RDFL Thread 2009

Round 3 is nigh, and another interesting week of matches.

My predictions - which are proving to be more of a kiss of death so far, but I'll have another crack - are this:

Not sure where to fit either Romsey or Diggers as yet, both are sides that could finish anywhere from top to bottom. I'll go the Burra to open their account for 09, by 25 pts.

Sunbury Kangaroos have started nicely, and travel to Broadford for the first battle of the 'roos for 09. Broadford haven't managed to register any points as yet, and I'm tipping they will still be on 0 after this week. Sunbury by 45.

Kilmore made a promising start to the year with their big win over Wallan, then came back to earth at the hands of Sunbury. Centrals have made a slow start to season '09. Kilmore with the HGA should be too strong, 57 pts

Believe it or not, Riddell are faced with a massive danger game this week, when they host a Rockbank side with their tails up. Riddell are going in minus a number players, including Meacham, and Rockbank are playing good footy, buoyed by their round 2 success over Centrals. I'll stick my neck out here and tip the Rams to have their biggest win in years, 7 pts.

Wallan were all the rage in pre season, from memory our very own Matt Nicholls even tipped them for the flag, but their start has been slower than they would have liked, a first up loss followed by a tough game against newcomers Broadford. Macedon, on the other hand, are travelling very nicely thank you, and at this early stage are the team to beat IMHO. At home I expect the cats to continue their merry run and comfortably defeat Wallan, to the tune of 39 points.

As always, I'm tipping Lancefield to beat Woodend.

Good luck to all this week.

Forgot to put my tips in last week....but here are mine for this week.

Diggers will hate nothing more then to lose the first 3 games, especially if one is to Romsey. So I'm tipping Diggers by 12 points.

Sunbury seem to be the ones to catch and Cuffe looks to be the Richo of the comp at the moment. Kangaroos playing too good right now and should go 1 up in the battle of the roos. Sunbury to beat Broadford by 36 points

Centrals seem to be struggling at this point and Kilmore have proved that they can play a good brand. Kilmore by 24 points.

No disrespect to Rockbank, and good to see them get up last week after a narrow loss in round 1 not to mention the results over the last couple of seasons, but if Riddell lose to Rockbank after where the two clubs have been over the years there is a fair chance that the rooms could be burnt down. The sheer fact that it is Riddell v Rockbank I think will get them over the line. Riddell by 20 points but would love to see Rockbank get up.

Cats are flying but seem to be piling up some injuries which is not good. Still they are up and about and Wallan are after a disappointing round 1 only just got over the line last week. Cats by 42 points.

I'm glad I don't follow Lancefield as I would probably be getting my heart checked after two close games to start the year. Woodend found some form against the burra and the Tigers almost got over the line against Riddell. Would love to tip a draw but will go with Woodend.

Riddell without Meecham, Kegga, Purcell, Whittell, Casson, Allen and Belville this week.

Go RAMS

You forgot to mention the coach

My tips for this week
Diggers to be 0-3 romsey by 1 point
Kilmore too strong at home, will beat centrals 53 points
Woodend now with 1 win will continue their run over a much improved tigers. Hawks 18 points
Riddell to account for rockbank with ease, without their guns. some of riddells 2s could walk into senior sides, 65 points
Macedon and Wallan could go either way, but i'll tip the cats at home by 8 points
The roos travel to Broadford to take on the roos, my Tip. The roos will get a win this week. :p
Either way the bus trip home should be messy.

Good Luck to all teams this week, may the best teams win or an upset be the talk of Big Footy next week.

You forgot to mention the coach

My tips for this week
Diggers to be 0-3 romsey by 1 point
Kilmore too strong at home, will beat centrals 53 points
Woodend now with 1 win will continue their run over a much improved tigers. Hawks 18 points
Riddell to account for rockbank with ease, without their guns. some of riddells 2s could walk into senior sides, 65 points
Macedon and Wallan could go either way, but i'll tip the cats at home by 8 points
The roos travel to Broadford to take on the roos, my Tip. The roos will get a win this week. :p
Either way the bus trip home should be messy.

Good Luck to all teams this week, may the best teams win or an upset be the talk of Big Footy next week.

Why are Riddell gonna be without some of these blokes and their coach? Mass injuries or did someone decide to get married and invite half the footy team during footy season. A big no no!!!

The latter kato2. I was told last week who it is that's getting married, I think it was Ant Power, but not sure exactly.

Yeah Ants is getting married in Port Douglas on Saturday. Matt and Mark will both be in QLD this weekend and coaching via phone hook up. When the draw came out they all sat down and picked the best week to miss. Riddell V Rock and Sunbury V Melton are both locks so they thought it was the best time for a weekend away. Who knew Rockbank were going to improve.:rolleyes:

Re: 18's Draw

At least he is out there having a go. Without him, the umpires would be struggling to fill all the games that they do.

As keeps being stated, the umpires are struggling for numbers and no-one is putting their hand up to do games that would otherwise have no umpires.

I challenge anyone to have a go and do a couple of games and then say that they are perfect.

If you aren't happy with some of the umpires that you get, then provide an alternative, put your hand up and do a couple of games.

Agreed bald man.

Kenny is one bloke who actually has a decent footy brain. He reads the play well and lets the game flow and only blows hs whistle when necessary.

All umpires are required to stay back and have a drink after the game. Anyone is free to ask/speak to umpires questions etc. Maybe ask him next time, as with any umpire how they came to any conclusion on a decision.

Omni’s Tips for Round 3.
(Last round 4, total 9 outa 12.)

Lancefield to get up at home over Woodend by 22 pts, just because the Tigers must win these type of games if they are to be taken seriously as a contender this season.

Diggers have gotta open their account sooner or later this season, & tomorrow playing against the Redbacks should see them prevail at home by 29 pts.

Macedon to be to strong at home over an inconsistant Wallan outfit by 34 pts.

Sunbury should get the points when they travel up the hi-way on their road trip to Broardford tomorrow in the "Blue Bus" by 17 pts.

Kilmore to account for a dispirited Melton group by 66 pts at home.

And last but not least, Riddell at home to just over come a Rockbank side that is starting to believe in themselves by 3 pts.

Good Luck to all Boys, enjoy yourselves & have fun !!! :thumbsu:

Yeah Ants is getting married in Port Douglas on Saturday. Matt and Mark will both be in QLD this weekend and coaching via phone hook up. When the draw came out they all sat down and picked the best week to miss. Riddell V Rock and Sunbury V Melton are both locks so they thought it was the best time for a weekend away. Who knew Rockbank were going to improve.:rolleyes:

if this is true then they (riddell) need to have a good hard look at themselves and learn to show teams a little respect

Riddell have always treated the competition with contempt. They'll never change. Here's hoping they get rolled on the weekend!

You can't be serious Kings! the draws would have been released in nov/dec. Are you Married? it takes more than 4 months to organise a wedding, you say they all sat down and looked at the fixtures. Did ants also have his guest list at the table, Matt and mark with players lists. Would they have chosen a home game when the club is run by powers? I really doubt it mate.
Any man on bigfooty knows if your getting married it is not about us. The wife to be, tells us whats happening and we go along, where to go and what to say, etc. That is what leads to a long happy marriage :D.
For somebody to state whether they picked it due to who they're playing is disrespectful from you. If that was the case nobody here needs to read it.

Riddell have always treated the competition with contempt. They'll never change. Here's hoping they get rolled on the weekend!

It was organised a year ago. Great to see tall poppy syndrome alive and well. Anyone has success and celebrate it they are showing contempt. Either get over it or follow a side that can win a flag.

Gday Boys just my tips for this week-

Diggers over Romsey by 25 points
Kilmore over centrals by 3 goals
Ridell with a few out, by 4 goals against rockbank
Macedon over Wallan in close one at home by 5 pojnts
Broadford in an upset over sunbury by a goal

And woodsy to continue winning ways with a 4 goal win obver Lanny

Results from Lancefield Park: Lancefield defeated Woodend by 56 points. The tigers also won the seconds, with Woodend winning the 18's comfortably.

Next week is going to be huge.Macedon vs Sunbury.(1 plays 2)
Riddell vs Woodend. Who could forget the final these two teams played last year, and it wasn't the footy that made it memorable.
Romsey vs Lancefield. (4 vs 5)Both these teams have had a good start and will be looking to add another win .
Is Romsey vs Lancefield the most fierce of rivalries in the RDFL ?

Next week is going to be huge.Macedon vs Sunbury.(1 plays 2)
Riddell vs Woodend. Who could forget the final these two teams played last year, and it wasn't the footy that made it memorable.
Romsey vs Lancefield. (4 vs 5)Both these teams have had a good start and will be looking to add another win .
Is Romsey vs Lancefield the most fierce of rivalries in the RDFL ?

Wallan and Kilmore might just beat them for rivalry. If not they would come close.

Heard from an inside source that Riddell don't even train the Thurs night before they play Rockbank. Also heard the coach wasn't going to the wedding, he was going to QLD and picked this weekend cause he thought the game was easily in the bag. IF that's true it's more than disrespectful.

Umpiring was shocking at Riddell yesterday and things were getting outta hand. If your gonna be that bad at least be consistently bad and pay stupid decisions both ways. Oh and Belville did play.

Overall game was high intensity. The Rams showed plenty of determination but were simply outsmarted by the Bombers. Riddell backed one or two blokes in each contest and had the runners coming past for the link up handballs were Rockbank were seen more to be running forward for the next possession and numbers getting sucked into the contest.

The bombers were strong around the 50 building a wall along the arc to prevent the footy from coming out when attacking or to pick up clean possession and run on from defensive 50.

The rams showed plenty of fighting spirit and their tackling was impressive. They seemed to lack a bit of run towards the end but the skill level has improved with some of the inclusions they have this year as well as a return to form and some growth from some of the rams stalwarts. No doubt the title of biggest improver of 09 will be fought out between the Rams and the Cats.

Good to see a more even omp this year.

Heard from an inside source that Riddell don't even train the Thurs night before they play Rockbank. Also heard the coach wasn't going to the wedding, he was going to QLD and picked this weekend cause he thought the game was easily in the bag. IF that's true it's more than disrespectful.

Umpiring was shocking at Riddell yesterday and things were getting outta hand. If your gonna be that bad at least be consistently bad and pay stupid decisions both ways. Oh and Belville did play.

Overall game was high intensity. The Rams showed plenty of determination but were simply outsmarted by the Bombers. Riddell backed one or two blokes in each contest and had the runners coming past for the link up handballs were Rockbank were seen more to be running forward for the next possession and numbers getting sucked into the contest.

The bombers were strong around the 50 building a wall along the arc to prevent the footy from coming out when attacking or to pick up clean possession and run on from defensive 50.

The rams showed plenty of fighting spirit and their tackling was impressive. They seemed to lack a bit of run towards the end but the skill level has improved with some of the inclusions they have this year as well as a return to form and some growth from some of the rams stalwarts. No doubt the title of biggest improver of 09 will be fought out between the Rams and the Cats.

the wedding you speak of was in port douglas, which is were ???????
biggest improvers the rams you have got to be kidding me , cats by a country mile

I am assuming by the post by Headshot that Sunbury and Macedon won. Any news from there games? Were they convincing or just get over the line?

I think the game showed 2 things.
1. Rams are still a long way off it.
2. We all knew Riddell are going to very hard to beat. They proved they have great depth which all great teams need.

They have odds on sportbet for the Ballarat and Bendigo Leagues. If they ran one on the RDFL Riddell would be very short.

i was out and about on the weekend and saw several games from u18's through to Senior Football.

I am not an umpire.

What l saw was amazement at the holding the ball rule. From the players to the coaches boxes - they don't know the rules.

Please read on - if a player is tackled more less straight away and the player does not handball or kick the ball, it is play on. The amount of screams for "ball" and abuse the umpires were getting at several grounds on the weekend really surprised me for this. So if a player takes one step and is tackled, or a player receives a handball and is tackled straight away it cannot be holding the ball.....regardless.

Its only holding the ball if a player has had a chance to get rid of the ball before he was tackled that its holding the ball if the player fails to kick or handball.

In my eyes, if a player is tackled and tries to kick it, but does not make contact, that is dropping the ball. This doesn't seem to get paid, made an attempt is always the call, please explain how an attempt is a disposal. He dropped the ball, I think it is as simple as that.

this is excactly my point about people not knowing the rules.

If a player has not had a chance to get rid of the ball and is tackled it is play on. Pure and simple.

In your example, if the player did have a chance to get rid of it before he was tackled then that is a free kick.

Results from Lancefield Park: Lancefield defeated Woodend by 56 points. The tigers also won the seconds, with Woodend winning the 18's comfortably.

This is a great result by Lancefield. The only loss was by a small margin to Riddell. Good to see both the House brothers in the best. Looks like the change of enviroment has been good for them

Is Matt Nichols red carded for life? And where is IMS??

Some big rumors floatinig around. And I love a good rumour. ;)