North Adelaide; ConeyIslandWarriors
Today is R U OK day. A day we all should focus on the mental health and well being of others, and yourselves.

I challenge you guys to ask someone today if they're ok. It might just be the thing that they need.

Mental health is not a joke, it affects thousands of people. Just reaching out to someone can make a huge difference.

http://www.ruok.org.au

Both my parents and my brother (father mildly, mother and brother much more severely) are afflicted with depression, and it ain't a joke and it's certainly not a matter of them being weak.

It's been a hard thing to watch for my sister and I at times, and the more awareness there is, the better.

Today is R U OK day. A day we all should focus on the mental health and well being of others, and yourselves.

I challenge you guys to ask someone today if they're ok. It might just be the thing that they need.

Mental health is not a joke, it affects thousands of people. Just reaching out to someone can make a huge difference.

http://www.ruok.org.au

I think the caveat with asking someone if they are ok, is to do so only if you are genuinely concerned about spending time to listen to the person. I think the worst thing at least from my experience is someone asking are you ok? and then not giving a flying fk about what they have to say next.

Super important message. Very recently lost a great mate to a mental health issue and the more awareness and information put out there, the better.

From my experience I would urge people to see a psych of some description in conjunction with medication. I found that taking anti depressants without also having counseling is like putting a band aid on a broken leg.

I have a partner who has suffered pretty bad from depression and anxiety, then post natal depression... have been fortunate that our recent addition has been a healing baby thus far.
It is also hard for the loved ones, I am not trying in any way to compare it... but it doesn't hurt to check how the family and significant others of those dealing with it are going as well

My best mate is also suffering pretty badly with depression, debilitating stuff and I am glad to see this thread as it reminded me to touch base with him

My mental health does swing unfortunately from good to bad a little too much and yes my friends do know this. Its days like today when and if no one does contact me, it reminds me of just how alone I really am.

It is hard (as the friend in the situation) because you don't want to be annoying or a pest, but you want to keep touching base as well

Yeah one of my best friends also suffers from depression badly as well and a lot of it has to do with his work/living situation which he can't seem to get out of. I try to keep in contact with him most days to see how he's going.

Depression ****ing sucks! :thumbsdown:

It is hard (as the friend in the situation) because you don't want to be annoying or a pest, but you want to keep touching base as well

A few sms, is easy and for me makes a world of difference imo. Its also not invasive in terms of being annoying, everyone today is mostly glued to their phone so the ability to respond and reply is a lot easier. Thats just from my perspective.

Facebook messenger is fantastic for it, I try to just touch base with him every few days.

He is a Cats fan as well which helps as it can just be bringing up the footy or something, we also have both had baby daughters within a couple of months of each other so that is another common topic... doesn't even have to be asking how he is going I find, just talking about anything is good (well I feel like it is, don't know his perspective obviously)

I've suffered from mental issues for many years, only sought help earlier this year. While I'm far from better, I'm so much better than i was. It affects every aspect of your life - work, personal, intimate, social.

Since I've started reaching out to people, I've gone from thinking people don't care (this is a definite trait of depression), even if I'm alive or not, to knowing there are people out there that do genuinely care.

It sucks, but you have to tell yourself that you will beat it. Never let the black dog win.

There is so much beauty in simply just breathing. I love it. I love breathing air. The cool sensation of a breezy flow, meeting the contrasting warmth of my nasal canal. It is... Euphoric. Intoxicating. Orgasmic.

I am a walking miracle. Could have been a stick, or a tennis ball. But I defied the odds. Won the sperm race. I am a goddamn champion.

Ask me on Saturday night after the Crows game?
----

I do encourage anyone who is depressed or mentally down to contact lifeline for help and assistance, Beyond Blue is also another great organization.

Lol was going to say the same thing- ask me tomorrow night about 10.30pm.

And yes +1 re. your second sentence.

Lol was going to say the same thing- ask me tomorrow night about 10.30pm.

And yes +1 re. your second sentence.

When the Crows win it helps mask some of the issues immediately at hand and I enjoy the distraction it plays on me. When the Crows lose, I tend to ignore footy and then the issues that were dormant rise to the surface.

The footy comment I made, while it may sound funny I feel is true for some supporters. Footy helps some with the pain of depression, by masking it albeit temporarily. Its why since affected with a few mental health issues I have invested myself in other areas where I get enjoyment from, so that when shit does happen, ie the Roos beat the Crows, I have other areas of my life to fall back on.

There is so much beauty in simply just breathing. I love it. I love breathing air. The cool sensation of a breezy flow, meeting the contrasting warmth of my nasal canal. It is... Euphoric. Intoxicating. Orgasmic.

I am a walking miracle. Could have been a stick, or a tennis ball. But I defied the odds. Won the sperm race. I am a goddamn champion.

Nothing beats walking along the beach in the early afternoon during a work week. You do feel at peace, because 9 out of 10 times, you will be alone to enjoy the peace and tranquility of your surroundings.

When the Crows win it helps mask some of the issues immediately at hand and I enjoy the distraction it plays on me. When the Crows lose, I tend to ignore footy and then the issues that were dormant rise to the surface.

The footy comment I made, while it may sound funny I feel is true for some supporters. Footy helps some with the pain of depression, by masking it albeit temporarily. Its why since affected with a few mental health issues I have invested myself in other areas where I get enjoyment from, so that when shit does happen, ie the Roos beat the Crows, I have other areas of my life to fall back on.

Fair enough. I'm pretty good when Geelong lose- except perhaps GFs- is the "loneliest" feeling in the world that Saturday night/Sunday morning. But pretty much over it in a week or two.

Footy does help though, I absolutely agree with you 100%. Is a great feeling to care about something and have a sense of belonging. And I've also met tonnes of great friends thru footy/bf.

the bigfooty community is an awesome one isn't it :thumbsu:

I've been open about my mental issues on BigFooty, and I am thankful that this is here. Because I've found it really hard over the past few months because I have not able see my shrink.

My sessions were being funded by my mother, and now she has refused to fund them meaning I am left without the constant help. The last few weeks have been bad for me, and it's times like this that I have wanted one on one help, but not been able to get it.

And I think this is one of the problems with the system at the moment, you will need to keep going to get referrals from a GP, and this costs money. Of which I lack.

I've been open about my mental issues on BigFooty, and I am thankful that this is here. Because I've found it really hard over the past few months because I have not able see my shrink.

My sessions were being funded by my mother, and now she has refused to fund them meaning I am left without the constant help. The last few weeks have been bad for me, and it's times like this that I have wanted one on one help, but not been able to get it.

And I think this is one of the problems with the system at the moment, you will need to keep going to get referrals from a GP, and this costs money. Of which I lack.
if you ever feel the need to, PM me. i practically live here at the moment

Have lost 2 friends who suffered greatly from Depression, have also suffered myself. It is a bit of a roller coaster and very hard to hold down a job and keep relationships with family & friends. I feel grateful that I have a supportive partner.

It's like your mother is the cause of, and solution to, all your life's problems.

Reckon it could be time to tell her to FOAD, abandon your family, and achieve your destiny without them. I'm actually being serious.

It's like your mother is the cause of, and solution to, all your life's problems.

Reckon it could be time to tell her to FOAD, abandon your family, and achieve your destiny without them. I'm actually being serious.
I totally agree. But with money, a paying job or somewhere to live. I really can't do much.

Plus my family will never go for it.