Discussion Random Discussion

One of the things i don't like is the leftist concept that a government can spend as much money on anything they like without any negative affect.
The budget is finite.
You can tax the rich, but unfortunately there aren't that many of them.

Gringo was right in one of his earlier posts, we need to stop letting multinationals from just waltzing out with the money.
IT companies in particular seem to have confused our old politicians.

An Iphone or similar probably costs around 40 dollars to produce, any costs are all in the research and development.
So Apple sell them to Apple Australia, at $950 and retail them for $1000.

Alternative ways of taxation need to be devised and put in place.
Yes there are rich corporate heads getting paid stupid money to manage big companies.
But there also seems to be little in the way of motivation for Australians to have their own large businesses, to bring money to our shores.

THe owners of most of our iconic organizations were happy to sell to overseas interests.
I really don't want us to go gunning and rope in the likes of Gerry Harvey.
Unions always pushed the workers vs the bosses agenda. But the truth is "bosses" are far and few between, and its not a matter of what they can afford to pay, its a matter of what they can make.
If Acme International Australia makes a zillion dollars profit , they will still close their doors if they can do the same work at Acme INternational China and earn 2 zillion dollars profit.
Union activity makes their decision easier.

There are not many places with their feet firmly planted in Australia who are making hideous money.

Yeah i know, we need to find some worth while way of making an achievement.

Getting Morrison to come back to Canberra and get photographed with his worry face wont achieve anything.

Closing our coal power stations and covering the power supply shortfall with rolling brownouts, will make us all feel good in our suffering ( do they ever do a rolling brownout through the CBD - or is it only the outer suburbs cop it ). But it won't help anything.

Buying a Prius while the favored vehicles for the daily commute look like Monster Trucks, won't help anything.

Someone needs a plan, both for the environment and Australia, but both Left and Right governments just tweak the status quo.
I agree with this. Throw in the Greens who voted against a CPRS 10 years ago

They had one job.

Transition will take years, but transition must take place if you believe the science and that's all I can go.on.

As for Morrison, he cant put out the fires but he can do his job and lead, not look.like he couldn't care less and bugger off OS while people are dying or losing their homes.

ABC looks after the Liberals?

Are you serious George?

This "government funded broadcaster" is meant to sit in the centre but it sits to the left and far left to be honest. It favours Labour and the Greens.

I can't stand the station anymore. Its a disgrace.
Give us an example of 'far left' from the ABC.

All you do is mouth IPA talking points.

I think the real issue is they make it an economic arguement, but it's not actually very honest. It more holds the old model together to help out the corporations that pay the most contributions to the major parties. Renewable technology would have been something we could have sold to the rest of the world. Being the best wagon builders in the age of the truck is just bad business. New technology can be a commodity, we seem to fight against innovation and use the financial argument but aren't really honest about it.

Countries like Israel spend a lot on development of all sorts of technologies and make themselves wealthy selling that tech. Everything from agriculture to weapons and anti missile tech. We seem to dig shit up and nothing else. We should have a few strings to our bow just in case.

Have mentioned his name before Noam Chomsky really like the way he delivers stuff mainly by books.

The 10 principles of concentration of Wealth & Power in the current world

**** 3 number 1 ‘s

Reduce Demogracy , Shape Idealogy & Redesign the Economy

2 ) Shift the Burden

3 ) Attack Solidarity

4) Run the Regulators

5 ) Engineer Elections

6 ) Keep the rabble in line

7 ) Manufacture Consent

8 ) Marginlize the Population

Encourage anyone to read his books, quiet thought provoking individual, who along with Chris Hedges
are my heroes in the literature world .

Look up The Trilateral Commission and the sinister undertones it has set up by Rockefeller.

As said before will I change things ...no chance ...but is nice to be informed about it .

ABC looks after the Liberals?

Are you serious George?

This "government funded broadcaster" is meant to sit in the centre but it sits to the left and far left to be honest. It favours Labour and the Greens.

I can't stand the station anymore. Its a disgrace.

I have friends who work at the ABC, it's pretty much a left of the mainstream Chanels but not like it used to be. The coalition are trying to take it's teeth out. It's the only independent media source for most Aussies. I think you are probably a bit indoctrinated so you see the ABC as a hard left service when they actually report without bias and these days are scared to even do that because funding gets cut if they make trouble.

Have mentioned his name before Noam Chomsky really like the way he delivers stuff mainly by books.

The 10 principles of concentration of Wealth & Power in the current world

**** 3 number 1 ‘s

Reduce Demogracy , Shape Idealogy & Redesign the Economy

2 ) Shift the Burden

3 ) Attack Solidarity

4) Run the Regulators

5 ) Engineer Elections

6 ) Keep the rabble in line

7 ) Manufacture Consent

8 ) Marginlize the Population

Encourage anyone to read his books, quiet thought provoking individual, who along with Chris Hedges
are my heroes in the literature world .

Look up The Trilateral Commission and the sinister undertones it has set up by Rockefeller.

As said before will I change things ...no chance ...but is nice to be informed about it .

Yeah, I used to be a lot more political and used to be a big fan boy of Chomsky. I have kind of given up on utopian ideals and just accept that while financial interests have a firm grasp on politics nothing will change. Usually societies just end up so inequitable the whole thing ends in tears. If the wealth distribution doesn't change it could get ugly, especially with angry youth and an unpredictable climate. I just want to live comfortably in a safe stable country where there isn't a huge wealth divide. They are usually the best ones to live in.

Give us an example of 'far left' from the ABC.

All you do is mouth IPA talking points.

If we go "tradition":

ABC leans left
Nein! leans right
Seven prefers a parma and the races whilst on the beach
Ten is surprised it can count that high and is amazed that people still watch

SBS runs around in circles speaking nonsense whilst scantily clad

If we go what actually occurs

ABC sways with the wind
Nein! leans right
Seven tries to belittle it
Ten generally doesn't give much of a damn and does something else
SBS still runs around in circles speaking nonsense whilst scantily clad

One of the things i don't like is the leftist concept that a government can spend as much money on anything they like without any negative affect.
The budget is finite.
You can tax the rich, but unfortunately there aren't that many of them.

Gringo was right in one of his earlier posts, we need to stop letting multinationals from just waltzing out with the money.
IT companies in particular seem to have confused our old politicians.

An Iphone or similar probably costs around 40 dollars to produce, any costs are all in the research and development.
So Apple sell them to Apple Australia, at $950 and retail them for $1000.

Alternative ways of taxation need to be devised and put in place.
Yes there are rich corporate heads getting paid stupid money to manage big companies.
But there also seems to be little in the way of motivation for Australians to have their own large businesses, to bring money to our shores.

THe owners of most of our iconic organizations were happy to sell to overseas interests.
I really don't want us to go gunning and rope in the likes of Gerry Harvey.
Unions always pushed the workers vs the bosses agenda. But the truth is "bosses" are far and few between, and its not a matter of what they can afford to pay, its a matter of what they can make.
If Acme International Australia makes a zillion dollars profit , they will still close their doors if they can do the same work at Acme INternational China and earn 2 zillion dollars profit.
Union activity makes their decision easier.

There are not many places with their feet firmly planted in Australia who are making hideous money.

You can spend to make money though. Dumb spending is dumb. Sometimes what looks like dumb spending isn't though. Like the GP in Melbourne. The governments spend something like $2million but it puts a massive amount of people through hotels, casino, taxis, restaurants bars etc. It generates itself back. Susidising the auto industry made much more back even in income tax from workers but also kept 1000s of small businesses pumping along. Giving big mining corps huge rebates on fuel while they pay lower taxes doesn't stack up unless I'm not seeing it. Economists will tell you that spending when borrowing is cheap and the economy is flat is good because again it stimulates momentum. Borrowing and spending can be good, you just have to be clever about it.

Things like MONA in Tasmania (was set up privately) has become a huge tourist destination and employer. It again sets up all the hotels and restaurants as well. The government has just cut off the Arts funding model and merged the ministerial role. To me that's again the same ideological model the ****ed the car industry. Governments posturing to their base and their corporate backers is the next worst act after straight corruption.

Ah the ABC, and how left it is?

Try doing a media count, there's a lot more right wing than left wing, just for example Channels, 7, 9, 10 and Fox vs ABC and SBS, I can't even imagine how the radio stations and news papers compare but I'd expect that the right wing bias would be overwhelming.

The ABC and SBS are the only two that have an enforceable charter for balanced reporting, the rest have voluntary charters that they ignore with impunity.

Under Howard there was a rolling investigation into ABC left wing bias that even though it was being conducted by the right wing came back with the verdict that the ABC ran a marginal right wing bias.

How many of us assume that we're middle of the road when we can be extreme without acknowledging it?

What really stuffs us is the human brain, as well as I can understand, the three parts of the human brain, for the sake of ease we'll call them reptilian, mammalian and neo cortex.
The Reptilian brain deals with feeding, fighting and fornicating.
The Mammalian brain deals with emotion.
The Neo Cortex deals with rational thought.
Up to the age of seven the reptillian brain fires all over the joint, the nerve ending in the brains that fire the synapses need to develop a coating that allows proper message transmission, there's a reason why we don't leave kiddies under the age of seven on their own, they simply aren't mentally developed enough to save their own lives, between the age of 7 and 14 those coatings develop.
The Mammalian brain has much the same problems but with emotional development we gradually mature until the age of 21 when things start to consolidate and we become biological adults.
The Neo Cortex deals with logical thought, reasoning, spatial awareness etc and the nerve endings start to coat over from the age of 21 through to 28. So we're not actually capable of truly rational thought until we're 28 and even then we've got some work to do.

And here's the kicker number one, all this depends on the effects of drugs and alcohol, for every day we have a drink or a puff or whatever your drug of choice is our brains development is stopped. I've known men and women in their 30's to 60's who have had a drink or a puff every day since they were 14 their minds are still 14 years old, there emotional responses are still 14 and their rational thought is still 14, but they genuinely think they're whatever age they are.
Kicker number two, we aren't rational, our thoughts start in our reptilian brain and work their way forwards, we have emotions that we rationalise, the rationalisation becomes the justification of our emotions. For every communication look at the person's emotion, what are they expressing? Love or hate? Anger, frustration, humour, contempt, kindness, compassion? Understand the emotion because that's where the truth is.

We all want to be right, some of us want to be the smartest man in the room, some want an outlet for self righteous anger, some to be more morally correct than any one else (vegans), one thing for sure the more emotional we are the more invested in our belief the less rational we are, and the more we rationalise; for those that rail against a person, an institution or a cause take the time to be self critical to really look hard at the emotion and why it is so important to our sense of self.

And here's the kicker number one, all this depends on the effects of drugs and alcohol, for every day we have a drink or a puff or whatever your drug of choice is our brains development is stopped. I've known men and women in their 30's to 60's who have had a drink or a puff every day since they were 14 their minds are still 14 years old, there emotional responses are still 14 and their rational thought is still 14, but they genuinely think they're whatever age they are.

Is that really a thing?

Just turn on the channel Sticks. You will see it after 5 mins. Maybe 30.
Not anecdotal, gives us verified examples or it looks like opinionated confirmation bias.
Because you say so doesn't make it true.

Not anecdotal, gives us verified examples or it looks like opinionated confirmation bias.
Because you say so doesn't make it true.

The ABC and SBS are the left leaning Ying to the commercial channels' right leaning Yang. That's where true balance lies. I watch ABC, SBS World News, dabble in 7, mainly for sport and footy and a number of overseas news channels, whose standards seem much better than ours.

The German news is of special interest because my brother and entire extended family lives there and I'm fluent in the Sprache of the Fatherland. Journalistic and broadcasting standards are high in comparison to ours.

In the end you are the ultimate censor in what you watch and believe. Don't like it? Change the channel.

Personally I reckon the ABC is a bit leftie for me on some things. But it’s the only game in town - the commercial channels do such a terrible job of “news” (when it’s not about sport) that it’s unwatchable.

To your point Drake Huggins, other countries are a bit better. I think it just comes down to population - we’re tiny by world standards which means the gene pool to draw on for this stuff is tiny.

Read the below article, it's the sort of far left wing lunacy that exists in media land. How a moron like this self made reporter gets to ask the PM a question is part of the problem.

Anyway, it's time to celebrate Xmas. Plenty of beer and ham will be digested in the next few days. Good luck to the firies also! Get the job done guys and girls.

'That's rubbish': Morrison blasts reporter
c41bc5c1ad327434b9746f3e337141ad

Benjamin Graham
The Prime Minister has hit out at a reports he was in New York City for the opening of a Hillsong church around the time of the Hawaii holiday.
At his press conference, he reacted angrily to the "leftfield" question about the allegation kicked off by freelance journalist and self-described media analyst Julian Evans.
"That's rubbish," Mr Morrison said when questioned on claims he was in New York with Hillsong founder Brian Houston.
"Who is suggesting I was in New York?" he asked.
The reporter eventually revealed the report had come from the Daily Mail.
"What would they know?" Mr Morrison bit back.
“That’s rubbish…If you’re going to ask me a question about something as specific as that, you might actually tell me the source of what it is based on.
"So someone, somewhere, has started some rumour about apparently me being in New York and we’re going to ask that in the middle of the bushfires? I mean? Seriously!"

scomo-1.jpg

Picture: Jane Dempster/The Australian

The report in the Daily Mail was from Mr Evans, best known for cutting off NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian in a press conference earlier this month.
Mr Evans runs his own outlet, called Focus News Channel, and hypothesised Mr Morrison's secrecy about his holiday to Hawaii could mean he was somewhere else.
"I'm hearing reports that place missing Australian PM Scott Morrison in New York," Mr Evans told the publication.
"Due to Scott's unusually secret approach to movement, FNC is unable to confirm at this hour where Morrison is and who he is secretly meeting with. 'ScoMo' will reportedly be in NY for 5 days."

Personally I reckon the ABC is a bit leftie for me on some things. But it’s the only game in town - the commercial channels do such a terrible job of “news” (when it’s not about sport) that it’s unwatchable.

To your point Drake Huggins, other countries are a bit better. I think it just comes down to population - we’re tiny by world standards which means the gene pool to draw on for this stuff is tiny.

The BBC was very pro Brexit in the lead up to the vote. I think it's the way of the world now, independent media is going...well all old school media is going really.

Read the below article, it's the sort of far left wing lunacy that exists in media land. How a moron like this self made reporter gets to ask the PM a question is part of the problem.

Anyway, it's time to celebrate Xmas. Plenty of beer and ham will be digested in the next few days. Good luck to the firies also! Get the job done guys and girls.

'That's rubbish': Morrison blasts reporter
c41bc5c1ad327434b9746f3e337141ad

Benjamin Graham
The Prime Minister has hit out at a reports he was in New York City for the opening of a Hillsong church around the time of the Hawaii holiday.
At his press conference, he reacted angrily to the "leftfield" question about the allegation kicked off by freelance journalist and self-described media analyst Julian Evans.
"That's rubbish," Mr Morrison said when questioned on claims he was in New York with Hillsong founder Brian Houston.
"Who is suggesting I was in New York?" he asked.
The reporter eventually revealed the report had come from the Daily Mail.
"What would they know?" Mr Morrison bit back.
“That’s rubbish…If you’re going to ask me a question about something as specific as that, you might actually tell me the source of what it is based on.
"So someone, somewhere, has started some rumour about apparently me being in New York and we’re going to ask that in the middle of the bushfires? I mean? Seriously!"

scomo-1.jpg

Picture: Jane Dempster/The Australian

The report in the Daily Mail was from Mr Evans, best known for cutting off NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian in a press conference earlier this month.
Mr Evans runs his own outlet, called Focus News Channel, and hypothesised Mr Morrison's secrecy about his holiday to Hawaii could mean he was somewhere else.
"I'm hearing reports that place missing Australian PM Scott Morrison in New York," Mr Evans told the publication.
"Due to Scott's unusually secret approach to movement, FNC is unable to confirm at this hour where Morrison is and who he is secretly meeting with. 'ScoMo' will reportedly be in NY for 5 days."

Hardly hard left, just shit journalism. Unchecked "facts" make you look like dumb campaigner. That's like saying Alan Jones is a hard right lunatic. He's a lunatic but he's not hard right, he is just a **** wit.

You do realise that the Daily Mail is a shit rag like a Herald Sun type thing?

I bought myself a bottle of Nikka Japanese single malt for Christmas and did a taste test along side a bottle of Johnny Walker Black that I have had for about 20 years in storage and didn't realise was still there. The old Johnny is like manna, so smooth and rich. I think it proves you leave anything long enough and it tastes amazing. The Japanese whiskey tastes like petrol in comparison. I still reckon for value Glenmorangie is the best value in scotch though.

Is that really a thing?
It's really, really a thing and the implications are immense, should the voting age be lifted to 28 should we be not allowed to drive cars until 28 all under the proviso of the lifetimes consumption of alcohol? Think of the people you know that drink/dope regularly and check their emotional maturity. Ever wonder why all the drunks at the pub sing the same songs?

I bought myself a bottle of Nikka Japanese single malt for Christmas and did a taste test along side a bottle of Johnny Walker Black that I have had for about 20 years in storage and didn't realise was still there. The old Johnny is like manna, so smooth and rich. I think it proves you leave anything long enough and it tastes amazing. The Japanese whiskey tastes like petrol in comparison. I still reckon for value Glenmorangie is the best value in scotch though.
Haven't had a drink for 3 weeks :(

Is that really a thing?

For massive alcoholics yes, alcohol at its base messes with the brains signals, hence slowed speech, delayed motor functions and sometimes complete memory loss, unlike nicotine and smoking however, the brain can also repair itself, so if you did drink to excess and are a massive alcoholic there is still hope simply through moderation. Unlike nicotine where if you say have cancer, you jump through hoops and hope.

Primarily as one drug voids the body of a life source in water, it's a dehydrating agent which is why it being refreshing on hot days has always made me laugh, the other, is literally like a disease and eats at/deforms healthy tissues.
Both are a choice.

Haven't had a drink for 3 weeks :(

Jesus, Christmas without liquor is a nightmare. How are you doing? Any improvement?