Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

So if Australia was at war with North Korea, Kim Jong would just need to publicly declare all our politicians to be North Korean citizens , and we would be without a Parliment.

Stupid Constitution is stupid.
Um no. Unless all of our parlimentarians are from North Korean decent

What has it got to do with descent?.
Its to do with citizenship , and the citizenship is determined by individual countries laws.

"
From 1983[edit]
A child born outside the UK on or after 1 January 1983 (or outside a British Overseas Territory on or after 21 May 2002) automatically acquires British citizenship by descent if either parent is a British citizen otherwise than by descent at the time of the birth. "

That's for the UK. Whether or not the citizen in question wants to be a citizen. THere is a different rule for pre-1983.

NZ has different laws again.

Now i'm pretty sure if Kim Jong wanted someone to be a citizen of Korea he'd just have to say it.

We've actually put the status of the parliament in the hands of other countries.

Now i'm pretty sure if Kim Jong wanted someone to be a citizen of Korea he'd just have to say it.
Or he could just do this...

PepperyPartialDeermouse-max-1mb.gif

...and really dissolve Parliament :eek:

What has it got to do with descent?.
Its to do with citizenship , and the citizenship is determined by individual countries laws.

"
From 1983[edit]
A child born outside the UK on or after 1 January 1983 (or outside a British Overseas Territory on or after 21 May 2002) automatically acquires British citizenship by descent if either parent is a British citizen otherwise than by descent at the time of the birth. "

That's for the UK. Whether or not the citizen in question wants to be a citizen. THere is a different rule for pre-1983.

NZ has different laws again.

We've actually put the status of the parliament in the hands of other countries.
Yeah its utterly stupid what has happened (although seeing Barnaby get arsed was enjoyable) and a pretty obvious flaw in the writing of the constitution.

Meanwhile Italy just got knocked out of the World Cup lol.

Yeah its utterly stupid what has happened (although seeing Barnaby get arsed was enjoyable) and a pretty obvious flaw in the writing of the constitution.

Meanwhile Italy just got knocked out of the World Cup lol.

It's a fine law, the dickhead politicians who are given the job of administering laws didn't bother checking the law. If you renounce it you can run. Just not after you have run. It was from the days when if a person, for example of German decent, was in the parliament they were considered to have loyalty to only their new country. It was to stop politicians from having to be interred like citizens were when they were from an enemy decent.

If you try to claim dual citizenship it's extremely hard to do. I tried to get dual UK because my grandfather was English, they wouldn't let me. My wifes brother claimed EU and took 4 years to approve and heaps of paper work. It seems a lot of politicians have an easier time of it. It just magically appears for them.

It's a fine law, the dickhead politicians who are given the job of administering laws didn't bother checking the law. If you renounce it you can run. Just not after you have run. It was from the days when if a person, for example of German decent, was in the parliament they were considered to have loyalty to only their new country. It was to stop politicians from having to be interred like citizens were when they were from an enemy decent.

If you try to claim dual citizenship it's extremely hard to do. I tried to get dual UK because my grandfather was English, they wouldn't let me. My wifes brother claimed EU and took 4 years to approve and heaps of paper work. It seems a lot of politicians have an easier time of it. It just magically appears for them.

Yeah my wifes mother was born in scotland. It wouldn't have occurred to us that she couldn't run for PM :P
Its kind of funny that most of them are UK, and the Queen is head of state.

Should have walked into the EU as an undocumented refugee, would have been easier for him.

Yes Vote wins ... SSM on the cards by christmas
honestly for the first time in a while i can actually say im proud of this country over 60% of australians didnt buy the rubbish spouted by the No campaign

well done Australia!! looking forward to some fab weddings in the next few years :)

honestly for the first time in a while i can actually say im proud of this country over 60% of australians didnt buy the rubbish spouted by the No campaign

well done Australia!! looking forward to some fab weddings in the next few years :)

Couldn't have said it any better...

The other thing that's bad is that some of the yes campaigners thought they needed to bully their way in. It was never the case and IMO the yes vote may have gone higher if they'd not campaigned at all.

It WAS OK to vote No. But "NO" was never going to be the consensus.

The other thing that's bad is that some of the yes campaigners thought they needed to bully their way in. It was never the case and IMO the yes vote may have gone higher if they'd not campaigned at all.

It WAS OK to vote No. But "NO" was never going to be the consensus.
oh i agree ... there were some actions of the yes camp that were not positive at all but i think the basis that the no camp set up their argument against warranted the ridicule and negativity it faced , i mean look at the leader of the no campaign in his speach after the yes vote won :
“We will now do what we can to guard against restrictions on freedom of speech and freedom of religion, to defend parents’ rights, and to protect Australian kids from being exposed to radical LGBTIQ sex and gender education in the classrooms,”
The No side look like they dont even know what the vote was for .. equality is the big winner here and if it took $122m to see equality be implemented then in the end it was worth it but heck we could have just got the politicians to do their bloody jobs and pass it without the waste of money ...

oh i agree ... there were some actions of the yes camp that were not positive at all but i think the basis that the no camp set up their argument against warranted the ridicule and negativity it faced , i mean look at the leader of the no campaign in his speach after the yes vote won :
“We will now do what we can to guard against restrictions on freedom of speech and freedom of religion, to defend parents’ rights, and to protect Australian kids from being exposed to radical LGBTIQ sex and gender education in the classrooms,”
The No side look like they dont even know what the vote was for .. equality is the big winner here and if it took $122m to see equality be implemented then in the end it was worth it but heck we could have just got the politicians to do their bloody jobs and pass it without the waste of money ...

Yeah i agree with that.
But there were people sacked because they voiced their "No" opinion and their employer didn't like it, and idiots like the Abbott headbutter , who made everyone think it was the lunatic fringe that wanted the "Yes"

Yeah i agree with that.
But there were people sacked because they voiced their "No" opinion and their employer didn't like it, and idiots like the Abbott headbutter , who made everyone think it was the lunatic fringe that wanted the "Yes"

I think that's what the debate bought up, I didn't know there were so many nutters on both sides of the argument. We spent $122 mill as a vanity project for Abbott because he backs himself to win negative campaigns. He thought he could have Brexit/Trump like come from behind victory. Turnbull didn't learn anything from watching Rudd white-ant Gillard and kept Tony in the background causing mischief and will lose his Prime-minister role over it. The conservatives Liberals have pretty much vowed not to pass anything that doesn't exclude them the right to discriminate. He's vowed to pass it as law before Christmas. It won't happen and they will kick him out over it. This will be a huge waste of time and money.

Yeah i agree with that.
to be fair Abbott does have a head that does make you want to headbutt it :) ... with the lady getting the sack for her support of the no campaign to be honest if a company and employer have opposing values then especially in a small business the working relationship isnt ever going to work especially if the company has a brand identity that is damaged by one of their staff voicing that on social media.. most companies will have a social media policy in regards to the representation towards the company so i reckon theres more to it ..

i think the frustrations of the whole saga were getting to people, i can honestly say i have had some very heated debates about the issue and i can see where sometimes emotions can get boiled over, this is why it should never have been a decision for the public to make for the vast majority the outcome doesnt influence our day to day yet our opinions on the matter are some how important?? everyone has the right to an opinion but my opinion shouldnt be influencing the rights of equality.. the Yes side never wanted the vote it was the no side who wanted it but when the no side saw they were not going to win they tried to make it something it was not by linking safeschools into the debate i think that was a red flag to the bull that was the yes campaign and the no side realised this was how to gain momentum by making the yes side look like bullies.. it was much like as kids when your sibbling would irritate you so you gave them a whack only for your mum to see and then you got in trouble..

I think that's what the debate bought up, I didn't know there were so many nutters on both sides of the argument. We spent $122 mill as a vanity project for Abbott because he backs himself to win negative campaigns. He thought he could have Brexit/Trump like come from behind victory. Turnbull didn't learn anything from watching Rudd white-ant Gillard and kept Tony in the background causing mischief and will lose his Prime-minister role over it. The conservatives Liberals have pretty much vowed not to pass anything that doesn't exclude them the right to discriminate. He's vowed to pass it as law before Christmas. It won't happen and they will kick him out over it. This will be a huge waste of time and money.
i think the liberals would have to be careful doing that.. the SSM vote shows that the vast majority want equality .. if it does cost Mal his job and the libs block it then the party will lose any grip on the right leaning centre.. the ultra conservitives are going the way of the dinosaurs they are running out of baby boomers who are buying into the nostalgia that the conservitives hang their hat on add to the fact more genY are now getting to voting age and genX are sick and tired of being screwed over conservitive politics is not going to be relevant .. Shorten's lack of charisma is the only thing holding back a landslide away from the libs, a strong, clean cut, modern, progressive leader with media savy and an ability to deliver an inspiring speach would wipe out the old croonies of the libs ..

Yeah i agree with that.
Wasnt it one woman who was sacked as she was actively campaigning for no in her work place and it was the final straw in a long series of conservative and homophobic rantings?

i think the liberals would have to be careful doing that.. the SSM vote shows that the vast majority want equality .. if it does cost Mal his job and the libs block it then the party will lose any grip on the right leaning centre.. the ultra conservitives are going the way of the dinosaurs they are running out of baby boomers who are buying into the nostalgia that the conservitives hang their hat on add to the fact more genY are now getting to voting age and genX are sick and tired of being screwed over conservitive politics is not going to be relevant .. Shorten's lack of charisma is the only thing holding back a landslide away from the libs, a strong, clean cut, modern, progressive leader with media savy and an ability to deliver an inspiring speach would wipe out the old croonies of the libs ..

I had a vic politician over to dinner the other night and he reckons they will lance Turnbull soon. He's saying Julie Bishop is the likely candidate because she straddles the left and right factions and resembles someone more progressive just by being female. Four Corners the other night had a good story on the Liberals too. They have a very toxic factional war internally between the old school conservatives and the economic liberal progressives. The right has been emboldened by Trump and the Brexit win.

Abbott is wilding huge influence from the backbench and his policies are adopted by the party with a weak waisted Turnbull happy to just roll along with what ever happens. He's a sitting duck. I suggested to this politician that Simon Birmingham is the only Liberal I don't want to spew when I hear speak and he said he's a very good politician and when he's contacted him he's very thorough and willing to work in a bipartisan fashion. If we have to have a Liberal government I would prefer him.

They are state Labour and have known Shorten for a long time and aren't fans either. I have a lawyer mate who has known him for years and think he's an overly ambitious cut throat prick too. This guy is a lefty and was Rose Hancock's personal lawyer for time and he reckons Shorten is mercenary.

to be fair Abbott does have a head that does make you want to headbutt it :) ... with the lady getting the sack for her support of the no campaign to be honest if a company and employer have opposing values then especially in a small business the working relationship isnt ever going to work especially if the company has a brand identity that is damaged by one of their staff voicing that on social media.. most companies will have a social media policy in regards to the representation towards the company so i reckon theres more to it ..

i think the frustrations of the whole saga were getting to people, i can honestly say i have had some very heated debates about the issue and i can see where sometimes emotions can get boiled over, this is why it should never have been a decision for the public to make for the vast majority the outcome doesnt influence our day to day yet our opinions on the matter are some how important?? everyone has the right to an opinion but my opinion shouldnt be influencing the rights of equality.. the Yes side never wanted the vote it was the no side who wanted it but when the no side saw they were not going to win they tried to make it something it was not by linking safeschools into the debate i think that was a red flag to the bull that was the yes campaign and the no side realised this was how to gain momentum by making the yes side look like bullies.. it was much like as kids when your sibbling would irritate you so you gave them a whack only for your mum to see and then you got in trouble..

See that was crazy.
The yes side didn't want the vote, but it was always pretty obvious that they'd win it , but they were scared they wouldn't.
If the pollies had just changed the law without the vote, then the religious groups would be screaming murder.

See that was crazy.
The yes side didn't want the vote, but it was always pretty obvious that they'd win it , but they were scared they wouldn't.
If the pollies had just changed the law without the vote, then the religious groups would be screaming murder.

They did that with divorce too which went through a conscience vote though. The SSM postal survey is a non binding, non compulsory plebiscite that cost $122 million. They could have put it to a referendum even and it would have been a legal position that had to be adopted, instead it's like a really expensive survey to see if they should go back to do what they are paid to do in the first place. Religion shouldn't have a stronger voice than any other section of the community.

On Abbott, he's a masterful negator, he's your ideal opposition leader where he just tears strips off the government until they are a rabble. He changed the popular position on our republican debate (ironically against Turnbull), he turned minor issues like the carbon tax into a catastrophic fail for Rudd/Gillard and just generally goes at the throat of anything he thinks he can use to gain negative traction.

Unfortunately for Turnbull, Abbott is in opposition to him from the back bench and won't give in until he's so compromised he will have to step down humiliated and broken.

The people across the road have six cars but parking spaces only for three.
Three cars are always parked on the street.
These are the 21yo’s lowered V8’s: two late model sedans and a ute.
They’re the love of his life (I fear live-in girlfriend is a poor last).
He’s got a lot of money invested in these cars.
Each one can be heard a mile away.
But none of the above impacts me.
What does intrigue me is his insistence on letting the engines idle for five minutes before he moves them, or goes up the street for his smokes, booze or pizza.
The idling lasts longer than his smoke or tinny runs.

Why does he feel the need to let his cars idle?

What does intrigue me is his insistence on letting the engines idle for five minutes before he moves them, or goes up the street for his smokes, booze or pizza.

Should always let a car idle for a couple of minutes before driving, not so much now with the newer cars that have very good oil pumps

See that was crazy.
the yes camp didnt not want the vote cause they feared they would lose they were against giving the no vote a bloody big national soapbox to spread their agenda that was pretty damaging for an already badly down trodden part of society.. we saw first hand the No vote try to link SSM as some kind of evil and linking it to bad parenting as well as stupid claims around sexualisation in schools the yes camp wanted to spare the hurt to the SSM community

simple answer is lubrication by idling the car (especially cars with a larger engine) that give the engine a chance to distribute the lubrication accros the engine components before putting the engine under power .. the older the car the longer it takes to "warm up"

I had a vic politician over to dinner the other night and he reckons they will lance Turnbull soon. He's saying Julie Bishop is the likely candidate because she straddles the left and right factions and resembles someone more progressive just by being female. Four Corners the other night had a good story on the Liberals too. They have a very toxic factional war internally between the old school conservatives and the economic liberal progressives. The right has been emboldened by Trump and the Brexit win.

Abbott is wilding huge influence from the backbench and his policies are adopted by the party with a weak waisted Turnbull happy to just roll along with what ever happens. He's a sitting duck. I suggested to this politician that Simon Birmingham is the only Liberal I don't want to spew when I hear speak and he said he's a very good politician and when he's contacted him he's very thorough and willing to work in a bipartisan fashion. If we have to have a Liberal government I would prefer him.

They are state Labour and have known Shorten for a long time and aren't fans either. I have a lawyer mate who has known him for years and think he's an overly ambitious cut throat prick too. This guy is a lefty and was Rose Hancock's personal lawyer for time and he reckons Shorten is mercenary.
see from my point of View the libs are stuffed either way .. keep Mal and they lose cause the guy stands for nothing and is getting white anted by his own party , if they cut Mal then the "unstable goverment" that Abbott used to oust labor is firmly directed at them and Labor will be sure to go hard at them for it..
the conservitive think they are all powerful and mighty but the fact is most of us are growing tired of the conservitives and see our country being left behind on the world stage because of them.. while Brexit and Trump gave the right confidence the fact that both have been facepalms even by those who thought they were good ideas at the time is seeing the Left look more desirable... if only the Left had a decent leader to take hold of the opportunity