OKC, Sturt, Cardinals
Took getting dropped like a man, went back and played a great game and got some confidence in the WAFL.
Yesterday we seen the real Rhys Palmer - the ball winning, goal kicking, hard running midfielder.

HES BACK!!!

What i noticed yesterday was his decision making and general time he had when he got the footy was much better - a month ago he couldn't hit a target by hand and yesterday it was just a complete flip flop.

considering Freo were playing a struggling Port team, I'd like to see Palmer in action against stronger opposition first before judging how much Palmer is back Wizard?

You can only beat what's put in front of you....but Port aint even that at present! But great to see some spark back into Palmers play.....fingers crossed he continues in the same vein!

2 things I liked.
1 he looked like he wanted the ball.
2 he looked like his first option was to run when he got the ball.
Complete opposite of the actions of the shadow that's been impersonating him.

Been calling for them to give him a fair go in midfield all year.
They finally did, he still spent some time forward but looked like he spent most his time midfield.
Its either mainly midfield or not in team at all.
Hope to see more of this good Rhys.

1 thing still was worrying to me, a number of times he was free in space for a handball or short kick an he was ignored despite player with ball coming under pressure.
Now is this coz the players dont have faith in his abilities or is it something to do with the rumours?

Finally got to play a whole game in the midfield, was very good as a result. Also seems to enjoy having Lower as a midfield mate, really productive in and under combination...

Hopefully he doesn't ever play another game at HFF and is from now always played as a midfielder...

Often in a lot of congestion he was the only player clean enough to ride the pressure and release cleanly to give us clear possession.

I remember a ball deep inside our defensive 50 which was balled up 2-3 times. Palmer runs in and immediately clears the ball and gives our outside runners possession.

He had disposal efficiency of 75% and only 1 clanger for the game which was his free kick against. His tackling was also much improved i don't remember a Port player being able to free themselves.

2 goals, 6 tackles, 6 marks, 4 clearances, 24 possessions. Smells like a return to form for me. The only thing missing from his game was the running bounce. Add that aspect to his game and the sky is the limit.

Looked really really good in the bits that I managed to watch.

What I most liked was his decision making and his desperate hunger for the ball. We hadn't seen that since his knee. And the benefits of playing him in the middle...

He is a clearance midfielder. He needs to be played there.

I'm actually thinking about writing Harvey a letter.

Dear Harvs,

Rhys Palmer is a midfielder. Matthew Pavlich is a forward. Now, I'm not saying you've been getting this the wrong way around, but you've been getting this the wrong way around.

Yours sincerely,

prattsta

In all seriousness though, Saturdays game was a step in the right direction.

Unfortunately they wont listen.
Surely SURELY someone else around the club has tried to tell them that.

Need to send a letter with game footage of how good we were without Pav not in there compared to how we were with him in there.

Hopefully that has given him a bit of confidence, and hopefully Harve's keeps him in there for this week. He's got to. And I reckon Rhysy Boy could really shine against the Saints :) I'm liking the Palmer/Lower combo too. Couple of genuine insiders who can run a bit and kick a goal is good to have.