Discussion Random Discussion

Believe me Ive gone back and forth on this a few times. The big issue I have is that renting vs owning is only marginally cheaper week to week anyway and owning at least does end up resulting in owning an asset you can live in during retirement. My mother has always rented and never owned due to not working most of her life (single with kids) and I worry about her when she does retire from her current job.
Smarter move is to rent and buy investment properties where the interest is tax deductible.

The tax savings would subsidise your rental costs and you still benefit from your investment long term.

G’day guys just curious on everyone’s thoughts on Billy Longer & Lewis Pierce both have obviously fallen in the pecking order behind Rowan Marshall leading the ruck ?
Do you see them playing much football in the firsts later in the season and beyond ?

G’day guys just curious on everyone’s thoughts on Billy Longer & Lewis Pierce both have obviously fallen in the pecking order behind Rowan Marshall leading the ruck ?
Do you see them playing much football in the firsts later in the season and beyond ?
Billy votes liberal and Lewis voted for Hanson so they can both get ****ed...

Mate of mine in the security tech game been with NAB , ANZ , CBA and now Vic Govt
works in the security area these days , he has told me that Apple & Samsung have similar concerns with
their equipment as well.

George Orwell got a lot to answer for...

Mate of mine in the security tech game been with NAB , ANZ , CBA and now Vic Govt
works in the security area these days , he has told me that Apple & Samsung have similar concerns with
their equipment as well.

George Orwell got a lot to answer for...

Google has so much information on us all already. They used to have the company slogan "don't Be evil" they dropped it about a year ago. If they wanted to the could do more than sell all our demographic and contact info to advertisers.

Smarter move is to rent and buy investment properties where the interest is tax deductible.

The tax savings would subsidise your rental costs and you still benefit from your investment long term.
Yeah I have honestly thought of doing this as well. As a single person as well it makes absolute sense to purchase where you can afford and then rent a smaller place where you want to.

One of my close mates lives in the docklands near Marvel stadium and with the rents that are there now he would actually make money vs his mortgage payments if he were to rent further out from the city.

Yeah I have honestly thought of doing this as well. As a single person as well it makes absolute sense to purchase where you can afford and then rent a smaller place where you want to.

One of my close mates lives in the docklands near Marvel stadium and with the rents that are there now he would actually make money vs his mortgage payments if he were to rent further out from the city.
And the rental income counts towards your mortgage.

If you're living at home, even better.

Get it all set up with the bank before you move out. So much easier to qualify.

Agree.

Shorten has an upside down triangle head which makes him less trustworthy.

His delivery always seems rehearsed and in my eyes, ge lacks passion. The only glimpse we got was when they questioned his mother.

Unfortunately it looks like we Now have a chequebook democracy.

Palmer wasn't as dumb as we think. He took enough votes and used his preferences to impact the result.

He will be partially reimbursed by the AEC. But his effect was better than simply donating to the libs. Kudos.

The guy who did our ads showing the agent taking a selfie with Porsche would have done a better job than the alp guy IMO.

Away they got it wrong on policy. Negative gearing changes during a price slump was suicidal. Even if it wasn't as bad as made out. Even investors I talk to didn't understand it.

I just hope they Slomo is pragmatic and moves to the centre now that Abbott is gone. If he is smart, he will go just that and guarantee himself another term.

If they instead drink their bath water and turn arrogant like Joyce was on Saturday night, then we are ******.
The thing is though that the Libs f'd themselves with the budget. They loaded the federal budget with bs contracts like a 90 billion dollar military contract on outdated technology expecting Labor to win and then have to deal with an absolute shitshow. Instead they shot themselves in the foot. We all know what the next campaign will be though "we're still trying to recover from Labor's poor budget management... 9 years after labor were last in gov... yeah that's right."

Longer and Pierce have been pretty comfortably relegated to backup duties by Marshall. Unless we get more tall injuries I doubt they play much beyond Marshall needing a weeks rest at some point.

The thing is though that the Libs f'd themselves with the budget. They loaded the federal budget with bs contracts like a 90 billion dollar military contract on outdated technology expecting Labor to win and then have to deal with an absolute shitshow. Instead they shot themselves in the foot. We all know what the next campaign will be though "we're still trying to recover from Labor's poor budget management... 9 years after labor were last in gov... yeah that's right."

Blew a heap on political advertising too. They thought they were dumping Labor in the shit. There was some stat doing the rounds in memes that said that the Libs had doubled all the debt accrued by every previous government combined since federation. The way the government describes a surplus from a predicted rise in ore prices (now potentially off the cards because of China and the US having a trade war) is a slight of hand. We look more like Greece post GFC than a stable economic force. We are already in a recession.

This is the absurdity of the situation...

Had Rudd not acted on the GFC we would have gone into a deep recession putting further stress on the budget.

However because we avoided recession the people have taken this action for granted and the libs effectively spun it as debt disaster, which to most looked real coming off a period of record surpluses.

And you don't feel the pain of a bullet you dodged. Much the same way you don't think about drink drivers until they kill some one close to you, then you go off on a crusade to change law and blame the government etc.

If we go into recession then the libs will get blamed.

Frankly it may turn out to be a good election to lose for The ALP, as a recession will create momentum for change.

Change of government occurs when there is a shot in primary vote, which there wasn't despite the polls. IMO.

Had Rudd not acted on the GFC we would have gone into a deep recession putting further stress on the budget.

However because we avoided recession the people have taken this action for granted and the libs effectively spun it as debt disaster, which to most looked real coming off a period of record surpluses.

And you don't feel the pain of a bullet you dodged. Much the same way you don't think about drink drivers until they kill some one close to you, then you go off on a crusade to change law and blame the government etc.

Frankly it may turn out to be a good election to lose for The ALP, as a recession will create momentum for change.

Change of government occurs when there is a shot in primary vote, which there wasn't despite the polls. IMO.

i had that feeling on saturday morning, watch shortens presser, where he was speaking as if he had won. had this horrible feeling it may be the worst possible outcome and drive us further down the path of conservatism/blatant lying.

i think the myth that libs are good at managing the economy needs to be busted.

That's the way I consoled my mates who were melting about the result. Labor doesn't want to be in right now. The recession would have been made into a big media circus and every labor policy would have been blamed.

I'll take that as a no? Go on put them out there for discussion. Be a man of conviction.

There's your problem... Selective argument.

Answer the question. Would you be OK with people who pay no tax because they derive income from tax free super having that refund taken away and used in areas that benefit the vulnerable in our society?

It's a pretty straight forward question.

If they wouldn't pay tax on a similar payment from other sources, why should they pay tax on this source.
If a high income earner gets franked shares, they have to pay tax on the difference between the amount the shares were taxed and their marginal rate.

You are saying its ok for the government to tax the high earner over and above the company tax, but its not ok to tax the low earner less than the company tax.
It is a strange set up though, it almost makes the company tax redundant.

its an opinion so it is most certainly not wrong ...
education is a friggin joke teachers teaching kids to pass a test set by the gov. my nephews have just this week done their Naplan testing the efforts my sisters have had to put into reassuring them its ok because of the internal pressure put on them from the school on this test is shocking and im talking about 10 yearolds ... we dont educate kids in this country we prep them to pass a friggin test.. kids dont get the education we once got yes they are smart but they dont learn the skills to be functional humans ... i know a fair bit about this my sister developed the education program Connected Education that is trying to improve what is broken ..

health care is a sham.. we have a public system where the wait time is seeing people die before getting treatment , we have a society where ambos are among the highest attacked public servants and we have professionals leaving the industry every day because the conditions are so poor ..

maybe you are happy at being 62nd on the worlds list for suitable internet speed .. we had the plan in place to fix that but we went the tight arse option that ended up costing us more ... seriously when i think back to the NBN cluster i cannot understand how anyone ever could trust the libs to know what they are doing ...

im not saying we dont do ok ... but Feck me shouldnt we aim for higher than ok...
government certainly plays a huge part in technology and innovation through scientific research the fact that millions is cut from departments like the CSIRO ...

honestly i do feel we need to take a step back financially to redirect the ship ... fears like "housing prices will plument" well sorry but maybe that needs to happen ..

Yes the NAPLAN is crap. A golden rule is , when you try to measure something , the process of taking a measurement can influence the results. All this studying for it is complete crap. Its one of the reasons i don't like politicians simply spending a more on education. Buying the schools a heap of new computers won't fix much.

My personal experiences with public health are that it works. Certainly its better than just about anywhere else. Its deplorable that we have people attacking paramedics. I don't think legalizing the crap they are on will help it though.

Is your internet too slow? Why? If a business has fiber to the curb and needs to upgrade , its a pretty minor business cost to do it.
Meanwhile if some guy out the back of Bourke can't download netflicks, i think thats a shit use for the internet anyway. ( we are talking AVERAGE internet speeds right). After Telstra's crappy old ADSL for years i'm more than happy with the NBN. Some countries have lighting fast internet available , but hardly anyone subscribes, because it costs too much. Would you prefer that?

Inevitably any scientific breakthroughs from Australian research is not capitalized in Australia. Its sold to overseas companies.

i had that feeling on saturday morning, watch shortens presser, where he was speaking as if he had won. had this horrible feeling it may be the worst possible outcome and drive us further down the path of conservatism/blatant lying.

Yeah, it's much more likely that when times are tough we elect governments that will give us a safety net. Big economic reform has been mostly labor, things like compulsory super have allowed the country to weather storms better too. Individual share holders jolt the stock market much more when they lose confidence. Superfunds tend to hold their nerve because of diversification. Coalition's big reform was the GST which is a shit tax and considered a regressive tax because it tends to burden the poor more than the rich and it makes everything more expensive so slows consumption. The worst of both worlds is when you can buy from overseas on line and pay no GST but local retail has to collect it. Also means extra paperwork and costs.

Yes the NAPLAN is crap. A golden rule is , when you try to measure something , the process of taking a measurement can influence the results. All this studying for it is complete crap. Its one of the reasons i don't like politicians simply spending a more on education. Buying the schools a heap of new computers won't fix much.

My personal experiences with public health are that it works. Certainly its better than just about anywhere else. Its deplorable that we have people attacking paramedics. I don't think legalizing the crap they are on will help it though.

Is your internet too slow? Why? If a business has fiber to the curb and needs to upgrade , its a pretty minor business cost to do it.
Meanwhile if some guy out the back of Bourke can't download netflicks, i think thats a **** use for the internet anyway. ( we are talking AVERAGE internet speeds right). After Telstra's crappy old ADSL for years i'm more than happy with the NBN. Some countries have lighting fast internet available , but hardly anyone subscribes, because it costs too much. Would you prefer that?

Inevitably any scientific breakthroughs from Australian research is not capitalized in Australia. Its sold to overseas companies.

Public health is still very good here. I hate paying for private healthcare. You literally get **** all out of it unless you are really sick and have top cover. I had a minor surgery a couple of years ago and it cost a fortune from seeing the specialist to hospital and follow ups. I reckon it would have been about $4000 out of pocket all up for nothing that couldn't have been done in a public hospital. I still had to wait about 2 months until the surgeon could book me in. He works public 3 days a week anyway. A friend had cover and had a baby, was meant to all be covered but the baby had some minor issues and needed an incubator light thing. It went from free to specialist emergency wok or some crap and cost nearly ten thousand out of pocket with a 2 week stay.

After that my wife has to go in for a minor surgery and she chose public, she's booked in next week and only saw the specialist a month ago. Zero out of pocket and the specialist asked her if she wanted to go public or private. Usually they only ask if you have cover.

And once again we see selective ommision of facts.

If the nbn was all fibre to the curb then the argument has merit.

Reality we have a mix of technology, cost blow outs and delayed roll of speeds far worse than intended.

Now some people might be happy with the status quo, which doesn't mean it's an optimal solution.

The comparison of the current disaster to ADSL is a joke.

ADSL was far superior than dial up lol. So therefore we should be happy with ADSL?

As for education...

Computers won't fix it but a lack of technology to equip kids for the 21st century won't fix it either.

Once again I'd laugh if the argument wasn't so ridiculous.

How about instead of helping private schools build swimming pools, we bring public schools up to speed so that all children get an equal opportunity to a proper education?

Blew a heap on political advertising too. They thought they were dumping Labor in the ****. There was some stat doing the rounds in memes that said that the Libs had doubled all the debt accrued by every previous government combined since federation. The way the government describes a surplus from a predicted rise in ore prices (now potentially off the cards because of China and the US having a trade war) is a slight of hand. We look more like Greece post GFC than a stable economic force. We are already in a recession.
Yeh the party of "good economic management" is the biggest load of shit since the Kreuzer cup...

Meanwhile if some guy out the back of Bourke can't download netflicks, i think thats a **** use for the internet anyway. ( we are talking AVERAGE internet speeds right). After Telstra's crappy old ADSL for years i'm more than happy with the NBN. Some countries have lighting fast internet available , but hardly anyone subscribes, because it costs too much. Would you prefer that?

We have both a worse schooling system and a worse nbn system than Kazakhstan... ****ing Kazakhstan....

I'm prefacing I voted Socialist Equality Party, because via la revolution on capitalism as a ruling economic structure.

I had full faith that locally, being Victorian, I will remain in a Labor zone both state and federal, which sees infrastructure meet bodies, instead of just bodies meeting other bodies and tough shit yo. Primarily, as young, middle or old, the Coalition of blue can choke and die on their shit they spew forth from tiny minds elsewhere.

Australia wide, I had full faith the Libs would retain, because I have full faith that the majority do not want change, fear it, and as soon as anything for moving forward was mentioned instead of cutting to give, they would always defer to give to feel comfortable and screw everything else.

Ultimately, we need to move away from the Westminster system, as 2PP bog centre is not a choice. This is not the Time Warp where one takes a step in either direction without being mediocre garbage going nowhere.

Met my first dinky die MAGA nut yesterday. I went into a truck accessory store to buy some gear and this guy started a conversation by asking if I had heard of the idiot who lost $800,000 on a bet he laid that Labour would win the election.

I said no I hadn’t heard, but man that would hurt. Serves him right he says cause it was Turnbulls son.

‘Alex Turnbull?’ I asked. He nods. I say he went pretty hard campaigning against the Libs after his ‘Dad got knifed in the back’.

That was some kind of trigger for the guy. He hit the roof. Accused me of hating on Abbott because I am a sheep. Told me the iconic photo of Abbott in his budgie smugglers was taken 5 minutes after he pulled a drowning girl out of the surf. Also said that Abbott spends an extended amount of time out bush with ‘the abos’ and is the single greatest supporter of indigenous communities amongst all politicians. Also goes on to say he is not a misogynist and if you study his family he quite clearly is pro women and LGBTQ.

I said I don’t think he has been good for Australia and I think he is a divisive leader.

Guy starts shouting asks me to list his divisive policies. 6 seconds later I haven’t said anything he shouts ‘I didn’t think you could. Typical lefty.’

Then he shakes the product scanner in my direction and shouts for everyone in the shop to hear ‘I’ll bet you don’t like Trump either?’.

‘I can’t stand the man’ I say.

Boo Yah! He’s off on a tangent about how Trump has single handedly turned America into the economic powerhouse it currently is and has almost lifted the ‘latinos and blacks’ (his words not mine) out of generational poverty. Actually shouts ‘NO COLLUSION, NO OBSTRUCTION’. Told me I needed to watch more FOX so I could get some balance in my life.

Then he calmly took my $30 bucks and gave me some change. Blew my mind. I said I respect the fact you have an opinion, but I don’t respect your opinion and left.

Always thought I’d have to go stateside to meet a MAGA Trumpian. But seems like we are sprouting our own.

Now my question to the board is has anybody else heard those stories about Abbott? Are they verifiable?

Met my first dinky die MAGA nut yesterday. I went into a truck accessory store to buy some gear and this guy started a conversation by asking if I had heard of the idiot who lost $800,000 on a bet he laid that Labour would win the election.

I said no I hadn’t heard, but man that would hurt. Serves him right he says cause it was Turnbulls son.

‘Alex Turnbull?’ I asked. He nods. I say he went pretty hard campaigning against the Libs after his ‘Dad got knifed in the back’.

That was some kind of trigger for the guy. He hit the roof. Accused me of hating on Abbott because I am a sheep. Told me the iconic photo of Abbott in his budgie smugglers was taken 5 minutes after he pulled a drowning girl out of the surf. Also said that Abbott spends an extended amount of time out bush with ‘the abos’ and is the single greatest supporter of indigenous communities amongst all politicians. Also goes on to say he is not a misogynist and if you study his family he quite clearly is pro women and LGBTQ.

I said I don’t think he has been good for Australia and I think he is a divisive leader.

Guy starts shouting asks me to list his divisive policies. 6 seconds later I haven’t said anything he shouts ‘I didn’t think you could. Typical lefty.’

Then he shakes the product scanner in my direction and shouts for everyone in the shop to hear ‘I’ll bet you don’t like Trump either?’.

Boo Yah! He’s off on a tangent about how Trump has single handedly turned America into the economic powerhouse it currently is and has almost lifted the ‘latinos and blacks’ (his words not mine) out of generational poverty. Actually shouts ‘NO COLLUSION, NO OBSTRUCTION’. Told me I needed to watch more FOX so I could get some balance in my life.

Then he calmly took my $30 bucks and gave me some change. Blew my mind. I said I respect the fact you have an opinion, but I don’t respect your opinion and left.

Always thought I’d have to go stateside to meet a MAGA Trumpian. But seems like we are sprouting our own.

Now my question to the board is has anybody else heard those stories about Abbott? Are they verifiable?

Someone spends too much time on 8chan.

Peta Credlin will speak sweet nothings about Tony

Or his Bum Chum ...Rupert Murdoch but the real guy to talk to would be George Pell very uplifting