RDFL 2014 Thread

Rockbank is also having their past players day on the 12th of July. The games that will be taking place will be against Lancefield. A game which will have a significant impact on the make up of the top 6 for this year. All former players and administrators are encouraged to come down from 12 to enjoy the day. More information can be obtained by calling Matt Embling (Buddha) on 0401 149 155. Go Rams !
Enjoy the day boys. Seems 12th July is a popular date for past players days . ;)

Yeah. The Sunbury Kangaroos past players day is also on the 12th..

Keston you seem to think a points system is good do explain why.I think its no good and wouldnt work.If it came in Broadford would be disadvantaged as I reckon close to 10 of your senior side would live further than 20 klms from Broadford.Also how would a town such as Lancefield field a side with such a small population?Too many looking for excuses and the easy option it seems.
On the topic of Gisborne and sunbury lions possibly coming in what rubbish as this would wreck this comp and they would flog sides.Romsey may be cashed up and dominant at the moment but is this sustainable?Two divisions didnt work 20 years ago and wont now either.Leave comp as it is.Only thing I think should be changed is replace final6 with final 5 as current system awards mediocrity and doesnt advantage 1 st spot enough

Keston you seem to think a points system is good do explain why.I think its no good and wouldnt work.If it came in Broadford would be disadvantaged as I reckon close to 10 of your senior side would live further than 20 klms from Broadford.Also how would a town such as Lancefield field a side with such a small population?Too many looking for excuses and the easy option it seems.
On the topic of Gisborne and sunbury lions possibly coming in what rubbish as this would wreck this comp and they would flog sides.Romsey may be cashed up and dominant at the moment but is this sustainable?Two divisions didnt work 20 years ago and wont now either.Leave comp as it is.Only thing I think should be changed is replace final6 with final 5 as current system awards mediocrity and doesnt advantage 1 st spot enough
Firstly I would like to say I mentioned a number of quotes ago
that what where the thoughts of the point system as it is to be introduced vic wide in 2015
My opinion is that it will bring the field back but don't now if it is the answer
But for people to believe that the clubs that are struggling can just fix there problems without evening out of competitions are kidding them selfs

The loss of identity to what a club is and means to a community needs to be taken into account and how the demands and cost of local footy affects a town
From what we have been told the system will catter for population juniour structure and other possibilities etc but is it the answer time will tell but to think doing nothing will fix the problem is to neglect football and what it is about.
Two divisions not sure perhaps a total restructure of leaugues what's the answer some times you need to take a risk to get the answer ?

By the way this is a general view of many leagues the haves and have nots

Football a GAME we play to socialise and have fun with friends and in the elite level to earn a income where is the line drawn

Just some thoughts

Do you know how the points system works? Clubs can still spend as much as they like, they can recruit players from mars if they like. Players are ranked, if your team is made up with mainly locals you could have a few A grade players. What it will stop is clubs filling their side with x amount of A grade players and poaching from opposition clubs. As players are worth points, you can only take the field with x amount of points. (IMS could confirm this is how it works)

Im sure there will still be clubs with high numbers of A grade players and selection nights will be like a game of chess, the team manager adding the points up to push the limit, some players may miss out due to points not performance.

Do you know how the points system works? Clubs can still spend as much as they like, they can recruit players from mars if they like. Players are ranked, if your team is made up with mainly locals you could have a few A grade players. What it will stop is clubs filling their side with x amount of A grade players and poaching from opposition clubs. As players are worth points, you can only take the field with x amount of points. (IMS could confirm this is how it works)

Im sure there will still be clubs with high numbers of A grade players and selection nights will be like a game of chess, the team manager adding the points up to push the limit, some players may miss out due to points not performance.

Yep your correct but understand some clubs may get more points depending on juniours population travel etc would take two to three years to get it right
Do you have any other suggestions on how to even out the competitions
It's a tuffy

Only thing I think should be changed is replace final6 with final 5 as current system awards mediocrity and doesnt advantage 1 st spot enough

I think final six should stay.
With 13 teams in a comp that only plays 16 games, means sides you double up with can have a huge bearing in where you finish on the ladder.
With a lopsided comp as we have at present the draw can be crucial in finishing positions.
In can be rough on the side that finishes top but they may have had an easier draw than sides that finish lower.

Yep your correct but understand some clubs may get more points depending on juniours population travel etc would take two to three years to get it right
Do you have any other suggestions on how to even out the competitions
It's a tuffy

It's all good to point the finger and blame what the well run club's seem to be able to do, but it starts off field. Club's need strength, stability and in this day and age strategic planning that goes longer than AGM to AGM each year. Leaving the door open when players leave their home club's would be a good start, encourage them to go but ask them to learn something to one day bring back.

AFL Vic could be faced with all sorts of drama's if this gets implemented with some fair dinkum foresight. Further up the road, how will the little towns of 100-200 people fair?

It's all good to point the finger and blame what the well run club's seem to be able to do, but it starts off field. Club's need strength, stability and in this day and age strategic planning that goes longer than AGM to AGM each year. Leaving the door open when players leave their home club's would be a good start, encourage them to go but ask them to learn something to one day bring back.
Doona no finger pointing just what many are saying surviving is tuff let alone finding what's needed above survival to compete
This is a conversation as I stated don't now the answer agree good planning is important for longevity

Doona no finger pointing just what many are saying surviving is tuff let alone finding what's needed above survival to compete
This is a conversation as I stated don't now the answer agree good planning is important for longevity

That wasn't pointed that at you I assure you, but across all the clubs/leagues where I chat to guys, lower ranked clubs seem to be hostile or jealous towards those up and about. It goes in cycles, and in some cases you have to get your planning right for you specific "crack at it", hard this is ya never know who else is having their "crack" at the same time.

If the touted points system is to come in, I hope the AFL have put some serious thought into it because as with all their rule changes of late clubs/coaches will adapt and those adaptions won't always have the desired result the rule change first intended. The points system sounds good in theory but will it really be?
I'll use clubs from other leagues to make my examples so as not to upset anyone...
1. How are points allocated to players at current clubs? Is there a transition period where curent players are cheaper on the points scale or would Deer Park need to cull 80% of their current list and start again next year.
2. Would the points system apply to VAFA clubs? Many of whom don't have any junior teams. They would be screwed!
3. Junior recruiting becomes a huge factor!!! Smart clubs will start offering incentives to talented juniors to come across before the cut off. I I was say Old Xavs I would be offering scholarships to talented kids as long as they play with their junior teams.
4. What about the bloke that grows up in say Wodonga? Finishes Uni and moves to Melbourne for work. Meets some new mates that play at Altona and wants to play with them (maybe doesn't even want money) but is told by Altona - Sorry mate we would love you to play with us but we just can't afford you under the points system.
5. What about the bloke that plays all his juniors at say Gisborne but then finds out when he gets to senior level that he just isn't going to play senior footy so he decides to try his luck at Trentham where he knows he will play seniors. Sorry mate can't play here, you cost too many points.
6. What about the bloke that played all his juniors and best senior years at St Albans but decides at the age of 32 when he is no longer getting a game at St Albans that he wants to go to Caroline Springs to finish off his career?
7. Will the points system be nation wide? If not former SANFL or WAFL players relocating to Victoria will become hot property.
8. What could happen to the VFL? ATM kids that don't get drafted go and play VFL. Why? a)In the hope that they get drafted later on. b) if they don't get drafted they can use the fact that they played VFL as a bargaining chip when securing a contract in local footy later on. For that reason, young kids straight out of TAC Cup might decide not to go to VFL for fear of being too costly under the points system to potential local clubs down the track.

I understand that clubs like Deer Park have caused the AFL to do try and do something about the current trend in local footy but the 'can of worms' it could open up might just make it worse than it already is! Remember what happened when the cane toad was introduced up North:eek:

If the touted points system is to come in, I hope the AFL have put some serious thought into it because as with all their rule changes of late clubs/coaches will adapt and those adaptions won't always have the desired result the rule change first intended. The points system sounds good in theory but will it really be?
I'll use clubs from other leagues to make my examples so as not to upset anyone...
1. How are points allocated to players at current clubs? Is there a transition period where curent players are cheaper on the points scale or would Deer Park need to cull 80% of their current list and start again next year.
2. Would the points system apply to VAFA clubs? Many of whom don't have any junior teams. They would be screwed!
3. Junior recruiting becomes a huge factor!!! Smart clubs will start offering incentives to talented juniors to come across before the cut off. I I was say Old Xavs I would be offering scholarships to talented kids as long as they play with their junior teams.
4. What about the bloke that grows up in say Wodonga? Finishes Uni and moves to Melbourne for work. Meets some new mates that play at Altona and wants to play with them (maybe doesn't even want money) but is told by Altona - Sorry mate we would love you to play with us but we just can't afford you under the points system.
5. What about the bloke that plays all his juniors at say Gisborne but then finds out when he gets to senior level that he just isn't going to play senior footy so he decides to try his luck at Trentham where he knows he will play seniors. Sorry mate can't play here, you cost too many points.
6. What about the bloke that played all his juniors and best senior years at St Albans but decides at the age of 32 when he is no longer getting a game at St Albans that he wants to go to Caroline Springs to finish off his career?
7. Will the points system be nation wide? If not former SANFL or WAFL players relocating to Victoria will become hot property.
8. What could happen to the VFL? ATM kids that don't get drafted go and play VFL. Why? a)In the hope that they get drafted later on. b) if they don't get drafted they can use the fact that they played VFL as a bargaining chip when securing a contract in local footy later on. For that reason, young kids straight out of TAC Cup might decide not to go to VFL for fear of being too costly under the points system to potential local clubs down the track.

I understand that clubs like Deer Park have caused the AFL to do try and do something about the current trend in local footy but the 'can of worms' it could open up might just make it worse than it already is! Remember what happened when the cane toad was introduced up North:eek:
Fair points guess they have a bit of work to be done !

Some good points Jack, the point system wont come in & nor should it, comps have been lop sided for years, you will always have your strong clubs, the clubs who have a strong committee, smart people with a business plan & a strong work ethic, then you will have clubs who cant get people to a function, which makes it hard to raise coin. One disappointment at one club I played for, was the former players don't go down to support the club, you never see them & this is the problem at most clubs these days. I remember the first time I took training at Romsey, I was staggered by the turn up of the faithful, the 60 blokes having a drink watching training, that's a culture most clubs would envy, that's what makes Romsey the club they are, that's why they are strong on field, they have a strong culture off it!

From what we where told. A 100 strong with doona there it's in for next season 2015 ?
I guess the points jack brings up hold a lot of Merritt but perhaps the afl vic have considered them and put answers to them don't no
But interesting times ahead
Agree you need a plan one with longevity perhaps a part time or full time employe to run clubs 12 months a year fund raising etc is what clubs now need ??

From what we where told. A 100 strong with doona there it's in for next season 2015 ?
I guess the points jack brings up hold a lot of Merritt but perhaps the afl vic have considered them and put answers to them don't no
But interesting times ahead
Agree you need a plan one with longevity perhaps a part time or full time employe to run clubs 12 months a year fund raising etc is what clubs now need ??
Frome what we are told by whom? If it was to come in, they would have to give the league around two years notice to prepare for such a change, as I said it wont happen, just wishful thinking on the clubs behalf, who cant be bothered getting off their buts & working hard to improve the teams performance, as you know Keston there is a lot of work to be done by some clubs who sit on their hands & wish for someone to give them a hand out, you have to make it happen!

Rdfl footy vic
And you should no I now what needs to be done at a club ????
Wishfull thinking re a clubs behalf ??? Explain
Any way as stated this is a discussion re footy vic wide !

I can only answer this on what I understand personally of the points system being mooted for introduction, I would also like to premise this with the fact that at this point I neither agree with or disagree with a points system until further information is available.

1. I would suggest that there would be a backdating of the current playing list, something to remember, that each year a player is on a list, his points total will reduce.
Example: Brent Tuckey at Diggers Rest, ex AFL, starts as a 5 point player, each year loses a point, this year would be a 2 point player.

2. No, as it's against the rules for player payments in the VAFA, I couldn't see a reason for a change, the VAFA are also a little bit different in that they are the one competition that marches to the beat of their own drum so to speak, they are basically self administered.

3. Junior footy will indeed become a massive part of the senior program, I don't necessarily think that is a bad thing.

4. Stiff

5. Stiff

6. Stiff

7. Yes, SANFL & WAFL players will rank on the points list the same as VFL players.

8. True. That could happen but it's unlikely, they are more likely to try the VFL as a chance to make it at the highest level.

A points system won't eliminate opportunities at local clubs, but it will stop sides burying themselves in debt with a team of mercenaries to win a flag.

It's also a good idea to remember that the league administration will allocate points based on performances, geographical position and other factors.

More than anything else, it will be tough for the administration..

I can only answer this on what I understand personally of the points system being mooted for introduction, I would also like to premise this with the fact that at this point I neither agree with or disagree with a points system until further information is available.

1. I would suggest that there would be a backdating of the current playing list, something to remember, that each year a player is on a list, his points total will reduce.
Example: Brent Tuckey at Diggers Rest, ex AFL, starts as a 5 point player, each year loses a point, this year would be a 2 point player.

2. No, as it's against the rules for player payments in the VAFA, I couldn't see a reason for a change, the VAFA are also a little bit different in that they are the one competition that marches to the beat of their own drum so to speak, they are basically self administered.

3. Junior footy will indeed become a massive part of the senior program, I don't necessarily think that is a bad thing.

4. Stiff

5. Stiff

6. Stiff

7. Yes, SANFL & WAFL players will rank on the points list the same as VFL players.

8. True. That could happen but it's unlikely, they are more likely to try the VFL as a chance to make it at the highest level.

A points system won't eliminate opportunities at local clubs, but it will stop sides burying themselves in debt with a team of mercenaries to win a flag.

It's also a good idea to remember that the league administration will allocate points based on performances, geographical position and other factors.

More than anything else, it will be tough for the administration..
Thanks for the reply IMS. Sounds a bit better than what I thought it would be. As we all know points system is great for my club I just hope all possible scenarios are catered for. I like the fact that points reduce each year a player is at a club.:thumbsu:
On another note the VAFA clubs will love it and will massively benefit them when recruiting as the opportunities the big clubs over there can offer will now become more lucrative to potential recruits.

A player who is the child of a Club Life Member can be registered with that same club and they will attract zero (0) points.

Great idea :rolleyes:
Mmmmm. I would hope that clubs would not be considering life membership according to the playing ability of the candidates offspring. Could be an absolute can of worms.

What if you lived next door to someone on the committee, maybe that could be worth 0-1 point?

RDFL 2014 Thread