RDFL Thread - 2012

Congratulations Doona!!! Great to hear you back into the coaching caper and wish you all the best for the season/s ahead! Good stuff!

Thanks mate, you still in charge down there? I thought I spotted ya in the betting ring at the Valley Satdy but by the time I weaevd me magic thru the crowd you'd either moved on or it wasnt you.

How are Lavo looking Mr M ?

Yeh not too bad thanks, had our AGM last night and had over 20 players in attendance (our most ever) and a lot of keen guys to keep moving onwards and upwards.... Much better placed with our reserves coach and dead ringer for Dan Akroyd in Coneheads moving to Romsey! Haha!

Thanks mate, you still in charge down there? I thought I spotted ya in the betting ring at the Valley Satdy but by the time I weaevd me magic thru the crowd you'd either moved on or it wasnt you.

Hey Doona, in charge no, senior coach yes... 3rd season and looking forward to pre-season already! Was at 'my local as a kid' the Valley so you may have seen me mate... Great day as always! Looking forward to our 2013 10 year re-union mate.... How time flies! Caught up with Nashy at Caulfield last week... Good times! RIP Jazzy.... She was part of it! ;)

Where did that time go? 2003 was one hell of a side . . . . and one hell of a premiership celebration :thumbsu:

Bloody hell you blokes are on the ball early. When will training kick off for your boys Doona??

Nothing worst than getting to Feb and being caught in the $hitfight with all other clubs seeking practice games. Lock em in early if you have the opportunity to I reckon.

Still gotta ring a few players from rival clubs but at this stage November 23rd I'd say, after we've had a meeting on the 16th so I can introduce myself, have a bit of a chinwag about the season just gone and the plans for 2012.

Have heard melton centrals throwing a bit of coin around,apparently they have picked up 4 quality players from deer park,one being R.Travoski (league b&f winner this year) any truth to this rumour?

This sunday the 6th November, the Diggers Rest Football/Netball club is having a meet the coaches day starting at 1pm at Diggers Rest footy ground. New coach and new recruits will be in attendance. New and old players are welcome to the club to enjoy a chat and a quiet ale.

NotDoneYet, any names to give out as far as new recruits go after yesterday's meet the coach day?

It was more about meeting the new coach and new president on the day. Great turn out by all involved. Only name I can give you at this stage is that Ruane has committed to play again next season and all players from last season are on board again. Looking forward to great 2012

What no key forward/big signing???

Good to hear all have recommitted and a fit and firing Ruane is a big boost. I'm fairly sure their will be a view announcements soon in reagrds to recruits :) and its sounds like George 08 already knows something lol.... Good luck to new President Paul Downey a very passionate Burra from all my time off knowing him :thumbsu:

It was really great to see some great numbers out at Lancefield in their first training run of the pre-season last night.. it's a great deal of difference from the first one this time last year.. all signs are looking pretty positive and the youngsters who were there last night will only get better.. keep up the great work guys!:)

:thumbsu: Great call! But I don't think he is going to kick 100+ goals like your #1 recruit! ;)

Im going to put this to bed right now.. I will not be making a comeback in 2012. :D

Hi All, What sort of standard is this comp? What other leagues does it compare too?

What sort of coin do the good players earn? Is there much money being thrown around in general?

Which are the clubs that like to splash the cash around and which ones rely on "love the club" players?

:thumbsu: Great call! But I don't think he is going to kick 100+ goals like your #1 recruit! ;)
Great get by the "burra", I believe the guys name is brett or brent tuckey ex collingwood and vcfl rep last year, very,very handy by all reports!!!daniel sahlberg is leaving sunbury lions, will more than likely play at riddell or diggers!!will slot in nicely to any of those teams!!

My mail is Sahlberg to Riddell along with another VERY handy pick up out of South Australia. Possibly a few others to come.