Mega Thread Random recruiting hypotheticals 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Krooooze

Johnson makes the inconsistent Waite look like Bradshaw who was a great swingman.

Do not want.

Anyone who thinks that we couldn't find a spot for a high half forward/mid who kicks goals needs to take another look at our list.

He has a lot of talent, and I believe he needs to get out of fremantle. How many times do you see freo let go someone and they flourish?

Tall swingman > medium forward.... We have enough mediums imo

Why are you being cheeky about it?

So you think a small forward will have a greater benefit to our team than a player who can play at both ends of the ground. He just needs to get away from freo.
You clearly have nfi if you think sylvia would be a better recruit than johnson for us. :thumbsu:

You clearly have no idea if you think that Sylvia is just a small forward.

He would have added some real quality to the rotations and we need more goal kicking midfielders.

This is the mentality that is killing our list and will probably now cost us a premiership as well. I'm over it.

If you mean the 'Devil you know' hoard mentality then I agree. It's funny, they are absolute superstars when they are staying put but s***house and not worth trying to get anything decent for when they might be leaving. I'm absolutely sick of the mantra "worth more to us..." because, apart from being dangerously unyielding, it is ultimately meaningless.

So we are the only club who's mediocre players are priceless? What does that say about us? :confused:

Why do we need a tall player who is completely inept at playing in a key position. Open your eyes, just because his stats say he is over 190cm doesnt mean he can play like a true KP player. He is a third tall backman at best, not capable of taking a big mark down forward, let alone a couple a match. He is a homeless mans Jarrad Waite. No doubt he can rack up possessions off half back, but that is not what we need. His best footy has been as a back up ruckman anyway.
No, just no. You underrate west Australian players because you hardly see them play. Realistically he is the only tall defender than we could look at with potential. No one gives away their CHB's therefore you must make one, ie Henderson. Now Im not saying Johnson is the key to our success downback, not at all, but he can help both sides of the field, and I wouldnt be against having a look at him. You victorians dont give the credit to other players out side your state. You should open your eyes.

Just read that Matthew Warnock has quit the Dees. Is he someone we would be intersted in?
Don't bash me for asking this as I know SFA about him, other than he is a defender.

If he was on our list this year, he'd be the first to be delisted.

We did though show interest last year.
I doubt it, but dependant on what we have in store for Bower, Austin etc. who really knows.
If the coaches feel that Watson nor McCarthy would be ready next year, we may well have to find ourselves another tall back, even if it was for only a year.

Harks - I just think list spaces at Carlton at the moment are like hens teeth and we wont be wasting one on Matthew Warnock.

I agree, but just throwing up the idea that we may be wanting a short term fix down back.

We're all excited for what Henderson is contributing down back, but we're missing his presence up forward.
Hendo isn't the player that will kick a dozen for us, but he does work in very well with the stream of mids we have running forward.
Good on a lead, great below hid knees and fast of mind is just what we have been missing forward in rewcent weeks.

If we are to trade/delist Bower and Austin respectively and the youngsters are not ready, which way do we go?
It may just be easier to find a short term fix down back then it would be for one up forward.

I agree, but just throwing up the idea that we may be wanting a short term fix down back.

We're all excited for what Henderson is contributing down back, but we're missing his presence up forward.
Hendo isn't the player that will kick a dozen for us, but he does work in very well with the stream of mids we have running forward.
Good on a lead, great below hid knees and fast of mind is just what we have been missing forward in rewcent weeks.

If we are to trade/delist Bower and Austin respectively and the youngsters are not ready, which way do we go?
It may just be easier to find a short term fix down back then it would be for one up forward.
I wouldn't have thought there was a world of difference between Warnock and Watson, or Thornton for that matter.

Bower.......what a shocking year. Lets hope he can reload for an assault on 2012. I think he is out of contract as well.

I wouldn't have thought there was a world of difference between Warnock and Watson, or Thornton for that matter.

Bower.......what a shocking year. Lets hope he can reload for an assault on 2012. I think he is out of contract as well.

Re. Bower: A lot of talk about him open to a trade back west, but we know how those things often pan out.
His manager is shopping around and good on him, I guess.
May have said it here one time to often already, but Bower and Lucas are players on the periphery right now, but not the two I'd want us to lose.
Having said that even if Bower does whistle through the pre-season and come out all guns blazing, I still don't think he is the permanent CHB answer, we need.

M. Warnock is a definite "do not want" so I just hope we don't see ourselves in a position where we need to find a short term fix.
I guess one good tall back would just set us back on course for next year.
If we somehow manage a Sam Reid in the trade period, Hendo may just have to learn to accept playing by Jamo's side.

I just think Hendo might become a full time defender mate. With a fit list (I looking at you J Waite), I think he is more valuable down back.

For mine, he has shown he could develop into an AA CHB, or a good CHF. I always think a strong defence is more important than a strong attack (only need to look at the Cats for proof).

Who wants Coad ...crazy! Another injury prone defender to add to our full collection?

Warnock, hack or not would of got games for us through the 2011 season. Not saying trade for him, or anything, just saying he would be playing quite a few games due to injuries...same as Thornton got his chance at redemption.

Wouldn't be surprised if Sheedy had a crack at Setanta O'hAilpin. Sheedy's apparently a fan, and he'd be a good bloke to start off a forward line with if they had a Dawes or Mitch Clark type too. Who knows maybe we can squeeze Dylan Shiel out of them :p

I think Lachie Henderson's emergence as a key backman has thrown a spanner in the works regarding whether we need to recruit a big key defender. There are three really good key defensive prospects in the VFL this season. Any of Kyle Hartigan from Werribee, Tim Mohr from Casey and Toby Thoolen from Frankston would be better options than Matthew Warnock.

Two players from other lists that I would like to get and think we could get for unders are Jordan Lisle from Hawthorn and Jon McCarthy from Collingwood. Lisle has probably been the best performed key forward outside of Fevola in the VFL and I have little doubt that McCarthy would be getting a game at almost any club other than Collingwood.

I think Lachie Henderson's emergence as a key backman has thrown a spanner in the works regarding whether we need to recruit a big key defender. There are three really good key defensive prospects in the VFL this season. Any of Kyle Hartigan from Werribee, Tim Mohr from Casey and Toby Thoolen from Frankston would be better options than Matthew Warnock.

Two players from other lists that I would like to get and think we could get for unders are Jordan Lisle from Hawthorn and Jon McCarthy from Collingwood. Lisle has probably been the best performed key forward outside of Fevola in the VFL and I have little doubt that McCarthy would be getting a game at almost any club other than Collingwood.

From what I have heard, Tim Mohr is GWS bound. He would slot straight into our defence, I reckon, without a hitch or a look back.

Question for the WA-based Blues fans.... Fremantle delisted Joel Houghton who was the 36th pick of the 2009 AFL Draft. The West Australian newspaper featured a photo of him rather than Clayton Hinkley (who also was delisted). 194cm key position forward who reportedly has good endurance and is an excellent set shot for goal. Is he a spud? Worthy of a closer look? What gives?

[youtube]bcfsx7HrWzI[/youtube]

Question for the WA-based Blues fans.... Fremantle delisted Joel Houghton who was the 36th pick of the 2009 AFL Draft. The West Australian newspaper featured a photo of him rather than Clayton Hinkley (who also was delisted). 194cm key position forward who reportedly has good endurance and is an excellent set shot for goal. Is he a spud? Worthy of a closer look? What gives?

[youtube]bcfsx7HrWzI[/youtube]

I think that Freo might have delisted him so they could move him onto the rookie list. 2 years in the system on the senior list... but couldnt crack the seniors?

Houghton has barely fired a shot in the WAFL