Respect

heck you Geelong. I hate you!

The games are great respect to your players, I hate your team more than words can describe.

Hate most of your team similarly (if there is any justice a few should be getting a nice little "holiday" at the MRP this week - sniping little pr!cks) AND your supporters are also amongst the most FERAL around. Cheers.

heck you Geelong. I hate you!

The games are great respect to your players, I hate your team more than words can describe.

I prefer to be hated because of success than be mocked because of the lack thereof.

Hate most of your team similarly (if there is any justice a few should be getting a nice little "holiday" at the MRP this week - sniping little pr!cks) AND your supporters are also amongst the most FERAL around. Cheers.

beautifully written, endorse this comment wholeheartedly ! :thumbsu:

best game ever great atmosphere there at the game great noise from all supporters , kudos to the win you had,
it was sit on the edge of your seat stuff always love watching hawk v cat games

You forgot the word arrogant in that post.

Now I will preface this by saying that I hate you all.:)

But.....that is quite a football team that you have there. I was one of any number of cocky Hawks prior to last nights game genuinely thinking that Kennett's Curse would finally be broken. Maybe misguidedly I still believe that we are the team to beat in September, provided we don't run into you blokes again where all bets are off.

So, could you please find some way to lose in week one so that we can have a relatively unimpeded run to the flag?

Thanks in advance. Respect.

Cheers Mr.Keeper.

Always happy to speak to opposition fans who display some manners on the boards. Personally I'm still buzzing, just an amazing, incredible win. Absolutely thrilled mostly for Hawkins, for all the crap he endured for so long, and for how good he is becoming. In all honesty I still think you're playing more consistently than we are, and I see you guys finishing top 4 and us just outside it. So we may not even meet in the finals. Hopefully next year our younger guys can continue to improve and we can be right up in the mix.

Wouldnt it be nice though for Hawthorn to miss the top 4 by one game, and for us to get it...!!

I have a cruel streak sometimes.

PS: Much respect to the Hawk supporters who express their pain but their respect at the same time. Class.

Respect back, it's sort of surreal being on the winning end of these close games, with almost no logic behind why we are ahead when the siren sounds. Of these nine games, to be frank four have involved the very last play of the game (Bartel's point, Hawkin's goal, Buddy's long shot from 60 that fell short in 2010, and the possible touch on the back of Buddy with the last contest last year).
I can only put it down to some sort of karma, or a strange re-dressing of all those narrow defeats in almost the same circumstances back from Rd 22 1987 until Rd 4 2007, where if there was a close game..the Hawks would always win.
Some enterprising person should almost do a box set of these nine games, and market it as footy how it's meant to be played. Hawthorn and Geelong, if nothing else put on a contest!!

Thats why i am just loving this 9 win streak -sure the 2 gfs hurt like hell -but for years we just couldnt beat those baarstards . I can remember 2 games in either 78 or 79 -one was out at Waverly -Terry Bright took nearly mark of the year -we totally dominated the game -and yet lost by a single feckin point . The other game was late in the season at KP -we had to win to stay in the five -were in front till the dying seconds -Martello kicked it through the goals but Malarkey touched it -he pleaded with the goal umpire ( a bit like Silvagni did in that GF) but to no avail . Now they cant beat us -i want this winning streak to reach at least 15 or 16 -so the Hawks supporters are driven Insane

So I did - sorry 'bout that ;) Part of the problem is there are so many places one could use the word when referring to that club - hard to know where to start.

Seriously I've seen no other supporter base like it, including Collingwood supporters last season.

If they'd won a flag or 2 in the last couple of seasons, then they'd have every right to be arrogant and cocky.

Respect back, it's sort of surreal being on the winning end of these close games, with almost no logic behind why we are ahead when the siren sounds. Of these nine games, to be frank four have involved the very last play of the game (Bartel's point, Hawkin's goal, Buddy's long shot from 60 that fell short in 2010, and the possible touch on the back of Buddy with the last contest last year).
I can only put it down to some sort of karma, or a strange re-dressing of all those narrow defeats in almost the same circumstances back from Rd 22 1987 until Rd 4 2007, where if there was a close game..the Hawks would always win.
Some enterprising person should almost do a box set of these nine games, and market it as footy how it's meant to be played. Hawthorn and Geelong, if nothing else put on a contest!!
Every time you guys beat us, I get bombarded with texts from gloating non-Hawthorn, non-Geelong mates who give me heaps about how Hawthorn is owned by Geelong, we can't hack the pressure, we crumble, we're embarrassing and so on.

I reckon it's been a remarkable streak of games. All credit goes to the winners. That's the way it goes in life. But I reckon it's only the Geelong fans who give Hawthorn the credit they deserve for playing their role in these games. A mutual grudging respect, mixed in with healthy loathing. Rival fans don't realise these are the matches of the season. Not just close games, but a pressure cooker environment and verging on warfare.

You guys have definitely been the better team over the years, one of the great teams of all time, and somehow Hawthorn has been able to lift for these games and push you all the way to the wire. We bring the best out of you and do everything but get our noses in front when the siren goes. How many more interesting ways can we find to lose against you?

Surely you've gotten your pound of flesh for the "Miracle of 2008" ???

Please stop!

Tell Chappy to make it stop!

Every time you guys beat us, I get bombarded with texts from gloating non-Hawthorn, non-Geelong mates who give me heaps about how Hawthorn is owned by Geelong, we can't hack the pressure, we crumble, we're embarrassing and so on.

I reckon it's been a remarkable streak of games. All credit goes to the winners. That's the way it goes in life. But I reckon it's only the Geelong fans who give Hawthorn the credit they deserve for playing their role in these games. A mutual grudging respect, mixed in with healthy loathing. Rival fans don't realise these are the matches of the season. Not just close games, but a pressure cooker environment and verging on warfare.

You guys have definitely been the better team over the years, one of the great teams of all time, and somehow Hawthorn has been able to lift for these games and push you all the way to the wire. We bring the best out of you and do everything but get our noses in front when the siren goes. How many more interesting ways can we find to lose against you?

Please stop!

This rivalry / games is what makes it great. Best in the business in terms of pressure, commitment and hardness. Unfortunately only 1 can win, and after being on the other end for much of the 80's and 90's we are, in fact, taking some flesh back.

It will end at some point and when it does I hope the respect between us continues. Great contests.

We wil add another chapter this season I'm sure of it.

Go Catters

It's refreshing to hear from normal Hawthorn supporters for a change, instead of all the crap we get from Mr C. Wa*ker (alias Shepp, Bayer, Bosk, Hodge Podge, XXX5 and countless other aliases). I'm sure you normal Hawthorn suporters must feel embarrassed by the constant bararge of anti-Geelong crap he types in, I love it when he carries on with his selective stats.

I agree with TheWoodenSlug, Gary Ayres is a swear word amongst Geelong and Adelaide supporters.

Please stop!

Reminds me of 2008 Grand Final day. During the third quarter I started getting messages from 'friends' with no allegiance on the day giving it to me. Had to turn the phone off.

Got to love those September warriors, who've probably been drinking since 10:30 and just watched their first game of the season; they've always got the most to say.

As I was leaving the ground after the 2008 grand final, I got a call from a friend of a friend (bloke I barely knew) who was at a party with a few of my mates to rub it in. He didn't even have my number, he had to get it off someone. What made it all the more baffling is once he told me who it was and that he was a Hawthorn supporter, I just said congratulations, enjoy it, all the rest of it and then he yelled out "Suck shit!" Classy. Headed over to the party and gave him the biggest spray I think I've ever given someone. And that's why I don't agree with avatars of our vanquished opponents, players crying, that sort of thing. The 2009 and 2011 premierships are so special, because of the quality of opposition we had to get over to win it. Even Port Adelaide in 2007 was easily the second best team in the competition that year and a worthy grand finalist. Enjoy the win, but try to respect the opposition. Even Hawthorn supporters (or maintain a dignified silence, if respect proves impossible).