Review: Vs Kangaroos

Im not being up myself, i know the game hasnt finished, but i am going to start the thread anyway.

Just finished work (4:00pm) and start my second shift at 6:00pm and really wasnt looking forward to it at all, but this game makes it oh so much better.

Have only seen the stats, seems like a very good team performance again this week.

Rooke has stitched Wells up good and proper.

I have only been listening to the radio so I don't know how effective he has been but King has 13 possies 6 marks 13 hitouts to 3 Q time. Blake has 10 hitouts himself so King must have spent a fair bit of time on the pine. King up and firing is a massive boost to our team.

Bartel, Ling, Ottens and SJ on his return have been quiet. Combine that with the players still missing and we have a fair bit of improvement left yet.

22.6 defeated roos 10.9
GOALS: KK 8, Ablett Jnr 4, Bartel, Johnson, Mackie 2, Dj, Ottens, Mooney, Tenace 1.
DISPOSALS: (accord. to afl.com)
Enright 29, Corey 27, Milburn 26, Mooney 20, Mackie 20, Ling 20

Overall, sounded like a great game, shame i had to work for the majority of the game and had no access to radio. Plus it wsnt on TV so i couldnt tape it :mad:

What an awesome game! LMAO WE ARE ON TOP OF THE LADDER!!!!!!!!!
GO CATTAS!!!! YAY!

I listened to the game on the radio. Kingsley was on fire! 8 goals is sooo great! Although he got taken off in the last part of the game I hope they were just resting him and there wasn't more to it. Kent was wearing matty's boots again! No wonder his kicking so good. He should wear them every week! So far in 3 games when his been wearing the shoes his kicked 24 goals ( I think)! hahahahaha
We kicked 10 goals straight... how awesome is that!

Prismal might get a game soon Thompson just said! YAY! Although I hope he doesn't take the place of Sladey.

Great interview on the radio with Sladey after the game. He said something like my job is to make my opponent have a sh*t day. LMAO :p

GO CATS! ;) :thumbsu:

Just a couple of quick observations from someone at the game:

Kent Kinglsey : probably the best game Ive seen him play. I given him heaps, I wanted him traded after the Swans game , at times Ive wonder at the guys commitment.Yet again the GFC have shown why they do the list management and I dont. Kent , todays the best Ive seen you kick. most goals were froma reasonable distance, you got feed but made the most of it. Top game KK !

Rooke : I thought he would get the gig after he clean Judds clock down here last year. Ahh thats two clocks cleaned . But his highlight of the game would have to be his mark in the third quarter. Just awesomely brave.

Slade : Another top effort, stay fit young man because thats the only way you want be on our the list proper next year.Heard him interviewed on the way home, he said the last couple of years he couldnt run so he spent long periods in the Gym. Looking at him its time well spent

Dog Johnson: Considering the amount of down time he has because of his feet /ankles , its a shame his body hasnt the tone of Slades.He relies on his talent a bit too much for mine liking but as usual he will get better.

King : best he has looked for some time, still a bit away from 4 quarters but I like the upward trend.

Blake: He simply must be kept in the side , he could become a very handy player with more games in him.

Joel Corey : No stars , well they havent been watching you.

Turbocat said:
Just a couple of quick observations from someone at the game:

Kent Kinglsey : probably the best game Ive seen him play. I given him heaps, I wanted him traded after the Swans game , at times Ive wonder at the guys commitment.Yet again the GFC have shown why they do the list management and I dont. Kent , todays the best Ive seen you kick. most goals were froma reasonable distance, you got feed but made the most of it. Top game KK !

Rooke : I thought he would get the gig after he clean Judds clock down here last year. Ahh thats two clocks cleaned . But his highlight of the game would have to be his mark in the third quarter. Just awesomely brave.

Slade : Another top effort, stay fit young man because thats the only way you want be on our the list proper next year.Heard him interviewed on the way home, he said the last couple of years he couldnt run so he spent long periods in the Gym. Looking at him its time well spent

Dog Johnson: Considering the amount of down time he has because of his feet /ankles , its a shame his body hasnt the tone of Slades.He relies on his talent a bit too much for mine liking but as usual he will get better.

King : best he has looked for some time, still a bit away from 4 quarters but I like the upward trend.

Blake: He simply must be kept in the side , he could become a very handy player with more games in him.

Joel Corey : No stars , well they havent been watching you.

Well said TurboCat.

KK review spot on. Bring on the rest of the year if he is going to stay in that mood.

Rooke: Your comment was typified by the mark he took running back with the flight up the Wade end. Big set of GONADS that boy.

Corey: See other post. Just grows every week.

Lil Gaz: So exciting

Egan: AA CHB at this rate. Amazing really, and pleasure to watch him grow. Would hate to be the third best forward in a side and have Harley lining up on me in a couple of weeks.

Mooney/Milburn: The best utilities in the business.

Otto: Great grab in the last, really looks like he is enjoying himself. Great to have a big body in the forward line. One of two things will happen with Otto. He either grabs it, or brings it to ground. Doesn't get outmarked to often.

Mackie: (GeeCat please take note) Great thus far this year. The exact improvement and consistency I want to see.

Corey Enright: Only shade behind his brother Joel. Will be very highly rated come seasons end.

Jimmy: If he keeps playing the way he is, what ever he waited out for at negotiation time will be a bargain. Love he is kicking regular goals.

3rd Quarter. Most exilarating footy I have seen from the blue and white hoops for a long time. It is a real joy to watch this team at the moment.

The Hawks will be a formality. Bring on the Bulldogs blockbuster.

Great return to the side by KK. His leads were fantastic in an often crowded forward line. The delivery to him was superb.

I heard Bomber on the ABC talking about the potential transition of KK from a 45 goal a year forward to an 80 goal a year forward. The club has high expectations for him. Obvious straight kicking will have a lot to do with this, but add a dominant midfield delivering it on a plate to him as well as the confidence he gets from each good game.

He has kicked two bags in his only two complete games and is really looking good.

BTW he also spent a bit of time rotated to the bench. For a while it looked as if he would be a shoe in to kick 10.

Definitely need more out of Ottens. Only second game back but I think he only had 4 touches.

We can be patient.....but for how long?

He has to deliver some consistant footy soon.

ablettallica said:
Definitely need more out of Ottens. Only second game back but I think he only had 4 touches.

We can be patient.....but for how long?

He has to deliver some consistant footy soon.

If there is one reservation I have about the cats going all the way, it is the lack of a consistent big Forward.

If Ottens can stand up then good, but really, he has not produced good consistent footy for years.

Flag Man said:
If there is one reservation I have about the cats going all the way, it is the lack of a consistent big Forward.

If Ottens can stand up then good, but really, he has not produced good consistent footy for years.
I agree Flag Man, in fact if I was Geelong I would cross out Ottens now. He will let them down when the chips are down and I would hate to see the Cats lose a GF through relying on him. I have nicknamed him Mitch after Mitchell White that other expensive purchase by Geelong at the wrong end of his career.

Flag Man said:
Ottens: Beaten by a skinny kid first gamer. Must be costing Geelong about $30,000 a possesion.

Chapman: The Mechanic made him dissappear.

Kangas: done by 69.

you shut down 2 players today, and let the other 20 cut loose. You aren't in a position to be claiming any small victories when you have a gigantic geelong boot up your dot.

Flag Man said:
Ottens: Beaten by a skinny kid first gamer. Must be costing Geelong about $30,000 a possesion.

Chapman: The Mechanic made him dissappear.

Go away and find some rain weatherman. Ottens was fine. Different tricks for differnt dogs. Your backline had a hole as big as the Grand Canyon for KK size player so the ball went to him. The most important thing you want from Ottens is to be there when some other team pressure the on ballers and have to bomb the ball in more. Today of course , they did NOT have that pressure.

LifeSpan-Void said:
Kangas: done by 69.

you shut down 2 players today, and let the other 20 cut loose. You aren't in a position to be claiming any small victories when you have a gigantic geelong boot up your dot.

It was no great victory by Geelong IMO, so I wouldn't be popping the champagne yet.

We had 12 players that were terrible today, we continually turned over uncontested possesions to Geelong and the coaching by Laidley was the worst I can remember.

Gibson on Kingsley????
Brown starting on the bench????
Archer on Kingsley????

What drugs was he on?

You didn't beat much today.

And Ottens is a dud.

Flag Man said:
It was no great victory by Geelong IMO, so I wouldn't be popping the champagne yet.

We had 12 players that were terrible today, we continually turned over uncontested possesions to Geelong and the coaching by Laidley was the worst I can remember.

Gibson on Kingsley????
Brown starting on the bench????
Archer on Kingsley????

What drugs was he on?

You didn't beat much today.

And Ottens is a dud.
Or maybe you just don't have a good enough list. How'd Thurley go today?

ablettjnr said:
Or maybe you just don't have a good enough list. How'd Thurley go today?

Very, very well thanks.:thumbsu:

Good player, Good pickup.

You're right about us not beating much, your team is garbage.

Today I would say we had 3-4 winners, 6-7 that held their own and the rest where beaten.

So yes, you didn't beat much.

In the next few weeks you will get much better contests.

Particularly after Scarlett gets rubbed out.

Flag Man said:
Very, very well thanks.:thumbsu:

Good player, Good pickup.
If your list is so poor that Thurley will get a regular game, then good luck to you, because you will need it.

Flag Man said:
Today I would say we had 3-4 winners, 6-7 that held their own and the rest where beaten.
Yes, by BETTER players.

Flag Man said:
So yes, you didn't beat much.
In the next few weeks you will get much better contests.
I thought 'Lets talk AFL' the saints supporter was bad. Mate, you got beaten fair and square, by the favourite, the better team, the more commited team towards winning this game, the team that had the better players, the team that played a better style of footy than the other, you were beaten.. thats it.
Just move on, concentrate on next week.

Flag Man said:

To me Scarlett will be right, Harding deserved what he got, what I mean is that he was third man in, then he copped it, it wasnt much either, reprimand at most I think

Flag Man said:

Your Coach would disagree with you. He said we were the toughest at the contested ball in the league and called as us this years premiers.

We must have done something to impress him.Sorry we didnt impress you.

I think it may be time for you to go now.

ablettallica said:
Your Coach would disagree with you. He said we were the toughest at the contested ball in the league and called as us this years premiers.

We must have done something to impress him.

It's not as if he is going to admit publicly that it was his worst coaching effort ever.

He also said StKilda would be premiers last year.;)

To me Scarlett will be right, Harding deserved what he got, what I mean is that he was third man in, then he copped it, it wasnt much either, reprimand at most I think

If Harding did anything wrong then he will pay the penalty also. Tribunals don't take retribution into account, so that will be no defence for Scarlett.

From what I have heard, it looked bad on T.V.

2 swinging fists and then little Harding gets up with a shiner.

If he gets 2 matches, you should probably take it.

Other than that, all I can add is that the catters can only beat the opposition that is put in front of them.

And today that opposition was very poor.

See you at Manuka.;):thumbsu:

Review: Vs Kangaroos