FTA-TV Rake

• Thread starter Thread starter JoondalupJ

Episode 2 also meh. It all feels a bit contrived. Like Nicole getting emotional when she flies or male American agents all with female names.

Has it been on the last 2 Sundays? I have been travelling. Last one I saw was the mid winters ball one and RaKE driving the driver around.

You missed the last episode.

Last night it was replaced by a new series, Pine Gap.

Don't bother wasting your time, it was ordinary

Nah , if your a fan and I am from the first season onwards, its worth it, and I reckon it's set for one more run .

Another gem is Back in small Business, genius stuff.

Finally finished the season on iView, the flip was that? :huh:

Horrible season IMO. And that final episode - whats the opposite of sticking the landing? What a dogs breakfast. Can blokes who have been suspended from the bar be chief justice? And if I understand correctly he was given that just to shut him up about the Parliament house cover-up - what did Harry-sorry-David get? And where did he get the 100k to give his driver (wtf was the point of that plotline btw?), he says from under his mattress but didn't the police find that and was the cause of the charges related to the day care centre in the first place? And the 2 years later bit, he's with Nicole? Please.

Nothing hung together, nothing made sense, complete mess.

Nah , if your a fan and I am from the first season onwards, its worth it, and I reckon it's set for one more run .

Confirmed that this was the final season. Went 1 season too long imo.

Finally finished the season on iView, the flip was that? :huh:

Horrible season IMO. And that final episode - whats the opposite of sticking the landing? What a dogs breakfast. Can blokes who have been suspended from the bar be chief justice? And if I understand correctly he was given that just to shut him up about the Parliament house cover-up - what did Harry-sorry-David get? And where did he get the 100k to give his driver (wtf was the point of that plotline btw?), he says from under his mattress but didn't the police find that and was the cause of the charges related to the day care centre in the first place? And the 2 years later bit, he's with Nicole? Please.

Nothing hung together, nothing made sense, complete mess.

Confirmed that this was the final season. Went 1 season too long imo.

Yeah but you simply didn't like it at all probably from word go.
I thought it was great , just the character, a real rogue, and it was a tv show, they have license to piddle around with reality.

As far as that being the last season, I would say it left itself up in the air if they change their minds.

You got to like the style , if you don't , fine.

You can watch CSI or NCIS or Law and Order, Criminal minds if that doesn't dull your imagination and warp your brain nothing will.

Or a classic like Kath and Kim, and I'm fair dinkum I am watching the replays and its bleeding well hilarious!

Yeah but you simply didn't like it at all probably from word go.
I thought it was great , just the character, a real rogue, and it was a tv show, they have license to piddle around with reality.

As far as that being the last season, I would say it left itself up in the air if they change their minds.

You got to like the style , if you don't , fine.

You can watch CSI or NCIS or Law and Order, Criminal minds if that doesn't dull your imagination and warp your brain nothing will.

Or a classic like Kath and Kim, and I'm fair dinkum I am watching the replays and its bleeding well hilarious!

Nah, loved this show, the first 2 or 3 seasons anyway. And I was prepared to cut it some slack this season - see my post last page where I said I didn't think the first few eps of season 5 were that bad.

Re: messing with reality, that's the thing - I reckon the show started to go downhill when they shifted from smaller, contained, believable stories to the more outrageous farcical stuff. Stuff like the end of season 3 with Cleave dangling from the balloon and Barney floating to New Zealand or where ever it was was never sat well with me.

The other massive problem I had with season 5 was they made Cleave into a total buffoon. Yeah he was always a likeable rougue who didn't make the best decisions, but this season he was just a moron eg. signing things without reading it to borrow cash from his driver. Despite being a rogue with vices, in early seasons you could also characterise him as smart (maybe 'street' smart).

IMO of course.

PS. would have to be a fair backflip to get another season, they seem pretty definitive this time -> https://tvtonight.com.au/2018/08/rake-confirms-final-season-again.html

Started this last night.

Absolutely brilliant.

Wendy - She's a succubus !!
Cleaver - Thought she was born in July ??

Started this last night.

Absolutely brilliant.

Wendy - She's a succubus !!
Cleaver - Thought she was born in July ??
Where was it on? Pay TV? Havent seen any promo on the AbC for it.

I was a bit hit and miss with this when it first came out, so I've been working my way through it all this year ... am up to season five and I must say it's a bit of a drop off from the earlier stuff so far, but I have faith ...

" Cleaver !!! I came to see you a dozen times but they said you said to PISS OFF ! "

" I'm sorry, your honour. When i met him a couple of weeks ago he was like a scientist out of a movie ! "

Dan Wylie's character :'(

If s1 was a carefree pre-teen then s2 was the morose teen

BARNEY - Do you ever look at the crowd on the footy and think " Those people are all gonna die one day " ?
CLEAVER - You've gotta stop following Parramatta, mate !