QFA Div 1

• Thread starter Thread starter smy1305

i Hear Aspley had 4 NEAFL players turn up at training for the first time last night including Declan Watson and Jackson Allen.

Throw in Toye, Ives Nellis and Young who were already on board and they have 8 or 9 NEAFL guys, they will be hard to beat.

i Hear Aspley had 4 NEAFL players turn up at training for the first time last night including Declan Watson and Jackson Allen.

Throw in Toye, Ives Nellis and Young who were already on board and they have 8 or 9 NEAFL guys, they will be hard to beat.
Aspley have a very strong side on paper and are all the talk at the moment.I reckon Msyne look good too and Springwood looked to have lost no one either and on their day have shown they can beat anyone.Hearing Cooparoo have picked up a few handy types also so alls ready for a quick but challenging comp which is what everyone wants!

Pumas to give the buffs a touch up in the welcome to div 1 footy, a very strong looking lineup
Hahaha Rocket Rod, we know how much you love and rate the Buffs haha
At least their giving it a crack mate, no shame in that. The young side will learn a lot from playing Div 1, most players never played at this level but have big hearts and everyone at the Buffs are excited to be giving Div 1 a crack. Wishing you all the best with your Club,

Aspley have a very strong side on paper and are all the talk at the moment.I reckon Msyne look good too and Springwood looked to have lost no one either and on their day have shown they can beat anyone.Hearing Cooparoo have picked up a few handy types also so alls ready for a quick but challenging comp which is what everyone wants!
That strong side didn’t step up today it looks like. Very surprising.

To be fair, Mayne put a pretty decent side out there too. Luke Faulkner pulling on the boots again was a surprise, still got it too kicking 4 or 5. Obviously the old fella hasn't lost many tricks.

also good to see Caleb Brown having a run, thought he was 100% finished after that horrific injury a few years back

To be fair, Mayne put a pretty decent side out there too. Luke Faulkner pulling on the boots again was a surprise, still got it too kicking 4 or 5. Obviously the old fella hasn't lost many tricks.

also good to see Caleb Brown having a run, thought he was 100% finished after that horrific injury a few years back
Put those two in any side there 10 goal better side

Jasper Craven just quietly is a very handy addition too. Was becoming a consistent 15-20 touch a game defender in the NEAFL. They might go close to the top this year.

Very true - he was holding his own at NEAFL level very nicely. There is a difference bn a NEAF player who sat on the list and a bona fide NEAFL player who played each week and played well.

Yes certainly expect Mayne to be competitive especially after that first up win over Aspley.That old saying that good teams on paper don’t always win!
Noosa will be pretty much at full strength with only tommy templeton deciding not to play this season through a lack of motivation
Lots of new faces at Noosa which is the norm in a coastal resort town with still 13 of last years premiership players still playing. Right on the cusp of the newly formed points system which I personally struggle to see it’s existence when not a single player is being paid( nor the Senior coach for that matter)
Expect a decent crowd at Weyba rd on Saturday with all four senior grades on show(first Noosa tigers women’s team playing after seniors)
Can’t wait!

Yes certainly expect Mayne to be competitive especially after that first up win over Aspley.That old saying that good teams on paper don’t always win!
Noosa will be pretty much at full strength with only tommy templeton deciding not to play this season through a lack of motivation
Lots of new faces at Noosa which is the norm in a coastal resort town with still 13 of last years premiership players still playing. Right on the cusp of the newly formed points system which I personally struggle to see it’s existence when not a single player is being paid( nor the Senior coach for that matter)
Expect a decent crowd at Weyba rd on Saturday with all four senior grades on show(first Noosa tigers women’s team playing after seniors)
Can’t wait!

Points are just part of an equalisation system set up alongside salary caps as most clubs don’t have money to spend/nor should it be the driving factor to spend big. Money & points are two completely different topics.
How you utilise them is up to each clubs strategy. Point system is completely necessary

Points are just part of an equalisation system set up alongside salary caps as most clubs don’t have money to spend/nor should it be the driving factor to spend big. Money & points are two completely different topics.
How you utilise them is up to each clubs strategy. Point system is completely necessary
Yes FF have heard nothing but good reports about points system and its use down south.Realise they are two different topics but certainly penalises clubs who attract quality players even if no renumeration at stake.To me you are handicapping a club that is doing a lot of things right and that makes no sense to me at all

certainly tough for Noosa who will always have a decent percentage of walk-in players from south of the border.
Fantastic day of local footy at Noosa yesterday.4 games and a really big crowd with heaps staying on to watch our first ever women’s team play Redcliffe after seniors.Seniors were pushed hard by Mayne particularly in the first half.Totally dominated the second qtr.Noosa controlled the second half and managed to finally find the big sticks to record a good win.No Faulkner certainly helped and gee that Caleb brown can still play.Young craven more than handy also.Good day had by all!

Is the winner from this weeks Noosa/Aspley game the premiership favourite? Aspley obviously dissapointing in Rd 1 but looked to get it together on the weekend all be it against a bottom side. Noosa easily accounting for Mayne, wasnt there but looked like they should have won by alot more. Aspley have an injection of NEAFL players but are coming from a long way back and not sure of the quality of players around them and the ability for them to be a cohesive unit in a shortened season, where as plenty of premiership players running around in Noosa team. Should be a good game, despite plenty of rain predicted

is a 17 point win without Luke Faulkner paying considered 'easily accounted for' ?
No
He has had the Noosa Backline in knots before but in saying that he has had plenty of backlines in knots before
Not seeing him run out would have made them Breath easy...
You normally put him down for 4 plus with plenty off hand offs

is a 17 point win without Luke Faulkner paying considered 'easily accounted for' ?
27 scoring shits to 15, No
27 scoring shots to 15, Noosa kicked 4.12 in 2 & 3rd qtr suggests they had majority of play, but couldn't capitalise, agree Faulkner is a gun, and worth a few goals, how old is he now?

27 scoring shits to 15, No

27 scoring shots to 15, Noosa kicked 4.12 in 2 & 3rd qtr suggests they had majority of play, but couldn't capitalise, agree Faulkner is a gun, and worth a few goals, how old is he now?
Not Sure but can still play that's for sure and if he turns up a few times this year he will be a hand full

don't get me wrong, Noosa are defending premiers and the best oppositiong went up - but declaring Noosa vs Aspley as a GF preview is a bit much.

Mayne are solid, so are Springwood and Coorparoo.

uest
don't get me wrong, Noosa are defending premiers and the best oppositiong went up - but declaring Noosa vs Aspley as a GF preview is a bit much.

Mayne are solid, so are Springwood and Coorparoo.
Legitimate question Are they all better than last yr? I don't know enough about them to answer it. I would say Noosa probably are but thered be more educated people on here to answer this

with the likely return of Brett Meredith to the Noosa side this week(who most in aflq head office believe is the equal of any running around in queensland yes including Payne) I would say Noosa as strong as last year.No key forward in Jeffries who could dominate games,hard nuts holt and mckendrick who r in Cairns playing and b and f winner Mitch woods are still key outs from last years team.What will be interesting is how selection pans out tonight.We are on maximum points(48) with meredith(4 points) a highly possible inclusion.Glad I’m not picking the side! And yes a fit Faulkner would always make a difference absolute gun! Noosa kicked poorly last week and controlled the game the entire second half but Mayne were very physical and at half time certainly looked like an upset was on cards

Well I'm unsure on Springwood, but Mayne have added 2 or 3 Redland NEAFL players + Faulkner and Brown. Thats 4-5 massive inclusions.

Coorparoo have at least 2 NEAFL blokes, plus rumoured to have added Abe Ankers...though yet to have pulled on the navy yet.

So thats 2 clubs significsantly stronger you would think

with the likely return of Brett Meredith to the Noosa side this week(who most in aflq head office believe is the equal of any running around in queensland yes including Payne) I would say Noosa as strong as last year.No key forward in Jeffries who could dominate games,hard nuts holt and mckendrick who r in Cairns playing and b and f winner Mitch woods are still key outs from last years team.What will be interesting is how selection pans out tonight.We are on maximum points(48) with meredith(4 points) a highly possible inclusion.Glad I’m not picking the side! And yes a fit Faulkner would always make a difference absolute gun! Noosa kicked poorly last week and controlled the game the entire second half but Mayne were very physical and at half time certainly looked like an upset was on cards

Meredith hasn't fired a shot in the 2 SQ v NQ games he has played... playing against the SQ boys he will play against this year