Richard Tambling

• Thread starter Thread starter hbk_aus

Re: Tambling?

I think Tambling would be a great player at Geelong. Really do, but honestly, I think you'll see Varcoe fill Abletts spot. That will make room for either Motlop or A Varcoe to take Travs forward role. Think you'll see the match committee wanting to get game into Bundy Christensen as well, so I doubt they will trade for him. All of them (Bundy, Molop and A Varcoe) are quick and use it well, so Looking forward to seeing one of them get given a swag of games (as trav was) and watch him blossom...

Seems spot on to me.

So where will they play Mitch Duncan? Seems like a good player in the making and could come on a lot next year along with Menzel.

Seems spot on to me.

So where will they play Mitch Duncan? Seems like a good player in the making and could come on a lot next year along with Menzel.

Yeah Mitch Duncan is gonna be an absolute ripper. Loved his work this year. I cant see Hogan or Gamble or sadly Djerkurra playing 1's this year. Reckon you'll see Duncan playing forward/wing. Trav will play mainly onball. A lot will depend on what happens with Corey too. If his knee comes up, he'll play mid. Think it'll be a mainly similar side to this year with a couple of youngsters coming in. Gonna be really interesting to see who comes up over preseason. Ottens and Corey being the main two. But if we're honest, as much as i love him, Ling looks like he could really struggle mid year net year. Like the game has passed him...Would love to see them run with the following.

B: Hunt (was good all year till finals) Lonegran (see Hunt) Scarlo

HB: T Hunt (Love his and decision making) Taylor, Enright

C: Christensen, Selwood, Wojo

HF: Byrnes, Pods (love his lead up the gound work) Chappy

FF: Stokes, Mooney (still our best target) SJ

R: Dawson, Bartel, T Varcoe

IB: Kelly, Hawkins, Duncan, Motlop

This see's Ling, Ottens, Milburn, Mackie and Blake not getting a game. Obviously it wont happen, but again will depend on preseason.

Yea mate...agree about Taylor Hunt ..he's a must! Like your side, but Mackie will play (IMO) and so will Menzel. And I think Kelly would be on the ground rather than interchange...maybe Josh H will make way...

And of course, there may be some new players popping up...and even a new coach??? BE interesting to see how this side changes as things develop!!

I am not dead against it as he clearly has been tortured at Tiger land by the unfair Buddy comparison, a new club could see him express his talent but i suspect he will go elsewhere.

SEN is reporting Tambling is requesting a trade and wants to stay in Vic.

I'm still not super keen, I worry about his slight body and the rumours about compartment syndrome, but I would consider it, at the right price.

In regards to what TheOutsider said, Westy might be a go as a fringe player...I note that the tigers only have 3 ruckmen on their list, 2 of whom are spindly developing types, so it might be a decent fit.

I wouldn't be drafting Tambling, he hasn't done enough to justify Geelong wasting the time/effort. As was said his role is Varcoe's role and Varcoe is already a much much better talent than Tambling!

I'd look at it under certain conditions , and we may find Crows conditions would be more generous. Watching some of his highlights on Youtube he would add pace and goal kicking on the run , perhaps in the way Lovett would have , so I wouldn't be surprised if StKilda get involved.

If he fit in $$$ wise and they would do it for a couple of players that want to move on , it would be worth a shot , as he is young enough to make it worth while. He has line breaking pace and thats something we need more than ever with the loss of Ablett. Worth a look. After all , the last under performing early draft pick from them worked out alright.

phpHybmYZafl_logo_48_cil.jpg
spacer.gif
Steve Lavell:
Geelong has made a big play for Tambling, Craig Hutchison has told Trade Week Radio.

off of the afl trade link.
hope its not true

Hutchy said that Geelong are making a play for Tambling but from what he understands, Tamblings first preference (for family reasons) is Adelaide.

Hutchy seemed to say that Geelong could trump Adelaide by offering their no.1 selection for Tambling (low 20's) whereas Adelaide are offering Bock compensation pick (late 20's).

Hutchy said that Geelong are making a play for Tambling but from what he understands, Tamblings first preference (for family reasons) is Adelaide.

Hutchy seemed to say that Geelong could trump Adelaide by offering their no.1 selection for Tambling (low 20's) whereas Adelaide are offering Bock compensation pick (late 20's).

While I'm not hugely fussed about him, my I thought Tambling wanted to stay in Melbourne?

phpHybmYZafl_logo_48_cil.jpg
spacer.gif
Steve Lavell:
Geelong has made a big play for Tambling, Craig Hutchison has told Trade Week Radio.

off of the afl trade link.
hope its not true

Did you see how slow we were in the prelim??

Throw in the fact we lost our only midfielder who has break out speed, PACE is number one preference next year..

Seeing that we can get him cheap i would really like the cats to get him..dont judge him on the way he was played at Richmond, he wasnt coached correctly, if used right he can be a very good player..

We desperately need more outside midfielders who can burn opponents...

I would love to see him play on an opposite wing to varcoe and have those two running up and down the ground next year...

With Stephen Wells' record at draft time, if he is prepared to trade selection 23 (as rumoured) for Tambling, I would say he doesn't rate the draft.

He has generally been pretty spot on when he makes comments such as the top 20 are excellent but it drops off pretty quick or the real value is in later picks because the pool doesn't drop off quickly.

I would trust Wells on this. If the other rumour that Geelong have offered Blake up for Tambling is true and this is "making a big play", I'd just at it in a heartbeat. If you could swap Blake for Tambling and keep your 3 first rounders, that is a no brainer. If he fails, you gave up Blake.

With Stephen Wells' record at draft time, if he is prepared to trade selection 23 (as rumoured) for Tambling, I would say he doesn't rate the draft.

He has generally been pretty spot on when he makes comments such as the top 20 are excellent but it drops off pretty quick or the real value is in later picks because the pool doesn't drop off quickly.

I would trust Wells on this. If the other rumour that Geelong have offered Blake up for Tambling is true and this is "making a big play", I'd just at it in a heartbeat. If you could swap Blake for Tambling and keep your 3 first rounders, that is a no brainer. If he fails, you gave up Blake.

This would not surprise.

As I have said before, I don't think Hardwick would "want" Blake as he'd demand the no1 ruck which is a problem when you're pursuing a youth policy.

But having said that, he has a pickle in that they only have 3 ruckmen on their list, one of whom the tigers fans don't rate (browne) so they really need at least one more ruckman, and preferably one who can take the physical load off vickery, so relucantly they may take Blake (or maybe that's just me hoping :D).

Anyway obviously a straight swap of Tambling for Blake wouldn't be fair, but if we chucked in a later pick or two then maybe.

On Tambling, I'll back Wells if he's prepared to trade 23 away, he knows whether drafts are good or not, so as you say, if he's trading out, as he seldom does, I'll back him. And we do really need pace, I just would want a thorough check from Bradshaw to see that he thinks he can manage the compartment syndrome that Tambling reportedly has.

Our second rounder is pretty low though (41). Don't think that'll get it done.

Maybe 23 + 41 + Blake to Richmond for Tambling + 29.

Both players are contracted so there might need to be compromises made.

Tambling for Blake and our second round pick. I don't want Tambling enough to give away our first rounder.

If this could happen - take it. Tambling would have to have more chance of being useful to the team than Blake. If we can keep the first round draft pick - all the better.

PS. Can anyone tell me what Blake would be on re salary ? Just interested what sort of money a second stringer gets these days.

This deal was looking pretty good to me until I read that you threw Blake in with it, you can keep Blake. :)

Fair enough. What if we were to upgrade our second round pick via trades of Djerkurra or Gamble or Byrnes then we could add that to Blake to get Tambling. I want Wells to have a shot with our first rounder.

This deal was looking pretty good to me until I read that you threw Blake in with it, you can keep Blake. :)

LOL yeah fair enough....I think we all understand why other clubs won't want Blake as he ain't great. Having said that, you need to help protect young Vickery somehow.

I was just more trying to say what I think Tambling's worth is...to me it's a mid 20's pick, or a 30's/40's pick + steak knives to the equivalent of the mid 20's, either way I reckon that's fair. Any more and Richmond are overreaching.

If this could happen - take it. Tambling would have to have more chance of being useful to the team than Blake. If we can keep the first round draft pick - all the better.

PS. Can anyone tell me what Blake would be on re salary ? Just interested what sort of money a second stringer gets these days.

I know that Blake's re-sign in 2007 (when we had all the hullaballoo in trade week) was on very good coin, whether it was the same when he re-signed in 09 I'm not sure.

Trading him out (to whoever) will certainly help us wages wise though.

I wouldn't be drafting Tambling, he hasn't done enough to justify Geelong wasting the time/effort. As was said his role is Varcoe's role and Varcoe is already a much much better talent than Tambling!
Would be interesting to see how Tambling would have gone had he been drafted by a club with a truckload of stars. Surely it's much easier to develop with big-bodied skilled teammates around you. I doubt Joel Selwood (let alone Travis Varcoe) would have dominated at a bottom club. Tambling was 4th in our B&F last year and has had injuries since. He would find life a lot easier at Geelong. I hope we keep him but I reckon you'd be pleasantly surprised if you snagged him. Until injuries intervened his numbers improved every season.

Fair enough. What if we were to upgrade our second round pick via trades of Djerkurra or Gamble or Byrnes then we could add that to Blake to get Tambling. I want Wells to have a shot with our first rounder.

You won't get a 2nd for DJ, he doesn't have that currency and the WB don't have a 2nd rounder anyway (which rules out packaging 41 and DJ to upgrade).

Gamble, depends on who wants him and what they're willing to pay, but I doubt it.

Byrnes would be worth more than a 2nd, decent player.

Anyway, if we're willing to give up 23 (assuming Blake's not going to Richmond instead of 23) it means either a) Wells thinks the specific player or type he wants will be gone before 23, and thus he doesn't need to pick until 41, or we are planning on using a fringe player to upgrade 41 into the 30's which then allows us the freedom to give away 23.

Would be interesting to see how Tambling would have gone had he been drafted by a club with a truckload of stars. Surely it's much easier to develop with big-bodied skilled teammates around you. I doubt Joel Selwood (let alone Travis Varcoe) would have dominated at a bottom club. Tambling was 4th in our B&F last year and has had injuries since. He would find life a lot easier at Geelong. I hope we keep him but I reckon you'd be pleasantly surprised if you snagged him. Until injuries intervened his numbers improved every season.

I agree..I also think he's been mentally tortured (partly by himself, partly by all the comparisons) as much as anything else. Having said that I'd want to check out his injuries thoroughly and not overpay, and I'm sure Wells won't.

I like this deal. Tambling is only 24 and would slot straight into our side which would save us trying to blood another young player through.