Replacement games

Bloody bring the games here - it’s criminal that we miss 4 games of Horne every year.
Horne or not it's criminal Club is out of dept now. We don't need the cash anymore. Wtb the members who already pay for away games these replacement games don't count as they already have access

Just because we are debt free it doesn't all of a sudden render those tassie games no longer needed. Especially a few months after. I'd imagine it's something the club would be looking at. If we see good crowd numbers, most + in our membership numbers and some sustained on field success only then would I see that relationship cut ties

At this point, if we give up the Tassie money, then we go back into debt. We need to develop new revenue streams to replace the Tassie money.

People turning up to our games in Melbourne is what will get us out of Tassie. I’m not against the Tas games, but thats more because we need em. Stating the obvious, I know, but this next 5 year period is massive for our club IMO in building a larger, stronger supporter base who turn up. Not easy though.

Where are are supporters? I might be wrong, but we have a hard core group of about 17-20k that turn up to docklands every home game. The rest are opposition supporters. Even when we have a game against a "rival" or milestone game, I doubt we have more than 25k of our supporters at the ground.

We might have 40k+ members but they aren't turning up. I'm part of this problem too - probably went to 99% of games in my 20s and 30s, and my small group had about 15 reserved seats. Now, with kids, covid, all games broadcasted live and friends eventually losing interest, I only have 4 reserved seats and get to 50% of games. I don't even go to neutral games anymore - when I lived 2 stations from the MCG I'd go to all the marquee games after 3/4 time when the gates opened.

Where are are supporters? I might be wrong, but we have a hard core group of about 17-20k that turn up to docklands every home game. The rest are opposition supporters. Even when we have a game against a "rival" or milestone game, I doubt we have more than 25k of our supporters at the ground.

We might have 40k+ members but they aren't turning up. I'm part of this problem too - probably went to 99% of games in my 20s and 30s, and my small group had about 15 reserved seats. Now, with kids, covid, all games broadcasted live and friends eventually losing interest, I only have 4 reserved seats and get to 50% of games. I don't even go to neutral games anymore - when I lived 2 stations from the MCG I'd go to all the marquee games after 3/4 time when the gates opened.
It will be a massive challenge for the AFL to get people back into the habit of going to games. Makes it even harder for us coming off a low base anyway in terms of percentage of members who attend games. I wonder if there are figures published on % of members who attend games by club. Would be interesting. I suppose winning and thinking you're a chance to play a few finals would help incentivise members.

Yep fully agree with you……I’m in same boat with kids and their sport etc now too. That’s why we need this next 5 years to build more supporters, which is bloody hard. Club appears to be tracking in right direction though. It sounds harsh, I know, but we almost wasted that successful period of the 90’s by playing all over the joint, changing our name, never looking stable. The Carey drama hurt us as well, of course. But the last 10 years all our messaging has changed, we are North Melbourne and are staying etc is great.
Might be naive of me, but I’m really hoping this side we are building has an impact not only on the field, of course, but more importantly has an even more massive impact off it.

Reckon transport plays a small part in some peoples minds.
Easier for me to catch my train straight to Jolimont because that is my line. Supporters of other clubs the same.

Same here but that train goes two more stops and it's at Southern Cross so it's not a valid excuse really.

How many Victorian based members do we have - probably around 35k.
That number needs to improve over the next decade and it needs to happen as Tassie will get a side

I'm actually not too concerned.

We had some decent turnouts last year (although there were some smaller crowds too)....

Members will be more up and about than ever with such a stacked midfield to begin with.

And with so much footy missed, if we get just even a few wins, we're gonna be loud.

Replacement games are an issue because we can't sit on our beloved wings unless we upgrade but if our turnouts are healthy with home games then I'm fine with that.

They just can't have home games so far away from each other like they have in the past. It's ridiculous. To a lot of people that's a slap in the face because they can't see footy for multiple weeks.

Clubs like Essendon who have a bigger fan base need to have their home games against other clubs at the MCG to give opposition supporters more seating availability. lm sick of sitting on level 3 amongst Essendon supporters because of all the reserved seating allocated to Bombers supporters..

I

Yeah I hate going to essendon home games and sitting up on level 3 (and listening to the rubbish that they play on the PA system before and during the games. Maybe it's just me anti essendon bias.) I'd be more annoyed being one of their supporters that they didn't base themselves at the MCG. I think there's an advantage to the teams that have G as their home too.

Listening to their fans is worse - always get in an argument with those flogs.
They’re a mix of the 70s/80s pies/blues fans - self entitlement and mouth breathers