James23

ok so as it stands at the moment we have andrew mcleod, mark ricciuto and brett burton doing everything they possibly can to get themselves right for the hope of playing some part in our 2006 finals campaign.

Andrew Mcleod -
McLeod (foot) remains on crutches and still some days away from any training while Hart hopes to start running soon.

does not look good for macca.. very unlikely that he could play in the preliminary, maybe the GF if we make it? media reports have been very unclear does anyone think hes a chance foe the prelim?

Mark Ricciuto -
Ricciuto, battling the impact of parvovirus, hopes to start some physical activity at some stage this week

signs seem more encouraging then maccas, i think theres a reasonable chance he'll play in the prelim

Brett Burton -
Burton (hamstring) plans to increase his training workload.

tough one, if he was to play in the prelim it would be rushing him back but i guess it all depends on his rehab over the next couple of weeks and how well his injury responds

what are people opinions on when these 3 players could make it back by?

IMO

Macca has very little chance of playing this year.

Burton's rehab has levelled off so a Prelim is looking less likely.

Roo has been very crook and won't play until the GF.

I would risk Roo for a GF.....but not Burton

you don't take injured players into GFs

If we were fair dinkum Ricciuto wouldn't have a snowball's of playing again this season, regardless of how far we go.

He's lost a fair bit of weight apparently - and you'd assume that would constitute muscle mass and not what little fat he had.

If you combine that with the hit his aerobic fitness base would've taken and the fact he won't have played for well over a month, the chances of him being anywhere near ready to play cutthroat finals are slim to non-existent.

I've heard a lot of people both on and off here say that we can't afford to get sentimental in risking rushing Benny back in, but the same applies to Roo given his circumstances.

As the Stiff One pointed out elsewhere, I believe, the Crows best chance would be delivered by taking 22 fit players into a final. As a certified Crows hat0r, I'm barracking for the likes of Burton to return for the PF, as it would reduce your chances of winning that match, but I think Neil Craig's common sense will prevail.

Gets! said:
Burton and Roo to play in prelim. This will happen.

So we'd be risking Birdman's dodgy hamstring while watching Roo do his best 'Paul Hasleby in the Qualifying Final' impersonation?

At prime fitness both are in our best five players - that is unquestionable - but jeez, massive massive risk, especially against West Coast's ridiculously deep running brigade.

Look at how losing Johncock early and having McLeod and a few others go in with flu killed us against the Eagles in last year's prelim.

We need all the legs and rotation options we can get, but if Craig wants to roll the dice then at least there'll be 200000 (160000 if we're being honest...) crossed fingers on the night.

For those who have left earth come back its a nice day

If you think on prelim day no 32 will not be in our 22 then like i said come back its a nice day

birdmanptr said:
For those who have left earth come back its a nice day

If you think on prelim day no 32 will not be in our 22 then like i said come back its a nice day

He's not exactly coming off a week out with a tight hamstring...

Let's pencil Hentschel in too.

Bresh said:
As the Stiff One pointed out elsewhere, I believe, the Crows best chance would be delivered by taking 22 fit players into a final. As a certified Crows hat0r, I'm barracking for the likes of Burton to return for the PF, as it would reduce your chances of winning that match, but I think Neil Craig's common sense will prevail.

OMG a sensible Port supporter :eek:

The only one I would bring it would be Roo and that would be it.

Is Kenny playing today for WWT? If so, that will give him a agme under his belt and would be less of a risk then Roo or Burton

I think he would be a chance surely??

Didn't Douglas come in for him when he got injured? Could be a straight swap depending on conditions for the PF.

Kenny must have only missed yesterday, because of the windy condiditons....

SpringChoke said:
Would you bring McGregor in DT?

It's a good question that raises more questions than answers.

Bock did surprisingly well against what is a very good Freo defence (who admittedly shat themselves yesterday) and even Biglands proved a thorn in their side with a classic ruck-cum-forward cameo performance.

Welsh is showing some impressive signs, while up the other end Stevens, Rutten and Bassett continue to perform admirably.

So who do we drop if we do include him and where do we play him?

For me I wouldn't bring any of them in. Plus we all need to remember that Burton always has a shocker for his first game back after time out with an injury. Can we afford to 'carry' a player? All the players that are being thown up to be dropped are part of our midfield rotation. We need to look at backs or forwards to be dropped

dyertribe said:
He's not exactly coming off a week out with a tight hamstring...

Let's pencil Hentschel in too.

Grow up

Just what roo needed a 2-3 week break he will be super fresh for the prelim just what he needed

I don't think we should bring in anyone for the finals. Even a champion like Roo won't be able to do much. I'd rather 100% fit palyers who can run their heart out than Roo who at best will only play half of the match. I also don't like unsettling the team and bringing in players especially when we are doing well and we are in finals. No experimenting.

birdmanptr said:
Grow up

Just what roo needed a 2-3 week break he will be super fresh for the prelim just what he needed
Yeah he is going to be super fresh with a bout of Parvo Virus where he lost 4 KG, his enzyme levels in his liver are still low which means he can't eat any real food to get his energy back.

For someone who was whinging for a month after we brought in Hart, that is quite a big oxymoron you are proposing here.

Stiffy_18 said:
Yeah he is going to be super fresh with a bout of Parvo Virus where he lost 4 KG, his enzyme levels in his liver are still low which means he can't eat any real food to get his energy back.

For someone who was whinging for a month after we brought in Hart, that is quite a big oxymoron you are proposing here.

He now has 2 weeks to get right and this process can be done slowly rather than rushed which would have been the case if we lost and if any one can do this process correctly its Craigy.

The reason why i was complaining about Hart is i dont think he is up to AFL football any more without being given game time through the SANFL.He missed 7 weeks of football and while he was fit he clearly lost his touch.

Roo is NO chance whatsoever. 4kgs of muscle loss, a month of missed footy and we're debating whether he should be rushed back for a cut throat prelim against a team with the perhaps the best mid field depth ever ?