Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Dams are horribly environmentally damaging and if you want clear power or water then there are better ways to get it.

+1

Both party's waste millions.

And some people wonder why trump won.

Which I alluded to in my original post - the dissatisfaction with politicians in general. It's real and its out there and I got slayed for it.....if One Nation managed to somehow get a charismatic intelligent leader, (lets hope not fro all our sakes). Then both of the major parties are in trouble. Qld for one will vote for them....the incompetence is mind boggling.

You must be ******* kidding? Level crossings absolutely **** traffic flow for miles around. We would have lost a hundred times the amount spent in wasted time and fuel from people sitting in their cars waiting for ******* boom gates.

Its on the infrastructure to do list but as I have said several times there were projects that were more deserving, (and yes we all know the east west deal made by the Libs was terrible).....

A dam that probably would have generated some hydroelectric capability, vs a desal plant which uses electricity all the time even on standby (90MW)- yep, I can see which one is more environmentally friendly. Oh, did I tell you that desal plant discharges all the salinity and chemicals back in the sea?

And I don't want any crap about the so called wind farms proposed to offset the desal plant. Because they wouldn't have needed to be built or could have been used to offset other energy usage. Not to mention the energy consumption required to build the wind farms in the first place.

Funnily, I don't see the current government doing anything to cut water usage. Just order the damn thing from the desal and justify it being in place by a previous labor government... yes siree. At this rate, 2036 water savings measures would be needed in 2036 anyway.

I reckon there was a clause in the agreement that the government must order its first lot of water within a certain time frame ,and this time frame is now up .
Also intresting to see who is the biggest users of water are .MCG, Rod Laver Arena ,Queen Victoria Market[/QUOTE]

I actually know a few scientists, one guy works on international water projects. The main problem with the Dam options were lack of legitimate options around Melbourne. No farmers want further water diversions as it takes the water they need for irrigation and long distance pipelines are expensive and lose water. We don't really have another snowy river to make into another hydro generator and damming stunts the environment on the river systems further along. Dropping saline in the sea won't effect much so is a fairly friendly option. The worst of it is the power it uses and should be converted to a fully self sustaining solar or wind set up.

+1

Both party's waste millions.

And some people wonder why trump won.

I think most people are catching on that governments have become slaves to large corporate interests on both sides. They are not too far apart but at least the labour party does pretend a bit. People like me in small business pay heaps of tax and major corporations don't. Their executives off shore what they do get while wage growth has stagnated and jobs sent of shore but the politicians are happy to keep squeezing the bottom feeders rather than try to rebalance the system. If they don't they will cause some kind of revolution eventually. The world is changing and the economic model will have to change, the US still manufactures heaps but is all automated so they can't get jobs back. The EU is seriously talking about paying all citizens a basic wage because jobs are disappearing and unlikely to come back.

Going to be a scarey 25 years i reckon, will either make us or break us.

Jobs are being outsourced anyway. It's nor just about call centres.

Technology is developing at a rapid rate and you need the infrastructure to support it.

Unfortunately too many people are still stuck in the industrial revolution, which has long gone.

You won't fix manual labour with broadband, but you can sure as hell use it to create a more flexible work place.

Raising living standards is all about improved productivity. If people cannot grasp that concept then there really is no point continuing the discussion.

Efficient broadband Luke efficient transport infrastructure improves productivity. As does a healthy and well educated workforce.
Just to be clear I'm all for the NBN like you've suggested it will greatly help some businesses. Mainly small business and home run businesses. I think it will also help work from home to a certain degree.

My point more was for us in IT the next logical conclusion to working from home is out sourcing. As much as governments bang on about working from home and bringing more people into coding they are yet to solve the problem of a global market where resources are much cheaper in developing nations.

We essentially bring them over here, educate them in our universities or up skill them on our projects then watch as jobs are being lost to areas without the same constraints of employee rights/various legislation etc.

Maybe some.
You can't say that about all of them any more than you can describe all of Australia as thong wearing Bogans.
AND
If you get for times as much for your dollar, many people will ignore the quality. Like they do with clothes and cars and powertools etc etc etc

Thats hasn't been my experience and I've yet to hear a good story from it after working in the industry for 10+ years. I've dealt with a number of outsourcing companies including one of the largest. There might be some good eggs but my experience is its very rare and the good eggs usually get brought on shore or move on to go to a project where they have a chance of going onshore.

We've had numerous cases across a number of different out sourcing providers where we were being billed for time when they were not working on our project or being bold face lied too (I.e. they tell you they did something that they clearly didnt). It's basically fraud.

We've had cases of collusion between candidates to try and past on boarding tests.

I've seen a case where a manager has told the outsourcing team to just do nothing/surf the net/do what ever just don't touch the code. That's how much damage was being done. An endless cycle of reviewing their work then spending all your time fixing that. By the time your done you're reviewing the next piece of work. Then rinse and repeat. So what ends up happening is you get more proactive and hands on so your essentially doing the work with them. Two resources on the one task.

Now here's the kicker they are not 4 times cheaper. Onshore rates are very expensive. Offshore changes depending on the level of experience but a grad here on pay rate is definitely cheaper. The problem is its the overheads that make it then uncompetitive. Annual leave. Sick leave. Admin costs such as HR payroll etc. Then you have the machine and licensing costs.

Now the difference between goods being built overseas and software development. Is that software development as more in common with engineering and is more be spoke as opposed to manufacturing where you send the plans overseas, find your partner and implement some QA/Testing then monitor the same goods being built over time. With the take off of an agile methodology in software development you no longer come up with long winded designed documentation that you can then palm off offshore for someone to code. It's just too expensive and slow to follow that model (I.e. waterfall). Under agile you are expected to work through it and design the solution as you go. You have to think through it. This is where outsourcing becomes unstuck and it eventually costs you more than if you had a good resource locally.

But listed companies don't care about the long term, it's all about the short term and cost cutting.

26 million people and 3 levels of government.

There's one way to save some coin right there.

Instead of big biz tax cuts, get some serious capital investment and r and d grants happening for small biz to innovate. Not done stupid allowance that gets spent on a new truck or car.

The whole notion that business generates jobs is a myth. They hire because they need to. Given the option, they would automate 9 times out of 10. When income drops, people are the most dispensable and easiest way to cut costs.

Governments sell the land that was already owned around them. We had enough to build car parking but were selling it all off once it got valuable. People still want to get to areas near major shops and that's usually where the major roads are. We can't afford to put the trains under ground because to sell off our assets they had to convince people that debt was bad. If we stuck trains in tunnels the land above could be used as parking. Extending train lines to outer suburbs and making sure you future proof by keeping a line and station land would help too.

Town planners ALLOW shops to be built on major intersections.
Springvale Rd and Princes Highway and Center Road all meet. Then they expand the shopping centre.

Instead of putting a great big useful intersection, lets build shops up to the road.

Yeah its OK to park up the back at Chadstone and walk 2km to the shops, but the station needs to be right in the middle of it.
Underground is good. All down to cost once again.

Thoughts on the new username

Barrels :p
Trouble is, no one can tell what a balme's gonna do! They're unpredictable :huh:

show_image.php

and MilneMagic before that!!!!!!!! :):):):)
Hes had more name changes than
Johhny Cougar.
John Mellencamp.
John Cougar Mellencamp.
Johhny Cougar Milf Mellons*

* last name not verified.

Hes had more name changes than
Johhny Cougar.
John Mellencamp.
John Cougar Mellencamp.
Johhny Cougar Milf Mellons*

* last name not verified.
I'm sorry guys membership benefits with bigfooty.

Why not :p