seagrim

Tuck - one of our best, put his head over the all and won his fair share of clearances. 33 touches, but botched a few kicks. 7.5/10

Foley - a solid game, he seems to enjoy the lack of a tag. got a lot of the footy, but needs to learn to steady when he is kicking on the run. kicked a nice goal from 50. 7/10

Brown- needs to stay closer to goals. he skulked around HB too much today, and is more dangerous closer to goal. botched a few kicks too. 5/10

Richardson- can't bag his work ethic, just had one of those days where he couldn't find the pill til later on. Not bad. Not good. 4.5 /10

Newman - found lots of the pill, but uncharacteristically panicked when he didnt have to. Also didnt think he went as hard today as he normally does. A few lovely penetrating kicks though.
6/10

White - love this guy, played an okay game but once again, panicked at times. Beautiful goal on the run though. Just needs to slow down when he has the ball and assess before he blazes away. 5.5/10

Polo - did enough to gain himself another berth, and had a red hot start to the game. Faded away a little at the end, but his intensity and usage of the ball couldn't be questioned. 6.5 / 10

Bowden- hmm... played well in the last quarter, but the game was lost. He's a downhill skiier im afraid and on his way out. 4/10

McGuane - one of his best games for the club. Destroyed Johnson. Loved seeing a bit of biff with him at the end too. Used the ball pretty well too surprisingly. 8/10

Deledio - kept out of it well by picken but needs to learn how to cope with hard tags. he tackled very well however, and when he got the ball his kicking was penetrating. 6/10

Rance - i have a massive massive massive man crush on this guy. Played oh so well on Hahn for parts, and his attack and run was greatly appreciated. A bit fumbly, but you cant get hung up on that seeing as its his second game. 7.5/10

King- hmmmm what to do with King. Used it okay today, found a bit of it, but gave his opponents wayyyyy too much space. Think he needs to learn about accountability in the VFL before he costs us more goals in the AFL. 3.5 / 10

Jackson - I never, ever, ever feel safe when this kid has the ball in his hands. His awareness is terrible and he uses the ball atrociously. It's a shame because he manages to get his hands on it a lot. 3/ 10

Graham - neither good nor bad, but certainly better than Browne would have done. his bigger frame is helping him win taps, but he isn't really handy around the ground. 4.5/10

Morton - when he gets the ball, he is very good, but he needs to get more of it. He has immense potential, just at times goes missing for extended periods. 5/10

Schulz - a disappointing game for him, he went missing until half way through the third. his touches don't tend to do anything either, just offload the ball to someone else in the hope that they can do something better with it. 3.5 /10

Moore - did a few nice things defensively, but with the doggies small forward line he was only really required for spoiling purposes when the ball came in deep, but he did his job. 5/10

Hislop- nuggety bloke, his attack on the ball is ferocious but too often panicks. if he can increase his awareness then he will become a much more valuable player. 4.5/10

Simmonds- very disappointing game from him, didn't offer a lot around the ground and was beaten comprehensively in the hitouts. was a bit groggy after a knee to the head from hudson so ill cut him some slack. 4/10.

Riewoldt- started off amazingly, but seems to only fire when the midfielders are getting it in to him, a bit of a downhill skiier. needs to put in 4 quarter performance even when the game isn't going ourway. 5/10

Tambling - what a disappointment this guy is. Definitely playing for his career now, let alone his spot if he manages to hold it next week. Looked lost out there, alex rance had more poise playing his seconds game than tambling. 2.5/10

Edwards - another bloke who i am very disappointed with, needs to learn how to find the pill, and how to kick. A stint with coburg is in order to get some of the fire in the belly back. 3/10

thoughts?

moore was poor, thrashed by hill, out marked 3 times in the first quarter and had to be taken off. very quiet.
riewoldt was poor after quarter time, didnt touch it at all
tuck was mediocre
brown got a lot of it but wast effective
bowden was all right
mcguane was average, nothing special
king - tried hard but let down by disposal
jacko -- was ok, although he tend to stop and prop too much
morton - did nothing, lazy and looked disinterested
schultz was ok, did more than morton and reiwoldt

most of it was fair id say
probably a few that were around 5 and 6 tho.. probably drop to 4 and 5 considering 5 is meant be 'break even with ur opponent'

most of it was fair id say
probably a few that were around 5 and 6 tho.. probably drop to 4 and 5 considering 5 is meant be 'break even with ur opponent'

agreed, i realised at the end and couldnt be arsed changing them all :o

Mate, i appreciate the effort and enthusiasm you show by analysing the players after a terrible loss, but this type of attiutde is exactly why the club is and always will be mediocre.

What i mean by your type of attitude is that you are giving some guys scores of 3-5 that dont even deserve a 1 or at best 2. I suspect this is also the feedback they get from the RFC coaching staff, the "Hey, its not that bad, you did a few good things today" sort of mentality that breeds a losing culture. If you were being more honest and frank in your assesments, the guys who score zero or one: tambling, graham, schulz, king, jackson, brown, bowden, edwards, hislop. The guys who score between 3-5: richo (hate doing it to him but he really did have a shocker today), simmonds, riewoldt, morton, etc (just off top of my head, sure there are more).

Thats more than half the team that failed abysmally in their roles today. If some of these blokes were fair dinkum, they would be at punt rd practising kicking to one another UNDER PRESSURE by tomor morning, and not stop until vast imporvements were made, thats if they are not training with coburg with richard tambling for the next 6 weeks...

Tuck - ok - need one or two of him in the side.

Foley - worries me how much he is turning over the ball. Why are we the only team that won't just take a tackle? If you're taken straight away, then don't panic handball it away.

Brown - getting a bit old. When hardwick takes over, move him on. Big call but we can only afford a couple of the old buggers in the team

Richardson- tries hard, always puts the stats on the board but sums up what is wrong with our club. All effort, no class. Time to retire gracefully at years end. Will always be remembered fondly.

Newman - OK - just holding the captaincy for either Cotch or Lids to step up.

White - also love him. Classic good ordinary player who has a serious weapon with his pace.

Polo - really like him. He doesn't make the terrible decisions that some others do. Don't know why he gets such a bad wrap. Don't know why Wallace seems to dislike him.

Bowden- please retire. You are a list clogger.

McGuane - like him. Will be tempted to trade him to the Gold Coast for some good draft picks. We need to deal with them early in my opinon. Could be a gold mine. Offload him and Raines for 2 top 20 picks?

Deledio - could really use Cotchin and Cuz in the side. Got hard tagged today and you can't tear it up every week. Terry should have thrown him forward earlier.

Rance - please don't lose your confidence like everyone else seems to.

King- sack. Not up to it. Unfortunately you can't blame Terry for picking him at the moment with McMuffin and Raines out of the side.

Jackson - Does a job as a tagger. Not our worst.

Graham - Unfortunately now that Simmonds is too old, we'll need to deal with this guy and Patto until Vickery is up to it. Persist with him.

Morton - Got talent. Did a little bit today. Was due for a quieter one.

Schulz - Rubbish today. Trade for whatever we can. Hasn't made it by his age, never will.

Moore - just ok today. Like the kid though. Keep him and Rance as our future key backs.

Hislop- Rubbish. Why did we take this undisciplined cretin from Essendon instead of trying a fresh kid who wasn't yet in the system. He is one where Terry was trying to save his skin.

Simmonds- Past it, retire at the end of the year. Some footballers fall off the perverbial cliff at the end of their career and I think he has.

Riewoldt - Was quiet today but glad to see him slot that first goal. Hopefully is our long term gun forward. Like I always say. Imagine him with Fev's shoulders.

Tambling - True that Rance has more poise. Guy who has lost all confidence. For crying out loud Terry, just play this guy across half back and drop King. He's got too much talent to give up on, he's a good, disciplined kid who will do a role down back. Just put him at half back and leave him there.

Edwards - Terrible today. I usually like him but has also lost a bit of confidence. Need to persist with him on this list but get him on the creatine and whey protein until he's big enough to play senior footy.

While I'm carrying on:

Cousins - one guy to keep at the end of the year, unless he pings his hammy every game. Will help us if he can do a full preseason with the young guys.

Cogs - hope you get back - probably on your last chance with injury.

Cotchin - please, we need you back. Ridiculous at his age but genuinely feel like he just makes us a better team.

Wallace: Gone BUT PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE DO NOT PUT WAYNE CAMPBELL AS COACH. Bucks won't coach us so Malthouse or Hardwick.

McGuane was our best. He really is developing as a player. His kicking is still a concern though. Foley and Richardson had their usual good games, I was happy with Polo, Riewoldt and Newman's games and Rance impressed again. The rest can get ****ed.

king has been singlehandley repsonsible for the momentum shift two weeks in a row.

Rememebr the shocker last week that made Mcguan lose his cool and give up another goal in the third quarter. ? Horrendous turnover and he gve two other sawaty with total stupidity.

Today, second quarter game in balance under no pressure missis Rance in the middle...goal and massive momentum shift.

He costs us three goals per game...how does he get picked?

Why do the selectors refuse to drop Tambling? Has he ever played at Coburg? does he have photos?

Who is the defensive coach?
IS it David king?

I reckon your midfield is very similar to ours.

One genuine gun in Kerr/Foley. Who works his arse no matter what.

One toughnut who finds the ball too much for everyones liking and routinely butchers it. Priddis/Tuck

An aging tagger who needs to let it go Stenglien/Johnson

A real disappointment in Deldio/Rosa - who just doesnt get enough out of himself and routinely comes into the game when it's over

And a whole list of hacks charading as footballers, Fletcher, Embley, Staker/Jackson, Tambling, Edwards.

Luckily for us, we have Cox who gives a fair few of our duds an armchair ride so they look better than what they are.

The one difference I do notice between the two sides though, and you'll all laugh because we were pounded this week, is fitness. Your blokes, quite clearly good not run the game out. Whats the fitness like?

I made this comment on the game day thread to btw. How to turn things around, tough to say, start at the top and work your way down I guess. Good luck for the rest of the year.

Riewoldt- started off amazingly, but seems to only fire when the midfielders are getting it in to him, a bit of a downhill skiier. needs to put in 4 quarter performance even when the game isn't going ourway. 5/10
really? he only fires when the mids are kicking to him. because buddy can kick 10 when the mids are getting beaten and no ball is comming his way. almost every bloody forward is a down hill skiier unless they can play up the ground.

I reckon your midfield is very similar to ours.

One genuine gun in Kerr/Foley. Who works his arse no matter what.

One toughnut who finds the ball too much for everyones liking and routinely butchers it. Priddis/Tuck

An aging tagger who needs to let it go Stenglien/Johnson

A real disappointment in Deledio/Rosa - who just doesnt get enough out of himself and routinely comes into the game when it's over

And a whole list of hacks charading as footballers, Fletcher, Embley, Staker/Jackson, Tambling, Edwards.

Luckily for us, we have Cox who gives a fair few of our duds an armchair ride so they look better than what they are.

The one difference I do notice between the two sides though, and you'll all laugh because we were pounded this week, is fitness. Your blokes, quite clearly good not run the game out. Whats the fitness like?

I made this comment on the game day thread to btw. How to turn things around, tough to say, start at the top and work your way down I guess. Good luck for the rest of the year.

You have got to be kidding yourself to compare Rosa to Deledio...they are nothing a like and Rosa isn't worth a hair on Lids bum in my opinion.

White - love this guy, played an okay game but once again, panicked at times. Beautiful goal on the run though. Just needs to slow down when he has the ball and assess before he blazes away. 5.5/10

Polo - did enough to gain himself another berth, and had a red hot start to the game. Faded away a little at the end, but his intensity and usage of the ball couldn't be questioned. 6.5 / 10

Would definitely have rated White above Polo for effort and output.
White - 7.5
Polo - 6

McGuane - one of his best games for the club. Destroyed Johnson. Loved seeing a bit of biff with him at the end too. Used the ball pretty well too surprisingly. 8/10

Deledio - kept out of it well by picken but needs to learn how to cope with hard tags. he tackled very well however, and when he got the ball his kicking was penetrating. 6/10

Rance - i have a massive massive massive man crush on this guy. Played oh so well on Hahn for parts, and his attack and run was greatly appreciated. A bit fumbly, but you cant get hung up on that seeing as its his second game. 7.5/10

McGuane - agree that he was probly our best today, in particular his contested marking.

Deledio - was shut out, but still tried hard, showed by his tackling stats. Needs more help, and needs to work harder off the ball to break the tag. His run down of a raging Cooney in the 3rd was good to see.

Rance - a good start, but 7.5 is a bit high. I'd say a 6.5

King- hmmmm what to do with King. Used it okay today, found a bit of it, but gave his opponents wayyyyy too much space. Think he needs to learn about accountability in the VFL before he costs us more goals in the AFL. 3.5 / 10

Not sure where you were sitting, but King's turnovers by foot were terrible, there were at least 3 or 4 very bad examples

McGuane - like him. Will be tempted to trade him to the Gold Coast for some good draft picks. We need to deal with them early in my opinon. Could be a gold mine. Offload him and Raines for 2 top 20 picks?

Yeah lets trade a great up and coming KP defender :o
CG can have raines though :thumbsu: