coming back Bunyip? Polly did have Association with a few of them at MtGravatt.

No wouldn't think so Blocker, they all seem pretty happy down at Beenleigh, maybe a couple that have been undecided till now may decide to stay but those that have committed to the Buffs will stay I reckon. As for recruitment at Pumas not really sure now as I no longer am at the club but Nick Proud, ex QAFL, is moving back down south from Cairns league and he has committed I believe so that is a good pick up. I haven't heard much else but still a long way till round 1, plenty can happen yet.

Gee must be pretty chummy between one time Sunshine Coast bitter rivals Maroochydore and Caloundra with Maroochydore current and 2017 premiership coach getting married this Friday and having his wedding reception at the Caloundra panthers clubrooms

Rivalry stays on the field down this end of the coast my friend... :)
And I am attending I will have you know... :)

In all seriousness, thee is a lot of manure that blokes at our level like to throw at opposition clubs / players in the name of "competition" but really there is just a whole lot of jerking going on and it is invariably people who played 2 decades ago trying to manufacture hatred. Cadz is as much a part of the Caloundra FC as I am still Maroochy - his boys played junior footy here, Cadz played a season as well, lives in the area, has his business in the area. He's too smart to bite the hand that feeds him. Haha.

(BTW - cant use a council shed for a reception :) )

Rivalry stays on the field down this end of the coast my friend... :)
And I am attending I will have you know... :)

In all seriousness, thee is a lot of manure that blokes at our level like to throw at opposition clubs / players in the name of "competition" but really there is just a whole lot of jerking going on and it is invariably people who played 2 decades ago trying to manufacture hatred. Cadz is as much a part of the Caloundra FC as I am still Maroochy - his boys played junior footy here, Cadz played a season as well, lives in the area, has his business in the area. He's too smart to bite the hand that feeds him. Haha.

(BTW - cant use a council shed for a reception :) )
All correct as usual smy especially the two decades ago comment and the council shed referral I'm sure u will enjoy the day!

No bushy done I'm pretty sure after 3 very good years at the tigers his body looked cooked last year especially but was still just an awesome competitor

I would think that he is a bloke that could be reasonably happy with his footy career in the end. Got the absolute most out of himself and was a good servant at local level once he made the decision to go back. Sounds like he was a highly respected person at Noosa YDM and that is as good a legacy as you can carry.

QFA Div 1