Richmond 2012

Same old Richmond once the pressure is applied they go into a hole like scared rabbits once agin in tonights NAB cup they showed just how little spine they have yet again in 2012

how do you mean? In the first game, when we lost?

Dont mind oppostition supporters posting at all: but make it constructive please.. explain to me: what part of the team/game plan imploded tonight?

Now I've had chance to watch the games.
ATM Rd 1 for me: (assuming Conca and King suspended, and we are able to promote from the rookie list)

B: Grimes Rance ????
HB: Houli Post Batchelor
C: Newman Cotchin Deledio
HF: White Miller Martin
F: Vickery Reiwoldt A.Maric

Foll: I. Maric Jackson Foley

Int: Tuck Nahas ????
Sub: ????

Not sure yet who out of Dea/Ellis/Morris will take the back pocket spot.

The remaining two spots from Grigg/Edwards/Helbig/Webberley and whoever misses out from above.

I've included White as the defensive forward (with King out), with one mind on him reprising his role from last year in keeping Yarran quiet. Whose run from the back line may become more important if Gibbs is really to spend more time in the midfield.

how can we promote a.maric and miller?

would we have to put kal moore on LTI?
With no-one on the vets list we're able to promote 2 rookies.

I reckon one will stay down back ...

Why is it on this board people are obsessed with the midfield .. people are acting like it is the number one priority when it is not. Our deference should be our number one priority. we have no problem scoring and yes getting the ball to the foward line could be better... but weren't we one of the bottom 4 sides for points allowed ? if we had a dominating defense we could easily play finals and go far in them.

Our defence was crap last season with newy and lids there anyway ,so im all for loading up the middle this season which was also ordinary last season ,i know this will leave us with a very inexperienced back half maybe they can handle it maybe they wont but thats the front foot plan A i want to see.IMO and always will b midfield is first priority in any side.

I have to disagree.... slightly. It is not our defence that is so dodgy... it was the way teams brought the ball in... We as a team were poor defensively... forwards and midfielders mainly which leaves too much space for the defenders to cover. As they were inexperienced, they often got chopped up. This is why we got Ross Smith.... to improve our defensive structures ALL over the ground. This is a key to modern football and needs to be understood.

Now I've had chance to watch the games.
ATM Rd 1 for me: (assuming Conca and King suspended, and we are able to promote from the rookie list)

B: Grimes Rance ????
HB: Houli Post Batchelor
C: Newman Cotchin Deledio
HF: White Miller Martin
F: Vickery Reiwoldt A.Maric

Foll: I. Maric Jackson Foley

Int: Tuck Nahas ????
Sub: ????

Not sure yet who out of Dea/Ellis/Morris will take the back pocket spot.

The remaining two spots from Grigg/Edwards/Helbig/Webberley and whoever misses out from above.

I've included White as the defensive forward (with King out), with one mind on him reprising his role from last year in keeping Yarran quiet. Whose run from the back line may become more important if Gibbs is really to spend more time in the midfield.

Based only on last night I reckon it should be Morris in the back pocket, Grigg on the bench and Ellis the sub

Was at the games Friday and just sat down and watched the replays, my round 1 team (Conca and King suspended but both 22 if available)

FB Morris Rance Grimes
HB Houli Post Newman
C Cotchin Foley Batchelor
HF Deledio Vickery Nahas
FF A Maric Riewoldt Derickx
R Maric Tuck Martin

I/C Grigg Jackson Ellis
Sub: Dea

Like the look of this team, plus the added bonus of Reece Conca to come back in!

After one look at us these are my thoughts.

B: Grimes - Rance - Morris
HB: Houli - Post - Newman
C: Batchelor - Cotchin - Deledio
HF: Grigg - Riewoldt - Edwards
F: Nahas - Derickx - Vickery
1R: Maric - Martin - Jackson

Int: Foley - Tuck - Helbig - Webberley

Sub will be one of Helbig/Webberley who are both in because King and Conca won't be.

I thought Helbig and Morris looked better in defence than Dea and Ellis, so they get the nod Round 1. Adam Maric could find his way in, depending on how we want to structure up.

I'm not sure about Morris yet. His kicking looks a bit shonky at times. Saw him at training and they were coming off the side a few times and he shanked one of Friday night. Ellis is ahead for me. Highly skilled and ready to play. Play him in defence and occasionally midfield

Based on Friday nite Miller definitely gets a game round one. He was fantastic.

Same old Richmond once the pressure is applied they go into a hole like scared rabbits once agin in tonights NAB cup they showed just how little spine they have yet again in 2012

What was really funny was playing your shit team last year in adelaide, down nearly 30 points, ended up winning by 50. You might look at the gutless pack of pricks playing for your team first.

Based on what I saw last night here is my latest update:

B: Morris Rance Grimes

HB: Houli Post Newman

C: Batchelor Cotchin Conca

HF: Deledio Vickery Martin

F: Miller Riewoldt Nahas

R: I.Maric Tuck Foley

I/C: Jackson Grigg King

SUB: Edwards/Ellis
Agree, although I believe Helbig and A.Maric may be a chance .

Add Derickx in the mix and Conca may be out for a few games due to his off the ball bump :(

For round 1 , I think a.maric and Helbig would be the ideal replacements for king and Conca , whilst from what Miller showed he's a shoe in for the 3rd tall forward spot .

What was really funny was playing your shit team last year in adelaide, down nearly 30 points, ended up winning by 50. You might look at the gutless pack of pricks playing for your team first.

Seriously doubt that Wild Child actually supports the Crows.

mad, id say webberly will come in for conca as he will porbably be suspended.

i still think big X will have to come in through the 2's in good form. miller was great the other night (someone should help him with his set shot routine).

maric was also very good after watching our games for a 3rd time... (yes havign footy back is that good) think he will be elevated right away has some good polish that kings lacks.

would like to have both king and maric in the team if it could ever be managed..

we can elevate two rookies because we have nobody on the vet's list...

all reports coming from the club have said houli has brained the pre-season so going on this and last years effort he is a lock to start on the ground imo and id bet a lobster he will too.santa ive never said he is a gun all ive ever said is he did well and isnt a 1 dimentional player. also when the club states that all positions are up for grabs that doesnt mean that proven afl players will then have to 're qualify' to play hence when they said 10 spots are up for grabs not 22. i expect houli to be in this 12.

again i reckon your theory of players having to prove their worth is fine but some players get a free ride from this theory. but its your pov so we will have to agree to disagree.

most reports coming out of the club has most players braining preseason.

he has one decent yr behind him that is not enough to make him a lock in.

looking at the game again id say houli battled on friday. what happens if he does not play a decent preseason game is he a lock in still.
all i have ever said is one decent yr out of 5 doesnt make you a lock in.he is in one of the few positions at the club where there is real competition for a spot. no way should this bloke be a lock in based on just one season.
of course some players will be picked regardless some because they have actually earnt it over a decent period of time. some because they are important to structures and some likely for nothing more than experience.

we disagree. he is one dimensional until he proves he can play thru the midfield or do well up forward.
hes also one diminensional in the sense he has to be one of the biggest outriders in the game. one who panics just like mcmahon did under pressure and is as soft as they come defensively.

at this point in time i have no hesitation in saying there is three or four in front of him for a backline role.

perhaps we can just agree to disagree.

hhhaaaarrrrggggghhh hhhaaaarrrrgggghhh hhhhhhhaaaarrrrggghhhhhhhh i see this imbecile has a red card.why am i not surprised. he must have the brain of a chimp and thats being hard on the monkey.

most reports coming out of the club has most players braining preseason.

he has one decent yr behind him that is not enough to make him a lock in.

looking at the game again id say houli battled on friday. what happens if he does not play a decent preseason game is he a lock in still.
all i have ever said is one decent yr out of 5 doesnt make you a lock in.he is in one of the few positions at the club where there is real competition for a spot. no way should this bloke be a lock in based on just one season.
of course some players will be picked regardless some because they have actually earnt it over a decent period of time. some because they are important to structures and some likely for nothing more than experience.

we disagree. he is one dimensional until he proves he can play thru the midfield or do well up forward.
hes also one diminensional in the sense he has to be one of the biggest outriders in the game. one who panics just like mcmahon did under pressure and is as soft as they come defensively.

at this point in time i have no hesitation in saying there is three or four in front of him for a backline role.

perhaps we can just agree to disagree.

Relax Santa...its still early days yet...the Pre-Season NAB CUp has'nt even finished and your already gunning for Houli...

So Houli didnt play a blinder....he was'nt on his own there...

Pre Season...Santa...Pre Season...its all about getting into form before the main AFL Season starts...

Wait and see what Houli's form is like when the real stuff begins...and then you may be right...who knows...stranger things have happened...:p...

does anyone think jackson could become more accurate in front of goal?

commentary said at one point he had 7 goals 20 to his name, would be handy if he converted 20 for the season I think. him impacting the scoreboard would be a win i think.

Agree, although I believe Helbig and A.Maric may be a chance .
That side I posted is not my round 1 side but rather my current best 22.

For round 1 I'd like to see us lineup as follows:

B: Grimes Rance Morris

HB: Newman Post Houli

C: Deledio Cotchin Batchelor

HF: Edwards Riewoldt A.Maric

F: Miller Vickery Nahas

R: I.Maric Martin Foley

I/C: Tuck Jackson Ellis

SUB: Webberley

does anyone think jackson could become more accurate in front of goal?

commentary said at one point he had 7 goals 20 to his name, would be handy if he converted 20 for the season I think. him impacting the scoreboard would be a win i think.

He's an improving player. Looks more confident with the ball in congestion these days and is a good kick around the ground now. His set shots for goal were good last year, I think he missed a few long goals and snaps closer to the boundary though. I didn't see any sprayed kicks last season which is a good sign. I reckon his next 5 years will be that of an experienced and efficient player with good size and leadership. He has well and truly overtaken Tuck imo and is ahead of Grigg. I'm looking for more improvement in jacko and hopefully no more suspensions :cool:

I see him as a much more talented c.brown. Our hard nut (but not so hard he gets wiped out for games). i think we have to keep him due to experience and current lack of big hard bodies. still think he can improve but so many on here don't rate him. i think if can improve the goal kicking and long range field kicking he can become another good B grade player and who knows a larger midfield group might even help him out a bit.