Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

He was a bonafide genius. I don't normally get emotional about famous people passing, but this one has hit a nerve. Vale Ziggy.
Yeah mate.
With footy players the word "champion" gets bandied around too easily.
And singers/actors get tagged with 'legendary' too much.
Music Legend fits pretty comfortable with this bloke.

But as for Escape from L.A.
Hmmmmmm maybe give that one a miss :D
Escape From Werribee was pretty crappy too.

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

I've only become a late fan of Bowie in the last ten years or so. It took me a long time to appreciate him. Way ahead of his time. Gonna go and play ashes to ashes on YouTube. The one with lyrics. Sordid details following.

I like the John Carpenter/ Kurt Russell films Persevering Saint:thumbsu:.
Started a little odd with "Elvis" the movie in (79)
But then Escape from New York (81), The Thing (82), and Big trouble in Little China (86) were big parts of my childhood.
Anybody who hasnt seen the Thing (not the 2011 version but the 82 original) has to see it IMO.
But even i will admit Escape from LA (96) was a little bit stinky.:p

Jack Burton from Big Trouble was my all time anti hero hero.

One of the first action stars to take the piss
OiUYJSw.gif

sad news with the passing of David Bowie
hqdefault.jpg

An iconic figure in music.

Tough day :cry:, music is pretty much my life and Bowie my favourite musician but I'm sure there will be no one like him again. The complete package. A creative inspiration to so many. He always felt not of this world and luckily he has left his music with us forever.

But then Escape from New York (81), The Thing (82), and Big trouble in Little China (86) were big parts of my childhood.
Anybody who hasnt seen the Thing (not the 2011 version but the 82 original) has to see it IMO.
I love escape from LA.

I remember someone saying its Carpenter's Cowboy trilogy as he had Russell playing a different cowboys in each movie Bronson, Eastwood, and John Wayne

Escape from NY (81), Big Trouble in Little China (86) and The Computer Wore Tennis Shoes (69) ... classic Kurt Russell.

Couldn't find a thread applicable, and not thread worthy on its own.
Not sure if anyone knows but in the 1980s there was an NBL team called the St Kilda Saints that in true NBL style moved around a bit and changed its name a few times (Westside Melbourne Saints, Southern Melbourne Saints) that wore red, black and white.

They eventually merged with Nunawading/Eastside to form SE Melbourne Magic. Who then merged with NM Giants to create Victoria Titans who then folded.

Did they have any relationship with St Kilda FC?

I thought they were pre Nbl. They were the eminent bball team of the era. They even came up to the Isa and played us one time.

Not sure if to post in membership section or this but I reckon this years' members scarf is the worst scarf St.Kilda has ever had. I tried it on and it looks like Essendon. A lot of Red with Black writing. GJD23 George can you get this fixed for next year. I believe the 2009/10 scarf was all class. This one is just horrid. Sorry for rant.

Sympathize with you there......as a supporter member (cheapest) of the Lions we only get a few things, main being a car sticker and lanyard. Last years lanyard was BROWN with the tiniest Lion logo, one on each side, all because I was a bronze member. Looks perfect for the Hawks!

2016 came in the mail and straight into the drawer! NAVY BLUE! Looks like Carlton:eek: Sticker is also navy blue.

Our main colour is maroon for heavens sake!!

Who makes these decisions? Our merchandise should never look like another club imo

Not sure if to post in membership section or this but I reckon this years' members scarf is the worst scarf St.Kilda has ever had. I tried it on and it looks like Essendon. A lot of Red with Black writing. GJD23 George can you get this fixed for next year. I believe the 2009/10 scarf was all class. This one is just horrid. Sorry for rant.
Me and my family dig the red scarf.
If your wearing a saints top/beanie whats the matter if scarf is overly red?
Looks great.
I dont throw the old scarfs out either,
So wont wear this red one to bombers game, will wear the predominantly white one from a few years ago (2011?).
And this red one will look great in the crowd vs the filth!

Me and my family dig the red scarf.
If your wearing a saints top/beanie whats the matter if scarf is overly red?
Looks great.
I dont throw the old scarfs out either,
So wont wear this red one to bombers game, will wear the predominantly white one from a few years ago (2011?).
And this red one will look great in the crowd vs the filth!

I wear my 1980s retro one or one I bought somewhere years ago that was meant to be a classy one with three stripes the full length and no logos. I hate the members scarves with the year on them. I can never find the right year as we head out the door and it makes you look like an idiot wearing 2011 scarves or something. It's wasteful too, once they are out of date they are good for nothing but the bin.