Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

School already LC16? When we go back next week we get iPads. They are the shittest things for education, all we did last year was game on them during class.

I'm not quite sure that I know what you mean...
but try this...

I'm working on Mac so I'm not sure how that differs from Windows, but there's an option up the top (would be different on PC) called Window, make sure the layer option has a tick next to it.

No worries, fixed it now.

I'm not brave enough to post this on the main board, but I thought some of you (particulalrly our large younger brigade) might find this interesting. A quirky snapshot of a clubs popularity, interstate/overseas appeal, PR/marketing, even demographics.

Official Facebook Page 'Likes'
Collingwood - 171,013
Essendon - 147,456
West Coast - 103,560
Carlton - 99,504
Adelaide - 78,568
St Kilda - 77,417
Sydney - 75,013
Richmond - 68,928
------------------------
Hawthorn - 58,990
Fremantle - 49,332
Western Bulldogs - 36,719
Brisbane - 34,868
Norht Melbourne - 33,392
Port Adelaide - 31,183
Geelong - 30,008
Gold Coast - 28,034
Melbourne - 20,298
GWS - 10,506

Of most interest to me here:
-The total domination by Adeliade and West Coast over their cross-town rivals (>2:1), whereas the 'battle' for popularity in SE Queensland is much tighter (GC being a product of the Social Network age?)
-Melbourne, a club of over 150 years, only attracts 10,000 more people than a team that is yet to even play.
-The contrast between the Grand Finalists is extraordinary here. I knew Collingwood would be the most 'popular' (they are no doubt the biggest... add in the fact their fans are far more likely to want to identify themselves with their club, I feel!), but I was very surprised by the lack in Geelong. Even Sydney to an extent, their catchment is (was) by far the largest.

Without trying to bag the Vics, I have a feeling it's quite a bit more relevant to make sure it's known who your 'tribe' is in such a footy-dominated state. Similarly, footy-loving Vics beyond the border are perhaps more likely to be vocal in proclaiming who they support.
I think I speak for a lot of WA when I say it's less important... you're either West Coast or Fremantle. Of my 300-odd 'friends' on FB, only 10 and 2 'like' these clubs respectively - in reality I reckon 75% would say, if asked, that they follow one of the local sides - at least casually.

I know this 'study' should be taken with a grain of salt, there are many many variables; but it's worthwhile noting that there is no reason why one club has more of an advantage over another in terms of being able to reach a good proportion of their respective fan base. They all have Facebook links on their home page!

Well I "like" all of them, just to see what's going on in each club so if there was, say 10,000 others that did this, then there is not an accurate measurement

Yeah it's very tribal here in Victoria. Relationships often don't work because of club loyalties...

Those figures are about what I'd expect, although St Kilda is higher than I thought. Might be worth doing a comparison with actual membership figures for 2011 and working out some kind of ratio. (Facebook fans divided by Members would create a pretty good "index".)

I follow all the clubs on Facebook and twitter aswell Just so I get news from all AFL clubs

I think I speak for a lot of WA when I say it's less important... you're either West Coast or Fremantle. Of my 300-odd 'friends' on FB, only 10 and 2 'like' these clubs respectively - in reality I reckon 75% would say, if asked, that they follow one of the local sides - at least casually.
I'm proud of being in the minority. Absolutely proud.

It's impossible to gage the number of actually supporters. I'd probably double that number. And that's just to include fathers. If you want to add grandparents, mothers, kids under 14 or so (when it seems most get facebook), I'm sure numbers would be so much higher. Nonetheless, West Coast would still have the majority of Western Australian support. That's obvious.

But then many would argue the proportion of hardcore fans is higher in camp Freo, than for WCE.

Yeah it's very tribal here in Victoria. Relationships often don't work because of club loyalties...
I could never kiss an Eagles supporting girl without wanting to cut off my tongue.

But then many would argue the proportion of hardcore fans is higher in camp Freo, than for WCE.

What do you mean by hardcore fans exactly?

Just started using tapatalk today aswell SHP and so far I'm loving it

What do you mean by hardcore fans exactly?
Not those who 'support' the more successful and 'safer' of the two clubs. Those who don't turn up, nor care, when the Eagles are losing. Yet go on about it when they're winning. It happens with all successful teams and non-successful team. If you're not fully invested, why say you're a fan of the worser team?

Then again, choosing Fremantle is like choosing a life of heartache and pointless hope. But I'd not trade that for anything else.

Those who don't turn up, nor care, when the Eagles are losing. Yet go on about it when they're winning.

Sounds like most Collingwood fans.
(Essendon fans aren't like this any more, they acknowledge they've hit a rut. As did Carlton about 9 years ago.)

Don't look at me, I've been supporting us since i was old enough to understand the game properly which incidentally was 2000. Our last wooden spoon year.

I haven't missed a West Coast game in 11 years (when I was old enough to understand the game). Haven't even turned off a game or changed the channel, not even the Geelong game in '08 (which should never be spoken of again).

Guys, I've started using the Tapatalk app for my iPhone. Does it automatically sign out of my BigFooty account when I close the app?

Just started using tapatalk today aswell SHP and so far I'm loving it

I have been using it for about 6 months and it has worked perfectly for me except in the Fantasy footy and cricket threads it doesn't how some times because there is too much going on, on the page.

Don't look at me, I've been supporting us since i was old enough to understand the game properly which incidentally was 2000. Our last wooden spoon year.

I've been following AFL religiously for 16 years and I still don't understand some of the umpires decisions :p

God is as real as Bigfoot.

He exists, just look at the top of the page ;)

Great knock by punter :thumbsu:

Now would be a good time to retire.

Got too much more to offer imo, especially considering the large amount of younger players coming into the side. Need a few older, more experienced blokes in there to offer their support, guidance and leadership. Not sure why people are still on about him to retire, he can still play obviously which is all that matters.

Not those who 'support' the more successful and 'safer' of the two clubs. Those who don't turn up, nor care, when the Eagles are losing. Yet go on about it when they're winning. It happens with all successful teams and non-successful team. If you're not fully invested, why say you're a fan of the worser team?

So many d*ckhead crows 'fans' like this, one of the main reasons I hate the club so much. Every year rate themselves as contenders, regardless of how shit the team is actually looking :rolleyes: Would make up a good 30% or more of their 'fans'.
Also agree that Freo (and Port) have more 'true' supporters. My explanations for this are:

a) the big clubs (Adelaide and WC) are more general and represent more of the state I guess
b) the big clubs have both been around longer, hence grabbing 'half-supporters' and their families first
c) obviously have more fans, members, money and also success than the smaller clubs

Despite the fact that Port are struggling it's good to see the true faithful, such as myself, still go out every week rain, hail or shine. We're bred tougher and all the bad times make the good times sweeter.

THB....
Listen to muh lekcha:
And is Hawthorn any better? I actually don't know, are they any better?
Carlton have great crowds no matter what the weather is like (except for a few stormy games, totally understandable). The only time they have some crap crowds is if they play away. Though, I do have to admit, the only reason we have these great crowds is probably because we're the 3rd oldest club in the AFL.
Okay?

Feeling miserable about your team is just as important as feeling great. When I look back at my life, I'll remember the lows as much as the highs. Both have given me some feelings that make you really feel alive.

As I said, got too much still to offer as far as I'm concerned, particularly in such a young side. Looks to be getting back to his best so give it another year and reassess the situation in 12 months time. Spent all this time and hard work getting back into top form so he may as well utilise it for a bit longer.
Speaking of the cricket, buying tickets tomorrow to go on Australia Day with a mate :)

Re: Ponting - why not retire now? End of the Test series in Australia, retire with a ton, go out on his own terms and go out on top. :thumbsu:

Because he'll want one last crack at the Ashes.

Oh, and Smeag's, I'd post it there... would make for great discussion (and a bit of asked questions RE: Melbourne especially)

Unfortunately there will be some tosser (probably an Essendon supporter, they seem to be the ones who do this) who will quip something like "off-season :rolleyes:" and expect to have a few people slapping his back.

I believe Smeags' last thread on the main board (may have been the "SUNS" conspiracy one?) didn't get the attention it deserved, I think people didn't really understand what he was getting at, or maybe the intellect of it all went over their heads.

Too good for the main board :cool: