Play Nice Random Chat Thread VII

Brewery tour tomorrow, starting at st andrews beach,

How did you go? I had my brother's 50th at a little brewery in Brunswick last night.

Had the worst beer I've had in my life.🤮 It was called a Blood beer, made with beetroot. Has 1 sip and couldn't drink it. Either would anyone else at there. Did have half a dozen good ones though.😄

How did you go? I had my brother's 50th at a little brewery in Brunswick last night.

Had the worst beer I've had in my life.🤮 It was called a Blood beer, made with beetroot. Has 1 sip and couldn't drink it. Either would anyone else at there. Did have half a dozen good ones though.😄

Like tea made outta blueberries and apricot.
" Hoj, would you like one ? What ? Hot fruit flavoured water ? No thanks "

Beetroot beer. What a crock Spidey.

One for devils chessboard thread but for some reason I can’t accest, it, it’s probably because of the bud.

DesertRoo

Jockos a smart man, he understands the consequences of nordstream being blown up.
If his train of thought is unedited, he goes straight to the logical outcome.

Like tea made outta blueberries and apricot.
" Hoj, would you like one ? What ? Hot fruit flavoured water ? No thanks "

Beetroot beer. What a crock Spidey.

You'd have liked the fruity and citrus notes of some of the Pale Ales then. 😄
My fave was a red ale that had a nice caramel after taste.

I don't care which side it is. Republican or democrat. Both parties would have accepted the money and been equally slimey. Only reason it's democrat is because silicon valley trends left and also the links his mum has. Donor money is an entirely separate issue that we could discuss for days.

What I do have issue with is the links with the SEC and SBF losing billions of users money. He cannot plead ignorance because he's lied. I hope all involved end up in jail...but we both know that's unlikely. White collar crimes with government ties = a slap on the wrist at best...unless you're a smug bastard like Shkreli.
BlackRock, Sequoia Capital, Temasek what we’re these companies doing??

Think you have to stay withiin a few light years of your tastes. We had some lovely beers. Went to red hill winery then the tar barrel in mornington and the howler in lang lang on way home. Fantastic day

Went and got my best little mate from his mum this arvo. Almost rare he gets down there, but I digress. The conversation on the way home was a lot about sport - he has finally succumbed to my love of football (soccer), as well as growing his interest in footy. Anyway, he posed a very interesting question .... who is better, Home Francis, or Jordan Bos from Melbourne City. Both being young men at the beginning of their respective football careers. Both are obviously talented footballers, but my answer was Jordy Bos was better - simply on the grounds of following team rules - doing the right things. Tbf we've had a bit of contact with Bos, at our local club, the family day and then after a match the other week. He's a polite young man who obviously works hard to be where he is. In 4 years he'll be off to the World Cup, imo.

Righto Tech-Heads, help needed.

Mrs.H.has a power point presentation to do with voice recording. She has a M'soft surface with windows 10.

But the audio when she plays it back sounds like she's in a tin shed during a hailstorm.

We duck-duck-go'd to troubleshoot and been in and out of " settings " multiple times.
Any tips welcome.

Mrs.H.has a power point presentation to do with voice recording. She has a M'soft surface with windows 10.

But the audio when she plays it back sounds like she's in a tin shed during a hailstorm.

We duck-duck-go'd to troubleshoot and been in and out of " settings " multiple times.
Any tips welcome.
Could you pair a bluetooth speaker to it?

Any tips welcome.
Could you let her do it inside instead of actually out in the shed?

Anyone who followed the GameStop story should check out this. Bank of Japan might hold more then 100% of bonds, short sellers/institutions about to feel the pinch?
TOKYO -- As the Bank of Japan pushes back against foreign speculators shorting government bonds, it is having to buy up almost all newly issued 10-year instruments to keep the benchmark yield within its target range, raising questions about the current easing policy.

The shocking figure was announced on Nov. 2. The BOJ's holdings of the 368th issuance of 10-year Japanese government bonds as of the end of October exceeded the amount actually issued.

"I started to think that even the BOJ can reach its limits in government bond purchases," a bond trader said.

The seeming mathematical paradox arose because of the BOJ's practice of lending purchased bonds to banks, which in turn unload them into the secondary market. The BOJ then could end up buying these bonds in market operations, resulting in double-booking of the same instruments.

The BOJ uses a yield curve control policy to guide interest rates. When the yield on 10-year bonds looks set to go beyond the 0.25% upper limit, it conducts a market operation to buy an unlimited amount of government bonds to keep the yield in check.

The 368th government bonds are the most recent offering. The BOJ is thus buying them up in market operations. At the same time, foreign players are shorting the instruments by borrowing them from banks, betting that the BOJ will not be able to continue with its yield curve control now that Japan's inflation has reached 3%.

In a vicious circle, the central bank then has kept up with its purchases of 368th JGBs from the market, and its bond ownership increased rapidly as a result.

Because the Ministry of Finance unloaded another batch of the 368th bonds in an auction on Nov. 1, the BOJ's holdings immediately fell below 100%. But the market fears that the BOJ may be forced to keep buying the 368th bonds even after its holdings exceed 100%.

New auctions for the 368th issuance will end on Dec. 1, so if short selling by foreigners continues after that, the BOJ will have to keep buying them. This could drastically reduce the amount of the instruments in circulation, wreaking havoc on interest rates and possibly on the currency market, some market observers fear.

Investors who have shorted the 368th bonds must buy them back on the market and return them by a deadline. If they cannot, they will have to keep paying the borrowing fee to lenders, incurring losses.

In the case where the BOJ holds more than 100% of the 368th issuance, some of it will be lent to the market, but the circulation is small. "There is a possibility that short-selling investors who do not want to pay the fee will rush to purchase the limited number of 368th bonds, and interest rates will drop sharply," said Keisuke Tsuruta of Mitsubishi UFJ Morgan Stanley Securities. A sudden drop in interest rates amid inflation could become a reality.

If the Bank of Japan ignores the plunge in interest rates, the resulting effects, such as the widening interest rate gap, will reverberate in foreign exchange markets. The yen, which has regained ground against the dollar, could again soften at a much faster pace.

Excessively low interest rates could have other side effects, such as inflation, a bubble economy, and a loss of fiscal discipline.

The BOJ "has always placed top priority on maintaining yield curve control," said Ryutaro Kono of BNP Paribas. It is possible that the bank will continue to ignore the side effects and press on with the policy.

Despite all this, a market insider revealed that the BOJ wanted to hide the fact that its holdings of the 368th bonds exceeded 100% in late October.

Another market player noted that "when we sold 368th bonds to the BOJ, we were subjected to stricter checks to ensure that the conditions for the sale were properly met." This suggests that the central bank also believes that ownership exceeding 100% is not desirable.

The BOJ bought 23 trillion yen ($164 billion) of JGBs in September and October, matching the previous peak set in June and July, signaling that massive purchases are needed to hold down interest rates. The BOJ could in fact face the limits in the amount of bonds it can purchase. This, in turn, could spur short sellers to step up the pressure.

In theory, the BOJ can continue with yield curve control by continuing to buy government bonds. But as long as there is a free market, the side effects will emerge elsewhere.

Nearly a decade has passed since the Bank of Japan launched its unconventional monetary easing, and strains are growing noticeable. This year's historic plunge by the yen shows that the more strain accumulates, the greater the impact when it is released. The BOJ needs to face this reality.