Society & Culture Rage-inducing situations

• Thread starter Thread starter Danog

Old wives tale, the customer is never ALWAYS right thats just ridiculous. I worked in retail for 4 years and we were never told that, it would validate the ridiculous demands of the worst of the worst customers.

Couldn't agree with this more.
From my experience anyone who does believe that the customer is always right is a massive w***er.

Probably my favorite example was a guy who strolled in very confidently, plonked down a product on the counter and simply said "I'd like a refund, this was an unwanted Christmas present".
Not only did he not have a receipt, the product wasn't even bought at our store but one of the Tasmanian stores. Normally we can do inter-store refunds but without a receipt - No way Jose.
On top of this, we aren't talking a reasonable 1-2 weeks after Christmas but over a month and he still expected a refund.
Eventually he stormed off spouting the inevitable "I'm never shopping here again".

The thing that induces the rage in situations like this, is if we give the refund our area manager break our balls over it but if we don't and the customer complains, the weak prick will roll over and give them what they want. WTF is the use of these rules if he is going to undermine us like that.

Speaking of customer service in retail, I worked at a drycleaning shop in the Perth CBD in customer service. The best thing about it was that I could count on one hand the number of selfish, rude and feral prima donna customers (and I have mentioned a few on this site in the past).

I guess the people working as engineers/lawyers/business people etc. in St George's Terrace are a little more educated to deal with problematic situations without carrying on like pratts.

If I'm buying from Maccas I expect decent service. That customer had every right to be angry about not being served. I realise generally it's not the cashiers fault but it's the only way to express such anger. I'm paying for a fast food service, compliance to this is non-negotiable.

It's not my responsbility to have empathy for the situation, I just want my food, I couldn't give a shit if they are understaffed, their problem not mine. Oh and more Maccas stories Shibz!

1. If such a situation gets you angry, I think you need to re-consider what your priorities in life are. That, or you need to lower your anger threshold.

2. Not only is it not the only way to express anger, it is an ineffective way to express anger. A more effective way would be to get in contact with the manager and point out the staffing issue. A manager is going to be much more interested in what someone from the general public has to say rather than someone they view as a minnion. Of course, you can't be ****ed right? Didn't think so, as it's not your problem. Just know that the way you express yourself doesn't improve the situation in any way, and you instead come off as a spoilt twelve year old girl. I'd be interested to know what you honestly think throwing a temper tantrum will achieve?

People who slam on there brakes infront of you. Happened to me just then. Ended up flying up a curb going a good 70km before nearly hitting a pole. Stupid old w***ers should get off the bloody road

you flew 70kms off a curb?

did you get a stunt bonus?
Vice_City_Stunt.JPG

If I'm buying from Maccas I expect decent service. That customer had every right to be angry about not being served. I realise generally it's not the cashiers fault but it's the only way to express such anger. I'm paying for a fast food service, compliance to this is non-negotiable.

It's not my responsbility to have empathy for the situation, I just want my food, I couldn't give a shit if they are understaffed, their problem not mine. Oh and more Maccas stories Shibz!

No offence, but you're a bit of a dick.

you flew 70kms off a curb?

did you get a stunt bonus?
Vice_City_Stunt.JPG

He should just be grateful that the car didn't flip over.
If that game taught me anything it's that no matter how gently you roll over a car it will eventually catch fire and explode

I notice you didn't answer the part about what it achieves. Is yelling at a lowly staff member going to speed up the service at all? No, because unless the lowly staff member is doing something wrong herself she has no control over staffing or anything like that.

You're way off the mark. Why would you expect decent service from mcdonalds? ... it's mcdonalds ffs!

The customer had every right to stfu and wait like a patient adult seeing as nothing she could have one bar making it herself would get her her food any quicker. As i said before if everyone is working what does she hope to achieve? Abusing others because she needs a fat fix? Was she so desperate that she had to eat immediately?
Had she somewhere to go then why was she not better prepared.

Does she think she's better than people just because they work in fast food?

Sounds like a typical fast food customer to me ... the majority need to open their eyes and see where they are then lower their expectations.

I have never once abused McDonalds staff, infact their service is 10x that of it's rivals (not that I've abused them either). But let's just say you've been waiting at the front of the line for 3+ minutes and have yet to be served, I think you have a right to be pissed off.

Personally I wouldn't abuse them but would certainly say something. Yet Shibz abuses a customer because it was her (as a representative of the store)/manager's fault for letting the situation occur. Yet your saying I'm the one with anger problems, honestly?

Your just a coward if you can't let your feelings known to staff. I do not condone insults/foul language but the customer in Shibz situation had every right to speak up.
3 minutes? **** me you must be the most important person on Earth.

I notice you didn't answer the part about what it achieves. Is yelling at a lowly staff member going to speed up the service at all? No, because unless the lowly staff member is doing something wrong herself she has no control over staffing or anything like that.

Quite obviously achieves nothing, maybe stresses them out some more which is a good thing. Telling them to speed up (in an appropriate fashion) is better then standing there like a politically correct doormat being too much of a pussy to say anything. I guess as PK said you could always write a letter to management:rolleyes:

3 minutes? **** me you must be the most important person on Earth.

I am trying to be realistic about the situation as I assume this would happen rather often. I can guarantee you would start to feel anxious had you been waiting at the front of the line for 3 minutes and had yet to be served. And yes my importance of getting served is certainly greater then upsetting the feelings of staff members for their incompetence.

Quite obviously achieves nothing, maybe stresses them out some more which is a good thing. Telling them to speed up (in an appropriate fashion) is better then standing there like a politically correct doormat being too much of a pussy to say anything. I guess as PK said you could always write a letter to management:rolleyes:

Writing a letter will most likely do nothing. Speaking to the manager in an intelligent yet assertive manner is the most effective thing you can do as a member of the general public. I'd say getting pissed off 'after 3 minutes of waiting at the front of a line' rather than speaking to the manager as a man is ten times more indicative of being a pussified politically-correct doormat.

edit: again, lol, 3 minutes.

I see you had nothing significant to say in response to what it would achieve. To put it simply, for you, it would be a means to vent as those that cannot change anything. Congratulations RU486, you know how to get things done :thumbsu:

I'd say getting pissed off 'after 3 minutes of waiting at the front of a line' rather than speaking to the manager as a man is ten times more indicative of being a pussified politically-correct doormat.

I am genuinely wondering as to how you came to this conclusion.

It is the easy way out with no repercussions in order to feel like you're doing something when you're effectively doing nothing but exerting authority on an employee that can't do anything.

Talking to the manager who is more in control of things, face to face, where you can actually be responded to, is a more difficult setting to be assertive.

Obviously in the case posted the employee answered back, but we are talking about the scenario in general here. I really didn't have to type this out for you and really this post calls for a 'thanks ben' to mark its ending.

It's a public holiday in Perth. So what happens? No one bothers to show up, leaving 4-5 crew to work plus one manager. I park my car at 1.45 (due to start at 2) and the dual lane drive thru is around the corner. I was like "Are you ****ing kidding me?!". I get out of my car, walk inside and the line is almost 10 people deep. There goes my chance of eating lol. I walk in, there is one crew person and a manager running the back area. I told her she should've called me in early (being a public holiday and all) and she said she hadn't had a chance to move from the back area let alone ring me.

Basically, we had no staff and had to get 4 crew members from another store. We would have been rooted if we didn't. Pretty sure we did double the sales we were meant to. And sales per crew (which is how much the sales are divided by the crew on) was about $250. It is meant to be $100...

Also had another customer bitch about the dining room (I had just been out there). She asked for the manager, told the manager that the dining room was full of trays and rubbish (hmmm well maybe if people cleared their own rubbish instead of being lazy there wouldn't be any) and that there were no straws. When the manager explained they had been short of crew and had to get other store crew members in her reply was "Well I don't care, this is unacceptable!!" Yeah, thanks lady...

PS I've got plenty of stories to tell...none of them involve spitting in burgers or anything like that, but I have been threatened by a 15 year old who threated to throw a bottle at me because I refused to serve him.

ITT: maccas worker complains and no one cares

9jn5hg.jpg

PS I've got plenty of stories to tell...none of them involve spitting in burgers or anything like that, but I have been threatened by a 15 year old who threated to throw a bottle at me because I refused to serve him.
Why did you refuse to serve him? Do you have the right to refuse service to someone?

Because he had been banned from the store for scratching the windows, vandalising the loos amongst other things.

• Slow Drivers
  • Elderly Drivers
  • The Victorian Government ever decreasing the speed limit when the Speed limit over here is already much less than other countries and they have no problems. (Ring Road just got demoted to 80 KM/H permanently).
  • ***** (overpaid office employees driving BMWs) And yes i do watch Top Gear.
  • Bogans in maccas/shopping centres drinking VBs and thinking there top ****
  • Hot Women in the night scene, sure they can be a good hook up ect. but i hate how they act like they are better than everybody else