Relationship with alcohol

Honestly I find the concept of drinking to unwind bizarre. If I’m stressed or need to unwind I’d much rather get to the beach for a swim or hit the gym or something (not having a go at you at all just noting it’s another cultural thing to drink to unwind)
Like the Brits?

Or the Americans – shot and a beer?

Or the Spanish with their midnight beers and food?

Or the Italians after work, before dinner?

I'm a borderline addict and need to reel myself in, but this idea of it being an Australian issue is horseshit.

I highly respect non drinkers. I've gone to work things and had maybe three pints in three hours and I feel sober and get through it without being a bore. The worst thing for me is to be sociable and funny but not ****ed up. Weirdly I get drunk with my mates or family but I'm happy to stay sober-ish in social situations.

However alcohol is my reward system. I work a physical job and do not eat many carbs, limit red meat to once a fortnight, do not consume diary or sugar, and limit a lot in general. So to me it's my way to relax and socialise. I don't take drugs anymore, I don't like weed at all, and I think music sounds better, shows are more interesting... to me it's my one and only vice. I limit beers to Thursday to Saturday night or Friday to Sunday. I probably am a heavy weight for my size (regularly drink 8 stubbies and don't feel that wrecked, can work easy the next day – five pints gets me buzzy but not cooked). I don't know.

I want to lose weight and my diet has done that – down to 65 kilos, would love to get to 60 (I'm a bit over 5'9).

To me it's the toughest thing to give up but... eh?

As for anxiety... I get post-piss-anxiety really really bad. For drugs it's borderline unbearable but with even 10 beers I feel shame, guilt, and embarrassment even if all I did was sit at home and spend $30. If I go out and blow $200 or lose something or make a bad mistake then it hurts. I don't know what else but being pissed does not alleviate my feelings. Weirdly enough 2-3 days off the alcohol sees me tapping into emotions better, such as feeling happiness in simpler things or even tapping into anger more... I worry less about my headache and more about the world.

I reckon sometimes it helps to have a reason.

Exercise or sport is a good reason to not drink before, having a big day at work or an event coming up is a good reason to not drink before.

Training in the morning could be enough for some people, or training after dinner when they'd normally sit on the couch and crack a few to be busy and break the habit.

Habit is a big part of it, I've had times where I've cracked open a drink had a sip and then gone oh yeah I wasn't going to drink tonight whoops

I'm definitely drinking Saturday night, going out for dinner to a BBQ joint with some mates for my birthday and got them coming over near my place so it's a $7 uber home

I didn't want to drink for ages but I have tomorrow off and then I'm going to the footy Saturday so.... I'll drink tonight!

I don't get people who drink like jim and coke. Doesn't seem much different to coke if you want the taste?

Like the Brits?

Or the Americans – shot and a beer?

Or the Spanish with their midnight beers and food?

Or the Italians after work, before dinner?

I'm a borderline addict and need to reel myself in, but this idea of it being an Australian issue is horseshit.

Cultural was probably the wrong word. I didn’t mean a typically Aussie thing (I think the social stigma of not drinking at events is an Aussie thing) the unwinding thing is almost an ingrained trope of tv or something, in any event I don’t get it. Had a hard day at work, unwind with some alchohol, have enough and you’ll sleep like s**t and wake up worse than you went to bed.

I get anxiety from piss but I sleep really really well drunk.

You get all achey because your body is processing all this chemical s**t in it and the four hours of dancing you did.

I get anxiety from piss but I sleep really really well drunk.

You get all achey because your body is processing all this chemical s**t in it and the four hours of dancing you did.

It’s a pseudo sleep. You only get to stage 1 or 2 of sleep, and it stops you from getting REM sleep.

I was a big binge drinker when I was younger, to the point that I'd started damaging my liver. Doc told me I'd be able to fix it if I laid off the alcohol for a while, and thankfully I was going on serious medication for an unrelated health problem that meant absolutely no alcohol. I didn't drink anything for 18 months until I came off the meds.

During that time I lost about 10kg without trying and I felt completely different. Once I was able to drink again I started drinking a glass of wine or two with dinner every now and then and I've probably been drunk maybe 10 times in 5 years. I much prefer the feelings of clear headedness and control over being drunk these days.

Drink.....I can take it or leave it, but when I take it I take it. I have never got people saying oh I only have 1 or 2. F*ck that, piss in the main tastes like sh*t. That's why we mix it with all sorts of tasty. So I'm not having 1 or 2 I'm having 15 and wiping out. Or I'm not having any.

Is that healthy? Probably not. I cant be at the pub/bowling club and be around those people that don't drink. I find them to be the snivelling little turds that run off to tell everyone they can about your "inappropriate behaviour" so if I'm not on it I'm not there.

Maybe that's down to my upbringing, on construction from 16 and the common theme was "never trust a man that doesn't drink" all in jest I'm sure but the older I've got the more I've seen that to be true.

Those that don't drink will be on here I'm sure to defend themselves but again I was never sure of peoples rationale to sit at a table with blokes on the p*ss whilst they nurse a lemonade. Why would you be in a pub if your weren't going to drink? Seems strange to me.

giphy.gif

Drink.....I can take it or leave it, but when I take it I take it. I have never got people saying oh I only have 1 or 2. F*ck that, piss in the main tastes like sh*t. That's why we mix it with all sorts of tasty. So I'm not having 1 or 2 I'm having 15 and wiping out. Or I'm not having any.

Is that healthy? Probably not. I cant be at the pub/bowling club and be around those people that don't drink. I find them to be the snivelling little turds that run off to tell everyone they can about your "inappropriate behaviour" so if I'm not on it I'm not there.

Maybe that's down to my upbringing, on construction from 16 and the common theme was "never trust a man that doesn't drink" all in jest I'm sure but the older I've got the more I've seen that to be true.

Those that don't drink will be on here I'm sure to defend themselves but again I was never sure of peoples rationale to sit at a table with blokes on the p*ss whilst they nurse a lemonade. Why would you be in a pub if your weren't going to drink? Seems strange to me.
I don't get the idea of staying out all night on the piss. For example if you're at work and everyone's heading out, sitting there for an hour or so on the sodas seems alright to me – you're just unwinding, chatting. But this idea of sticking around when the s**t talk rears it head, or those people who somehow manage to go to nightclubs without 25 drinks is just weird... who wants to hear dickheads slurring, bullshitting, talking inane nonsense until 2am?

I think there's a nobleness to not drinking, just having waters at dinners and parties and then heading home when you've seen it all. I would love to be that way. But the day I stop drinking is the day I stop going to pubs and clubs and doing silly s**t only drinking makes fun.

Good post though, keep your anger.

Australians are terrible drinkers though.

Most countries throughout Europe have a far greater ability to obtain alcohol - it's ubiquitous in corner stores in many countries yet they don't have the issues Australia has with Alcohol fuelled violence.
Many countries have a culture of drinking as part of overall enjoyment when you go out however there are large swathes of Australia where you merely drink to get drunk.
Culturally there are changes in some areas of Oz (predominantly inner urban) which is a positive.

I don't get the idea of staying out all night on the piss. For example if you're at work and everyone's heading out, sitting there for an hour or so on the sodas seems alright to me – you're just unwinding, chatting. But this idea of sticking around when the s**t talk rears it head, or those people who somehow manage to go to nightclubs without 25 drinks is just weird... who wants to hear dickheads slurring, bullshitting, talking inane nonsense until 2am?

i'm generally deeply suspicious of people who will come out that late and don't drink. They seem to be there to dig up some dirt etc.

If you aren't drinking, stay around for a few until people start getting a bit loose. Then exit stage left.

I think there’s a word for what you just described . . .
Alcoholism

Alcoholism
Accusing someone of being an alcoholic is a pretty rash and offensive thing. If you’re a partner or family member and you call them in, that’s fair, but lots of people look at you weird if you say you could drink a six pack alone watching the footy - * them, * that judgement.

Accusing someone of being an alcoholic is a pretty rash and offensive thing. If you’re a partner or family member and you call them in, that’s fair, but lots of people look at you weird if you say you could drink a six pack alone watching the footy - **** them, **** that judgement.

Any less offensive or rash than thinking someone is strange for not drinking?

You’re asking the wrong person because as I’ve said in here, I respect people who don’t drink. A lot.

But going out all night with people who are pissed and being some sober bloke at a nightclub is odd.

Accusing someone of being an alcoholic is a pretty rash and offensive thing. If you’re a partner or family member and you call them in, that’s fair, but lots of people look at you weird if you say you could drink a six pack alone watching the footy - **** them, **** that judgement.

How is it rash?
What he described is like he’s copied and pasted it from a textbook

Alcoholism

It really isn't, haven't had a drink at all for 6 weeks. I just haven't been hanging around at pubs and clubs as that sober prick who likes to label everyone that enjoys a drink as an alcoholic.

It is; you have an alcohol dependency in certain social settings, you consume it despite not enjoying the taste and in your own words can’t just have “one or two”.
Beyond the bloke that downs a six pack in the car on the way home from work every night I’m not sure you can get a much clearer example.

It is; you have an alcohol dependency in certain social settings, you consume it despite not enjoying the taste and in your own words can’t just have “one or two”.
Beyond the bloke that downs a six pack in the car on the way home from work every night I’m not sure you can get a much clearer example.
does having a dependency in certain social settings define it?

if so, you'd reckon a lot of people would fit into that category.

I have no dependency on alcohol what so ever. I didn't say I didn't enjoy the taste , you're putting words in my mouth.

I said that I wasn't going out with my mates to have 1 or 2 drinks. On the occasions that I go out and these days with a job working shifts and 3 kids it isn't often I'm going to seize that opportunity and get on it.

Anyway continue to psycho-analyse me if you wish, you're a fair off the mark though. Good luck.

I intentionally decided to live as a barfly this summer, went to the pub 5 times a week. I wanted to know what my possible future could be. Spent thousands, clearly aged myself, got tubby as s**t and made a few friends and acquaintances.
Noticed the barmaids would be curious and intrigued at who this (youngish) guy is and why is here again, which eventually turned into concern/contempt/annoyance at my presence for some of them (others dont care at all).
Im 34, still got a couple of years to drink at nighttime Ive realised. This lifestyle I was drunk by 5pm and asleep by 8pm and waking up at 4am when your body alerts you that youve processed the last of the booze. I feel now I don't need take it up at 50, Ive lived that life now...same blokes would be in everyday from 4pm. Also funny seeing 21 year old bar girls and skimpies mingle with 51 year old blokes.

I can't really get to low bodyfat unless I intentionally replace alcohol with weed, I just cant go straight-edge for more than a week for 15 years now. I cant be assed with weed anymore though. Makes me into an anti-social turnip. My next lifestyle experiment might be sipping chardonnay with cheese and crackers on the reg.

Thanks for reading my blog.