Discussion Random Discussion

I find it tough. I do my lawns 13 times a day but don’t get paid a cent. I need to go back to work

If you come and do mine i can give you a cent.
Actually my back half acre, was getting kind of long and i was starting to think about getting motivated, when my neighbour who has livestock, asked if he could mow it so as to throw the clippings over the fence to his critters.
Shit Yeah!!!

If you come and do mine i can give you a cent.
Actually my back half acre, was getting kind of long and i was starting to think about getting motivated, when my neighbour who has livestock, asked if you could mow it so as to throw the clippings over the fence to his critters.
sh*t Yeah!!!
Mulch mowing is the go. I would do 40 lawns a week and never catch the grass.

31 degrees, which is almost unheard of in the north of England. Survival is a matter of planning for such extremes. The wife has gone over my hair again with the clippers, to minimise heat retention. Cold shower followed by sitting in the shade beside a fan on full blast. Pints of ice cold mineral water to keep hydrated and avoid overheating. I think we can last out a few days this way; beyond that it's in the lap of the Gods. Pray for us.

I can't sleep in this heat and I feel sick. Our little Shih Tzu has been pacing around all night, even with the fan on. How do you Aussies cope with this and sleep at night? 25 degrees at night is intolerable. 4:30 a.am and I'm going in the garden.

Try an Air Conditioner, basically a fridge with a fan they can heat and cool.

I hate it with a passion, keep hydrated and take a cool shower.

A wet face cloth around your neck or just wiping your neck etc will increase the effect of your fan, and try not to think about how bloody hot it is.

Those of us without aircon are used to it.

Towel/cloth/something +ice, back of neck to cool core body temp, then as you noted hydration, shade and cooling the air around you when you feel you need to "cool down". Then it's breaking through what you need to do in the day vs what you can delay until a brake in weather pattern and how much shame you have.

If you're the engineering type, you can also set up a frame behind a pedestal fan to then further provide a cooler band of air to you as well, you just need to find something for the drips that would then occur. So there are solutions available.

Then it's simply a situation of hot air rises, so try a futon set up if you feel that you can't get a proper nights sleep on a "normal" western bed raised in a frame. Sure, it may not be as comfortable as a whatever sort of mattress you have, but you also generally sleep better as opposed to feeling overburdened and suffocated in "hot air" in a room.

I will however say, pray that you do not reach 40+, dust storms are shit and your onyl reward is more cleaning. Bastard things...

Those of us without aircon are used to it.

Towel/cloth/something +ice, back of neck to cool core body temp, then as you noted hydration, shade and cooling the air around you when you feel you need to "cool down". Then it's breaking through what you need to do in the day vs what you can delay until a brake in weather pattern and how much shame you have.

If you're the engineering type, you can also set up a frame behind a pedestal fan to then further provide a cooler band of air to you as well, you just need to find something for the drips that would then occur. So there are solutions available.

Then it's simply a situation of hot air rises, so try a futon set up if you feel that you can't get a proper nights sleep on a "normal" western bed raised in a frame. Sure, it may not be as comfortable as a whatever sort of mattress you have, but you also generally sleep better as opposed to feeling overburdened and suffocated in "hot air" in a room.

I will however say, pray that you do not reach 40+, dust storms are sh*t and your onyl reward is more cleaning. Bastard things...

I'm dying, mate, and haven't had a wink of sleep tonight. I would never survive 40 degrees; surely it's better being dead! 20 is perfect for us; 25 is okay in the day, but not at night! The dog and me are trying to cool off in the garden! Wife is asleep, but I can't handle it. Bring back the rain!

There was a time when we couldn't use trains for a few days, as the lines were kinda heated and failed. Twas fun times getting places, I also remember being in Melb CBD during CNY celebrations, was 39 outside generally like 6-12% dew point or something, I had water hat and co, woke up on the pavement about halfway through, threw up from heatstroke in a random pub when we then ditched because "potential body heat", and went home via free taxi as connections and that was me done for the day.

So yeah, you get used to it, and nah you'll be fine, because unlike say the cool change being a drop from that 39 to 31ish with dry thunderstorm or the 20's with the actual thunderstorm, you'll just have a clean break since your weather patterns are more moderate than ours.

There was a time when we couldn't use trains for a few days, as the lines were kinda heated and failed. Twas fun times getting places, I also remember being in Melb CBD during CNY celebrations, was 39 outside generally like 6-12% dew point or something, I had water hat and co, woke up on the pavement about halfway through, threw up from heatstroke in a random pub when we then ditched because "potential body heat", and went home via free taxi as connections and that was me done for the day.

So yeah, you get used to it, and nah you'll be fine, because unlike say the cool change being a drop from that 39 to 31ish with dry thunderstorm or the 20's with the actual thunderstorm, you'll just have a clean break since your weather patterns are more moderate than ours.
I just try to ignore it and that seems to work ok for the first couple of days when we get heatwaves.

I just don’t do the gee it’s hot stuff and stay out of the heat, drink plenty of water use all the tricks to stay cool. I don’t have aircon except in the front of the house so the bedrooms and back living area are murderous.

Anyway by about day three I’m a whisker of going full Brittany spears, shave my head and run down the street naked. I missed my chance to move when my kids were young I wanted to go but my wife was lukewarm at best. Now their all getting married and have lives and jobs etc I’m resigned to just being stuck here. After covid I will be looking to summer somewhere cooler as often as I can though.

I just try to ignore it and that seems to work ok for the first couple of days when we get heatwaves.

I just don’t do the gee it’s hot stuff and stay out of the heat, drink plenty of water use all the tricks to stay cool. I don’t have aircon except in the front of the house so the bedrooms and back living area are murderous.

Anyway by about day three I’m a whisker of going full Brittany spears, shave my head and run down the street naked. I missed my chance to move when my kids were young I wanted to go but my wife was lukewarm at best. Now there all getting married and have lives and jobs etc I’m resigned to just being stuck here. After covid I will be looking to summer somewhere cooler as often as I can though.

Nah mine was health related, we assume postnatal drip, "sinus + lung" area is clean we just couldn't narrow down why there was so much mucus down the back of the throat which lead to dehydration issues.

Recessive genes have to go somewhere, sucks on my end that it's me, but hey, I'm still a badarse, just a smarter one.

You've just got to laugh at this point.
You could even laugh at those who won’t download it because they are worried about something that isn’t there. Maybe if we downloaded
It then it could have done the job. We will never know but what I do is some stupid Victorian’s who obviously haven’t done the right thing by social distancing have stuffed us up and probably stopped all footy crowds this year. Friggin dickheads.

You could even laugh at those who won’t download it because they are worried about something that isn’t there. Maybe if we downloaded
It then it could have done the job. We will never know but what I do is some stupid Victorian’s who obviously haven’t done the right thing by social distancing have stuffed us up and probably stopped all footy crowds this year. Friggin dickheads.

Side 1: "it's working, to say it's not working is incorrect, look at this work, isn't it doing its job"
Side 2: "there's issues, do better, where'd all my contacts go and why do I suddenly feel alone"
Plugger: "Bloody stupid Victorians, dickheads"

Metro madness.

Side 1: "it's working, to say it's not working is incorrect, look at this work, isn't it doing its job"
Side 2: "there's issues, do better, where'd all my contacts go and why do I suddenly feel alone"
Plugger: "Bloody stupid Victorians, dickheads"

Metro madness.
Some bloody stupid victorians. Most aren’t

I laugh at recent reports of 'recent returnees refusing' Covid tests. I was there a couple of weeks ago. It is explained very clearly that it is voluntary. SOmeone knocks on your door at 7am and asks if you want the test. I'm happy to take it, do the right thing as I am soon to be with elderly parents etc. But if I have young kids, still in bed, in the midst of passion etc...it might not happen. If it is important (which I think it is) then it wouldn't hurt to market it, explain to returnees why it is so important, make it a more convenient process etc. Make it difficult to justify refusal, 99% will do it no problem. I don't have the covid safe app solely because I don't know how to use the bloody phone!

You've just got to laugh at this point.

not entirely, did you read the article?

first paragraph:
" The federal government's COVIDSafe app has not identified any close contacts of a person infected with coronavirus who had not already been found through manual contact tracing, despite being downloaded by more than 6 million Australians in two months. "

the idea behind agile software development is that are you release the minimum viable product as soon as possible then refine from there. given the position the government was in with an upward trend of infection, it made sense to roll it out ASAP and then refine the issues as they were found.

since then our trend has gone in the right direction and the app is more of a measure that should only be needed when outbreaks occur, which is what is happening in melbourne now. almost all who have had the infection here have been those who are in quarantine from arriving overseas. so it's no surprise that the 6 million user's who have installed it haven't been exposed.

the test would be the low levels of community transmission you have now only recently seen in victoria.

since then Apple and Google have implemented their own Covid tracking API. which Bill Shorten has absolutely nailed what our position should be moving forward:
" Mr Shorten said consideration should now be given to whether Australia should follow Britain's lead and switch to the Apple-Google contact exposure alert system, which most technology experts recommend as it is supported by both technology giants and was built with privacy in mind. "

but let's remember this option was not available when the app was first released and we were rightfully looking for speed of rollout over functionality.

Some bloody stupid victorians. Most aren’t

I'd support a new rule that says you are permitted to punch your arm out as hard as you like as long as you don't move your feet.
If you happen to hit someone in the face its ok.
( Don't forget to wash the blood off with soap afterwards ).

31 degrees, which is almost unheard of in the north of England. Survival is a matter of planning for such extremes. The wife has gone over my hair again with the clippers, to minimise heat retention. Cold shower followed by sitting in the shade beside a fan on full blast. Pints of ice cold mineral water to keep hydrated and avoid overheating. I think we can last out a few days this way; beyond that it's in the lap of the Gods. Pray for us.

b01bb93f80f446d3e5be9f832b6ac73b.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Ok I’m leaving facebook because it gives me the shits , especially the guy that owns it . I am going onto Instagram and yes I know it’s the same guy but Facebook sucks in my view . Anyone want me to follow their Instagram page let me know . My Instagram I’d is bagga2007 , is that all the info you need ?

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Now imagine sitting inside a portable school classroom with no aircon on 40 degree days. That's straya.

The GuardianVictoria's 'silent tragedy' of Indigenous suicide sparks calls for urgent intervention

Calla Wahlquist with Australian Associated Press

a large orange umbrella: Between January 2009 and April this year, 117 Indigenous Victorians took their own lives.
© Photograph: Darrian Traynor/Getty Images Between January 2009 and April this year, 117 Indigenous Victorians took their own lives.

Nearly two-thirds of Indigenous Victorians who take their lives had experienced abuse before their deaths, while a quarter experienced bullying, a report by Victoria’s coroner’s court has revealed.
Related: Trauma and poverty behind suicide of 13 Indigenous youth, inquest finds
Between January 2009 and April this year, 117 Indigenous Victorians took their own lives. They are among 7,000 Victorians who died by suicide in that period.
The figure means Indigenous deaths from suicide make up 1.6% of deaths, while Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people represent 0.8% of the state’s total population.
Jill Gallagher, chief executive of Victorian Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisations, said the report showed a tragic and unacceptable rise in suicide rates.
It follows calls for a national strategy for Indigenous suicide prevention, after a Senate inquiry described the suicide crisis among remote Aboriginal communities as “Australia’s shame”.
“We can’t allow this silent tragedy to continue any more,” Gallagher said. “We know our families and communities are hurting. This is a failure of the system once again. The evidence is beyond dispute. It’s unacceptable and time to act.”
Gallagher said the Aboriginal community needed “urgent answers” to the disproportionate rate of suicide, and called for the government to begin immediate talks with the Aboriginal community-controlled health sector to introduce “solutions focused on family healing, prevention and post-vention supports”.
“Improving clinical services and responses remains critical, but our responses must go much deeper,” Gallagher said. “We know that Aboriginal youth suicide especially is not solely a mental health issue – it is an outcome of complex interrelated factors that are rooted in intergenerational trauma.”
The corner’s report reveals Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people experienced higher rates of contact with the justice system, substance use and interpersonal stressors before their deaths, compared with non-Indigenous Victorians.
Figures up to 2016 reveal 62% had been diagnosed with mental illness before their death, compared with 55% of all Victorians.
A quarter of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people experienced bullying compared with 12% of all Victorians.
Thirty-six per cent experienced family violence with a partner, compared with 16% of all Victorians, and 82% experienced substance use or misuse compared with 47% of all Victorians.
Abuse was experienced by 62% of Indigenous Victorians before their deaths, compared with 33% of all Victorians.
Indigenous Victorians were also more likely to have experienced conflict with a partner or family members, family violence, substance abuse or misuse and legal issues before their deaths, compared with Victorians overall.
The report shows a spike in Indigenous deaths from suicide in 2018 and 2019, but notes it’s unclear if the figures represent an actual increase or if it can be attributed to increased identification.
The court employed Troy Williamson as Koori family engagement coordinator last year.
Related: 'Unspeakable': how can Australia stop the Indigenous suicide epidemic?
“This is valuable data,” Williamson said. “It can inform existing programs and strengthen our communities’ culturally safe response to Aboriginal wellbeing.”
The report comes one year after the coroner’s court in Western Australia released the findings of a long-awaited inquiry into the deaths of 13 young Aboriginal people by suicide in the Kimberley. The youngest was just 10 years old when she took her life in 2016.
That report found that intergenerational trauma and poverty were the common links in the lives of those who had died from suicide, and in many cases they had also lost a close family member to suicide.
That inquiry found a history of sexual abuse, poor early childhood nutrition and development, and families rife with alcohol abuse and domestic violence. It was the 41st report into Aboriginal suicide in WA since 2002.
• In Australia, the crisis support service Lifeline is 13 11 14. In the US, the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is 1-800-273-8255. In the UK, Samaritans can be contacted on 116 123. Other international suicide helplines can be found at befrienders.org
The Samaritans offer support and advice to people feeling suicidal or vulnerable 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.