Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

I'm getting PS now since everyone's getting it. But first, what's better, Illustrator or Photoshop? Cause I've got a friend with Illustrator...

You do realise how much it costs, right? It's probably not worth it if all you and anyone in your family is going to use it for is footy jumpers. Photoshop Elements is still really handy and only costs something like $70. Apparantly you can't use all the proper Photoshop templates but in time I reckon someone skilled might be able to make some :thumbsu:

Skoda Stadium has pretty much exactly the same layout as Metricon

You do realise how much it costs, right? It's probably not worth it if all you and anyone in your family is going to use it for is footy jumpers. Photoshop Elements is still really handy and only costs something like $70. Apparantly you can't use all the proper Photoshop templates but in time I reckon someone skilled might be able to make some :thumbsu:

Andonis is quite obviously a school student, so he'd be able to get the discounted version of CS5 for $200. If you plan on using it heaps it's not a bad purchase.

I still haven't been come up with the money to pay for my copy yet, but I had one last launch left on my trial - so I've left the program open without quitting for the last 10 days :p

Would Andonis be able to get the student version?

Would be a lot more sensible.

Also I give a big thumbs down to Elements. After a while using it I found it was completely useless if you're using it by itself.

$200 is still a massive discount but for a bloke whose only in year 8 (?), probably unemployed and in a years time quite likely couldn't give a shit about footy jumpers that's a lot of money. Unless his parents are keen on using it for things I couldn't see him being able to easily get or afford it. I'm sure there's plenty of other 'better' things that a kid of his age would want to spend his money on too, like a new bike, a PS3 or some brand new nikes.
You could always go down the illegal way of getting it but then you run the risk of getting in trouble or getting trojans or viruses or the like. Or you could be like Gibbsy and leave the trial open infinitely (just hibernate your computer) :p Not a bad idea actually, I might try it ;)
As for elements, its certainly not flawless but for the most part I find it does the job reasonably well for my uses. Sure, the templates don't work but rotating, resizing and recolouring most things is a breeze. No simplifying or pasting things in and out of word which is good :) I usually just make my designs in paint and use PS for the tricky bits, such as recolouring unsimplified logos and putting in sponsors. Having said that, I have a lot more templates now I don't seem to be needing it as much. It's far more affordable and I would honestly recommend it to Andonis for all that he would be needing it for at this stage. As I said, its only about $70 or something I think but I didn't need to worry about that, my mum bought it herself for editing her own photos :p Haven't seen her use it once yet though :/
Anyone know anything about Adobe Fireworks? A few years ago I had the full copy on my computer (my brother downloaded or installed it for a design assignment or something) and then last year I used it briefly in IT. My brother seemed to think it was better for picture (not photo) editing and I'm considering taking his word and reinstalling it again. Just not sure if it would be easier, more appropriate and whether it would work with the PS templates :confused:

Guys a I have found a way to get photoshop CS5 for free. It involves downloading the trial from the adobe website then putting in an authentication code. I have a list of serial codes I got from a website don't know if they are used up so you will have to try them, I used one of them first shot and it worked. Shoot me a pm if you are interested and I will give you the intructions and list of serial codes obviously first in best dressed

Oooohh, that's a dangerous thing to do. I a guy legitimately buys one of those serial numbers and plugs it in, it won't work. Could get ugly from there.

If you are to do anything like that, you'd be smart to get an application called Little Snitch. It lets you see and stop when an application like Photoshop tries to make an outgoing internet connection to report it as stolen.

Have I got any fellow Inbetweeners fans here? I'm seeing the movie tomorrow, cannot wait.

And FTR, I liked it before it was cool.

Shame the movie marks the end of the show as well... Also, I love that post 420 is by Doctor :D

Never really watched or heard much about the show tbh. Apparantly the movie is hilarious and a few of my mates wanna go see it so I can see myself tagging along. Will it be something that won't make much sense if I haven't seen the TV series?

Nah, you should be fine. It would probably be a little more fun and exciting for you if you were a fan of the show but there's no complex storyline for you to follow on with or anything. I guarantee you will be laughing.

Have I got any fellow Inbetweeners fans here? I'm
seeing the movie tomorrow, cannot wait.

And FTR, I liked it before it was cool.

Hell yeah! Going to see it on Tuesday. Can't believe the tv show took as long as it did to premiere down under though.

Election Day...Grr. I think thats all the law allows me to say today :D.