Recruiting Department

• Thread starter Thread starter Merv

Firstly, let me just say that I don't believe we will win the Premiership next season. Although obviously, I hope we do.

I actually agree with Sheedy's method of developing young players and the way he introduces them to AFL football.

He cops a lot of critisism for not playing enough kids at times, but I actually believe in not throwing all the lambs to the wolves at any given time. Introduce those that can handle and rotate those through that aren't quite ready. I still think he is a very good educator of young people and young footballers. Look at the way Monfries and Stanton have benifited from the way they were rotated through in their first season. It's something Bomber Thompson probably tried to emulate at Geelong a few years back.

A lot have screamed at the non-selection and the dropping of Dyson. Yet the reasons that was happening were obvious. On Friday night we saw a Ricky Dyson that was much more accountable and applied a greater level of pressure on the opposition. Lesson learnt.

I think he is very good in the way he introduces new talent. I'm not sure we have ever delisted a young player that has gone on to make a real go of it. Not in recent times anyway. Richards is now out of the Sydney side and really looked out of his depth in his last outing (unfortunate for Ted). McGrath was another fan favourite that Sheedy took some stick for, another one that hasn't reached great heights.

We've completely reshaped our coaching group, O'Donnell and Wallis have only been there two years (Wally might be three), and Ayres has been there for six months. Knights is about to be given more responsibility. Like the players, I believe we will benifit from that group having another years development under Sheedy. It is fair to say this type of year wasn't expected, that would suggest to me that there isn't a succession plan yet put in place for 2007. Lets make sure we get that process right as well.

I don't think Sheedy should coach for ever, but I believe we A) Owe it to him to see out his contract, and B) Think he is the best man to rebuild the list over the next 18 months. C) We'll have a better year next year, he, like Hird deserve to go out better.

I've tried to think about this as objectively as possible and the only way I could really do that is to imagine myself being a first year player at Essendon next season. I'd much rather have Kevin Sheedy as my coach in my debut year than a rookie coach.

The most important factor in all of this however, is how well we draft and trade. Not sure there is anyone in the caper who can get us in a better position come trade week.

everyone quickly forgets the afl system that dictates failure = long term success you look at hawthorn,richmond, geelong st kilda... all have spent significant stints at the bottom of the ladder to gain youth and new blood into the clubs... i suppose we all forgot this, as we were blinded by the essendon sitting nicely in 1st or 2nd in those respective years... but what have we they acheived? fcuuk all really. wow a couple of night gfs... i would be more frustrated at those clubs.. that have the youth and have 'rebuilt' the lists, and really have not got alot to show for it.. whilst essendon bar 05.. have been successful and i feel that our stint at the bottom will be short lived as we already have the foundations through (the 10 kids ppl always metion) plus a good reshuffle of the list through the years draft.. its amazing what a year can do for the club..ppl that say 5 years until we make the finals... well pack ya bags and off to punt road thanks...

oh and btw went to the collingwood v richmond game...collingwood really shouldnt be a top 4 side.... buckley is slow and kept getting caught... sad to see a champion that has already reached his peak yet he is yet to realise.. should play him soley in the pocket not on the ball

Longy413 said:
Judkins last couple of years at the club weren't all that flash either.

He didn't exactly set the world on fire with his recruiting down at Collingwood either. In fact some of his recruiting, particularly higher draft picks, has been woeful! I don't call the man Dudkins for nothing! The most overatted recruiter in the land who built his entire reputation on recruiting Hird IMHO!

Our loss, your gain not having him as his recruiting was from the Stone Age!

Maybe there lies a solution right there...make a play for an on song recruiter at the minute. Dont have to look too far, at the kennel, Clayton is somewhat of a messiah in recruiting circles.

In the debate about Sheedy's coaching...he should be allowed to fulfil his contract (which the club would be foolish to terminate) n we're STILL a very young side that ill get chewed up week in, week out by the opposition, even if they lay one spot above us on the ladder.

Ill go further in saying that its not the kids who arent coming along...its the 24-28 age bracket that have fallen away. I strongly doubt they'll every thrive on this running style of football n we DO have to face that the game has evolved in front of our very eyes in one season with the 'bringing the ball back in play' rules that have come into fruition. Some clubs were able to adapt to this change with their current lists, some weren't...we ARE one of the unfortunate ones right now.

REMEMBER: The club recognises what it needs to do n it WILL turn it around 'in front of our very eyes'

If anything, be ready to bid farewell to virtually ALL of our 2000 premiership team with in a year or two.

The Sheedy home and away coaching record reads as follows;

2002/ 14 wins
2003/ 13 wins
2004/ 12 wins
2005/ 8 wins
2006/ 1 win

Not a good trend unfolding.

Some suggest he is the best coach to develop players and has his share of achievements in this area;, some disagree. As senior coach of Essendon and with his other global pursuits, his role in young player development is diminished, and which is why we have supporting roles, as held by Matthew Knights, and which will be expanded next year. His handling of senior players and match day tactics have been widely criticised by supporters and alleged media experts. We will struggle through 9 games left this year, and face 2007 without Hird, Lloyd eased back in, Fletch entering his 15th year and many senior players on the verge of dismissal such as JJ Solomon, Bolton, Peverill Rioli etc. This is offset by some new faces and improvement in some of the existing quality younger players. By round 11 next year, with average results, Sheedy won't be offerred a new contract and will cast his eye, and focus his mind surreptitiously on his next AFL club. Is he the best option for 2007 ? No.

Sooner or later our new recruits will not be coached by Sheedy and I suggest it may as well be sooner than later.

stander said:
The Sheedy home and away coaching record reads as follows;

2002/ 14 wins
2003/ 13 wins
2004/ 12 wins
2005/ 8 wins
2006/ 1 win

Not a good trend unfolding.

Some suggest he is the best coach to develop players and has his share of achievements in this area;, some disagree. As senior coach of Essendon and with his other global pursuits, his role in young player development is diminished, and which is why we have supporting roles, as held by Matthew Knights, and which will be expanded next year. His handling of senior players and match day tactics have been widely criticised by supporters and alleged media experts. We will struggle through 9 games left this year, and face 2007 without Hird, Lloyd eased back in, Fletch entering his 15th year and many senior players on the verge of dismissal such as JJ Solomon, Bolton, Peverill Rioli etc. This is offset by some new faces and improvement in some of the existing quality younger players. By round 11 next year, with average results, Sheedy won't be offerred a new contract and will cast his eye, and focus his mind surreptitiously on his next AFL club. Is he the best option for 2007 ? No.

Sooner or later our new recruits will not be coached by Sheedy and I suggest it may as well be sooner than later.

Id be willing to bet my house on being almost invincible if we had 20 Sheedys, Lloyd n Hird on the paddock every week

Judkins..... your kidding how many early picks did he have. where is danny roach, why didnt he take pavlich, wheres billy morrison.
As for clayton, hows Tim Walsh going, Tom Williams, this blokes made a career out of picking up players with early picks. " a messieh year joking"
how many early picks have essendon had in the last 3 years NONE... how many top 5 picks have they had in Dodoro's time..... NONE.
take judd out of wce or Riewoldt out of StKilda - you idiot and tell me what you've got - go and barrack for collingwood you idiot.

bob86 said:
Judkins..... your kidding how many early picks did he have. where is danny roach, why didnt he take pavlich, wheres billy morrison.
As for clayton, hows Tim Walsh going, Tom Williams, this blokes made a career out of picking up players with early picks. " a messieh year joking"
how many early picks have essendon had in the last 3 years NONE... how many top 5 picks have they had in Dodoro's time..... NONE.
take judd out of wce or Riewoldt out of StKilda - you idiot and tell me what you've got - go and barrack for collingwood you idiot.

Mate, settle down. everyone is entitled to their opinion, no need to get all upset.

I'm not sure how long dodoro has been there, i THINK since 2001 but not sure.
We have had some high draft choices and of course its still to be decided if they will make it or now.
Judkins has also recruited some very talented footballers and not all with high choices either

Some of our early picks from 2002
Draft selection: 10, Jason Laycock from Tassie Mariners.
Draft selection: 6, Kepler Bradley from West Perth Draft
Draft Selection: 7, Patrick Ryder from East Fremantle

It is still debatable as to how good these players will be but they are quite high draft picks and really only time will tell

Merv Neagle said:
Mate, settle down. everyone is entitled to their opinion, no need to get all upset.

I agree with most of what Bob said, despite his obvious rage issues.

Dodoro has been our recruiting officer since the start of 1998.

With the exception of Davies and Harvey, which in reality were early second round picks, our 1st round picks under Dodoro have been quite good.

McVeigh (9), Rama (11), Laycock (10), Winderlich (11), Bradley (6), Stanton (13) and Monfries (14) were all good selections.

McVeigh has established himself as one of the better small defenders in the AFL and has been solid this year in his progression to the midfield.

Laycock and Winderlich have progressed slowly, but so have the majority of 2002 draftees that are still on AFL lists. The club's patience should finally pay off next season.

Bradley and Stanton were great last year and despite their form dipping this year (especially Keps), both will be fantastic players.

Monfries has made a huge impression on Bomber fans with the way he attacks the footy. Odds on he'll captain our club one day.

And finally there's Rama. Perhaps the best one of them all...his situation is unfair to say the least.

This year’s early picks, Ryder (7) and Dempsey (19) could be anything. Anyone expecting Ryder to star from day one is unrealistic. Dempsey is skinny, but has lots of speed and skill. Both just need some time.

Hille (40), Welsh (47), Watson (40 f/s), Dyson (44) and Slattery (47) are all good value and examples of genuine recruiting. And M Johnson, Rioli, Peverill, Lovett and Lovett-Murray show how well Essendon has used the rookie system. Jolley looks ok as well.

Johns, a 4th round rookie pick with a busted hip has been a great success regardless of what he achieves from this point forward. No other club thought he was worth their time and resources. Johns, Essendon and the supporters should feel proud.

Veterans like Salmon and Barnes were good short-term recruits. Barnes was a vital cog in our 2000 Premiership side and the recruitment of Salmon boosted our ruck stocks for a season. Recruiting the Fish also helped heal some old wounds from when he left the club at the end of 1995.

Unfortunately we haven’t done so well with some of the other recycled players we’ve recruited in recent years. Murphy, Alvey, Zantuck, Allan (injured in his second year) and Cupido (despite tremendous talent) have all been failures. Campo still has a chance not to join that list. Cole at 22 has a little more time on his side. McPhee has been the obvious stand out, despite his injury problems. And Heff has provided one of the few positives in a season sent directly from the pits of hell. Nobody can deny that.

1999-2001 weren’t great drafts for us. A mix of draft penalties (banned from rounds 1 & 2 in 1999), on field success (PF or better in each of those years) and poor judgement (Harvey and Davies), combined to make those drafts rather forgettable. But overall, draft-wise, we haven’t been the worst.

Merv Neagle said:

We have had some high draft choices and of course its still to be decided if they will make it or now.
Judkins has also recruited some very talented footballers and not all with high choices either

Some of our early picks from 2002
Draft selection: 10, Jason Laycock from Tassie Mariners.
Draft selection: 6, Kepler Bradley from West Perth Draft
Draft Selection: 7, Patrick Ryder from East Fremantle

It is still debatable as to how good these players will be but they are quite high draft picks and really only time will tell

Adrian first draft was 1998 when we got the names of mcveigh,rama and jacobs would say they have been good players.
adrian has also got some good players with late picks andrew welsh pick 47 played 90 games, got our captain david hille at pick 40, Adam Mcphee from fremantle, ricky dyson at pick 44. How about some of his rookie picks Rioli, M.Johnson, Lovett Murray, Lovett.
How do you think we got both Laycock and Bradley by smart trading of adrain.

bob86 said:

Get a grip, you dipstick! We all have our opinions, learn to post in a civil manner or have admit yourself into a hospital ward for some needed R & R.

Hope this is the trend you aim to continue with, cos I can sure have some fun ticking you off ;)

YOUR CHOICE !!!

Jex said:

I agree with your first line re: rage issues. DEFINITELY a newbie!

Jex said:

LOL, i agree with the above quote.
Firstly, well constructed post Jex and i agree with most of what you say.
Although i'm not sure i doubt Dodoro was in charge of recruiting on 98 as i don't think Judkins has been gone that long. although i may be wrong.

I really only posted to settle down bob and show him that thinga re not always completely one sided and that we have had some nice early picks and that Collingwood have also picked well apart from the early picks they had.

Also don't leave Sheedy out of the recruiting picture as he has a bigger say than most,especially when it comes to trading and i consider him to be a very good judge of young talent

Crave said:
Get a grip, you dipstick! We all have our opinions, learn to post in a civil manner or have admit yourself into a hospital ward for some needed R & R.

Haven't you just gone and done exactly the same thing he did?

The last line was uncalled for, but the rest of his post was pretty much spot on.

Merv Neagle said:
LOL, i agree with the above quote.
Firstly, well constructed post Jex and i agree with most of what you say.
Although i'm not sure i doubt Dodoro was in charge of recruiting on 98 as i don't think Judkins has been gone that long. although i may be wrong.

I really only posted to settle down bob and show him that thinga re not always completely one sided and that we have had some nice early picks and that Collingwood have also picked well apart from the early picks they had.

Also don't leave Sheedy out of the recruiting picture as he has a bigger say than most,especially when it comes to trading and i consider him to be a very good judge of young talent

Yeah, very much my sentiments also...he has fair pull on some of these 'cowboys' he likes so much n some have paid off handsomely (Wally, Barney n Barnesy to name a few) but I do have confidence that theyre slowly getting things right with the way the game is being played this season.
Doesnt take rocket science to realise that superior athleticism is fast becoming a pre-requisite...football smarts(brain) being the bonus..the skills can be taught

Merv Neagle said:

1998 was his first draft.

I stand to be corrected here, but I think Judkins may have even left before the 1997 draft and Sheeds did that draft.

Longy413 said:
Haven't you just gone and done exactly the same thing he did?

The last line was uncalled for, but the rest of his post was pretty much spot on.

White line fever! Couldnt help myself when being labelled 'an idiot'
Sorry, dad!

Longy413 said:
1998 was his first draft.

I stand to be corrected here, but I think Judkins may have even left before the 1997 draft and Sheeds did that draft.

yeah sheeds did do the 1997 draft when we got bolton and solomon. and yes Dodoro first draft was the 1997 rookie draft when we got rioli and then his first national draft was 1998.

Crave said:
Vague! Explain.....

Well he is a great athelete and he can't play football. They tried to teach him skills and failed. And unfortunately he has no football brain. So being an athelete doesn't really help in footy these days if you haven't got the skills to start with!!

7zark7 said:
Well he is a great athelete and he can't play football. They tried to teach him skills and failed. And unfortunately he has no football brain. So being an athelete doesn't really help in footy these days if you haven't got the skills to start with!!

Bingo. And then compare that to Jobe Watson.

7zark7 said:

Have you heard of Tadgh Kenelley?