Baldingeagle
Rookie
In my eyes, if a player is tackled and tries to kick it, but does not make contact, that is dropping the ball. This doesn't seem to get paid, made an attempt is always the call, please explain how an attempt is a disposal. He dropped the ball, I think it is as simple as that.
The way that the laws are currently written, an umpire is not able to reward a good or great tackle, but is only allowed to penalise the player for not disposing of the ball correctly or in a timely manner.
The key points are, in order:
1. Was the tackle legitimate?
2. Did the player have a prior opportunity to dispose the ball?
3. Did the tackle knock the ball out?
4. Has the player had an opportunity to dispose of the ball once tackled?
If the answers fall the right way, then the player with the ball can be penalised.
If the player makes a legitimate attempt, and the tackle knocks the ball clear, then it is play on.
The spirit of the rules seek to ensure that the player that makes the play is given every opportunity to do so.
In saying all of this however, this scenario occurs within a 1/2 second, and before the umpire has been able to assess the criteria the ball has more often than not moved on. If the ball is moving on, then the umpire would be criticised for being too technical if they called the play back all the time.
I hear your frustrations, and this is what makes it difficult in umpiring our great game!!!





