ESKIE
Keeping it Cool.
- Feb 28, 2009
- AFL Club
- Carlton
Pages and pages and all the while the Bomber troll is having a giggle.
Seriously.
What troll?

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Pages and pages and all the while the Bomber troll is having a giggle.
Seriously.
you add less than I do - walk outside and re-assess yourself at once
This is exactly right. 19 scoring shots in 9 games this season. If that is 13.6 instead of 8.11, he is exceeding expectations. In fact he is exceeding expectations, regardless of his output this season.I reckon if Jack had kicked those few sey shots he's missed the last few weeks we wouldn't be having this conversation. .IMO..
Yep !and onother 30 or 40 games he will be slotting those set shots more often than not also at such a young age he works his arse off the way he finds space in our forward 50 to take those marks mostly uncontested as he's smart enough to get away from his opponents..This is exactly right. 19 scoring shots in 9 games this season. If that is 13.6 instead of 8.11, he is exceeding expectations. In fact he is exceeding expectations, regardless of his output this season.
We should think back to when he was drafted & the majority feeling was that he may not even play a senior game in 2016 & would be eased into senior action in 2017. Here we are, 10 rounds into 2017 & he has already played 17 games of AFL football. Another 30-40 games under his belt & there is a big chance people will be talking about what an absolute steal he was for a draft pick in the '50s.
Physical attributes. Speed, tank and strength.What do you see he's lacking?
He's had a few down games but has largely improved on last year. His leading patterns are better and he's developed some more cohesion with the current setup.
The thing with cripps is I dont see him having the burst speed to play the dusty, dangerfield game.Watched the first half last night as I missed the game. Seriously bad umpiring against us, as much in the 2nd Q as in the 1st as well.
As soon as we put a toe off the line it was play on. We can also be a great tackling side at times and it's really disappointing to see that goes unrewarded in the modern game.
I like Graham but I just can't see him making it unfortunately, just slows down movement.
Conversely watching Cripps stream through the middle and take the game on was a sight to behold. He's understanding he can use his body to brush off the opposition, or still get it away anyway if caught. I wasn't sure if he had a rounded enough game to be able to develop into that Danger/Dusty type level, but starting to think he will.
The thing with cripps is I dont see him having the burst speed to play the dusty, dangerfield game.
I agree and cripps has the coore strength to shake tackles meaning speed isnt be all and end all.Speed goes out the window when youve got a 194cm, 100kg bull charging at you. Speed is for the little blokes, Cripps is a bulldozer
He is a lumberjack, and i flipping love himI agree and cripps has the coore strength to shake tackles meaning speed isnt be all and end all.
he just isnt fast enough to have the play style of a Dangerfield, Judd, Dusty type game, they burst out of congestion and have huge footy smarts to use their speed.
its not a knock on cripps he is just a different player.
I love when he shimmies and sells candy, coz he isnt lightning quick its all the more impressiveHe is a lumberjack, and i ruddy love him
I think when he's totally unhindered by his knee he actually does have a bit of burst speed, just not over the first couple meters. HARKER would probably agree with me here as he's made a similar observation - there's been games in the past where he's had some real surprising zip once he got off his initial move.I agree and cripps has the coore strength to shake tackles meaning speed isnt be all and end all.
he just isnt fast enough to have the play style of a Dangerfield, Judd, Dusty type game, they burst out of congestion and have huge footy smarts to use their speed.
its not a knock on cripps he is just a different player.
Thats what i was referring too when saying burst.Watching that Jack on Ziebell gif, methinks Jack must be a bit stronger than he looks. Not only are their physiques polar opposites, but brushing off Ziebell is no mean feat.
I think when he's totally unhindered by his knee he actually does have a bit of burst speed, just not over the first couple meters. HARKER would probably agree with me here as he's made a similar observation - there's been games in the past where he's had some real surprising zip once he got off his initial move.
Just this year, probably because of his troubles, we haven't really seen it. Thankfully he can make up for it though.
Hell On Wheels mate, Hell On Wheels...Yep and Charlie C. will be a Double Barrel Gun.
I dont think he needs to have that type of speed as he is super quick with his vision and disposal to advantage.The thing with cripps is I dont see him having the burst speed to play the dusty, dangerfield game.