Discussion Random Discussion

Yes we've met up matchday. Marvel has the Garden Gate bar which gets used as the meetup point. I don't think theres been any meetup outside of the football though.
I've met up with Mowman and Barrels at a couple of games.
Lets have a cold one at the next game, when ever that is

Sir Keir Starmer elected leader of the Labour Party here. Why do you use the American spelling of Labor, by the way? Anyway, he's a former Director of Public Prosecutions and more centrist than Corbyn, though I wouldn't dismiss him as Blair mark II. The right wing media won't be able to caricature him in the way they did Corbyn. I hope he can rid us of the Tories soon.

Because we so want to be America that it is painful to listen to people sometimes, and in like 1910 the party decided to adopt in line with American "labor" movement and dropped the U, as if they ultimaetly gave a damn about us and what we did or do.

Guys, is there a difference in definition between a bogan and an ocker, or are the terms interchangeable? I'm sure there are probably differences you all pick up on immediately. Is one term more insulting than the other?

Ocker is an old fashioned term. No one under 60 would use it. People under 30 probably wouldn't have heard of it. It's like something from the 1940s when women were called Sheilas. A bit like London cockney, a few still have a go at holding onto it a bit but it's more for show. Bogan is more of a slur but even they aren't common any more. We have ironic hipsters dressing like 1980s Joe Mangel types but they probably play in bands and eat vegan.

Your outer suburban or country guy probably goes to the gym, has waxed nuts, sleeve tatts and a stupid poncey hairstyle. Think Jordan De Goey.

We have little sportswear thugs that call themselves Eshays and dress like your UK council flat kids in designer labels and think they are little gangsters now in place of the bogans.

These guys are your ironic bogan band types. It's like going to the Gold Coast in the '80s watching this clip.

Ocker is an old fashioned term. No one under 60 would use it. People under 30 probably wouldn't have heard of it. It's like something from the 1940s when women were called Sheilas. A bit like London cockney, a few still have a go at holding onto it a bit but it's more for show. Bogan is more of a slur but even they aren't common any more. We have ironic hipsters dressing like 1980s Joe Mangel types but they probably play in bands and eat vegan.

Your outer suburban or country guy probably goes to the gym, has waxed nuts, sleeve tatts and a stupid poncey hairstyle. Think Jordan De Goey.

We have little sportswear thugs that call themselves Eshays and dress like your UK council flat kids in designer labels and think they are little gangsters now in place of the bogans.

These guys are your ironic bogan band types. It's like going to the Gold Coast in the '80s watching this clip.

MUF - I don't know where you live but (corona virus excepting) here's some exciting aussie bogan/ocker rock news for you

1586035567718.png

Interestingly, I still use ocker a fair bit to describe people, especially in conversations amongst and about Fijians who have immigrated here. I kind of use it in place of ‘dinky di’ but maybe I’m using it wrong?

For example, I might say that my mates kids are ‘ocker as’ meaning their values, humour and general behaviour are pure Australian. And I’m trying to say that lovingly.

I would classify Bogan as more of an insult implying an elevated level of vulgarity and crassness.

Nothing wrong with having a little bit of Bogan in you, better than being a 2 bob snob wannabe
Should be as clear as mud now MUFKilda

And if you ever come out here, I will take you for a drive down to Frankston just to clear it up

Pretty sure there were still "Sheila's " round in the 70s. More something the oldies would say though.
"When you going to get yourself a sheila "?
Ockers to me were , rough about, unsophisticated, but not necessarily to be ashamed of.
A fair dinkum, true blue Ocker, would wear it like a badge of honour.

Interestingly, I still use ocker a fair bit to describe people, especially in conversations amongst and about Fijians who have immigrated here. I kind of use it in place of ‘dinky di’ but maybe I’m using it wrong?

For example, I might say that my mates kids are ‘ocker as’ meaning their values, humour and general behaviour are pure Australian. And I’m trying to say that lovingly.

I would classify Bogan as more of an insult implying an elevated level of vulgarity and crassness.

Too many people now are ashamed to look, act, or sound Australian.
yeah much cooler to be an illiterate american gangsta.

I love local dialects and words that have no meaning outside a particular area. Some of your Australian examples are superb. So an ocker is just your rough around the edges Aussie bloke: your Joe Mangel. Bogan is more socially unacceptable, yes? Here in the UK, you hear the word 'chav' a lot, which I guess would be the equivalent of bogan; but there are many local variations. Here in Manchester we use scally, as in scallywag; Scotland use ned (non educated delinquent). We don't have a word for the quintessential old school northern bloke: flat cap, pie and chips, best bitter, pigeon coop in the back yard. Probably because there are very few left!

Too many people now are ashamed to look, act, or sound Australian.
yeah much cooler to be an illiterate american gangsta.

If you listen to old media clips, announcers always had a posh English Oxford educated style voice. I think we've always been a bit embarrassed about being Aussie.

I love local dialects and words that have no meaning outside a particular area. Some of your Australian examples are superb. So an ocker is just your rough around the edges Aussie bloke: your Joe Mangel. Bogan is more socially unacceptable, yes? Here in the UK, you hear the word 'chav' a lot, which I guess would be the equivalent of bogan; but there are many local variations. Here in Manchester we use scally, as in scallywag; Scotland use ned (non educated delinquent). We don't have a word for the quintessential old school northern bloke: flat cap, pie and chips, best bitter, pigeon coop in the back yard. Probably because there are very few left!

Yep, a Chav is the same idea, sort of lower socioeconomic unsophisticated and ridiculed by the larger population. Back in the 1970s we had a youth subculture that was like our own version of skinheads or punks that seemed to be a bit of a precursor. Older people reckon they were more tough by the sound of it though. Bogan is a lifestyle more than a movement.

If you listen to old media clips, announcers always had a posh English Oxford educated style voice. I think we've always been a bit embarrassed about being Aussie.

Nothing at all to be embarrassed about. I would take Australian culture/accent/dialect over American every time. I can't be doing with American sports and political/economic culture.

Yep, a Chav is the same idea, sort of lower socioeconomic unsophisticated and ridiculed by the larger population. Back in the 1970s we had a youth subculture that was like our own version of skinheads or punks that seemed to be a bit of a precursor. Older people reckon they were more tough by the sound of it though. Bogan is a lifestyle more than a movement.

Carol Jerrems took some great photos back in the 70s of sharpies.

It wasn't all daggy haircuts neither.

IMG_2276.JPG
Carol (she died age 30)

IMG_2275.JPG

IMG_2272.JPG

Even our Billionaires try to look American

Mike-cannon-brookes-headshot.jpg

What is a manc twonk, and what’s a div?.

I really enjoyed an idiot abroad but some of the terms are unfamiliar, would they be considered part of the local dialect? Also scallywag was used here when I was a kid, usually to describe a child but not exclusively who had some mischief in them but wasn’t a bad kid.

I still use scallywag, but then, I also enjoy silent theatre and am only 35 so a bit of an oddity among my peers.

I also believe manc is shorthand for Manchester and twonk is a form of idiot. I have a friend in Leeds and flew into Manchester, and after first beign jet lagged hearing her GPS speaking Imperial and going "I so CBF mental mathing right now, Ima nap" I got a crash course in not recognising my own accent and words to look out for before I napped again on her couch.

Div I've NFI.

Twonk I really don't know. A div is someone being stupid/embarrassing, much like your dag. Bobbins is a great Manchester word, meaning something of poor quality.