Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Oh yeah obviously. I am meaning in polite company that these words are being used. Saying that to a stranger is ******* stupid.
Yeah of course mate:thumbsu:
Just think us Aussies have an acceptance of casual racism sometimes.
Dont think the N word becoming a regular part of polite company conversation helps.
But your right. Kids growing up being drip fed on the latest music has made the word a lot more acceptable. Still a shit word though.

No offense was taken Joff, But I just felt I needed to defend someone I love.

Love this post. It almost verbatim applies to me. Only difference is I am a 'coloured' middle aged man who is still learning.
Gday CursingFijian.
It doesnt really matter either way but im just interested cos i know Fiji is very multicultural nowdays.
Are you of Fijian decent or Indian Fijian decent.

I am of Fijian Descent. I hail from the chiefly mataqali (tribe) of Devobalavu, mai na koro Salia, na yanuyanu Nayau, na Yasana ko Lau. I can hear you trying to say that out aloud CALL ME SNAKE and I am smiling! :D I have many Indian and muslim colleagues and close mates from my childhood in Fiji, and I am definitely partial to a curry! I love Australia. And I love being a Saint Kilda man!

I am of Fijian Descent. I hail from the chiefly mataqali (tribe) of Devobalavu, mai na koro Salia, na yanuyanu Nayau, na Yasana ko Lau. I can hear you trying to say that out aloud Snake and I am smiling! :D I have many Indian and muslim colleagues and close mates from my childhood in Fiji, and I am definitely partial to a curry! I love Australia. And I love being a Saint Kilda man!
That sounds a bit more interesting than me mate.
Im just a white honky Aussie from the VB tribe:p

That sounds a bit more interesting than me mate.
Im just a white honky Aussie from the VB tribe:p
Haha. Closest thing to Fiji Bitter my man. Our tribes are not as far apart as you might think. [emoji6]

Dont think the N word becoming a regular part of polite company conversation helps.
But your right. Kids growing up being drip fed on the latest music has made the word a lot more acceptable. Still a shit word though.

I still struggle with my casual racism. I ask my girls ( like we all did in my generation) " where is so and so from (usually a girl from Asia).

My girls response - " I don't know.Australia?".

It's not terrible but it is still defining a person by the way they look.

And Snake. Don't sell yourself short mate. If ypu are like me you are a mutt of some kind.

I have Irish, English, German, and I think the Lebanese milkman because I look a bit "woggy".

But but its ok for Tarantino #doublestandards

I am of Fijian Descent. I hail from the chiefly mataqali (tribe) of Devobalavu, mai na koro Salia, na yanuyanu Nayau, na Yasana ko Lau. I can hear you trying to say that out aloud CALL ME SNAKE and I am smiling! :D I have many Indian and muslim colleagues and close mates from my childhood in Fiji, and I am definitely partial to a curry! I love Australia. And I love being a Saint Kilda man!
Admit it. You just made that up didn't you

I still struggle with my casual racism. I ask my girls ( like we all did in my generation) " where is so and so from (usually a girl from Asia).

And Snake. Don't sell yourself short mate. If ypu are like me you are a mutt of some kind.

I have Irish, English, German, and I think the Lebanese milkman because I look a bit "woggy".

I'm not sure I get you JB. Are you saying a kid who was born in Australia but looks Asian or do you mean an Asian who has moved to Australia because I reckon if you are born in Australia it shouldn't matter what you look like, you are an Aussie.

I think your daughter is saying the right thing.

Admit it. You just made that up didn't you
You can't make s*** like that up. Please give a ****** some credit (auto filter working overtime here). :)

Part of the tension I think we're still wrestling with, is the balance between seeking to transcend cultural boundaries, and recognising the valuable identity of that a particular culture. While I don't like stereotyping or racism, I also don't like people saying things like, "There's no such thing as African, Korean, etc - we're all the same", because that tends to mean that we deny the distinctly Korean perspectives, insights, etc, and try to create a vanilla culture... which often just seems to be the dominant culture by default.

From a theological perspective (it's where I'm coming from, so hey), I wrote an article about it a few years' back. http://wonderingfair.com/2013/06/20/4302/

Fair enough and I really wasn't trying to offend. Obviously don't know your family and it is not my intention to generalise.

I would say though that I loved what the new Australian of the Year said when confronting the LGBT issue recently.

I am paraphrasing but he said "I am a white middle age man who is still learning"

I found that a fantastic response. He was basically saying that his ingrained beliefs/prejuideces took a bit of undoing.

I am of the same age as he is and I agree with him. I have had to re-educate myself in the ways of race and sexuality.

I had certain beliefs from my formative years that were wrong. Becoming less racist (I am of a firm belief that most people still struggle with race) and less homophobic has, I believe made me a better, more compassionate person.

Wrong views can be unlearnt. I am not comfortable facing these issues but bad luck, that is my journey and I will take it because, well it is just right.

Again I am truly apologetic if my post offended you in any way. Not my intention at all.

One of the best lessons of casual racism I have seen was a guy I used to know who had a bar on Fitzroy street back in 1990s. He used to get drunk black fellas come in from the park across the road who would try to get cigarettes and cash off patrons. He was as lefty and nice as they come but one day he decided he'd had enough of them hassling his patrons so when a group of about five of them walked in he unloaded on them in front of a bar full of people telling them to **** off and not come back. Only they were Yothu Yindi who were playing in Melbourne. He had a shocking publicity from it and it really effected him mentally that he had just automatically judged that all black fellas were the same.

Worst I saw as straight out racism was in a bar in Sydney, we went in to a pub with a South American guy we were hanging with from one of the back packers hostels. This barman told us to get our "abbo" out or he would baseball bat us all. He talked to us like we were responsible like his owners. This guy was in disbelief and was going to fight him, we got him to leave and go somewhere else but he was in disbelief the barman was such a campaigner.

I love how supposedly Indigenous Australians get all this free ride every where and they are given unbelievable privileges that no whites get. I guess thats why you see Toorak full Aboriginals in Benzs competing over the size of their pay-packets. I wonder who would want to swap their lives for the average indigenous person of their age and gender? It must be worth it because they live a very privileged life most of them.

One of the best lessons of casual racism I have seen was a guy I used to know who had a bar on Fitzroy street back in 1990s. He used to get drunk black fellas come in from the park across the road who would try to get cigarettes and cash off patrons. He was as lefty and nice as they come but one day he decided he'd had enough of them hassling his patrons so when a group of about five of them walked in he unloaded on them in front of a bar full of people telling them to **** off and not come back. Only they were Yothu Yindi who were playing in Melbourne. He had a shocking publicity from it and it really effected him mentally that he had just automatically judged that all black fellas were the same.

Worst I saw as straight out racism was in a bar in Sydney, we went in to a pub with a South American guy we were hanging with from one of the back packers hostels. This barman told us to get our "abbo" out or he would baseball bat us all. He talked to us like we were responsible like his owners. This guy was in disbelief and was going to fight him, we got him to leave and go somewhere else but he was in disbelief the barman was such a campaigner.

I love how supposedly Indigenous Australians get all this free ride every where and they are given unbelievable privileges that no whites get. I guess thats why you see Toorak full Aboriginals in Benzs competing over the size of their pay-packets. I wonder who would want to swap their lives for the average indigenous person of their age and gender? It must be worth it because they live a very privileged life most of them.

Gringo that's a bit over the top. A few of my friends get heaps of help off the government but just because of that they don't live in Toorak. People are racist everywhere in the world. Unfortunately that happens. There are examples everywhere.

Thats a good point you make Joffa. My middle child in her teens has mainly 'non white' friends. She doesnt seek them out our anything :p Its just coincidence that those are the girls she made friends with at school.
But whenever i said "so what country does Blah Blahs parents come from " she always just said " i dunno" . Which is kind of nice i guess.
Yeah im a mutt mate. The classic Irish/English Aussie. Never really embraced the English ancestry side, but i give the Irish side a nod with a regular glass of guinness ;)

Part of the tension I think we're still wrestling with, is the balance between seeking to transcend cultural boundaries, and recognising the valuable identity of that a particular culture. While I don't like stereotyping or racism, I also don't like people saying things like, "There's no such thing as African, Korean, etc - we're all the same", because that tends to mean that we deny the distinctly Korean perspectives, insights, etc, and try to create a vanilla culture... which often just seems to be the dominant culture by default.

From a theological perspective (it's where I'm coming from, so hey), I wrote an article about it a few years' back. http://wonderingfair.com/2013/06/20/4302/

Jeepers, you really weren't messing around when you said you were religious. All sounds like a good message in there. My kids have a family member who works teaching English to migrants. She set up my kids with a couple of kids from Burundi who's mum had died and so every holidays they catch up. People stare at the african kids when they are together and it's quite confronting to watch, they are just normal Aussie kids now as they get close to their teens but they can't escape the judgement their skin colour gets them. Especially here in the inner South East where black people don't exist.

Anyway when the catholics and COE folks didn't have skin colour they found scripture something to hate each other over. My wife's family is Croatian and despite the fact they are genetically the same as serbs the old folks fight over nothing but belief. Humanity is depressingly aggressive and seek to make themselves aligned to a clan, religion or country. Even football fans can "hate" someone for following a club from a suburb they live nowhere near.

Tribalism, nationalism is all OK, it is how we identify & defend our own interest when required- no problem there.
It is when it gets used as a tool for discrimination and the differences exploited for a purpose is when it becomes a problem.
"Divide & Conquer" is the oldest trick in the book to manipulate people.
We just have to be more switched on to it & call it out.

Im an extremely simple man ( my wife will vouch for this:p)
This conversation is turning my walnut size brain to mush. So im just gonna post a cute puppy gif.
7rjCZO8.gif

Awwwwwwwwww

Gringo that's a bit over the top. A few of my friends get heaps of help off the government but just because of that they don't live in Toorak. People are racist everywhere in the world. Unfortunately that happens. There are examples everywhere.

Try going to a real estate office and asking to rent a house if you are black, try going for a job. Even the most liberal thinking person will have that preconception that because of the way we see them as a whole culture they will screw up. I know it if they get offered a place in uni they get preferenced but if you look at the statistic of the uptake it so minimal it's scary. The stats on all the markers that suggest an underprivileged life are over represented in Aboriginal Australia. There are lots on welfare just like there are white people, it's a lot harder to break from that welfare system if the prejudice of others makes it extra hard to get a decent job or housing.

Im an extremely simple man ( my wife will vouch for this:p)
This conversation is turning my walnut size brain to mush. So im just gonna post a cute puppy gif.
7rjCZO8.gif

Awwwwwwwwww

Mitchell Pearce likes this

Is that racist though?
I had a guy walk up to me and ask me where i came from, thinking i was from Turkey or some other Mediterranean country. He had a Greek accent i think. Don't know if i had a good suntan that year or what, but my heritage is Australian for several generations following Irish, English, Scottish. I guess he couldn't believe there were Australians living in Clayton South. I was amused rather than offended though.

One of the worst things i've come across was when i was on holidays in Cairns in the 90's. An 18 year old guy from Brisbane was staying in the house we were staying at. He was planning on working his way round the country. Got his first job in one of the Cairns pubs.
Came home after a couple of days saying "got to punch my first abo today" Seem's that when closing time came that was how you got the bar empty.

But on the other side i've also seen an Aboriginal guy on a train getting in everyone's face obviously trolling for racism. Didn't get one bite in a fairly full train carriage.

No matter what country thier parents come from it doesn't stop some individual from being an arseh*le.

Try going to a real estate office and asking to rent a house if you are black, try going for a job. Even the most liberal thinking person will have that preconception that because of the way we see them as a whole culture they will screw up. I know it if they get offered a place in uni they get preferenced but if you look at the statistic of the uptake it so minimal it's scary. The stats on all the markers that suggest an underprivileged life are over represented in Aboriginal Australia. There are lots on welfare just like there are white people, it's a lot harder to break from that welfare system if the prejudice of others makes it extra hard to get a decent job or housing.

Well blacks rent houses and get jobs as far as I know.

Is that racist though?
I had a guy walk up to me and ask me where i came from, thinking i was from Turkey or some other Mediterranean country. He had a Greek accent i think. Don't know if i had a good suntan that year or what, but my heritage is Australian for several generations following Irish, English, Scottish. I guess he couldn't believe there were Australians living in Clayton South. I was amused rather than offended though.

One of the worst things i've come across was when i was on holidays in Cairns in the 90's. An 18 year old guy from Brisbane was staying in the house we were staying at. He was planning on working his way round the country. Got his first job in one of the Cairns pubs.
Came home after a couple of days saying "got to punch my first abo today" Seem's that when closing time came that was how you got the bar empty.

But on the other side i've also seen an Aboriginal guy on a train getting in everyone's face obviously trolling for racism. Didn't get one bite in a fairly full train carriage.

No matter what country thier parents come from it doesn't stop some individual from being an arseh*le.

No I don't think it racist per se, more identifying by race because they have Asian features even though they are born and bred Aussies.

Just highlighting the attitudes of different generations in a multi cultural country.

I was raised with only Europeans as the dominant migrant. My girls know nothing but a more Asian mix. They don't care. To me it is still a curiosity.

Just an obversation more than anything. Still I am identifying someone because of the way they look.

Jesus Christ move On with this already
Im a bit over the discussion as well.
Not because of the subject matter. But more because of my small concentration span:p
BUT!!! this is the Random discussion thread. So if people dont like it they can look at the many other threads available:thumbsu:
Or start another topic here.