Recruits for 2002

• Thread starter Thread starter Visro

Like I said in an earlier post, we ruined it last year. Gehrig, White and Metropolis all got traded, and yet we did not get anything significant for them. Last year we should of made the most of who we traded, but we didn't. So now we have no one to trade and we either live with the players we have or hope to finish with less than 5 wins so we can get the first 2 draft picks. Personally i would prefer the latter option to not happen.

------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"

I still dont know what is going on. Someone has hit the panic button and everyone is running round like headless chickens!!

We need a couple of young backmen ... whats the big deal. Our forward line is pretty good and our midfield is loaded so a couple of young backmen and we'll be alright.

Remember Glass and Embly are still to come back they will be good id defence. So stop panicking.

------------------
Use the force Luke ....

I am in agreement with Jod23. Pull yourselves together you lot. I suspect that you may be the Eagles Fans who leave the game halfway through the third quarter. That is if you get to the games at all.

Talk of trading Braun is absurd and Cummings is absurd. How quickly we forget.

Also, Peter Matera has been great for us this year.

Further, I agree we did not get much for trading Gherig, White and Metro. We got:

Harding for Metro
Siera for Gherig
A draft pick for White. (I dont know who we got for that Draft pick)

We need to develop our own Champions. Other Clubs just will not let them go.

GO EAGLES!!!!

Originally posted by ONE EYE:
I suspect that you may be the Eagles Fans who leave the game halfway through the third quarter. That is if you get to the games at all.

Bit harsh there mate, if we leave at half time why are we dedicated to talking about our great club here. Surely if we didn't support the club properly we wouldn't be here!

In regards to panicking allready, I'm not panicking, I just feel we need to start scouting around for good players.

Our list is lacking in key areas which in a couple of years will be a problem. One such position is fullback. Milli wont be around much longer and even if he is still here in 3 years time, do you honestly think he will still be able to take out the best forwards in the league? There is no person on our current list who can replace him except maybe Gaspar, but then WC probably want him as a CHF or CHB, not fullback.

Thats why I think we need to get our eyes open early so we can spot good youngsters or potential draftees. Looks at Essendon for example, they are front runners at picking up good talent and its showing off at the moment.

Vis

Judges tactics and coaching may not be up to par but if there is one thing i think he does well .. is recruit. He knows talent and im sure he will have his eyes open at all times. I have faith in Judge to bring talent but to coach talent??

Maybe we should do a Hawthorn, let Judge bring in some talent then dump him for a real coach.

We need backman.

And theres a halfback/full forward from Sydney, who is the best young footballer ive ever seen, bar nobody (and in the late 80's i coached an under 16 repesentative side, and we went down to ACT and came up against an under 16 side with James Hird in it - he had big raps on him back then, and he was pretty good in that match, but from the dozen or so games i've seen this guy play, i would have in front of Hird at the same age - but i don't only see James Hird play once as a junior).

His name is Aaron Rogers, i've spoken about him on various boards a few times.

The only question is if he would be willing to come to Perth.

He was a member of the NSW/ACT under 18 side last year, when he was eligible for under 16.
He was also selected in the 30 man Australia under 16 squad to go the AIS last year.

This year, he was picked in the Australia under 17's to play Ireland and he was in the top 3 pointscorers in 2 of the games.

He can be switched between halfback and full forward.

I don't think he be eligible for this years draft, but for 2003, i think the club should look at him as a definate possibile draft.

But, as i said, he may not want to go over to Western Australia to play his football. If he's willing, the club should defintaly pick him up in next year's draft.

That would cover halfback.

We also need a fullback.
Alot of people are saying we should develop our own players, but it would take 3 or 4 years for a fullback to develop (that's if we could even get a top class fullback in this years draft). And we're going to need a fullback by 2003, at the latest. wel'' Probably need one by 2002, so we will need to pick one up from another club.

How is Hawthorn's midfield looking (i don't think it's too bad, but it could be better). So Maybe a trade with Michael Braun (and maybe Rowan Jones) for Johnathan Hay or Jade Rawlings. That would benefit both clubs.
There could even be the possibility of going for Trent Croad instead of Hay or Rawlings. If we went for Croad it would give us an option of having a player who could play CHB or CHF.

Another Fullback we could look at getting is Alistiar Nicholson from Melbourne. He's just 22 and is from WA, so there could be a possibility in that trade.
But we couldn't offer Braun and Jones to Melbourne, because they already have a strong enough midfield.
With David Schwarz coming up for retirement, maybe we could see if we could trade Scott Cummings for Alistair Nicholson.

It would work for Melbourne. because it would allow them to move David Neitz to move to CHF, and Cummings at FF.
If this trade eventuated, then the eagles could play Wilson at CHF, and by the time he retires, MacDougall would've got abit of experience about him.

We would also want to look at a running backman. Some players that come to mind are:
Daniel Chick
Nathan Brown (Bulldogs)
Adam Yze (Melbourne)
Brett Moyle (don't think St Kilda are keen on letting him go to another club)
Joel Bowden (more a wingman, but he can be used effectively in defense)
Marcus Picken or jason Akermanis (Brisbane probably won't let these 2 go).
To get any of those players, we would have to give up a top 20 pick, And For Yze, Bowden or Akermanis, it would be a top 5 pick - which would decrease the chances of getting a top line halfback in the draft.

So in 2003, with good recuriting, and some good luck, this would be the type of side we're looking at:

Gardiner at FF, Matera in the pocket.
MacDougall at CHF with Merenda and someone else (Williams/Buszan) on the flanks.
Cox in the Ruck with Cousins, Kerr and Read on the ball.
On the wings would be Banfield and Taylor.
Jakovich (or if he has retired by 2003 it would be a future draft pick, hopefully Aaron Rogers) playing at CHB, Morrison and one of the running backs mentioned above on the flanks.
Alistair Nicholson/Rawlings/Hay at FB. Prior and Collica in the back pockets.
David Wirrpunda as a loose backman.

That backline would be as good as any backline in a couple of years.

That are pretty handy team, which would should be a real force by 2003/4.

And I don't think we need to hit panic stations just yet. We need to recruit backman desperately, and if possible, a running half back flankers. Apart from that our side is coming along nicely.

------------------
Join the big footy tipping competition at Footy Tips
Join the BigFooty Cricket Cup
visit the Easts Cricket Club
The ulitimate statistics reference

WCE2000 your post was all ifs and buts. Half the youngsters you mentioned could be duds and trading Cummings is a stupid idea. Your creativity was good but i think every one is panicking too much. Jako and Milli can hold the fort very well until we find a couple of backmen.

And what about Glass he looks like a pretty good FB to me. Right build and height.

------------------
Use the force Luke ....

Darren Glass has so far been allright, but there are plenty of players who have shown more than him.

From what i've seen and read, i would say he would be an adequate backman, but will probably not end up being in the top bracket of backman in the competition.

I don't think trading Cummings is all that stupid an idea. He's has done nothing for 2 years except sit on the bench.
Troy Wilson could be the quick fix at full forware for a couple of years, then we could move Gardiner down to FF, play a more experienced MacDougall at CHF, and have Cox in the ruck.

"Half the youngsters you mentioned could be duds"
Alot of the players i mentioned have already shown alot of talent - much more than Glass has shown. And most of the players have already proven themselves at this level.

These is a list of the players i mentioned we could look at a possible trade:
Johnathan Hay
Jade Rawlings
Trent Croad
Alistiar Nicholson
Daniel Chick
Nathan Brown
Adam Yze
Brett Moyle
Joel Bowden
Marcus Picken
Jason Akermanis
Those dozen or so players are some of the most talented youngsters in this competition. If we could snare 3 of those players, it would turn our backline into the strongest going around in a few years time.

------------------

I agree with WCE2000 about Cummings, he hasn't been doing anything for us for the past two seasons and with young talent like Buznan and Hunter and McCarrey coming through we should just trade him off to fill in one of our weaker positions. I agree, Cummings is a top bloke but we desperately need backman. Glass is NOT that tall, only 188 cm or something and thats not big enough for a fullback.

Vis

Originally posted by WCE2000:
Johnathan Hay
Jade Rawlings
Trent Croad
Alistiar Nicholson
Daniel Chick
Nathan Brown
Adam Yze
Brett Moyle
Joel Bowden
Marcus Picken
Jason Akermanis

Hawthorn wont give up Hay, Croad or Chick without one huge fight and would probably demand of us what the kangas demanded of freo last year. We probably would be able to get Rawlings for Braun though. Nicholson looks to be a dud to me. The rest of the players would be pretty hard to get. The tiges arent going to give away bowden just like the dees wont give up yze.

Vis

But why get Rawlings for Braun. I reckon Brauny is better than him, and will show it when he gets fit. You will say that rawlings is not injured as much, but I reckon Braun is getting near the end of his injury worries, and can then play top class footy. And I agree with jod23 about judgey, he may not make the best coaching decisions at the game, but he sure does recruit well, as much as the hawks fans won't admit that he had a big influence on who they got. He will rebuild a side with great talent, then we may go for a better coach to take the squad places, and judgey may move on to his next disaster squad to help them out too.

------------------
If everybody is rowing the boat together then there's no body to rock it!
CARN THE 7TH WONDERS
CARN THE W C WARRIORS

Braun is probably just as good as player as Rawlings, but we're stacked up in the midfield.

Braun is good player, but we have enough midfield depth to adequately cover his position.

The key to good recruiting, is trading players in your strong postitions for players in weaker positions.

Visro:
Nicholson is a good footballer, shown much more than Darren Glass.
And i understand it would be very hard to get some of those players, but i think we should give it a shot.

I reckon the trades we should look at:

Scott Cummings for Alistair Nicholson (1 on 1 trade, both clubs would benefit)
Michael Braun and Rowan Jones (and possibly a 2nd/3rd round draft pick) for Daniel Chick
Pick up a good CHB in the draft (Aaron Rogers was the one i suggested picking up in the 2002 draft - but we may found another).

I also read a bit about another under 17 player, Ashley Sampi, who is from WA or Northern Territory, who is supposed to be a lightning quick midfielder with unbeliavable skills - should look at drafting him in the 2002 draft as well.

------------------

We have a lot of young midfielders coming through at the moment but our defence is very fragile. To plug a gap you have to be willing to lose someone and the best thing to do is trade a player in a strong area, hence Braun.

Thank you Visro, finally someone understands me.

I have been saying for a year, Braun is a good player, but he is not one of those "no trade" players. Whenever i have considered trading Braun i have been accused of being unloyal.

If we traded him to Hawthorn with another player, we could get Daniel Chick, which would give us a very good option out of defense.

It would also benefit Hawthorn because they're midfielder is not quite as good as it could be, and Braun wouild strengthen it up significantly.

And with the lists been cut down to 35 next year, we could even offer more than Braun and Jones, we could give them more players average players, cause they will probably be delisted anyway, so we can make them useful to the club and offer them in a trade.

------------------

glass is 192 cm tall not 188
he grew after he was drafted
smile.gif

as tall as jacko, 5 times as agile, quick and as smart,
he just needs strength, ken recruits talented skinny people, because in the end they end up better, but take longer to develop. How can he not have shown anything? hes played some very good games, hes still 19 while players mentioned were nicholson who is 22... who showed nothing till he was about 20-21

id say if we cant get hay or croad to trade for low draft picks, it looks like a very good year this year for some low draft picks
braun+jones would get us a very good pick
jones cant kick, braun is a sacrifice i beleive we have to make, and cummings could fecth us another top 20 pick hopefully
smile.gif
And with sydneys stupidyt maybe we could sacrifice another aging injury prone player(jason ball) for thier first round draft pick.

i beleive this is the year that we should bite the bullet, get a lot of youngsters rather than taking it slowly.
Id say we will end up with 1 top 5 pick, we are a top 8 side but injuries will ruin it.
we could trade braun+jones for another top 5pick
trade cummings for another top 20 pick (who doesnt want another kerr)
and trade banfield ^^ to the swans? if they are dumb enough to take it, i know this guy is the favourite of many fans, but hes getting old, and ive personally never liked him, as a # 1 draft pick he should have been a superstar instead of a solid tagger...

all in all 2 top 5 picks...
2-3 top 20....
and we would have all the talent we need.

These is a list of the players i mentioned we could look at a possible trade:
Johnathan Hay
Jade Rawlings
Trent Croad
Alistiar Nicholson
Daniel Chick
Nathan Brown
Adam Yze
Brett Moyle
Joel Bowden
Marcus Picken
Jason Akermanis

... and someone mentioned Darren Gaspar too.

This is p!ssing in the wind, people. Not one of those clubs would trade for any of these unless you put up Cousins, and probably not even then.

What could West Coast possibly offer Hawthorn for Chick, Hay or Rawlings?

What could West Coast possibly offer
Richmond for Gaspar or Bowden?

Never going to happen!

------------------
TT - The obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter

TigerTank:

Obviously we would have to give up a fair bit.

If you were Hawthorn, bearing in mind they don't have the strongest midfield going.

Would you except Michael Braun, Rowan Jones and a 2nd round draft pick for Daniel Chick.

I reckon that's a pretty fair trade.

And as ah_19, we could trade Banfield to Sydney for a second round draft pick.
The Swans are well known for getting ageing stars - Jason Ball (hardly call him a star), Paul Williams and Steven Tingay. They can Banfield to that list, and we could get a second round draft back to the club.

------------------

And i also wouldn't go for Darren Gaspar.

He's a very good player, but he's getting on, and when a clubs rebuilding, you don't go for mid 20 players, you go for youngsters in the teens or early twentys.

TigerTank:

Obviously we would have to give up a fair bit.

If you were Hawthorn, bearing in mind they don't have the strongest midfield going.

Would you except Michael Braun, Rowan Jones and a 2nd round draft pick for Daniel Chick.

I reckon that's a pretty fair trade.

And as ah_19, we could trade Banfield to Sydney for a second round draft pick.
The Swans are well known for getting ageing stars - Jason Ball (hardly call him a star), Paul Williams and Steven Tingay. They can Banfield to that list, and we could get a second round draft back to the club.

As a Hawk supporter WCE i can understand why you drool at the four Hawthorn players when considering strengthening your club but as TT mentioned IT AINT GONNA HAPPEN, Chick couldve forced a trade last season but instead opted for a two year contract, Hawthorn couldve trade him last season if he was 'tradeable' the fact of the matter is Hawthorn have spent five years developing this side, i dont think they would give up any of there young guns just when the side looks ominous. Braun for Chick? I dont think so. Perhaps West Coast should take a leaf out of Hawthorn and Richmonds book and draft and develop there own talent! Instead of looking for the quick fix eg Merenda Taylor Collica Symonds Two Freemantle players etc etc etc. No offence but your post smacks of a lazy recruiting department who can only develop the side by pinching ready made stars that other clubs have developed!!! Perhaps you shouldnt have poached German and Judge, but our recruiting staff instead!!

Well for the Hawks i would either offer:
[Rowan Jones and Round 3 draft pick] or [Michael Braun] for [Jade Rawlings]

or

[Michael Braun, Rowan Jones and Round 2 draft pick] for [Daniel Chick]

i reckon its worth a shot.

I cant be bother with Daniel Chick anymore, he showed us last year he doesn't want to come home so why bother. If we can trade two players off our list and get one in return, it will be a very good result for us considering the lists are being cut at the end of the year.

Out of interest, who is WC's recruiting officer. Hopefully not the one who recruited all those duds 4 or 5 years ago.

Vis

Forget about Chick people. Last year he was packed and ready to go west, but his wife got a once-in-a-lifetime job and Chick made the sacrifice and stayed in Melb. And as far as he's concerned he will finish his career in Melb even if his wife gets fired or whatever, as he will no longer want to go West at a late stage of his career.

Braun and Jones will not get traded. Eagles developed them and will definately not give them up. Braun actually finished equal first in the club B&F in 1999, but came second to bluey on a countback. At 22 yrs of age(or something like that) he has achieved far more than Rawlings and will definately not be traded.

We do not really have such a strong midfield to give up Braun anyway. Braun, Cousins and Fletcher will be the backbone of our midfield in the future. Kerr and Read are both good but will never be superstars. Jones is a tagger and will be another Banfield. Thats it, we have no other midfielders. NOTE: i did not include older players like Banfield, Taylor, Matera, Kemp, etc as these are the players we are trying to cover here.

I admit though that Cummings would be good to trade, but will not be traded. Being at his third club he has a reputation of being a 1 season wonder(at all 3 clubs). Clubs would not give a top20 pick for him.

Only players i can see being traded are Donnelly(under-rated, wouldn't get us much), Turnball(some teams need ruckmen, like Freo) and Wooden(still reasonably young an has a few games under his name).

We should forget about trading for established AFL players and trade for draft picks.

------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"