Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

Yeah, I know they only vary slightly. Was actually just trying to explain to SHP what exactly an ATAR was, wasn't really disputing you. Sorry, I probably should've quoted SHP's post

In Year 11 currently and finding all sorts of ways to put off homework (BF anyone? :D)

I go fairly well at my studies (averaging 81% across my six subjects) so I definitely want to aim higher than my required ATAR (around 64, journalism at Deakin). That way you have a fallback and a good score if things don't go to plan course wise.

Yeah I'm probably not heaps of help either as I am also aware that the VCE is different to the SACE system. Just thought I'd try and help as much wherever possible :thumbsu:

EDIT: In reply to EFH's earlier post about the different Vic/WA systems, forgot to quote again :S

I kid you not. I don't believe it would be overly inferior to UniSA's offering however, despite the clear difference in required scores. Deakin's close to home for me and I know people who've done the course, so it's convenient.

Do you have a passing interest in journalism Doc?

Pipe in for a quick reply before I go to bed.

I am totally able to get an ATAR within the 90's. I do no study whatsoever, I pleb around on the internet, hang out with my girlfriend and listen to music. Economics, and history, are two subjects highly dependent on study and definite knowledge. I'm getting mid-50's for them. I studied for 40 minutes prior to two separate History in-classes, and got in the 77, and 81. If I'd of studied all year, i'd have my History and Economics up near my English and Philosophy (75 for philo, 90's for the beauty that is English).

I think I should've applied myself more than I did. How much study do you guys do/did you do in year 12? I'm a little at cross-roads. My econs teacher recommends 18 hours per week. I do 40 minutes, to an hour, a night (as of this week).

I feel quite alienated by scores. I don't think it's indicative of true intellect. Those with amazing work ethics get rewarded. If we speak ethically on the matter, this is not a true indication of intellect - WACE/ATAR/whatever is simply how hard you applied yourself. I am telling you now, I have grilled students (who are sitting on like, 99.84) at off-the-cuff arguments numerous times before. It's not even jealousy. To quote the band Yuck, "it's just the way that I feel".

Who goes to Curtin or U-dub here? I just finished my application for the two WA uni's i've applied for. Doing Journalism and English respectively.

I started at u dub this year.

I did very very little study in Year 12. Had I studied as much as some other students I reckon I wouldve gotten a very very high score. Iin the end, I barely studied, still got a good ATAR, that got me into to what I wanted, but in hindsight I wish I'd studied more, it was annoying seeing mates who I knew I was as smart, get much better scores.

It's your choice though, you only get back what you put in. One thing to remember, is after school finishes, you've got a really long time where you can relax.

Want to become a writer. I have a split dream between working on a show like Seinfeld or Curb, or like, Pitchfork Media or FourFourTwo magazine. From what I hear, English is slightly more preferred when going into that path, thus my decision.

Honestly, I'm not sure what I want to do yet. I want something in the sporting field is all I know at this point.

That's always been my ambition, with sports journalism my forte. I've already got my foot halfway in the door with my current job so I'm really excited for my future. :)

Ha, school scores don't necessarily represent true intelligence. I was one of the smartest kids in my year level in Year 12, and my VCE score just says "under 30".

99% of that score is because I was a lazy shit. :)

Yeah, very true, I wasn't the best student when it came to studying, but it also comes down to the stupid scoring system that exists in these ATAR/UAI etc scores.

For example, when I did my HSC (in 2002) we had the UAI and even though I scored an average of 72 across my 5 and a half subjects, I got a UAI of 59.84. Compared to a friend of mine who across their 5 subjects (where the only difference apart from 3 unit history which I did and they didn't, was that they did Society and Culture and I did Physics) scored an average of 75 and received a UAI of 75.75.

But for all of you doing your final year/s don't stress if you don't get straight in.

Due to my score I didn't get in to uni but was able to complete a Certificate II and III at TAFE over a 2 year period - I got the Cert III while doing a traineeship, so I was able to complete a 2 year course in just 1, plus with the money I have saved I was able to have 6 months off between the two TAFE courses.

Then the following year (was 20 at the time) I was accepted as a mature aged student and have since completed a Bachelors and Masters degree.

If I had gone straight to uni I reckon I would have burnt out within 2 years and would never have been able to do what I have done. So not getting in was a blessing in disguise.

So the moral of the story is:

Even if you don't get where you want to be straight out of school, don't worry, there are other ways to get to where you want to be, it might just take a bit longer.

Alright guys, ATAR time. Five and a half weeks of school left. After that, is mocks, then the real deal.

I need to really face up and start revising. I've been abhorrently lacklustre in my study this year. I'm sitting on an ATAR of around 76 I reckon - I'd like an 80-85. UWA/La Trobe (in Melbourne) is my aim, but i'll get into Curtin easily. So wish me luck.

If anyone else is doing ATAR right now, hit me up through a PM. We can share our gut-wrenching angst together!

Here's for a Fremantle surge and a Premiership in the vein of the Crows of '98!

So, until November...
Where does your predicted figure come from? There used to be a good calculator on the Newman College (not my school) website that - although was based on the previous system/subjects - proved pretty accurate for me in the end. The rule of thumb i believe was 70% average in top subjects equated in 95, 80% ~ 99.

Your end mark will heavily depend on what subjects you are doing, and how hard the tests/exams your school has set have been (ie low class averages is better, unless youre in the bottom third). My scaling was incredible last year.

But don't think for an instant it is a forgone conclusion - i was acing econs, until a below-par WACE exam and scaling brought it down to my lowest of all six.
The exact opposite happened with physics. Couldn't believe my eyes.

All the best mate. Stick with it, the weeks will fly past like nothing you've seen and then it'll be all over.
Then Leavers :cool:

Wouldn't by any chance be anyone in/studying medicine here? Thats what I'm hoping to get into after next year, thats all...

Yeah, I don't get drunk so much either. I feel pretty cautious about the whole culture. Still, my high school is having our ball this weekend. I'm not going to the ball itself, but I am going to the ball - which will be genuinely wonderful. It's going to be my first and last time talking to some kids, and my last shot at getting drunks with the people I've considered 'friends' for five (plus) years.

Yeah, very true, I wasn't the best student when it came to studying, but it also comes down to the stupid scoring system that exists in these ATAR/UAI etc scores.

For example, when I did my HSC (in 2002) we had the UAI and even though I scored an average of 72 across my 5 and a half subjects, I got a UAI of 59.84. Compared to a friend of mine who across their 5 subjects (where the only difference apart from 3 unit history which I did and they didn't, was that they did Society and Culture and I did Physics) scored an average of 75 and received a UAI of 75.75.

But for all of you doing your final year/s don't stress if you don't get straight in.

Due to my score I didn't get in to uni but was able to complete a Certificate II and III at TAFE over a 2 year period - I got the Cert III while doing a traineeship, so I was able to complete a 2 year course in just 1, plus with the money I have saved I was able to have 6 months off between the two TAFE courses.

Then the following year (was 20 at the time) I was accepted as a mature aged student and have since completed a Bachelors and Masters degree.

If I had gone straight to uni I reckon I would have burnt out within 2 years and would never have been able to do what I have done. So not getting in was a blessing in disguise.

So the moral of the story is:

Even if you don't get where you want to be straight out of school, don't worry, there are other ways to get to where you want to be, it might just take a bit longer.

Ahh, to be 18 or 19 again and actually having a career as opposed to a job.